Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Alphabetical List of Iowa Women's Archives: M
Narrow your results by Repository: Special Collections | University Archives | Iowa Women's Archives | All |
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z  
Search Results - 67 hits

Manuel and David Macias papers
Brothers who emigrated to Bettendorf, Iowa, from Zacatecas, Mexico, in 1914 and 1915.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dora E. Mackay papers
African American singer and beauty shop owner in Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mahaska County Farm Bureau Women's Committee records
The committee splintered from the extension service in 1955 and became the largest political and corporate organization representing farmer interests in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

March for Women's Lives, Iowa Delegation, records
On April 25, 2004, pro-choice activists went to Washington, D.C., to participate in the March for Women's Lives, a protest against the pro-life policies of President George W. Bush's administration.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marion Maresh papers
Physician who graduated from the State University of Iowa in 1932 and became a world authority on physical growth and maturation.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marian Rees Associates
Film production company founded and directed by University of Iowa Sociology alumna Marian Rees.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marion Federation of Women's Clubs records
Organization of Marion women's clubs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marjorie Marsh papers
Fort Madison, Iowa, native, and active club member and volunteer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alta Martin papers
Homemaker and mother of five who received her private pilot license in 1963.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Francoise Martinet papers
Ballerina and professor of dance at the University of Iowa from 1978-1997.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Adella Martinez papers
A former resident of Cook's Point, Davenport, whose parents emigrated from Mexico to the United States in the early 1900s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Maria Cano Martinez papers
Maria Cano came to Iowa from Guanajuato, Mexico, with her parents in 1928. She established a Spanish language interpreter program at the University of Iowa Hospitals in 1975.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Kate Martinson papers
Journals chronicle the life of an Iowa farm woman including her marriage, childrearing, family farm management, divorce, and remarriage.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dora Mason papers
Sculptor and art teacher who traveled and studied sculpture across Europe and North America.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ellen Hanson Mason papers
Diaries chronicle Ellen Hanson Mason's life on the family farm in rural northeast Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marjorie Mason papers
Teacher, newspaper columnist and poet from Sioux City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Stella M. Mason papers
Physician and surgeon who practiced in Mason City, Iowa, and was also active in the women's sufffrage movement.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

A. Louise Mays papers
Social worker and University of Iowa professor.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Connie McBurney
Journalist and 1996 congressional candidate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Amber McClintic papers
4-H scrapbook and record books.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret McCollum papers
Des Moines resident who was a leader in women's organizations including American Mother's Inc., PTA and AAUW.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dale McCormick papers
Carpenter and activist for women in non-traditional jobs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

McCown Family Papers
Multigenerational family papers of the former head of the University of Iowa Libraries Special Collections Department.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helena Jongewaard McDonald papers
Teacher who attended Iowa State College in 1914.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret McDonald papers
Active in Republican Party and vice-chairman of the Iowa Republican Central Committee in 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

McGill Family papers
The collection consists mainly of correspondence and includes the papers of early twentieth century labor activist, IWW member, and Buffalo school teacher, Pearl McGill.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Sears McHenry papers
Diary and account book of the bride of a Civil War officer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary McInroy papers
Home Economics notebook kept by McInroy as a high school student in 1961.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bettie McKenzie papers
Community activist from Red Oak, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alice McMurry papers
Promise City, Iowa elementary school teacher and poet.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lola Jean McNall papers
University of Iowa student who was active in the YWCA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Amelia McNeill papers
Farm woman who served as secretary of Monona Co. Rural Electrification Association for more than 20 years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Magdalen Meade papers
Iowa farm woman and political organizer who was active in Roxanne Conlin's gubernatorial campaign in 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edna Means papers
Characterist and dramatic reader, and chatauqua performer from Tama, Iowa organized her own talent agency.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Phoebe Kellum Mericle obituary
Early settler in Webster County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Merle Fleming papers

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Perkins Messenger memoir
Reflections on growing up and raising a family in rural Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marie Schultz Meyer papers
Postville, Iowa, native who graduated from the University of Iowa School of Nursing in 1940.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marianne Michael papers
Served with her husband as missionaries for the Church of the Brethren in Garkida, Nigeria from 1948 to 1961.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Midwest Federation of Chaparral Poets (Iowa Chapter) records
The Iowa Chapter of Chaparral Poets met twice yearly (fall and spring); they studied poetry, conducted a poetry contest and wrote poetry for submission to Midwest Chaparral magazine. The organization was formed in 1942 and disbanded in 2001.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Midwest Women's Studies Association records
Regional branch of the National Women's Studies Association.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth R. Miller papers
Farm woman and Republican state legislator from Marshalltown, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ellen Mowrer Miller papers
Correspondence of 19th century Iowa woman includes letters from brother in medical school and Civil War and from sister who raised a family and maintained a farm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ola Babcock Miller papers

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Opal Miller papers
Democrat, educator and clubwoman who served in the Iowa House of Representatives in the 1970s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Misbach papers
Educator whose lifelong career of working with partially seeing and blind students began in 1938 at the Perkins School for the Blind in Massachussetts.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Azalia Mitchell papers
Mitchell and her husband operated the Community Pharmacy in Des Moines for 25 years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Paul Mitchell papers
An edited copy of Frances Mitchell's diary entries chronicling her journey from Seattle, Washington to Tokyo, Japan in 1948.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruby Crumley Mitchell diaries
Daily diaries of this Rhodes, Iowa, native.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Modern Idea Club of Thurman Iowa records
Fremont County, Iowa women's club that was responsible for opening a public library in the small town of Thurman in 1936.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mona Kadel Martin papers
Mona Martin (1934- ) served in the Iowa House of Representatives from Scott County from 1993-2001.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Monday Afternoon Club (Fort Madison, Iowa) records
Cultural women's club in Fort Madison, Iowa which focused on intellectual improvement through study and reading.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Ellen Moore papers
High school English teacher from Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Florinda Wakefield More papers
Correspondence from friends, family and her husband, the itinerant minister Thomas More.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Arlene Morris papers
Clinical psychologist and University of Iowa alumna who was a member of the Des Moines Know Your Neighbor panel.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mothers for Natural Law records
Organization opposed to genetically modified organisms.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

E. Virginia Mowry papers
Newton, Iowa teacher who later worked as an adminstrative assistant to James Cash Penney of J. C. Penney Company.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lois Baker Muehl papers
University of Iowa rhetoric professor who published children's books and taught English as a second language at refugee camps in Thailand, Korea, and China.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cherry Muhanji papers
Writer, lesbian activist, and University of Iowa alumna.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Peg Mullen papers
Anti-Vietnam War activist whose son, Michael, was killed by 'friendly fire' in Vietnam in 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ione Mulnix papers
Correspondence of a student at the State University of Iowa in Iowa City with her family in Dows, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marilyn Murphy papers
Social activist from Sioux City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Muscatine Garden Club records
Founded in 1929 to promote the knowledge and love of gardening.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Muscatine Herb Pals records
Study group organized to stimulate the advancement of herb gardening and herb use.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Muscatine Migrant Committee records
Migrant agency that advocated for agricultural laborers employed temporarily on eastern Iowa farms.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frances Myattway papers
Early twentieth-century scrapbook of a young woman in western Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Virginia Myers papers
Artist, University of Iowa professor, and inventor of the Iowa Foil Press.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives