Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Alphabetical List of All Collections: S
Narrow your results by Repository: Special Collections | University Archives | Iowa Women's Archives | All |
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z  
Search Results - 261 hits

S.S. McClure Limited Papers
Letters with Stone and Kimball publishers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edwin L. Sabin Papers
Novelist. Correspondence, scrapbooks, subject files, preliminary drafts of his writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edith Sackett papers
Schoolteacher and Iowa Mother of the Year, 1969.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosemary Sackett papers
Lawyer and justice on Iowa Court of Appeals.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Otis Saeter Music Collection
Band music of this musician, composer, and teacher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Safety and Security Committee Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Ernest A. Sahs Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

(Katherine) Eleanor Saltzman Papers
Iowa regional writer. This collection consists of manuscripts for Ever Tomorrow and Stuart's Hill, and her unpublished novel, Carpthorne; manuscripts and tear sheets of her short stories and poems; as well as correspondence, notes, and clippings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Samuel Calvin Photograph Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Shirley M. Sandage papers
Mason City, Iowa-born civil rights activist, United States field representative for the Christian Children's Fund and director of program development for the National Organization on Disability.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Leon Anthony Sanders Photograph Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Robert T. Sanderson Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Sanford and Son Account Books
Accounts of feed store and livery stable.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William Saunders papers
Poet. Corrected typescript and galley proofs of Pillars of Space.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William R. Savage Papers
Professor of physics and astronomy. Researched musical acoustics and solid state physics. Offprints and Iowa Acoustics Colloquium conferences.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Otilia Gomez Savala papers
Davenport woman raised in the Cook's Point neighborhood, whose parents emigrated from Mexico in the early twentieth century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Save Farscape Auction Collection
Collection of items assembled for a fannish auction to help fund the campaign protesting the cancellation of the science fiction television series Farscape.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul L. Sayre Papers
Professor, University of Iowa College of Law, from 1930 until his death in 1959. Lecturer on divorce laws, and founder of the National Council on Family Relations. Correspondence and manuscript drafts.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Lillian Moore Scales papers
Estherville, Iowa-born homemaker and teacher who was active in literary, political, and religious groups in Des Moines.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Scandinavian Studies Department Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Winnifred Hiatt Scanlan papers
Memoir of growing up in Stockport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Schaefer papers
A Latin teacher who served as friend and mentor to Vietnamese refugees in the Iowa City community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Charles A. Schaeffer Papers
Seventh president of the University of Iowa, 1887-1898.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

George J. Schaller Papers
Banker and businessman. Legal, personal, and business papers, as well as correspondence and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ruth Schanke papers
Des Moines woman who organized a support group for spouses of lesbians and gays in 1994.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Schapsmeier Collection on Henry A. Wallace
Correspondence with associates and friends of Henry A. Wallace in connection with the writing of a bibliography of Wallace by the Schapsmeiers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ruth Scharnau papers
Teacher and community activist who was a founding member of the Dubuque National Organization for Women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Naomi Schedl papers
Artist and professor in the Department of Home Economics at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Shediwy Scheetz memoir
The youngest daughter of immigrants reflects on growing up in Iowa towns during the Depression.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

James Peery Schell Papers
Presbyterian clergyman in the Middle West. Memoirs of his life in the 1840s and 1850s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lori Schieffer papers
Includes information on the sale of Girl Scout cookies in Muscatine, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John R. Schmidhauser Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Bea Schmidt Collection of Fanzines

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Donna Schmidt papers
University of Iowa nurse who farmed with her husband in Johnson County, Iowa
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Hazelle Keir Schmuecker papers
Autobiographical essays and family history of six generations by rural schoolteacher, homemaker, and artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean and John L. Schneiders papers
Davenport community and civil rights activists during the 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Wilda Jean Schobert papers
Percival, Iowa farm woman and club woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

School of Art and Art History Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

School of Fine Arts Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

School of Library and Information Science Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

School of Religion Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

School of Social Work Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Dorothy Schramm papers
Human rights advocate from Burlington, Iowa who was active in local and international issues, particularly UNA-USA and the League of Women Voters.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Emily Putnam Schramm sketchbooks
Sketchbooks of landscapes which focus on the Mississippi River.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

James S. Schramm Papers
Business executive, Republican Party official, and art collector. Correspondence, speeches, subject files, etc. combine to document Schramm's business and political affairs, as well as his activities in the arts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Wilbur Schramm Papers
University of Iowa professor of journalism. First director of the Iowa Writers? Workshop and was instrumental in designing the first doctoral program in mass communication in the U.S.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Joyce Schulte papers
Democratic candidate for Iowa's fifth congressional district in 2004 and 2006.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lois McIntyre Schutte papers
Two memoirs of an Iowa farm woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Betty Rugen Schutter papers
Scrapbook and correspondence to her parents during her student years at the State University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Leo W. Schwarz Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Fred Schwengel Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa to 84th-88th and 90th-92nd Congresses. Legislative and congressional papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lucille Schwilck papers
1939 graduate from the State University of Iowa College of Law who worked for the U. S. Department of the Interior between 1943 and 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Science Education Center Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Science Fiction Magazines

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dean Austin W. Scott College of Law Records
Acting dean of the University of Iowa College of Law while on leave from Harvard University, 1911-1912.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Jacqueline Scott papers
Elementary schoolteacher in Keokuk, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John Hubert Scott Papers
Scott was the head of the Department of English at Coe College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa for seven years beginning in 1908. He joined the faculty of the English department at the University of Iowa in 1915. The collection documents Scott's research theories regarding the connections between speech inflections and literary authorship, as well as his book collecting interests which focused on John Henry Ireland.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

M. Gladys Scott Papers
Professor and head of women's physical education. Established women's intercollegiate athletic program at SUI.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Scottish Highlanders Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Helene Scriabine papers
Author and Professor Emeritus of Russian at the University of Iowa, who emmigrated to the United States after surviving the siege of Leningrad in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Script Ephemera Collection
The core of this collection is made up of scripts submitted for consideration for Best Screenplay in 2000. Other scripts have been added, and will continue to be added as they are received. Other materials, such as publicity kits and "the making of books" are also included here.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sadie Seagrave Papers
Novelist and poet. Typescripts of three books of poetry, some stories, and six radio programs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Seals Club Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Birdie Sears papers
Autograph book and genealogy of 19th century Iowa woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Robert A. Sears Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Carl E. Seashore Papers
Served as head of psychology and Dean of the Graduate College.  Seashore was instrumental in the University's decision in 1922 to accept creative work in lieu of theses for graduate degrees in the fine and performing arts, the first public university in the United States to do so.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Second Iowa Cavalry Association Biennial Reunion Minutes
Scrapbook containing handwritten minutes and published programs from the biennial meetings of the Second Iowa Cavalry Association.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Second Wave Feminism Periodicals
Feminist periodicals originally housed in the Sojourner Truth Library at the Women's Resource and Action Center, Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Secondary Schools Relations Office Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

University Secretary's Office Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Myrtle Sellman Photograph Collection
About 20 images and other items. Iowa City; includes Englert Theatre vaudeville programs, women's athletics (baseball, track and field, basketball); 1922.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Senior College Committee Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Senior Hop Committee Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Serials and Journals Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Sesquicentennial Committee Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Sew and So Club (Cass County, Iowa) records
The club was originally organized by Washington Township women to work on quilting and other handiwork.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shakespeare Club of Marion (Iowa) records
Women's study club organized in 1909 in Marion, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shale and Wolf Families letters
Family correspondence recording farm life in northern Iowa and the Dakota territory, primarily from a farm woman's perspective.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shambaugh Family Papers
Benjamin Shambaugh (1871-1940) was a University of Iowa professor of political science and, for many years, superintendent of the State Historical Society of Iowa. He and his wife, Bertha (1870-1953), hosted many scholars' visits to the University.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Jessie Field Shambaugh papers
Shenandoah, Iowa teacher who became school superintendent for Page County, Iowa. She played a central role in the development of activities for rural youth and is referred to as the 'Mother of 4-H.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

George Shane Papers
Painter and art critic. Articles about Shane and artwork by Shane. Including pencil sketches and paintings as they appeared in the Des Moines Register.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Magdaline Shannon papers
Scholar and translator whose work focused on Haitian intellectual Jean Price-Mars.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sharon Township Farm Bureau Women's Club (Johnson County, Iowa) records
Farm Bureau women's club that provided education and services organized around farm issues.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth Shaw papers
Iowa state legislator from 1967 to 1977.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

B.H. Shearer Papers
Newspaperman in Columbus Junction, Iowa. Journals, correspondence, business records, and subject files relating to his life and career as the editor and publisher of the Columbus Gazette and as the publisher of the Iowa Union Farmer. Subject files include topics ranging from the Iowa Union Farmer to the Louisa County Fair.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George Marion Shearer Civil War Diaries
Diaries of a soldier in Company E, 17th Iowa Infantry, who was captured and imprisoned in Sumter Prison, 1864-65.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul V. Shearer Papers
Lawyer, owner and publisher of the Columbus Gazette, and Methodist lay leader. Copies of his newspaper column, correspondence, speeches, and biographical material. Also conference programs, debates, commission reports, etc., relating to the Methodist Church.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sheet Music Collection
Eighteen of the approximately 150 pieces of sheet music in this collection are about the American South with the balance of the collection being about America's involvement in World War I. Ranging in date from 1899 to 1917, the majority were published in 1917 and 1918. This collection is now Series I in the Sheet Music Collection
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George M. Sheets papers
Iowa writer and businessman.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Raymond F. Sheets Papers
Professor in Internal Medicine who specialized in hematology and oncology. Diary.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Shelter House Records
Records of the Shelter House in Iowa City, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Shelton Family Papers
Diaries of Mary E. Shelton and Rhode Maenad Shelton describing their nursing experience with Annie Wittenmeyer during the Civil War and at the Hospital for the Insane in Mount Pleasant, Iowa; also the Civil War diary of Orteus Carnefix Shelton, lieutenant of the 45th Regiment of Iowa Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Shenandoah Evening Sentinel Records
Journals and ledgers, cash books, subscription lists and inventories.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sheridan Hustlers 4-H Club (Scott County, Iowa) records
Girls' 4-H club located in Sheridan Township near Eldridge, Scott County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Richard Sherman Papers
Iowa novelist. His collection consists of the manuscript for The Bright Promise. Iowa Author manuscript.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary McDermott Shideler papers
Theologian, writer and lecturer whose work encompassed religious theology, philosophy and psychology.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bohumil Shimek Papers
University of Iowa professor of botany. founder of the Iowa Lakeside Biological Laboratory and the university herbarium. His papers include field notes pertaining to geology and flora of many Iowa counties.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Asao Shimura-Gary Frost Correspondence

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Janet Shipton papers
Political activist and Johnson County, Iowa, supervisor who was the daughter of British Prime Minister Clement Attlee.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shirley Wyrick papers

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Vera Shivvers papers
Iowa farm woman who was elected to fill her husband's term in the Iowa Senate following his death in 1962.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shloss and Mannheimer Families papers
Prominent Des Moines families including Irma Mannheimer, her husband Rabbi Eugene Mannheimer of Temple B'nai Jeshurun, and her parents, Rose and Max Shloss—the owners of Lederer and Strauss and Company.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Shoots papers
Writer, performer, volunteer, and nurse in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John L. Shover Papers
Historian. Correspondence, reminiscences, clippings, and notes used in connection with the writing of Shover's book, Cornbelt Rebellion; the Farmers' Holiday Association.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Shrauger Family Papers
Correspondence of the children of Harold and Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger of Atlantic, Iowa. Harold Shrauger operated a home and appliance store.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger Papers
A 1916 graduate of the Home Economics Department at the State University of Iowa, after her marriage Cornelia Prentiss was active in literary societies and church organizations.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gladys Denny Shultz papers
Editor with Better Homes and Gardens and The Ladies' Home Journal and author of biographies. Typescript of her Jenny Lind (1962).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Shuttleworth Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Jennie Sies papers
Diary of a young Oxford, Iowa farm woman who died on October 3, 1880.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sigma Lambda Beta Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Jay Sigmund Papers
Insurance agent, poet, story writer, and lecturer on literature. Preliminary drafts of plays, poetry, an unpublished novel, and correspondence with writers of note.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Aaron Silander papers
Iowa City feminist and activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Silver Star Club Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Silas B. Silver Diary
Maryland physician. Diary includes his observations on the Civil War and politics, farming, and medicine.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Eleanor Pownall Simmons Manuscripts
Printmaker and artist, Simmons wrote and illustrated a number of books for children.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

J. Richard Simon Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Ludvig Simon Collection of Photographs of Washington, Iowa and Travel Photographs

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Virginia Tanner Simonsen papers
Cherokee, Iowa-born woman who enrolled at Iowa State College in home economics and later moved to Quimby, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frank Simpson papers
Poet. Drafts of a song, Slumber Song. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Augustus Sinning Papers
Physician. Correspondence, clippings, notebooks, and other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sioux County Women's Chorus (Iowa) records
Choral group that was invited to represent Iowa at the New York World's Fair in 1939.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marilyn Sippy papers
Peace activist and volunteer from Marion, Iowa, who was active in UNICEF for over thirty years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sisters of St. Francis (Bancroft, Iowa) records
Religious order that helped to establish a school in St. John's Parish, Bancroft, Iowa in 1900.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edith, Osbert, and Sacheverell Sitwell Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nelson Sizer Papers
Statements of phrenological character of Sarah Gillespie Huftalen. With two related letters and three printed items.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Clara Steen Skott papers
Free-lance writer, home economics teacher, and civic leader who wrote articles and diaries concerning life in Iowa, China, and Wisconsin.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frank M. Slagle Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Sam Sloan Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Arthur A. Small Papers
Background materials, research, proposals, and dra s of bills from the State Senator who served on the appropriations committee at the beginning of the ICN debate in the Iowa State Legislature.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur A. Smith Photograph Collection
Photographs of campus buildings.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Smith Frederick Family Papers
Letters of a Mahaska County family.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Burton Jay Smith and Willametta Turnepseed Papers
Correspondence, chiefly love letters, between amateur printers Smith and Turnepseed, together with a few additional materials, including copies of their co-edited Literary Newsette. Many of Smith's letters document his activities training as a navigator in the United States Army Air Force, 1943-1944.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charlotte M. Smith Papers, Including the Records of the Tamazunchale Press
Publisher of miniature books in Newton, Iowa, founded by Charlotte and Thomas Smith. Correspondence, typescripts, proofs, advertising, contracts, etc., have been combined with Charlotte M. Smith's personal papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Clarence Frank Smith Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Earle S. Smith Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

George S. Smith Papers
Civil war diary; diary of a minister in the Church of Christ in Kellogg, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Grace Noll Smith papers
Poet and editor of the Iowa Magazine of Verse. Manuscript with revisions of one book of poetry. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

H. Daniel Smith Papers: Sanskrit Texts from the H. Daniel Smith Agama Collection, Selected by Claude Setzer
Photocopies of Sanskrit texts having to do with Pancaratra studies collected by H. Daniel Smith and now located at the Cleveland Public Library. The photocopies in the present collection were obtained by University of Iowa ;Professor Claude Setzer.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Laura Gibson Smith papers
Casey, Iowa native who taught country school before marrying and homesteading in Wyoming in 1913. She taught school in the Philippines in the 1910s and 1920s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lewis Worthington Smith papers
Writer, professor and Dean of Drake University. Manuscripts for two of his works, The Art of Life and Crises. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marcella Henley Smith papers
Memoir, Confetti, of her life in Albia, Iowa, correspondence, and journals of books read since 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marvin W. Smith Papers
Farmer and Iowa state legislator. Subject files, reports, etc. on such legislative issues as apportionment and education.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary Louise Smith papers
First woman to chair the Republican National Committee, serving from 1974 to 1977. Co-founder of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Paul A. Smith Papers
Smith served in many capacities in the Iowa Democratic Party and the Iowa Democratic Conference, including three two-year terms as Secretary of the State Democratic Party.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ralph Smith Grange Materials
Includes minute books, correspondence, and other records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sondra Smith papers
Iowa Memorial Union catering manager and women's rights activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Stephen Lynn Smith Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Warren B. Smith Papers
Smith, a professional writer based in Clinton, Iowa, began writing in the 1960s and published a number of works of non-fiction as well as western historical novels. He also reviewed automobiles for Clinton and other newspapers. His papers include correspondence, drafts, journals, clippings, etc. Also present is a pre-publication mimeograph copy of James Jones' Some Came Running (1957).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William A. Smith Papers
Attorney and Iowa Supreme Court judge. Speeches about legal, ethical, and political topics and poetry written and/or collected by Judge Smith.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Snow and Huber Records
Journals, ledgers, and a little advertising material of a firm of grain and implement dealers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Corwin R. Snow Papers
Iowa Farmer. Mostly diaries describing farm life in Benton Co., Iowa, particularly on Snow's Evergreen Farm near Keystone.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Social Organizations and Affairs Committee Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Department of Sociology Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Sokol Shuttleworth Family Papers
Correspondence and business records of family from Osceola County, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Howard N. Sokol Papers
Attorney, legislator, and assistant to the Vice President for Academic Affairs during the 1970s. The title was later changed to Provost, with the same authority. Includes correspondence, University policies, reports.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Bernadine Solberg papers
Engineering clerk, weaver, photographer, and traveler from Boone, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ingeborg Solbrig Papers
Professor of German at the University of Iowa, 1975-1994. Articles and book reviews.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Michael Solursh Papers
Professor of Biology at the University of Iowa, 1969-1994. Manuscripts, correspondence, grants, course material.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Sondag Beauty and the Beast and Ron Perlman Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Songbooks Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Sophomore Cotillion Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

South African Investment Review Committee Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Geneva Southall papers
Professor Emeritus of Afro-American Studies and Music at the University of Minnesota; University of Iowa alumna.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

William Leigh Sowers Papers
Professor, University of Iowa Department of English, 1923-1958. Theatre and drama professor. Unpublished manuscript.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Department of Spanish and Portuguese Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Gladys Spayde papers
Stage actress who spent her childhood in Saskatchewan and was a teacher in Fairfield, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Speidel Newspapers Inc. Records
Weekly reports from the central office to the publisher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Merritt C. Speidel Papers
Newspaper publisher and founder of the Speidel Newspaper Syndicate. The papers consist of correspondence of both a personal and business nature.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hartzell Spence Papers
Born in Clarion, Iowa, Spence graduated from the University of Iowa in 1930. From 1930 to 1941 he was the United Press bureau manager in Des Moines, and saw service during WW II in the Army Air Forces where he was the founder and first editor of Yank, the Army weekly newspaper. After the war, he worked as a free-lance writer, particularly noted for his reporting on religion. He also published several novels, wrote a comic strip (David Crane) and scripts for the weekly radio program, One Foot in Heaven, broadcast on the ABC network, 1944-1945. This collection consists of drafts for numerous articles and stories, including those for The Story of Religion in America, published in Look, 1957-1960.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

C. Pauline Spencer papers
An outstanding athlete and the first woman to receive an athletic letter at the University of Iowa.She graduated in 1923.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lonabelle Kaplan Spencer papers
American Association of University Women member and advocate for women's issues including dual listings for married women in Iowa telephone directories.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Verna Moulton Spencer papers
Maquoketa, Iowa, native who owned and operated Spencer's Harmony Hall with her husband from 1912 to 1962.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Arthur W. Spivey Papers
Audio tape memoirs of Chautauqua and a manuscript relating to the work week of a Chautauqua crewman and crew chief.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

D.C. Spriestersbach Papers
Faculty, Speech Pathology and Audiology, University of Iowa, 1940. Dean, Graduate College, 1965-1987. Interim University President, 1981-1982. Reports, memoranda, appointment books, scrapbooks, and correspondence, pertaining to a variety of University-related topics, including advancement of research, anti-war protest, and federal funding for public institutions.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

John Springer Printing Ephemera Collection
Advertising agent, printer, and newspaper editor, of Iowa City, Iowa. Correspondence, clippings, printed matter, memorabilia, and other material relating to printing and advertising.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edith Sprout memoir
Farm woman raised in western Iowa and North Dakota who wrote about her childhood in her memoir.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

St. Andrews Society Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Vee Stade Star Trek Fanzines Collection
Fanzines in the Star Trek fandom, 1967-2001, collected by Vee Stade.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Staff Council Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Carrie Stanley Papers
University of Iowa professor of English,1920-1954. Correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

George Edwin Starbuck Papers
University of Iowa professor of English and director, Iowa Writers
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Frank Starzell Papers
General manager of Associated Press. The scrapbooks contain photographs, speeches, press releases, and articles from his career with the Associated Press.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

State Archaeologist Office Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

State Hygienic Laboratory Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

State University of Iowa Board of Trustees and Board of Regents Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

State University of Iowa Studies Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Vilhjalmur Stefansson Papers
Alumni, University of Iowa, class of 1903. Anthropologist and Arctic explorer. Correspondence, photographs, clippings, articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Wallace Stegner Papers
Award-winning novelist, story writer, essayist, historian, English professor at Stanford, and frontline conservationist. Preliminary drafts and proofs for seven novels.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur Steindler Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Rudolf Steiner Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Del Stelck collection of Guy M. Gillette Papers
Research for a biography that was never published, this collection consists of papers from Gillette as well as Stelck's research materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Judge Roy L. Stephenson Papers
U.S. Circuit Judge, Eighth Circuit and previously U.S. District Judge. Case files, correspondence, and subject files.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William Stephenson Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Stewart Stern Papers
American motion picture and television screenwriter. Primarily material documenting his career, with research notebooks, rough dra s and final versions of many of his screen and teleplays, along with photographs from the productions. Also personal material including correspondence and his education and military records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Everett E. Sterner Papers
University of Iowa student, 1934-1940. Sterner documented UI cooperative dorms of this period. Photographs and notes.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Sterns Family Papers
Correspondence, photographs, memorabilia, etc. relating to the Civil War, railroading in the West, and the Alaskan gold rush.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Harriet Adeline Stevens papers
Teacher of nutrition education and dietetics; U. S. Army Second Lieutenant who served as a medical hospital dietician at Camp Gordon, Georgia during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John Loomis Stevens Papers
Lawyer and politician of Boone, Iowa. Correspondence relating primarily to Steven's political activities, particularly in 1912.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George W. Stewart Papers
Head of Physics Department, 1909 to 1946. Established the Iowa Colloquium of College Physicists in 1936 and named to National Academy of Sciences in 1938. Correspondence, minutes, speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Priscilla Ann Mabie Stewart papers
Art historian and Professor who settled in Florida where she organized and directed a wild bird hospital.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sean Stewart Zines
Collection of zines dealing with a wide variety of subjects, themes, and creative styles, collected by a Baltimore-based zine writer, editor and reviewer.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Zella White Stewart papers
Allergist who practiced in Iowa City from 1910 to 1938.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sally Stiles papers
Poet and president of the Artists in Action group in Muscatine, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

George Stimpson Papers
Journalist, writer, and President of the National Press Club. Manuscripts for four of his informational books. Iowa Author
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edythe Stirlen papers
One of the first ordained female ministers in the Midwest whose sermons were broadcast on radio stations KFNF and KMA for over sixty years in Shenandoah, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

George Stoddard Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Sylvia M. Stoesser papers
University of Iowa graduate in 1928 with a Ph.D. in physical chemistry. She was the first woman chemist to work for Dow Chemical Company.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bette Brooks Stone papers
Mapleton, Iowa high school student who sent telegrams for Western Union during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Franklin D. Stone Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Vernon A. Stone Papers
Journalism professor at the University of Missouri who did a great many research projects on commission from RTNDA. Includes his research notes and data, writings, lecture notes and class materials. The collection includes a great many clippings on a variety of topics having to do with broadcast journalism.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Kathryn Stone papers
Mount Vernon, Iowa, native who taught at University High School in Iowa City in 1930 and 1931.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Minish Stoner papers
Farmwoman, writer, and community volunteer near Mt. Vernon, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mavis Stoner papers
Newspaper articles.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Stong Family papers
Correspondence of Alice Stong details her undergraduate experiences at The University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jo Stidger Stong Papers
Keosauqua, Iowa, lawyer and Iowa Highway Commissioner. Correspondence, maps, expense vouchers, etc. relating to the Iowa Highway Commission along with material concerning various dam projects along the Des Moines River.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Phil Stong Manuscripts
Iowa author best remembered for State Fair (film scripts dated 1945, 1961 and 1962 are here), Stong also wrote several books for children, including The Adventures of "Horse" Barnsby and Hirum the Hillbilly. Both of these, and others, are represented in this collection.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Rose Stoops papers
Teacher, farm woman and nurse who later participated in many community organizations in Grinnell, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Fred Stover Papers
Hampton, Iowa farm advocate and activist for progressive causes, former head of the Iowa Farmers Union and president of the U.S. Farmers Association. Correspondence, writings, and organizational materials, together with miscellaneous material, documenting his 40 years of political and social activism.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Strategic and Long Range Planning Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Strategic Planning Committee Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Charles E. Strickland Papers
Mason City, Iowa, businessman. Correspondence and subject files documenting his business, political and civic interests. Topics include the Iowa Terminal Railroad and People's Gas and Electric Company of Mason City.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

H.L. Strimple Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Frank A. Stromsten Papers
Professor in Biological Sciences. Taught zoology courses 1905-1950. Course notebooks.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

George W. Strong Papers
Correspondence to and from the Second Lieutenant.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James B. Stroud Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Katherine Stroud papers
Leader of the 1949 campaign to reform Des Moines city government and adopt the city manager plan.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lucille Schlotterback Struve artifact
Basketball jersey, 1927. Iowa farm girl and mother, who was a member of the 1927 Newhall girls' championship basketball team.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frank Emmanuel Stucki Papers
Minister. Correspondence, sermons, and tax returns.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Student Activities Board Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Student Board of Publications Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Student Disability Services Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Student Guides and Handbooks Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Student Health Advisory Committee Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Student Health Services Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Student Legal Services Photographs Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Student Organizations and Affairs Committee Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Student Organizations of the College of Medicine Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Student Produced Directories Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Student-Produced Publications and Newsletters Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Student-Produced Fliers and Handouts Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Students Against Sweatshops Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Dewey B. Stuit Papers
University of Iowa professor of psychology and dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Velma Stuit scrapbooks
Wife of Dean of University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and organizer of Newcomers Club in 1938 and International Wives Club in 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Subject Vertical Files

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Subject Files on Iowa Women
Subject files pertaining to Iowa organizations and women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Suckow Papers
Novelist and pacifist. Correspondence, diaries, subject files, notes, and preliminary drafts of writings. Also includes the work of Ferner Nuhn and William Suckow.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Summer Management Course Papers and Reference Material Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Summer Session Programs Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Department of Surgery University Hospitals and Clinics Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Judith Sutcliffe papers
Tile artist and printer who formed Greentree Enterprises in Audubon, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Donald W. Sutherland Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Alma Erickson Swanson papers
Swedish farm woman whose three children became academics during the 1930s and 1940s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Augusta Gustafson Swanson correspondence
Swedish immigrant who moved to Iowa in 1889. (In Swedish with English translations.)
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Charles E. Swanson Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

The Sweatshop Chronicles scrapbook
Activities of the Iowa City chapter of the national organization, Students Against Sweatshops.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

David Swift Papers
Television and motion picture writer, director and producer. Television and motion picture scripts, screenplays, publicity, reviews, notes and memos, set designs, and costume sketches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Swope and DeLand Families papers
Family papers and subject files concerning women artists, women writers, and peace activism in Northwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Szathmary Recipe Pamphlets

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Szathmary Culinary Manuscripts
Among the more than 20,000 items in Chef Szathmary's culinary arts collection are just over 100 German, Czech, Irish, English and American manuscript recipe books. There is also a group of manuscripts related to food from the Chicago writer Nelson Algren.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Elaine Szymoniak papers
Iowa State senator, Des Moines City Council member, and hearing and speech consultant.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives