Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Alphabetical List of Special Collections: S
Narrow your results by Repository: Special Collections | University Archives | Iowa Women's Archives | All |
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z  
Search Results - 83 hits

S.S. McClure Limited Papers
Letters with Stone and Kimball publishers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edwin L. Sabin Papers
Novelist. Correspondence, scrapbooks, subject files, preliminary drafts of his writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Otis Saeter Music Collection
Band music of this musician, composer, and teacher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

(Katherine) Eleanor Saltzman Papers
Iowa regional writer. This collection consists of manuscripts for Ever Tomorrow and Stuart's Hill, and her unpublished novel, Carpthorne; manuscripts and tear sheets of her short stories and poems; as well as correspondence, notes, and clippings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sanford and Son Account Books
Accounts of feed store and livery stable.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William Saunders papers
Poet. Corrected typescript and galley proofs of Pillars of Space.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Save Farscape Auction Collection
Collection of items assembled for a fannish auction to help fund the campaign protesting the cancellation of the science fiction television series Farscape.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George J. Schaller Papers
Banker and businessman. Legal, personal, and business papers, as well as correspondence and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Schapsmeier Collection on Henry A. Wallace
Correspondence with associates and friends of Henry A. Wallace in connection with the writing of a bibliography of Wallace by the Schapsmeiers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James Peery Schell Papers
Presbyterian clergyman in the Middle West. Memoirs of his life in the 1840s and 1850s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Bea Schmidt Collection of Fanzines

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James S. Schramm Papers
Business executive, Republican Party official, and art collector. Correspondence, speeches, subject files, etc. combine to document Schramm's business and political affairs, as well as his activities in the arts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Fred Schwengel Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa to 84th-88th and 90th-92nd Congresses. Legislative and congressional papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Science Fiction Magazines

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Hubert Scott Papers
Scott was the head of the Department of English at Coe College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa for seven years beginning in 1908. He joined the faculty of the English department at the University of Iowa in 1915. The collection documents Scott's research theories regarding the connections between speech inflections and literary authorship, as well as his book collecting interests which focused on John Henry Ireland.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Script Ephemera Collection
The core of this collection is made up of scripts submitted for consideration for Best Screenplay in 2000. Other scripts have been added, and will continue to be added as they are received. Other materials, such as publicity kits and "the making of books" are also included here.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sadie Seagrave Papers
Novelist and poet. Typescripts of three books of poetry, some stories, and six radio programs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Second Iowa Cavalry Association Biennial Reunion Minutes
Scrapbook containing handwritten minutes and published programs from the biennial meetings of the Second Iowa Cavalry Association.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George Shane Papers
Painter and art critic. Articles about Shane and artwork by Shane. Including pencil sketches and paintings as they appeared in the Des Moines Register.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

B.H. Shearer Papers
Newspaperman in Columbus Junction, Iowa. Journals, correspondence, business records, and subject files relating to his life and career as the editor and publisher of the Columbus Gazette and as the publisher of the Iowa Union Farmer. Subject files include topics ranging from the Iowa Union Farmer to the Louisa County Fair.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George Marion Shearer Civil War Diaries
Diaries of a soldier in Company E, 17th Iowa Infantry, who was captured and imprisoned in Sumter Prison, 1864-65.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul V. Shearer Papers
Lawyer, owner and publisher of the Columbus Gazette, and Methodist lay leader. Copies of his newspaper column, correspondence, speeches, and biographical material. Also conference programs, debates, commission reports, etc., relating to the Methodist Church.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sheet Music Collection
Eighteen of the approximately 150 pieces of sheet music in this collection are about the American South with the balance of the collection being about America's involvement in World War I. Ranging in date from 1899 to 1917, the majority were published in 1917 and 1918. This collection is now Series I in the Sheet Music Collection
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George M. Sheets papers
Iowa writer and businessman.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Shelter House Records
Records of the Shelter House in Iowa City, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Shelton Family Papers
Diaries of Mary E. Shelton and Rhode Maenad Shelton describing their nursing experience with Annie Wittenmeyer during the Civil War and at the Hospital for the Insane in Mount Pleasant, Iowa; also the Civil War diary of Orteus Carnefix Shelton, lieutenant of the 45th Regiment of Iowa Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Shenandoah Evening Sentinel Records
Journals and ledgers, cash books, subscription lists and inventories.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Richard Sherman Papers
Iowa novelist. His collection consists of the manuscript for The Bright Promise. Iowa Author manuscript.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Asao Shimura-Gary Frost Correspondence

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John L. Shover Papers
Historian. Correspondence, reminiscences, clippings, and notes used in connection with the writing of Shover's book, Cornbelt Rebellion; the Farmers' Holiday Association.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Gladys Denny Shultz papers
Editor with Better Homes and Gardens and The Ladies' Home Journal and author of biographies. Typescript of her Jenny Lind (1962).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jay Sigmund Papers
Insurance agent, poet, story writer, and lecturer on literature. Preliminary drafts of plays, poetry, an unpublished novel, and correspondence with writers of note.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Silas B. Silver Diary
Maryland physician. Diary includes his observations on the Civil War and politics, farming, and medicine.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Eleanor Pownall Simmons Manuscripts
Printmaker and artist, Simmons wrote and illustrated a number of books for children.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ludvig Simon Collection of Photographs of Washington, Iowa and Travel Photographs

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Simpson papers
Poet. Drafts of a song, Slumber Song. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Augustus Sinning Papers
Physician. Correspondence, clippings, notebooks, and other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edith, Osbert, and Sacheverell Sitwell Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nelson Sizer Papers
Statements of phrenological character of Sarah Gillespie Huftalen. With two related letters and three printed items.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur A. Small Papers
Background materials, research, proposals, and dra s of bills from the State Senator who served on the appropriations committee at the beginning of the ICN debate in the Iowa State Legislature.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Smith Frederick Family Papers
Letters of a Mahaska County family.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Burton Jay Smith and Willametta Turnepseed Papers
Correspondence, chiefly love letters, between amateur printers Smith and Turnepseed, together with a few additional materials, including copies of their co-edited Literary Newsette. Many of Smith's letters document his activities training as a navigator in the United States Army Air Force, 1943-1944.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charlotte M. Smith Papers, Including the Records of the Tamazunchale Press
Publisher of miniature books in Newton, Iowa, founded by Charlotte and Thomas Smith. Correspondence, typescripts, proofs, advertising, contracts, etc., have been combined with Charlotte M. Smith's personal papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George S. Smith Papers
Civil war diary; diary of a minister in the Church of Christ in Kellogg, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Grace Noll Smith papers
Poet and editor of the Iowa Magazine of Verse. Manuscript with revisions of one book of poetry. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

H. Daniel Smith Papers: Sanskrit Texts from the H. Daniel Smith Agama Collection, Selected by Claude Setzer
Photocopies of Sanskrit texts having to do with Pancaratra studies collected by H. Daniel Smith and now located at the Cleveland Public Library. The photocopies in the present collection were obtained by University of Iowa ;Professor Claude Setzer.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lewis Worthington Smith papers
Writer, professor and Dean of Drake University. Manuscripts for two of his works, The Art of Life and Crises. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marvin W. Smith Papers
Farmer and Iowa state legislator. Subject files, reports, etc. on such legislative issues as apportionment and education.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul A. Smith Papers
Smith served in many capacities in the Iowa Democratic Party and the Iowa Democratic Conference, including three two-year terms as Secretary of the State Democratic Party.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ralph Smith Grange Materials
Includes minute books, correspondence, and other records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Warren B. Smith Papers
Smith, a professional writer based in Clinton, Iowa, began writing in the 1960s and published a number of works of non-fiction as well as western historical novels. He also reviewed automobiles for Clinton and other newspapers. His papers include correspondence, drafts, journals, clippings, etc. Also present is a pre-publication mimeograph copy of James Jones' Some Came Running (1957).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William A. Smith Papers
Attorney and Iowa Supreme Court judge. Speeches about legal, ethical, and political topics and poetry written and/or collected by Judge Smith.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Snow and Huber Records
Journals, ledgers, and a little advertising material of a firm of grain and implement dealers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Corwin R. Snow Papers
Iowa Farmer. Mostly diaries describing farm life in Benton Co., Iowa, particularly on Snow's Evergreen Farm near Keystone.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sokol Shuttleworth Family Papers
Correspondence and business records of family from Osceola County, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sondag Beauty and the Beast and Ron Perlman Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Speidel Newspapers Inc. Records
Weekly reports from the central office to the publisher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Merritt C. Speidel Papers
Newspaper publisher and founder of the Speidel Newspaper Syndicate. The papers consist of correspondence of both a personal and business nature.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hartzell Spence Papers
Born in Clarion, Iowa, Spence graduated from the University of Iowa in 1930. From 1930 to 1941 he was the United Press bureau manager in Des Moines, and saw service during WW II in the Army Air Forces where he was the founder and first editor of Yank, the Army weekly newspaper. After the war, he worked as a free-lance writer, particularly noted for his reporting on religion. He also published several novels, wrote a comic strip (David Crane) and scripts for the weekly radio program, One Foot in Heaven, broadcast on the ABC network, 1944-1945. This collection consists of drafts for numerous articles and stories, including those for The Story of Religion in America, published in Look, 1957-1960.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur W. Spivey Papers
Audio tape memoirs of Chautauqua and a manuscript relating to the work week of a Chautauqua crewman and crew chief.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Springer Printing Ephemera Collection
Advertising agent, printer, and newspaper editor, of Iowa City, Iowa. Correspondence, clippings, printed matter, memorabilia, and other material relating to printing and advertising.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Vee Stade Star Trek Fanzines Collection
Fanzines in the Star Trek fandom, 1967-2001, collected by Vee Stade.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Starzell Papers
General manager of Associated Press. The scrapbooks contain photographs, speeches, press releases, and articles from his career with the Associated Press.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Wallace Stegner Papers
Award-winning novelist, story writer, essayist, historian, English professor at Stanford, and frontline conservationist. Preliminary drafts and proofs for seven novels.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Rudolf Steiner Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Del Stelck collection of Guy M. Gillette Papers
Research for a biography that was never published, this collection consists of papers from Gillette as well as Stelck's research materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Judge Roy L. Stephenson Papers
U.S. Circuit Judge, Eighth Circuit and previously U.S. District Judge. Case files, correspondence, and subject files.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Stewart Stern Papers
American motion picture and television screenwriter. Primarily material documenting his career, with research notebooks, rough dra s and final versions of many of his screen and teleplays, along with photographs from the productions. Also personal material including correspondence and his education and military records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sterns Family Papers
Correspondence, photographs, memorabilia, etc. relating to the Civil War, railroading in the West, and the Alaskan gold rush.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Loomis Stevens Papers
Lawyer and politician of Boone, Iowa. Correspondence relating primarily to Steven's political activities, particularly in 1912.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sean Stewart Zines
Collection of zines dealing with a wide variety of subjects, themes, and creative styles, collected by a Baltimore-based zine writer, editor and reviewer.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George Stimpson Papers
Journalist, writer, and President of the National Press Club. Manuscripts for four of his informational books. Iowa Author
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Vernon A. Stone Papers
Journalism professor at the University of Missouri who did a great many research projects on commission from RTNDA. Includes his research notes and data, writings, lecture notes and class materials. The collection includes a great many clippings on a variety of topics having to do with broadcast journalism.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jo Stidger Stong Papers
Keosauqua, Iowa, lawyer and Iowa Highway Commissioner. Correspondence, maps, expense vouchers, etc. relating to the Iowa Highway Commission along with material concerning various dam projects along the Des Moines River.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Phil Stong Manuscripts
Iowa author best remembered for State Fair (film scripts dated 1945, 1961 and 1962 are here), Stong also wrote several books for children, including The Adventures of "Horse" Barnsby and Hirum the Hillbilly. Both of these, and others, are represented in this collection.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Fred Stover Papers
Hampton, Iowa farm advocate and activist for progressive causes, former head of the Iowa Farmers Union and president of the U.S. Farmers Association. Correspondence, writings, and organizational materials, together with miscellaneous material, documenting his 40 years of political and social activism.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles E. Strickland Papers
Mason City, Iowa, businessman. Correspondence and subject files documenting his business, political and civic interests. Topics include the Iowa Terminal Railroad and People's Gas and Electric Company of Mason City.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George W. Strong Papers
Correspondence to and from the Second Lieutenant.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Emmanuel Stucki Papers
Minister. Correspondence, sermons, and tax returns.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ruth Suckow Papers
Novelist and pacifist. Correspondence, diaries, subject files, notes, and preliminary drafts of writings. Also includes the work of Ferner Nuhn and William Suckow.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

David Swift Papers
Television and motion picture writer, director and producer. Television and motion picture scripts, screenplays, publicity, reviews, notes and memos, set designs, and costume sketches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Szathmary Recipe Pamphlets

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Szathmary Culinary Manuscripts
Among the more than 20,000 items in Chef Szathmary's culinary arts collection are just over 100 German, Czech, Irish, English and American manuscript recipe books. There is also a group of manuscripts related to food from the Chicago writer Nelson Algren.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections