Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Alphabetical List of All Collections: G
Narrow your results by Repository: Special Collections | University Archives | Iowa Women's Archives | All |
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z  
Search Results - 109 hits

William Gaglione Papers
Personal papers and art work of the stamp and mail artist. An ATCA collection. MsC866.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Blanca Vasquez Gaines papers
Puerto Rican woman who served in the Women's Army Corps during World War II and trained at Fort Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Harold John Gallagher Papers
Attorney and President of the American Bar Association. Subjectfiles, speeches, and correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James V. Gallagher Papers
Iowa state legislator. Correspondence and subject files relating to his service in the Iowa house and senate. Issues range from abortion to apportionment, however Gallagher's primary interest were energy and conservation.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Gallup Organization Papers
Official recordsof the world famous polling organization. Includes personal papers of George Gallup II (Ted), George III, and Alec Gallup and other members of the family
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Gamma Epsilon Pi Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Katy Gammack papers
Multi-client lobbyist, co-publisher of "Money and Politics Iowa," and an advocate for women's rights.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosa Knutson Gangestad papers
The daughter of Norwegian immigrants who came to Humboldt County, Iowa in 1872. Reflections on pioneer life through handwritten stories and letters for her grandchildren.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Gantz papers
Three student research papers on mid-19th century medical education at the University of Iowa written by Mary Gantz.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ines Garcia papers
Mexican American whose family migrated to the U.S., and eventually to Iowa, in the early twentieth century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elmer S. Gardner Photograph Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Hamlin Garland Papers
Correspondence, four short manuscripts, and photographs make up this small collection for this Iowa author and champion of local color.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dorothy Garlock Papers
Romance novelist from Love and Cherish (1980), a career started to avoid the boredom of retirement.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Modesta and Genero Garnica papers
Davenport family that emigrated from Mexico in the 1910s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Harry Freeland Garrett Papers
Iowa Supreme Court Justice and Iowa state legislator. Subject files relating to his career in law and politics. Includes correspondence, legal cases, law school reunions, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Darrell Garwood Papers
Newspaperman and biographer of Grant Wood. This collection contains printer's typescripts with revisions for two of his works, Artist in Iowa: A Life of Grant Wood and Crossroads of America: The Story of Kansas City. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Adelia St. John Gates papers
Graduate of Genesee College in New York who moved to Waterloo, Iowa as a bride.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Tom Gatten Literary Letters
Collection of letters from literary figures including Kofi Awoonor, Robert Bly, Michael Cimino, Galway Kinnell, Denise Levertov, and others.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Gawsworth (Armstrong)/Shiel/Redonda Papers
Papers and manuscripts of the lyrical poet and second King of Redonda; some papers for M.P. Shiel, fantasy writer and first King of Redonda; some papers on the Kingdom of Redonda. Letters from Gawsworth's days as editor; many of his poems written in his hand, most of them unpublished. 21 notebooks and several photographs. These notebooks are mostly from the World War II era and document his experiences in the RAF in North Africa and Italy, as well as his literary musings and studies, including a list of authors in North Africa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Allies Union Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Patricia Geadelmann papers
Feminist and physical educator who was a strong proponent of the ERA and Title IX.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Susan Gearhart Papers
Manuscripts of poems from the Springville, Iowa poet's two books, The Plow on the Hill and The West is Here, as well as other poems.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nellie M. Gebers papers
Artist, writer and teacher from Ira, Iowa who studied with Grant Wood.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lawrence E. Gelfand Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

General Catalog Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

General Film Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Geography Department Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Department of Geology Photograph Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Geoscience Department Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

John C. Gerber Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Margaret Wilbourn Gerber papers
Clubwoman and activist who lived in Chicago, Albany, New York, and Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Philip L. Gerber papers
State University of New York College at Brockport professor who edited the homesteading letters of Elizabeth Corey.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Zella May Gerber papers
A secretary who worked in Alaska in 1943 and at the Oak Ridge Atomic Plant in Tennessee from 1944 to 1945.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lauren Geringer Papers
Iowa City printer and author. The bulk of the collection is comprised of monthly bundles from amateur press associations during 1990 and 1991, including the Amalgamated Printers Association, the National Amateur Press Association, and Peat's press. Items from Geringer's Press, clippings about Geringer, a miscellaneous collection of samples of printing, and several editions of his small journal, People Watcher make up the remainderof the collection.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

German Department Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Elizabeth Anna Gernes papers
Educator and Red Cross worker.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Institute of Gerontology Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Giauque Family Papers
Primarily the correspondence of James Giauque, a Civil War soldier who served in the 30th Iowa Infantry. Letters to his brother relate to army life, the siege of Vicksburg, and Copperheads. Also includes letters from his cousin Florian Giauque who served with the 102nd Ohio Volunteers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marie Giddings papers
Detailed account of farm and rural community life as Marie Giddings knew it growing up in Kossuth County during the early 20th century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cody Gieselman Zine Collection
Zines
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ralph E. Giesey Papers
Includes Hotomanni's Francogallia (originally the only existing portion of the collection)Donated to the collection in September 2008 are the research files for Giesey's extensive and decades-long Projet Fox, a study of medieval and early modern French.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

John F. Gilgun Papers
Diaries, journals, stories, poems, correspondence, and manuscripts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arnold S. Gillette Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Whitney Gillilland Papers
Government official. Correspondence, speeches, and materials from the Republican National Committee reflect his work in politics and government. Many of the speeches were given while he was a member of the Civil Aeronautics Board.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Blanche Basye Gilmore papers
Memoir of wife, mother, and grandmother whose husband Eugene Gilmore was Vice Governor of the Phillippines in the 1920s and president of the University of Iowa from 1934 to 1940.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Eugene A. Gilmore Papers
Twelfth president of the University of Iowa, 1934-1940.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Madge Girard papers
Reflections on Girard's early life homesteading in South Dakota.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Giving Voice to their Memories: Oral Histories of African American Women in Iowa
Oral history project of the Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Susan Glaspell Papers
Susan Glaspell helped to co-found the troupe that was to become the Provincetown Players in 1915. She wrote essays, short stories, and plays that were performed at Provincetown. This small collection consists of several manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, and other items.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Brian Glenister Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Joshua Glenn Zine Collection
Zines
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carl Glick Papers
Story writer, playwright and film script writer, author of books for adults and children, Glick is best remembered for his books about the Chinese in America.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Waldo Glock Fiji-New Zealand Expedition Lantern Slides

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Ruth Ann Godollei Zine Collection
A collection of assorted zines.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Trula Godwin papers
Davenport, Iowa, policewoman from 1973-1998.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

June Parker Goldman papers
Japanese-American woman who was a member of the Know Your Neighbor panel in Des Moines in the 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Louise Goldman papers
Public servant, feminist activist, and poet from Davenport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John Elliot Goodenow Papers
Farmer and livestock breeder. Reminiscences and financial and stock and crop records relating to the family farm.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Karen Goodenow papers
Elementary and high school teacher who has served on local and state boards of education.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

William F. Goodhue Diary
Civil War soldier. Goodhue was a member of the 3rd Wisconsin Infantry Regiment. He wrote of camp life, food, and military duties. He also describes the country through which he traveled.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dean Herbert F. Goodrich Papers, College of Law
Dean of the University of Iowa College of Law, 1922.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Julie Goodrich papers
Adel, Iowa native who was an accomplished high school athlete in the 1970s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

W. H. Goodrich Papers
Republican party official. Subject files relating to Republican politics in Iowa and the nation, especially the 1976 election.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Robert K. Goodwin Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa and businessman. Correspondence and subject files relating to his political activities with the Republican Party.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carol Gorman Papers
Author of books for young adults and teacher. Preliminary drafts of her writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edward Gorman Papers
Author of mysteries (the Tobin and Jack Dwyer series), westerns (as Leo Guild), and horror novels under several pseudonyms. Former advertising executive. Preliminary drafts of his writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

I. Gormezano Papers
University of Iowa professor of psychology, 1966-2002. Fellow, American Psychological Association.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Bruce Gould Papers
Journalist and editor at the Ladies Home Journal, 1935-1960. Typescripts of a play and two short stories comprise this collection.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Governor Ray's Commission on the Status of Women (Iowa) records
The Commission addressed issues such as the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), abortion reform, daycare, equal pay for equal work, and sex discrimination in employment, insurance, and education. At the end of 1970, the GCSW reported two major legislative accomplishments: the passage of no-fault divorce laws and the addition of sex to the Iowa Civil Rights Act of 1965.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Governor's Commission on Economic and Social Trends in Iowa Papers
Files, minutes, correspondence, and committee reports.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Governor's Conference on Iowa in the Year 2000 (Iowa 2000) Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Graduate College Faculty Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Graduate College Printed Material Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Graduate College Student Records
Box Contents List Candidates for Advanced Degrees; 0.5 ft. Final Exam; 1.5 ft. Mathematics Working Papers; 0.5 ft. Graduate College Student Case Files Dec 76- Aug 86; 45.0 ft. Masters & Doctoral Candidates; 30 ft.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Graduate Council Research Programs Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Graduate Student Senate Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Alberta Powell Graham Papers
A writer of biographies for children (on Columbus, Clara Barton, Lafayette and LaSalle, among others), Mrs. Graham also published more than 300 songs and Strike Up the Band! (1949), a collection of short biographies of American band musicians. Both her books and songs are represented in her papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frances Graham papers
Amateur historian and clubwoman from Fayette County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John William Graham World War II Letters
Letters February 1942 to September 1945 from a technician on a ground crew in the 464th Bomber Group.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Manta S. Graham Papers
Between 1919 and 1941, Graham wrote and published at least 43 plays (represented by typescripts in this collection, a gift in 1953).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Orville Francis Grahame Papers
Vice-president and general counsel of Paul Revere Life Insurance Company of Worcester, MA. Subject files, correspondence, speeches, articles, etc., relating to his involvement in Republican politics (both nationally and in Massachusetts) and the insurance business. There are files on the Health Insurance Association of America, the new York Young Republicans, and the Securities Exchange Commission.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Christine Grant papers
Sports administrator, professor, and gender equity activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy S. Grant papers
Unitarian Universalist and Head Start teacher, and spokesperson for victims of spousal abuse.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Henry N. Graven Papers
U.S. District Court Judge for the Northern District of Iowa. Papers primarily relating to his legal and judicial career with briefs, jury instructions, citations, subject files, and speeches. Also includes correspondence, information on the School of Religion at the University of Iowa and material about the Lutheran Church.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lucy Grealy Papers
Lucy Grealy was born to an Irish family. A graduate of Sarah Lawrence she came to the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop for a graduate degree, 1985-1987. She published two books: Autobiography of a Face (1994) and As Seen on TV: Provocations (2000). Grealy's life was shaped by childhood cancer that disfigured her face and led to a long series of operations intended to reconstruct her jaw and otherwise reduce or repair the disfigurement. At least in part, this lead her to severe drug dependence and thus to her death by drug overdose at the age of 39.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Greater Des Moines Chamber of Commerce Records
Correspondence, minutes of meetings, annual reports, and bulletins.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Greene Township Women's Club (Iowa County, Iowa) records
Social club of Iowa County farmwomen that began as a Farm Bureau club but later dropped that affiliation.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Archie L. Greene papers
Writer and volunteer who earned a doctorate in English from the University of Iowa while living with spinocerebellar degeneration.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Greene Family Papers
Pioneer family from Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Typed transcriptions of diaries, letters, and cards describing life in early Johnson, Jones, and Linn counties in Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Geraldine Greenlee papers
Received her master's degree from the Department of Physical Education for Women at the State University of Iowa in 1952.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Grefe papers
Educator, social activist, politician and businesswoman who was inducted into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 1980.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dean Charles N. Gregory Papers, College of Law
Dean of the University of Iowa College of Law, 1901-1911.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Franklin L. Gregory and Margery Berfield Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Violet Greiner papers
Farmwoman, columnist, and volunteer from Blairsburg, Iowa who wrote a monthly column for the Rural Electric Cooperative News.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edna Griffin papers
Civil rights activist, later known as the Rosa Parks of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ray B. Griffin Papers
Lawyer and land speculator, of Manchester, Iowa. Personal and business correspondence, legal papers, farm inventories, ledgers, and related materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George Walter Grill Chautauqua Collection
Chautauqua employee associated with Redpath-Vawter, Alkahest Lyceum, and Coit-Alber systems. Correspondence, programs, talent lists, circuit
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Julian Gromer Travelogues
Julian Gromer was a lecturer represented by the Redpath Agency in the 1940s and 1950s. He lectured against travelogue films that he directed and shot himself, and he was accompanied by sound tracks developed with his wife. This collection consists of three of the feature length travelogues.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Erwin G. Gross Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

William H. Groveman Memorial Amateur Journalism Collection
Extensiive collection of amateur journalism publications.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Phredd Groves Klordny Apazine Collection
Klordny Apazines
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Esther Mae Christensen Grow memoir
Reflections on growing up in western Iowa and Nebraska include experiences in country school, college and as a teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Josephine Gruhn papers
Britt, Iowa-born member of the Iowa House of Representatives and vice-chair of the Committee on Agriculture during the farm crisis of the 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frederick Lange Grundtvig Papers
Lutheran Minister in Clinton, Iowa, 1888-1900. These manuscripts deal with the Grundtvig's observations of the birds breeding in Clinton and Jackson, Iowa and Whiteside and Carroll, Illinois.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Guild of Book Workers Records
Includes materials from multiple chapters, publications, financial records, membership records, and papers from the annual Standard Seminars.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Guinn Family Papers
The Guinn family moved to Iowa from Tennessee beginning in 1846 to settle near Belle Plaine. This collection includes legal documents, correspondence, a photograph, and a ledger book made up at the time of the sale of the estate of H. Guinn.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Helen Gunderson papers
Papers include photographs of 1995 suffrage parade and Iowa ERA rallies.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Irene and Jose Guzman papers
Photographs and slides pertaining to the Guzman's role in the Migrant Action Program in Mason City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gwyn Jones Lectures Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives