Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Alphabetical List of All Collections: L
Narrow your results by Repository: Special Collections | University Archives | Iowa Women's Archives | All |
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z  
Search Results - 123 hits

Katharine La Sheck papers
Musician, actress and dancer from Iowa City who toured on the Chautauqua circuit.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Labor and Management Center Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Labor Center Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Mason Ladd Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

R.A. Lafferty Manuscripts
Prize-winning author of science fiction stories and novels. Typescripts and page proofs for several stories and novels, including the printer's copy of Okla Hannali (1972).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Laurence Davis Lafore Papers
Professor of history, University of Iowa, from 1969 until 1985. Researched the origins of the two world wars. Correspondence, manuscripts, travel postcards.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Gladys Moeller Lage papers
Personal accounts of Lage's childhood and upbringing on a farm in Cedar County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Charlton Laird Papers
Author who wrote extensively on language. This collection contains the manuscript and correspondence for one of his novels. Iowa Author collection.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Byron James Lambert Photograph Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Brooke Lambert Papers
English clergyman and social reformer. Made up of letters written to Lambert over a forty year time span dealing with issues such as women's suffrage, the welfare of the poor and orphaned, colonialism, pulpit freedom, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Candace Packard Lambie papers
Officer in local and state chapters of the League of Women Voters and Daughters of the American Revolution.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

M. Willard Lampe Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Kim Landhuis papers
Native of Vietnam who became a teacher, school board member, and 1994 candidate for the Iowa senate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ortha Lane papers
1917 graduate of Cornell College, Iowa, who served as a missionary in the Changchao District of Northern China.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ann Larimer letters
Queen City, Iowa, resident who wrote to her husband while he was serving in the Civil War.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

William Larrabee, Jr., Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Sonja Larsen papers
Republican representative in the Iowa legislature who ran for mayor of Ottumwa in 1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Larson papers
Anamosa and Iowa City resident who worked for the The University of Iowa Hospital.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mauricio Lasansky Papers
Professor, University of Iowa School of Art and Art History, from 1945 until 1986. Well-known for intaglio printmaking. Biography and photographs of his prints.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Pedro Lastra Collection of Letters from South American Writers
Chilean essayist and poet. This collection contains over 900 letters to Lastra written by renowned South American writers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Truly Trousdale Latchaw Papers
Trousdale Theatrical Troupes Papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Latin American Fanzine Collection
Latin American fanzines
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Latino-Native American Cultural Center Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Lois Laughlin papers
Papers of an activist from West Branch, Iowa, include correspondence and newspaper clippings relating to her husband's status as a conscientious objector.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Laughlin papers
Social activist and writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Kathleen Wood Laurila papers
Iowa activist involved in the peace movement as well energy conservation and environmental protection coalitions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mildred H. Lavin papers
Professor in instructional design and outreach education at the University of Iowa's College of Education.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

College of Law Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Lillian B. Lawler papers
Scholar at the State University of Iowa in 1923.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rose Mary Lawrence Papers
The manuscript of this national prize-winning short story by a twenty-two year old Davenport native.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Donald P. Lay Papers
Speeches, articles, and correspondence of a judge of the Eight Circuit Court of Appeals.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lazarus Photographs
Photographs from the 1948 Presidential campaign of Henry A. Wallace, running on the Progressive Party ticket.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

C. J. Le Vois Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Laura Leach Collection of Man From U.N.C.L.E. Fanzines
Collection of fanzines (primarily fan fiction) and other materials, including episode scripts, devoted to the 1960s cult television show The Man From U.N.C.L.E.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

League of Iowa Municipalities Papers
Annual convention proceedings, 1946-1961.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) Council 10 (Davenport, Iowa) records
The members of Davenport LULAC Council 10 engaged in a wide range of social and political activities including annual fiestas, civil rights and fair housing.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

League of Women Voters of Cedar Rapids-Marion records
The Cedar Rapids-Marion League of Women Voters (LWV) played an active part in the civic life of the greater Cedar Rapids area.   During the period covered by this collection, the Cedar Rapids-Marion League of Women Voters focused on the problems of high school dropouts in the Cedar Rapids school system and the lack of affordable housing in the area.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

League of Women Voters of Iowa records
State-level branch of the national non-partisan League of Women Voters which seeks to promote political responsibility through educating and informing the public on selected governmental issues and promoting action on those issues.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

League of Women Voters of Johnson County records
Local branch of the national non-partisan League of Women Voters which seeks to promote political responsibility through educating and informing the public on selected governmental issues and promoting action on those issues.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

League of Women Voters of Metropolitan Des Moines records
This non-partisan group studied and acted upon the many local issues including the following: the council-manager form of city government, home rule for local and county government, reapportionment of legislative districts of the Iowa General Assembly, desegregation and integration of Des Moines public schools, and the need for affordable housing in the community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

League of Women Voters of Muscatine records
During the 1980s and 1990s, the LWV of Muscatine conducted a number of studies on Muscatine county issues, including the ambulance 911 system, law enforcement, county courthouse space needs, alternative forms of county government, housing, education, land use, hazardous waste, local option tax, the U.S. Highway 61 Bypass, and the Muscatine fire station.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

League of Women Voters of Sioux City records

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

League of Women Voters of Mount Vernon-Lisbon records
The league has been involved in various projects and studies throughout its history, reflecting changing political issues while maintaining a core concern for the community of Mount Vernon.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bernice Leary papers
Educator, author, collector of children's books.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Lechlitner Papers
Poet and teacher. Correspondence, subject files, and preliminary drafts of her writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Karl LeCompte Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, and scrapbooks relating to his political career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Al M. Lee Papers
Graduate of the Writers' Workshop, novelist and poet. This collection contains manuscripts, clippings, a photograph, and correspondence. Correspondents include Hubert Humphrey, Gene McCarthy, John F. Kennedy, Mark Strand, Cleanth Brooks, and Donald Justice among others.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Leggett Papers
Manuscripts and correspondence of the editor, writer, and director of the University of Iowa Writer's Workshop, 1969-1987. Papers include research files and drafts for Ross [Lockridge] and Tom [Heggen]: Two American Tragedies (New York: Simon and Schuster, 1974), including three hundred Ross Lockridge letters and 40 interviews; copies of newspaper articles and book reviews; 446 letters by and about Tom Heggen, 95 interviews, copies of stories and articles written by Heggen; copies of newspaper and magazine articles written about Heggen and Mr. Roberts; official reports concerning Heggen's death; and general research and miscellaneous Items. This collection also includes materials for A Daring Young Man: A Biography of William Saroyan (New York: Knopf, 2002), and other books and stories.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Legislative Askings Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Legislative Environmental Advisory Group (LEAG) Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Legislative Higher Education Task Force Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Legislative Processes Study Committee Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Alberta Evelyn Swan Lehman papers
Correspondence and scrapbook of student years at Simpson Conservatory in Indianola, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Department of Leisure Studies Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

LeAnn Lemberger Papers
Author of romance novels as Leigh Michaels. Manuscript drafts, galleys, and page proofs of her novels, as well as articles by and about Lemberger and teaching materials used for the Iowa Summer Writing Festival.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James A. Lemley Papers
Account books, ledgers, invoices, and inventories, of a general store in Veo, Iowa, and administrative records of Deep Creek Township, Clinton Co., Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lemme Family papers
Traces the family history of Helen Lemme, a civil rights activist who was named Iowa City's first Woman of the Year in 1955.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John W. Lemmon Collection of Right Wing Pamphlets

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Levi O. Leonard Papers
Historian, journalist, railroad employee, and collector. Records, notes, correspondence, ledgers, financial accounts, legal papers, land profiles, etc. relating to the building and operation of the Union Pacific, Rock Island, and other railroads.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Leopold Desk Company Records
Office furniture manufacturing firm in Burlington, IA. Company's history is documented with annual reports, minutes, time books, etc. Catalogs showcase their products.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nathan F. Leopold Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender (LGBT) Staff and Faculty Association Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

George L. Leslie Papers
University of Iowa student and California school administrator. Course notes and correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Fred Dickinson Letts Papers
Attorney, Congressman, and judge. Correspondence, family and personal records, with court decisions and speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Myrtilla F. Levin papers
Active in the Republican Party, mayor of Newton, Iowa, and executive director of Iowa Business Council.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joy Smith Lewallen memoir
This is My Story, This is My Song, unpublished memoir.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lewis Publishing Company Records
Correspondence of Nathan Henry Wilson, receipt books, memorandum pads, and other business records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Catherine Lewis papers
Interviews and field reports prepared by Lewis for the Smithsonian Institution's Festival of American Folklore.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Don Lewis Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

John C. Lewis Papers
Labor leader. Correspondence, clippings, and other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Peter Tod Lewis Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Thelma B. Lewis papers
Iowa City mayor in 1961; served on the city council from 1958 to 1963.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Libraries Committee Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Library Staff Association Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Marion Cox Lichty papers
Waterloo, Iowa native who served in the Women's Army Auxiliary Corps during World War II and then in the United States Air Force Reserve.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Liddel-Westefeld Congressional Candidate Oral History Collection
Interviews with eleven candidates who ran unsuccessfuly for Congress, conducted by an undergraduate history major at the University of Iowa in Spring 2007. Includes audiocassette tapes and transcriptions of the interviews.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dean M. Lierle Papers
Professor and head of Otolaryngology at the SUI College of Medicine. Medical notes and committee report.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Louise Liers papers
World War I Army nurse from Clayton, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joan Liffring-Zug photographs
Iowa photographer and publisher of many regional and national photographic books.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Manuscript of "The Chancellor's Party" by Don Liljenquist
Four revisions of the play that won the Iowa centennial contest and was performed at the University of Iowa in 1947.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lincoln Chautauqua Bureau Materials
Materials from the operation of the Lincoln Chautauqua Bureau, originally found in the Records of the Redpath Chautauqua Bureau.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

National Association of Fan Clubs Materials
National Association of Fan Clubs and related materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Linda Lee Smith papers
Muscatine, Iowa native and basoonist who performed and taught at the university level before directing a women's recovery program in California.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carrie Lindahl papers
Rural Linn County banker who worked outside of the home from 1910s to 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John M. Lindly Papers
Pharmacist and banker from Winfield, Iowa. Diaries, scrapbook, and subject files documenting Lindly's career and family. Also includes historical materials relating to Winfield, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

E. F. Lindquist Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

John M. Lindsey Photograph Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Annette Lingelbach papers
Journalist who wrote for Des Moines and Waterloo newspapers.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Field Records for the Linguistic Atlas of the Upper Midwest
Duplicates of field transactions, lexical questionnaires, worksheets, and handwritten notes.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Linguistics Department Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Linograph Corporation Papers
Catalogs, type specimen books, advertising brochures.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Joan Lipsky papers
Iowa legislator and community acitvisit from Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Literary Societies Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Literature, Science and the Arts Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Laura Lively Collection of Fanzines
Collection of mostly Starsky and Hutch slash zines, but contains some for Smallville and Sentinel.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

W. Ross Livingston Papers
Professor of history at the University of Iowa from 1925 to 1962. Instrumental in acquiring British government documents for the University of Iowa Libraries. Served in the U.S. Army Eighth Air Forces in Europe during World War II and wrote a history of that unit.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Billie D. Lloyd papers
Social worker, community activist, and civic administrator who founded the Quad Cities Conference on Black Families, Inc.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Lloyd-Jones papers
State legislator from Iowa City and president of the Iowa Peace Institute.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gertrude Schroeder Lockwood papers
Scrapbook documenting the collegiate life of a State University of Iowa student during the 1920's.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Walter F. Loehwing Papers
Professor of Botany, researched plant physiology.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Katinka Loeser Papers
Author, poet, and editor born in Iowa. Drafts of her poetry and short stories, a master proof of A Thousand Pardons, and an unpublished novel, Everyday China.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ina Loewenberg papers
Research materials for her book, The View From 70: Women's Recollections and Reflections, published in 2004.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

William Logan Papers
Personal and business correspondence of William Logan. Records, receipts, correspondence, accounts and other financial legal material of the Central State Savings Bank of Keokuk, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lokken Collection on Iowa Lands
Historian of Iowa public land disposal. Petitioner's exhibits and briefs used before the Indian Claims Commission, mimeograph copies of the original field notes for much of Iowa, and computer printouts of data abstracted from Deed Record Books.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lola Kathleen "Kathy" Fisher scrapbook
West Chester, Iowa resident who attended the State University of Iowa from 1954-1956.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Anna Cochrane Lomas papers
Republican National Committeewoman in the 1950s and 1960s from Red Oak, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sarah Alien Longchamp papers
Basketball player from Ida Grove, Iowa, who was elected to the Iowa Hall of Fame in 1972.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lester D. Longman Papers
Professor and head of Art Department, 1936-1958. Correspondence, articles, clippings.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Antonia and Federico Lopez papers
Mexican couple from the state of Guanajuato who settled permanently in Iowa in the 1910s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Love-Bowman Family papers

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Herschel C. Loveless Papers
Governor of Iowa. Most of the papers relate to the 1960 gubernatorial race with correspondence, campaign materials, and speeches. There are also scrapbooks and office files.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lowell Club (Boone, Iowa) records
Study club founded in 1887.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Walter Lowenfels Papers
This collection contains correspondence and materials relating to Walter Lowenfels? anthology of avant-garde poets, Poets of Today: A New American Anthology published in 1964.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Anita Lowry papers
University of Iowa Librarian who was the first head of the Information Arcade at the University of Iowa Libraries, 1992-1996.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Glenn Lowry Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Betsy Loyd Oral Histories of Permanent Chautauquas
Oral history interviews conducted with individuals who recall their childhoods at permanent Chatuauquas.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mae Irene Ludemann papers
High school history teacher who traveled to Europe in 1929 and recorded her experiences in a diary.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

George H. Ludwig Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Luella Rynerson Smith papers
Home extension course, U.S. Department of Agriculture, and other early twentieth century rural organization publications collected by an Iowa farm wife.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elmer Clinton Lundquist Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Marjorie Elizabeth Lyford papers
Public health and visiting nurse who later taught at the University of Iowa College of Nursing.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth Fagan Lynch memoir
Teacher and farmer of Irish descent from Dubuque County, Iowa whose memoir is called, A Trunk and its Chips.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Pauline Lyon papers
Waterloo, Iowa, native who served in WAVES during World War II and later worked for the American Red Cross.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives