Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Alphabetical List of All Collections: W
Narrow your results by Repository: Special Collections | University Archives | Iowa Women's Archives | All |
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z  
Search Results - 137 hits

W. Lee Garner Targets' Collection
Poetry magazine. Correspondence from poets and subscribers, manuscripts of poems, page layouts and dummy sheets.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Martin J. Wade Papers
U.S. District Court Judge and Congressman from Iowa. Scrapbooks, commentaries, and newspaper clippings concerning Wade's judicial and political careers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Wagner Family papers
Materials from the lives of two sisters, Eva Wagner and Grace Wagner Patten, and one sister-in-law, Alice Nicolet Wagner.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John Wagner Letters
Correspondence to his wife from Camp Strong describing his experiences in the Graybeard regiment.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Martha Wahl papers
Mathematician and teacher who patented educational toys for teaching mathematics to children.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Pamela Walker Manuscripts
Teacher and novelist. Author of Twyla (1973, 1976), a book for young adults. Three drafts, related correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Wallace Women History Project
Transcripts of 13 oral history interviews describe the experiences of the Henry Wallace family in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Daniel A. Wallace Papers
Agricultural journalist. Business correspondence, speeches, and subject files relating to agriculture and the Wallace family.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry Wallace Papers
First editor of Wallaces' Farmer. Arranged in broad subject categories and then in chronological order. Available on microfilm for use in repository, for interlibrary loan, and for purchase.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry A. Wallace Papers
Editor of Wallaces' Farmer 1921-1933; Secretary of Agriculture, 1933-1940; Vice-President of the United States, 1941-1945; Secretary of Commerce, 1945-1946. Includes audio visual materials; clippings; an extensive collection of correspondence, including photocopies of the microfilm edition of the originals in the Library of Congress, Manuscript Division; government documents; personal papers; photographs; research materials, with an emphasis on agriculture, particularly corn, but including livestock, weather, strawberries, chickens, and gladioli; writings, and speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry C. Wallace Papers
Second editor of Wallaces' Farmer; appointed U.S. Secretary of Agriculture by Warren Harding (1921-1924). Member of exec. committee of the Roosevelt Memorial Association and of the International Committee of Young Men's Christian Association. Arranged in broad subject categories. The correspondence arranged in chronological order.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James B. Wallace Papers
Notebooks of a collector of children's books, artwork, and other items by children's author Marguerite de Angeli.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Walling Family letters
Oskaloosa family whose daughter Ivyl Walling Welton graduated from Grinnell College and moved to Tulsa, Oklahoma
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Esther J. Walls papers
Mason City, Iowa native and librarian who was the first African-American female student at University of Iowa elected to Phi Beta Kappa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Walsh Construction Company Records
This small collection contains papers of the company started by Patrick T. Walsh. These are mostly photocopies and photostats, and include information on the Walsh Company, correspondence, and materials relating to their bid to build the Panama Canal.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Josiah Proctor Walton Papers
Holograph forms and forms from the Smithsonian Institution and War Department. Also includes United States War Department, Office of the Chief Signal Officer's monthly summaries of voluntary observers' meteorological reports from various locations in Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

War Brides of World War II
1995 honors thesis of University of Iowa undergraduate student, Rachel Casteel.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Donovan F. Ward Papers
Dubuque, Iowa, surgeon. Subject files, articles, and speeches relating in great part to his term as president of the American Medical Association.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Myrle Olive Ward papers
Native of Hamburg, Iowa and missionary to the West Indies and the Belgian Congo from 1925 until 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Reverend Leo R. Ward papers
Writer, Catholic priest, and professor of philosophy at Notre Dame University. This collection consists of two manuscripts of Ward's published novels, Holding Up the Hills and Concerning Mary Ann. Iowa Author Manuscript.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Emory Warner Papers
Head of Department of Pathology 1945-1973. Correspondence, writings, clippings.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Warren African Slide and Videotape Collection
Slides and video tapes made by an Africanist scholar in West Africa, primarily Ghana and Nigeria, recording daily life, medicine, palm oil production, chiefs and elders, women's activities, religion, house construction, and other activities.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Wartime and Military Service Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Watchers of CIS Collection of Highlander Fan Materials
Collection of fannish materials, particularly fanzines, relating to the Highlander media franchise of movies and television shows.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mariellen (Ming) Wathne Fanzine Archives Collection
Large assemblage of fanzines and works of fan fiction relating to multiple media fandoms, including Star Trek, Star Wars, and other movies and television shows.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Barry Illinois Chautauqua Collection
Leaders in establishing Barry, Illinois Chautauqua within that community. Correspondence, newspaper clippings, family recollections, and talent brochures relating to that endeavor.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James Baird Weaver Papers
Populist leader. Weaver's correspondence with his wife; other Weaver family papers. Includes material on Davis Co., Iowa, and experiences in the Civil War.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William O. Weaver Papers
Iowa attorney. Correspondence, campaign literature, clippings, and photographs relating to the Eisenhower presidential campaign of 1952.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Eugen Weber papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

George Weber Papers
Businessman and Iowa state senator. Subject files, correspondence, campaign material, legislation, and speeches documenting his legislative career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carl Weeks Papers
Businessman. Correspondence, speeches, advertising, etc. relating to the Armand Company (a cosmetics manufacturing firm in Des Moines, IA).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Herbert J. Wehman Papers
Scientist. Manuscripts with handwritten emendations for his unpublished work, Universal Science.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ruth Cromer Weir Mss.
Author of biographies for children. Manuscripts for her books on Benjamin Franklin, John Paul Jones, and Marco Polo, also scripts for a 1954 television program, F Bar F Ranch.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ruth Cromer Weir papers
Journalist and children's author from Union, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jane Alison Weiss papers
Assistant Professor of Sociology at the University of Iowa, 1978-1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Welch and Angrick Collection
Material relating to the Heart of Hawkeye Council of Campfire Girls, The Woman's Christian Temperance Union, and the Iowa Department of the Woman's Relief Corps.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Robert J. Welch Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Joann Weldon papers
A resident of Davenport from 1962, Weldon publicly acknowledged her lesbian identity during the early 1950s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

James P. Wells Papers
Editorial assistant for the University of Iowa News and Information Service from 1952 until 1958, and administrative assistant in the Department of Physics and Astronomy from 1958 to 1979. Reports, writings, and news releases.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Susan Fulton Welty Papers
Born in Fairfield, Iowa, Welty took degrees at Parsons College and the University of Utah. A teacher most of her life, this collection contains drafts of numerous stories and articles, most on religious subjects.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles Wendt Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Helen Lee Hensleigh Wenger papers
University of Iowa graduate and teacher whose papers include correspondence and scrapbook files relating to her work on a variety of social issues including gun control.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marta Werner papers
Native of Mexico who came to Fort Madison, Iowa in 1914. Her community activism centered on the Iowa State Penitentiary in Fort Madison.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Harvey W. Wertz Papers
American journalist.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lois Wescott papers
Geology graduate of the University of Iowa who traveled to Japan and Venezuela to work for oil companies.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

West Branch Women's Clubs (Cedar County, Iowa) records
Records from seven women's clubs in West Branch, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

West Lucas Women's Club (Johnson County, Iowa) records
The club initially met on the second Tuesday of the month for conversation, a program, and refreshments. Later, meetings were held bimonthly and were dedicated to study, roll call, a program, and refreshments.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

R. Weston Diaries
Railroad mechanic. Two diaries containing details about his daily work in the shops of the C.B.&Q. and C.D.&M. railroads, community news and gossip in Dubuque, Iowa, and personal matters.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frederick Wezeman Papers
Founding director of the University of Iowa School of Library Science (later renamed School of Library and Information Science).
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Elizabeth Wherry papers
Farm magazine writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Whitby Society Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

White Family Papers
Consisting mostly of letters written home from three men, presumably brothers, in the Civil War - John Howell White, George L. White, and Ned [White] - this collecion also contains a deed for propertry acquired by John H. White in Ohio, official documents related to the mens' service in the Civil War, leaves from the family bible, and other documentation from the White family. The family was probably located in southeastern Iowa, near Mount Pleasant.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carl and Laura White papers
Letters to Iowa resident Lorinda Birgen from Carl White who served in the U.S. Army in France during and after World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorrance White Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Grant White Papers
Dispatches to the Des Moines Register describing the Cow War in Cedar Co., Iowa, over the compulsory testing of cattle for tuberculosis.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hervey White Papers
Novelist (Quicksand, 1900, and others), founder of the artist's colonies Byrdcliffe and Maverick, and editor of The Plowshare and The Wild Hawk. Drafts and typescripts of 24 stories and chapters from an unpublished autobiography.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lucy Van Voorhis White papers
Schoolteacher and farm wife of Dallas County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Maude Esther White papers
Founder of the Des Moines Tutoring Center, and Iowa's first Affirmative Action administrator from 1973 to 1978.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Roland White Papers
Manuscript for Milo Reno: Farmers Union Pioneer. Iowa Authors
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sarah White papers
Correspondence and circle letters of a northwestern Iowa farmwoman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Floy Eugenia Whitehead papers
Nutrition scholar and chair of the University of Iowa's Home Economics Department for sixteen years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Glenn E. Whitehead Papers
State legislator and Perry, Iowa, newspaper publisher. Correspondence, poetry, diary, subject files, etc. relating to both his private and professional life. Includes items ranging from campaign advertising to his WWI supply officer's manual.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Whiting Settlement (Electric) Transmission Company Records
Electrical Power Company. Tax returns, customer receipts, stock certificates and related material.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lyman Whiting Papers
Congregational clergyman. Diaries, correspondence, sermons, and other materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cora Call Whitley papers
Clubwoman and conservationist involved in the Council of National Defense Women's Committee during World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Whitney Society Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Whittington Press Collection
Collection of ephemera publisihed by the Whittington Press.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Beulah Wiederrecht papers
Correspondence between Wapello farm woman and two Polish families after World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Patricia Peterson Wiese papers
English as a Second Language teacher in West Liberty, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sally Wiesenfeld papers
Peace activist and member of Another Mother for Peace which was organized to protest the Vietnam War during the 1970s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Francis O. Wilcox Papers
Educator, United States government official (Senate Foreign Relations Committee chief of staff, 1947-1955; Assistant Secretary of State, 1955-1961). Correspondence, subject files, lecture notes, speeches, and preliminary drafts of articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank A. Wilder Papers
Professor of geology and director of the Iowa Geological Survey Bureau. Correspondence, theses drafts, faculty-student information.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Gene Wilder Papers
Actor, film star, writer, director and producer, University of Iowa alumnus (1955). The Wilder papers include scripts and drafts of scripts, contracts and related papers, and a group of photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Bessie Wilkerson papers
Former seamstress and long-time resident of Fort Madison, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jesse Wilkerson Papers
Twenty-nine letters, from January to July 1865, mostly between Jesse Skinner Wilkerson and his wife Sarahett.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Willard Fur Company Papers
Fur clothier in Marshalltown, IA. The company is documented with records such as daily cash receipts and sales records. Inventory lists and catalogs describe their products.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Catherine Gayle Williams papers
Professional dancer and deputy commissioner of the Iowa Department of Social Services.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Verda Williams papers
Communication specialist at Iowa State University who produced the documentary Black Des Moines: Voices Seldom Heard.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Willing Workers Club (Fayette County, Iowa) records
A social and benevolent women's club initially formed as a Red Cross sewing club during World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Earl M. Willits Papers
Iowa State Legislator. Subject files and correspondence relating to his service in the legislature and in the Iowa Attorney General's office.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Meredith Willson Papers
Writer, musician, composer, and lyricist, best known for The Music Man. Manuscript drafts from his books, a script from The Music Man, and sheet music.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Angus Wilson Papers
Acclaimed British novelist and scholar. Research files, including administrative material, research materials, and corrected typescripts for her 1995 biography of novelist Sir Angus Wilson.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Clara Wilson Letters
Thirty letters to one of the settlers of Algona, Iowa. Most of the letters are from her husband, J. J. Wilson, who was a businessman in Algona, owning a lumberyard and later a flour mill. J. J. Wilson was mayor of Algona during the years between 1876 and 1882 and served two terms in the state legislature. The letters are mostly about locating in Algona and their daughter's health.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Eva Donelson Wilson papers
Native of Ogden, Iowa, and professor of nutrition at colleges in the United States and Brazil.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Wilson papers
Journalist who worked for the Stars and Stripes in postwar Europe.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sue Ann Wilson Papers
Papers of an early twentieth century woman writer.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Wendell D. Wiltsie Diaries
Diaries of a soldier in Company E, 23rd Michigan volunteer Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary E. Winchell papers
Manuscript for Home on the Bering Sea with correspondence and clippings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James H. Windsor Collection of Railroadiana
Railroadiana mostly related to the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific (CRIP) Railroad, with some materials on the Union Pacific Railroad.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edward Francis Winslow Papers
Civil War soldier and railroad builder. Memoirs, correspondence, clippings, and reports relating to his service with the 4th Iowa Cavalry during the Civil War. Also includes reports and papers about the Battle of Brice's Crossroads.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ferdinand Sophus Winslow Letters
Civil War Letters of Ferdinand Sophus Winslow, 1861-1865.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ivory Winston papers
Concert vocalist and Ottumwa housewife.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sidney G. Winter Papers
Accountant. Correspondence, court documents, and clippings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Elizabeth Adams Wires Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Dorothy and Warren Wirtz papers
Brother and sister who attended the State University of Iowa and wrote letters to their parents in Keokuk.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Wise Clark Family Papers
Family papers consisting of correspondence on life in Iowa and Illinois in the Civil War era and beyond.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Bernt Olaf Wolden Papers
Naturalist. Correspondence and notebooks of nature observations.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Leonard G. Wolf Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa and Agency for International Development official. Correspondence, bills and resolutions, newsletters and press releases all related to his one term in Congress.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Harold E. Wolfe Papers
Mason City, Iowa, chief of police, chairman of the Iowa Liquor Control Commission, and member of the Iowa House of Representatives. Correspondence, clippings, radio broadcast scripts, photographs, campaign material, and other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sarah and Jen Wolfe Zines
Collection of amateur publications primarily from the feminist riot grrrl movement of the 1990s, together with numerous zines documenting various independent/underground music scenes.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jen Wolfe Comic Book Collection
Collection of comic books that mostly feature major female characters, are written and drawn by female artists, and/or chronicle stories of traditionally female interest, such as romance comics.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Zelda Babcock Wolfe memoir
Riceville, Iowa, mother, homemaker, and teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Iowa records
Organization dedicated to legislative and educational efforts to prevent juvenile delinquency and support woman's suffrage.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women Against Racism Committee (Iowa City, Iowa) records
Multiethnic group founded in 1981 by women from the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women Aware, Inc. (Sioux City, Iowa) records
Women Aware, Inc. is a non-profit organization located in Sioux City, Iowa, which was started in 1979. Its primary focus is on displaced homemakers and single parent homemakers, providing advocacy, education, information, counseling, referral and support.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women of the Wartburg Theological Seminary collection.
Lutheran Seminary in Dubuque which began admitting women in 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women's Activities Reports, Iowa, records
Report on the actvities of Iowa women compiled under the direction of the University of Iowa History Department in the 1940s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women's Equity Action League (Iowa Division) records
Organization that promoted economic equity for women by focusing on educational, legal, and tax issues affecting women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women's Forensic Council Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Women's History Project (Diocese of Sioux City, Iowa) interviews
Interviews with members of the St. Joseph Catholic Church in Sioux City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women's International League for Peace and Freedom (Des Moines Chapter) records
Members of the Des Moines chapter of WILPF studied government policy on nuclear testing, the draft , the war in Vietnam, and the arms race.  They held informational rallies and demonstrations and maintained a vigorous letter-writing campaign.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women's League Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Women's Panhellenic Association Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Women's Resource & Action Center (WRAC) Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Women's Resource and Action Center records
Women's center established in 1970 to serve the university and community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women's Studies Department Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Women, Food and Agriculture Network listserv records
Organization connecting women with progressive approaches to agriculture.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Barbara Wommack papers
Clubwoman and member of the Semper Fidelis Club in Davenport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Grant Wood Papers
Professor of Art, University of Iowa, from 1934 until his death in 1942. Regionalist painting style. Articles, exhibit brochures, correspondence, and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

J. P. Wood Papers
Accounts of a general store in Iowa City, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary Elizabeth Wood papers
Social worker and the first African American woman in the United States to be named executive director of a greater metropolitan YWCA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Peggy Wood Papers
The papers of Peggy Wood consist of typescript and printed proofs for a book, Arts and Flowers (1963).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Faye Wookey papers
Native of Red Oak, Iowa who who recalls family life on a farm in Montgomery County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Birney C. Woolley Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Works Progress Administration Iowa Records
Project records for public service employment in Jefferson and Van Buren Counties in Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

World Affairs Committee Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

World War II Collection
Items having to do with the Second World War
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

World's Fair Collection
Printed matter from World's Fairs and Expositions. Includes postcards, photographs, printed matter.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur Wormhoudt papers
A professor of English, the manuscripts of The Demon Lover and The Muse at Length. (Christopher Publishing House, 1953) represent two of Wormhoudt's books of literary criticism.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Allen Wortman Papers
Editor of the Malvern Leader. Personal and professional correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James C. Wright Papers
Educator. Correspondence, subject files, speeches, articles, clippings, and photographs documenting his career as a school administrator, state official, and educator.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Luella M. Wright Papers
Professor of English from 1920 until 1951. Published on the literature of Quakers.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

WSUI-KSUI Broadcasting Services records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Dorothy Fox Wurster papers
Mahaska County farm girl who won a blue ribbon in the Mahaska County's Boys' 4-H.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

C.C. Wylie Papers
University of Iowa professor of astronomy, 1925-1976. Specialized in the study of meteors.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Robert B. Wylie Papers
University of Iowa professor of botany, 1908-1940. Director of the Iowa Lakeside Laboratory, 1919-1923. Workshop and was instrumentalnd was instrumental in designing the first doctoral program in mass communication in the U.S.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Darrell D. Wyrick Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives