Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Alphabetical List of Special Collections: M
Narrow your results by Repository: Special Collections | University Archives | Iowa Women's Archives | All |
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z  
Search Results - 89 hits

Thomas Ollive Mabbott Papers
English professor. Correspondence, subject, and research files documenting Mabbott's scholarly pursuits and his hobbies. It is primarily made up of research files relating to Edgar Allan Poe.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hugh C. MacDougall Collection of Progressive Party Papers
MacDougall was a collector of materials from the Henry A. Wallace's presidential campaign on the Progressive Party ticket. Includes broadsides, correspondence, and speeches, as well as Progressive Party statements, meetings, and brochures.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Roy MacGregor-Hastie Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John MacVicar Papers
Record of expenditures for a farm located on Muscatine Island.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Maecenas Press Records
Publisher at Lake MacBride, Solon, Iowa. Correspondence, drafts, proofs of books.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Richard Maibaum Papers
American screenwriter, producer and actor. Personal papers contains an actors file, clippings and correspondences.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

W.F. Main Papers
Businessman, Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Business and personal correspondence, financial statements and reports, legal papers, memoranda, photographs, and keepsakes concerning Main family and its personal and business affairs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Malcolm Letters
Letters to Malcolm's wife, describing experiences in Georgia and elsewhere with the 7th Regiment of Iowa infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dessa Manion Music Collection
Transcripts of lyrics of popular songs and folksongs made by Miss Manion, some sheet music, and a card index.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mann Family Papers
Civil War letters and military records of Asahel Mann, Jr., John Mann, and William Mann, all of whom were members of Co. A, 4th regiment, Iowa Cavalry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Eugene Mannheimer Papers
Rabbi and civic leader of Des Moines, Iowa. Reminiscences.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Phillip Margolin Papers
American and foreign editions, manuscript materials, publicity materials, periodical appearances, and clippings for this lawyer-author of legal thrillers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marian Mendez Blake's 7 Fanzines Collection
Collection of fanzines written for the Blake's 7 fandom, from 1979 to 2005.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marion Meade: Various Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Willard Marsh Papers
Graduate of the Writers' Workshop, a musician and an English professor.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lenore Marshall Papers
Draft of the novel The Hill is Level and drafts of twelve poems.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Martin M.D. Ph.D. Papers
Neurosurgeon and book collector specializing in rare medical books. These papers primarily concern Dr. Martin's association with the University of Iowa. The establishment of the John Martin Rare Book Room and the donation of his collection of rare medical books is well documented with correspondence, clippings, brochures, etc. Some autobiographical sketches are included along with records of Dr. Martin's military service.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Robert Bernard Martin Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Vernon Richard Martin Papers
Maytag executive and State Chairman of the Republican Party in Iowa. Primarily correspondence and subject files relating to his political work for the Republican Party.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lowell Mattson Hamlet Collection
Hamlet materials from many performances of the play.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles Paul May Papers
Notes, source materials, drafts and proofs for two non-fiction books: Bats. (1969) and Stranger in the Storm (Abelard-Schuman, 1972). Original title: Birds Flying High.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Wiley Mayne Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa, 1967-1975. Campaign and office files relating to his political career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Byron McClain Letters
Letters to McClain's family in Wilton Junction, Iowa, telling of experiences in Tennessee with the 2nd Regiment of Iowa Cavalry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Emlin McClain Papers
Lawyer, judge, and professor. Personal and business correspondence, diaries, and speeches on painting. Most of the material dates before 1880, while McClain was a law student at the University of Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Janet McCombs Fanzine Collection
Fanzines from the late 1950s and early 1960s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James McCracken Papers
A collection of photographs of McCracken's paintings, along with other photographs, cards, and newspaper clippings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edward A. McDermott Papers
Lawyer, co-chairman of Iowans for Kennedy (1960), and director of the Office of Emergency Planning, 1962-1965. Reports, speeches, press releases, subject files, and correspondence relating to his career in government service during the 1960s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Francis McDermott Family Papers
Soldier, 13th Regiment of railway engineers, U.S. Army, in W.W.I. Correspondence, picture postcards, and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

McDill Family Papers
Iowa farm family. Correspondence and business papers of Joseph Black McDill, George R. McDill, and John Ronald.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James W. McDill Papers
U.S. Representative and Senator from Iowa, member of the Interstate Commerce Commission, and judge. Diaries, memoirs, correspondence, speeches, and other material relating to his life and career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Julie McDonald Papers
Newspaper Editor and writer, this collection contains material related to two novels (Amalie's Story, 1970 and Petra, 1978), a play (Eyes of Sky; a Play in Six Scenes) and a biography (Ruth Buxton Sayre: First Lady of the Farms, 1980).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frederick and Margaret McDowell Papers
Collection of letters from literary figures, including T. C. Boyle, Paul Engle, E.M. Forster, Gail Godwin, Caroline Gordon, and Angus Wilson.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sharron L. McElmeel Papers
Papers of the nationally-known children's and young adult literature scholar.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frances Lynch McGuire Papers
Wagon to a Star, a collection of stories about life on an Adair County farm in the 1870s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

McIlvaine Family Papers
Correspondence of a Faribault, Minnesota, family.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Harold McKeen Papers
A scrapbook of photographs from the 1921 or 1922 Dominion Chautauqua season in the Western US and Canada, taken by the properties manager, who was responsible for leading the crews who set up and took down the tents.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

McKenzie Railroadiana Collection
Timetables and track charts for the Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe, CSX Transportation, Conrail; Soo Line; Burlington Northern Santa Fe; and Wisconsin Central, Ltd. railroads.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Kembrew McLeod Freedom of Expression&#174 Collection
Five issues of Freedom of Expression® and other objects created by the professor who sold his soul on eBay.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edward J. McManus Papers
Iowa state senator, lieutenant governor of Iowa, Democratic candidate for governor of Iowa, delegate to Democratic National Convention, and U.S. District Court Judge for Northern District of Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, telegrams, campaign material, press releases, photographs, newspaper clippings, tape recordings, phonograph recordings, and scrapbooks.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mead Family Papers
Civil War correspondence and pension records of an Iowa County family. Some of the topics of correspondence include the Battle of Corinth, Copperheads in Iowa, Black troops, and farm life in Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marion Meade Woody Allen Research Files
Research material for The Unruly Life of Woody Allen. Comprised of interviews by letter and on tape, journal articles, research files, notes, films, photographs, manuscript copies, and copies of the completed book in various editions.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marion Meade Buster Keaton Research Files
Research material compiled by Meade while writing the biography Buster Keaton Cut to the Case.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marion Meade Nathanael West and Eileen McKenney Archive
Research for the book Lonelyhearts: The Screwball World of Nathanael West and Eilleen McKenney.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marjorie Medary Papers
Editor and author of books for young adults. This collection drafts and other materials relating to Prairie Printer (a sequel to Buckeye Boy), about a pioneer northeast Iowa newspaperman; Orange Winter, about Florida in the 1870's; College in Crinoline and Prairie Anchorage, both of which have pioneer settings, and some other works.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Medieval Manuscripts
This collection brings together all Medieval Manuscripts held in the Special Collections Department of the University of Iowa Libraries.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cornelia Meigs Papers
Children's author and Iowa's first Newbery Award winner. This collection consists of a manuscript and various clippings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jonas Mekas Collection of Fluxus Films
Lithuanian-American avant garde film maker and critic. This collection is comprised of nearly one linear foot of Fluxus film loops.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Linda Melnick Collection of Slash Zines

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lynda Mendoza Collection of David McCallum Memorabilia
Collection of materials related to the actor David McCallum, assembled by the president of his official fan club. Materials include books, posters, ephemera, photographs, audio and visual recordings, and other items.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edwin T. Meredith Papers
Attorney and Iowa state legislator. Subject files and correspondence concerning his business, family and political career. The bulk of the papers consist of correspondence dealing with business conditions during the 1920s and W.W.II, politics, family life.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Martin Mericle Letters
Personal letters describing Martin Mericle's Civil War experiences while serving with the 114th Ohio Infantry Regiment. Also includes and account book, 1863-1875.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Thomas W. Messenger Papers
World War I soldier. Letters written by Messenger during his service in W.W.I. He was a corporal in Co.B, 111 Machine Gun Battery in France, after the armistice was declared.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Robert Metzler "Colombo" Diaries
Writer and producer Robert Metzler was hired in March 1975 to work on the NBC television series Colombo starring Peter Falk. He continued on the show into 1977, making near daily diary entries that record behind-the-scenes activity in great detail.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nicholas Meyer Papers
Screenwriter and director. Typescripts, screenplays, correspondence, clippings, proofs, photographs, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Joe Michaud Papers
Writing materials of an Iowa City writer. Also includes a Border Collection, which comprises most of the collection, on the Iron Curtain countries.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ada Holding Miller Sheet Music Collection
Nearly 200 pieces of sheet music for popular songs, organized topically (Transportation, Tear Jerkers, War, Religious, Love, etc.). The pieces range in date from 1840 to 1968, but the bulk of the collection was published between 1861 and 1915.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Elmer Joseph Miller Concert and Theater Programs Collection
Collection of concert and theater programs, 1872-1975.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Miller Papers
Editorial cartoonist for the Des Moines Register. 100 original drawings, cartoons with over-lays and color processes, engraving printing plates, correspondence, photos and other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Guy Miller Amateur Journals Collection
Collection of amateur print publications, most dating from the early and mid 20th century.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James Miller Papers
Civil War naval engineer. Documents concerning his military service on Navy gunboats on the Mississippi River during the Civil War. Also includes materials relating to his mechanical inventions in the late 1880s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Merle Miller Papers
Editor at Yank, Time and Harper's, biographer of presidents, script writer, and novelist. Drafts, correspondence, printer's copies, and reviews for four of his books; the materials for The Sure Thing (1953) are extensive.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James Cutler Milliman Papers
Student at U of I, Civil War soldier, Lt. Governor of Iowa. Photographs and letters written about the University of Iowa, Harrison County, Iowa and New York.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Estera Milman Contemporary Art Collection
Primarily ATCA administrative files containing a vast amount of information on the sources of the ATCA collections and detailed records regarding grants won by and exhibitiions curated by ATCA staff prior to 2000.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Minckler Collection of Silent Movie Sheet Music
Sheet music, probably used by a pianist for silent  movies.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mississippi River Aerial Photographs
Photographs taken by Burlington Northern Railroad employees.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mississipppi River Power Company Papers
Building a dam across the Mississippi River at Keokuk, Iowa as pictured in a series of 94 large photographs (58) and photograph postcards (36) of the project, 1911-1913. Images, 6 x 9 to 8 1/2 x 11 inches, picturing phases of the project from scenes of the city and countryside before the dam's construction through activation. Accompanied by Electric Power from the Mississippi River (Keokuk, IA: Mississippi River Power Company, May 1911, Bulletin No. 2), a status report on the construction to that time.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Donald J. Mitchell Papers
Lawyer and Democratic National Committeeman from Iowa. Primarily correspondence and subject files relating to his political work for the Democratic Party.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Clarence W. Moody Papers
Editor and publisher of the Burlington Hawk-Eye, civic leader. Newspaper clippings, correspondence, speeches, etc., concerning the newspaper and the Burlington, IA area, with information on the Great River Road Project of the 1960s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Moore Family Papers
Pioneer family, settled in Johnson Co., Iowa, 1840s. Some of the letters were written from Johnson and Hardin Counties and describe life there.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary Tyler Moore Television Show Collection
16 mm films of the popular 1970s television program.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dom Moraes Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jake More Papers
Lawyer and State Chair of Iowa's Democratic State Central Committee. Speeches, correspondence, press releases, voter lists, financial reports, etc. all relating to More's involvement in Iowa's Democratic Party organization.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Alfred E. Moredock Papers
Postcards, newsletters, talent brochures, programs, and other material relating to Chautauqua, with the majority dealing with the Swarthmore Chautauqua system.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dave Morice Papers
Poet, co-founder of the Actualist Movement, and perpetrator of many poetry marathons.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Morrell Meat Packing Company Collection Papers
Business and personal correspondence, account books, statements, and other records, relating to the meat packing company particularly in Liverpool, England, and Ottumwa, Iowa; and papers, including some of Thomas Dove Foster.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

David Morrell Papers
Born in Ontario 1943, awarded a PhD in American literature by Pennsylvania State University in 1970, taught at Iowa from 1970 to 1986, retired to write. Perhaps best known for Rambo, the central character of his 1972 novel First Blood, which lead to the Rambo films starring Sylvester Stallone, Morrell has written numerous novels as well as screen- and teleplays. The growing collection of his papers includes video and audio tapes as well as research notes, correspondence, and manuscripts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ira Victor! Morris Papers
Materials relating to The Road to Spain.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Velma Ford Morrison Papers
Author of books for children, president of the Morrison Book Company. Correspondence, preliminary drafts and art work for her books including There's Only One You (1978) and Going On a Dig (1981).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Eric Morton Civil Rights Papers
Papers of an organizer for the Freedom Summer.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

[Steven] Dow Mossman Papers
Writer born in Cedar Rapids. Collection includes extensive pre-publication materials for Mossman's highly regarded novel, The Stones of Summer (1972) as well as drafts written while a student in the Writer's Workshop.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Luther Mott Papers
Journalism professor and dean, Mott is best remembered for his writing on the history of American newspapers. He also wrote numerous stories, plays and novels, draft of which are preserved in this collection. of which are preserved in this collection.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

L.E. Moyer Papers
Photos, appointment diaries, correspondence, and other material related to Moyer's responsibilities as a crewman and superintendent on the Redpath-Horner Chautauqua circuit, as well as manager of a touring play and later a partner in the Horner-Moyer booking agency.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mt. Pleasant Chamber of Commerce Papers
Reports of meetings and financial accounts reflect activities of the organization.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lois Baker Muehl Papers
Manuscripts and correspondence related to her books for children including My Name Is-- (1959) and Hidden Year of Devlin Bates (1967).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iris Murdoch Papers
British writer and philosopher. Manuscripts for most of her novels, plays, and poetry, primarily handwritten drafts in notebooks.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles H. Murphy Papers
Spanish American War soldier from Red Oak, IA. Personal letters concerning the activities of Company M, 51st Infantry Regiment, Iowa Volunteers during the Spanish American War.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ray Murphy Papers
Insurance businessman. Speeches and scrapbooks relating chiefly to Murphy's term as national commander of the American Legion.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William Cotter Murray Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Murray-Fiske Family Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections