Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Alphabetical List of Special Collections: C
Narrow your results by Repository: Special Collections | University Archives | Iowa Women's Archives | All |
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z  
Search Results - 81 hits

Charles Cady Papers
Civil War soldier from Danville, Iowa. Consists of letters written to his parents and family describing life in the 15th Iowa Volunteer Infantry. Also includes his promotion and discharge papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John N. Calhoun Papers
Lawyer in Burlington, Iowa and Iowa state senator. Correspondence and subject files relating to his legal and political careers and his military service in World War II.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary Huiskamp Calhoun
Well-known children's author. This collection consists of several versions of her manuscript for Magic in the Alley. Iowa Author Ms.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

California Civil War Diary
Diary of an unknown soldier in Company C, 4th Infantry C.V., who was assigned to a detail guarding a wagon train carrying specie to the East.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Homer Calkin Papers
Historian, archivist, and author. Correspondence files; diaries; memorabilia; scrapbooks dealing with his early life, education, career in the State Department, and work for the Methodist Church.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Homer Calkin Collection of Printed Ephemera
Historian, archivist, author and collector. This collection of printed ephemera consists of advertising and trade cards, spelling cards, calling cards and invitations, as well as paper dolls and cut-outs of artwork such as flowers and fruit.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ed Hoyt Campbell Papers
Iowa state senator and U.S. Representative from Iowa . Office files, correspondence, speeches, and campaign material.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Janine Canan Papers
Poet and editor. Books, manuscripts,clippings, correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John W. Carey Papers
Newspaper editor in Rock Rapids and Sioux City, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur Carhart Papers
Author, conservationist, and landscape architect. Manuscripts of some of his books including The National Forests and Timber in Your Life. Typescript drafts, proofs, galleys, outlines, and correspondence are included.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Esther Carlson manuscript
Manuscript for Moon Over the Back Fence, 1947-1948. Iowa Author Manuscript
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carr and Carr Records
Complete records of a pioneer law firm and several of its predecessors, including correspondence, account books, ledgers, cases, journals, and receipts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Gertrude M. Carr Papers
Noted science fiction fan and fanzine editor from Seattle, Washington. Correspondence, together with some additional ephemera.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

cARTalog Collection
Artifacts from the exhibit mounted at the University of Iowa Libraries in 2006, in which volunteers contributed artwork created from cards from the defunct catalog of the library.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Steven V. Carter Papers
Attorney and U.S. Representative from Iowa . Subject files relating to his year in Congress and his earlier political and legal career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Thomas N. Carver papers
Economist and Harvard professor. Manuscript for his memoirs. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

R. Verlin Cassill manuscripts
Novelist and Writers' Workshop instructor. Uncorrected proof of Pretty Leslie (Simon and Schuster, 1963), a novel, and a recording of Cassill reading And in My Heart.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Leon H. Caverly Papers
Caverly was a cinematographer sent to document military activities in Belgium, France, and Germany in World War I. He also filmed Russian prisoner camps and the civilian riots in Berlin. In 1919 he spent six months filming in Cuba and Haiti. This collection consist primarily of letters to F. G. Riley, a New York photographer, but also includes a few photographs, a sketch, and a business card.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cedar Rapids and Iowa City Railroad Papers
Transcripts of interviews with Sutherland Dows and W.M. Schneider concerning the history and operation of the CRANDIC Railway.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cedar Rapids Chamber of Commerce
Budgets, correspondence, clippings, photographs, and other material.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cedar Rapids Symphony Orchestra Papers
Correspondence, account books, reports, lists, attendance registers, minutes, rosters of officers, publicity material, programs, and financial records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Centro de Arte y Communicacion (CAYC) (Center for Art and Communication) Buenos Aires
Committed to the production and dissemination of systems art, CAYC was established as a multidisciplinary workshop in August of 1968. A collection of large scale works (each about 22 x 34 inches) was assembled in 1972 by Jorge Glusberg, CAYC Director, as an edition of 10 that circulated as traveling exhibitions. Apparently including about 72 works in 1972, the collection grew over time and the Iowa collection now consists of 143 diazo prints and appears to be the only extant copy. The collection includes a linear foot of catalogues, documentation, books and pamphlets, dating from 1970 to1980 and a complete set of black and white photographs from which online images were derived.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Alfred B. Chamberlin Papers
Methodist minister. Sermon outlines, orders of worship, notebook, pastoral calls, and other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

J. Gordon Chamberlin Papers
Teacher, Methodist minister and writer on theological and educational subjects. Correspondence, course materials, sermons and speeches, with materials relating to his many books and articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James Chamberlain Papers
Farmer and Johnson County , Iowa public official. Daybooks, ledgers, and photographs relating to the early years of North Liberty, Johnson County, Iowa .
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ida R Chamness Papers
Ida Chamness was born in Norway and moved to Iowa in 1900, where she was very active in the Society of Friends. This collection includes a manuscript memoir, transcribed by her daughter, and an appeal to the Yearly Meeting of Friends.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lawrence Oakley Cheever Papers
Industrial editor, author, book and bookplate collector. Correspondence, drafts, publications, and research relating to his interest in book illustrators, books and book plates.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Tom Chehak Papers
Television and film writer, producer and director. 26 episodes of Galidor, an action series for children sponsored by Lego Media International and the Disney network; 13 episodes of Scout's Safari, an action-adventure series for young people set and shot in South Africa; materials relating to The Listener, for which Chehak served as an Executive Producer, shot in Toronto.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Chicago & Northwestern Railway Ticket Agent Papers
Records of the Cedar Rapids ticket agent for the railway, this collection consists of record books, correspondence with headquarters in Chicago , and correspondence dealing with problems of passenger transportation. Bulk dates are 1896-1899.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Chicago Rock Island and Pacific Railway
Author of Land of the High Flags. The collection consists of manuscripts for this book, articles, correspondence, and other miscellany.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Childs Family Letters
Letters of the Childsfamily in Philadelphia , Pennsylvania and members of the family in Clinton County , Iowa , including the towns of Low Moor, Lyons, and Camanche. Though the correspondence is carried on during the Civil War, the letters have mostly to do with domestic affairs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marquis Childs Papers
Pulitzer prize-winning journalist with the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Typescript drafts, galleys, proofs, and layouts for some of his books. Also general correspondence files, speeches, and newspaper clippings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Manuscripts of Chinese Writers
A number of literary manuscripts composed by Chinese writers were acquired for the East Asian collections over a long period of time. In 1991, a program was established to encourage further and continued growth in this area.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Caroline Mabry Christie Papers
Holdings are the manuscript of Silver Heels, a book for children.Iowa Authors Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Christisen Railroad Collection
Records for the Milwaukee Road, Amtrak, and the B&O railroads, with some materials from the Elgin, Joliet and Eastern (EJ&E), the Central Railroad of New Jersey (CNJ), the Nickel Plate Railroad (NKP), and Acheson, Topeka and Santa Fe (AT&SF) lines from the 1880s to the early 1990s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Civil War Collection
Documents having to do with the Civil War.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Amy Clampitt Papers
Poet: Kingfisher (1983), Manhattan: An Elegy (UI Center for the Book, 1990), MacArthur Fellow, 1992, Collected Poems (1997). Correspondence and typescripts of some of her writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Clark and Haddock Papers
Correspondence, account books, and docket books of the law firm of Clark & Haddock.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dick Clark papers
U.S. Senator from Iowa , and educator. Arranged in 9 series, the papers consist of subject files, casework files, issue statements, clippings, audio, visual, film and photographs during his term in office. Subjects of special concern to Clark range from Africa and international relations to agriculture and conservation, Democratic Party politics to the aged, and education to transportation.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ezekial Clark Account Book
Record of Clark's accounts with the Iowa State Sanitary Commission.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Glenn Clark papers
Theological writer. Typescripts of Come Follow Me and God's Reach.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sean Clark Papers
Scripts for the television program, Early Edition, and drafts of a yet to be produced screenplay.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George Clarke Papers
Lawyer, state legislator, and Governor of Iowa . Subject files, campaign files, correspondence, and clippings relating primarily to his 1914 bid for re-election.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Buster Cleveland Papers
Correspondence and art work by mail artist Buster Cleveland.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Albert J. Cohen Papers
American motion picture and television script writer and producer. Program scripts, department materials, memos, clippings, notes, correspondence, production budgets, and miscellaneous photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carroll Coleman Papers
Proprietor of the Prairie Press and printer. Correspondence, preliminary drafts, galleys and mock-ups for books printed by the Prairie Press, and related business records, advertising, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Collins Mortgage and Farms Companies
Records of a Cedar Rapids-based mortgage company and company devoted to innovative utilization of farmland. Records include correspondence, financial records, legal files, property descriptions, and tax files.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Collins Radio Company Records
Corporate and product records of a Cedar Rapids-based communications and aerospace company. Records include correspondence, administrative records, product files, advertising, research materials, photographs, and blueprints.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Max Allan Collins papers
Author, filmmaker, and comic strip writer. The papers document his film and literary career. His novels, comics (including Dick Tracy and Ms. Tree), and screenplays are represented in various forms of completion, with typescript drafts, artwork, correspondence, research, galley proofs, and promotional material.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cyrus Colter Papers
Materials relating to The Beach Umbrella.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Comic Book Collection
Generally the comics in this particular collection are professionally-produced items and not mini-comics, zines, or similar sorts of amateur or self-published writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Comic Books of the Bronze Age
COMIC BOOKS. Comic Books of the Bronze Age, 1969-1986, bulk dates 1970-1976.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Commercial Documents Collection
Stock certificates, bonds, and other financial documents.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marvin Cone Papers
Artist. Exhibit catalogues and newspaper clippings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Confederate States of America Documents
A collection of bills, acts, reports and other documents printed by the Confederate States of America government.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul Conlon United Nations Sanctions Papers
Documents supporting Dr. Conlon's United Nations Sanctions Management: A Case Study of the Iraq Sanctions Committee 1990-1994 (Ardsley, NY: Transnational Publishers, Inc., 2001; ISBN 1-57105-059-0). Most relate to UN sanctions against Iraqfrom 1990 through the spring of 1995 with extensive materials dealing with UN sanctions against Yugoslaviain the same period plus items dealing with UN sanctions against Angola, Haitiand South Africa and relating to certain peacekeeping activities of the time.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Conroy Manuscripts
Holograph manuscripts of two of Frank Conroy's published books, Stop-time (1967) and Body & Soul (1993).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Conz-Friedman Collection 4 Fluxux Textile Multiples
Part of the Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art Collection at the University of Iowa, this collection consists of four Fluxus textile multiples.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cook Family Papers
Diaries of Edward E. Cook, journals and ledgers of the law firm of Cook & Dodge of Davenport, Iowa, and other business and legal papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul Corey Papers
Writer Three Miles Square (1939), environmentalist, and animal activist. Correspondence, subject files, scrapbooks, and preliminary drafts of writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Thomas E. Corkhill Papers
Methodist minister and moving force behind the organization of schools at Eldora and Mitchellville. Included are certificates of Corkhill's appointment of trustee of Iowa Reform School and an account book relating to his expenses as trustee as well as a holograph commonplace book containing the text of a diary of his experience in the Civil War, commissioned by Governor Samuel Kirkwood. This diary also contains poems and clippings. Also included is a CD of a transcription of the diary, plus a commentary on the text of over 150 pages, including background information and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George Cosson Papers
Attorney General of Iowa. The collection consists primarily of material regarding the case of Fred Stover vs. Central Broadcasting Company and other files relating to Stover. There are also copies of Cosson's writings, along with speeches, clippings, and correspondence files.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Albert A. Couch Papers
Labor leader. Correspondence, reports, and clippings relating to a proposed hydroelectric dam at Moscow, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

R. Keith Courtney Papers
Iowa City resident and artist. From the late 1970s to the late 1980s Courtney conducted a project titled Notes From All Over, which invited artists to send him found objects and printed matter. The collection consists of art works, correspondence, and related documentation dating from 1971-1995.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Walter Coverdale Papers
Agriculturist. Correspondence and subject files relating to the early years of the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation and the American Farm Bureau Federation.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cox and Kirkwood Land Book
Shows land holdings in various Iowa counties but show the holdings of James S. Easley primarily.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Gilbert Cranberg Papers
Editorial page writer for the Des Moines Register from 1949 to 1982, and from 1975 to 1982 the editor of that page; and then professor in the University of Iowa in the School of Journalism from 1982 to 2000. Drafts of published essays.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Fred Crane Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Fred Crane Chautauqua Recording Series

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cranefield African Agriculture Collection
Paul Cranefield did research on agriculture in Southern Africa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Crawford and Eastwood Families Papers
Correspondence, photographs, clippings, and genealogical records of these families, including materials relating to operating a farm near Prescott, Kansas; letters home from a worker on the Chautauqua circuit; and letters home from a professor of music.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James T. Crawford Zine Collection
Apazines.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Crosby Family Papers
Family papers, including adoption papers, a civil war discharge, and information on the Crosby Sliding Door Jack, including a patent application.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Denton Chester Crowl Papers
Lecturer-portrayalist, salesman and editorial writer for the Toledo Blade, Denton Crowl performed on the Chautauqua circuits and in other venues. This collection includes correspondence, appointment diaries, photographs, and manuscripts, mostly relating to his lecture and political activities.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Culbertson and Reno Account Book
Pioneer banking firm operated by John C. Culbertson and Morgan Reno.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Culinary Zines
Various culinary zines or cookzines.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Culver Papers
U.S. Congressman and Senator from Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Joseph Franklin Culver Papers
Civil War soldier, lawyer, and banker. Letters about his military service with the Illinois 129th Infantry Regiment, and his life after the war as a lawyer and banker in Illinois and Kansas. Letters Written During the Civil War (Friends of the University of Iowa Library, 1978). These letters were published as Leslie W. Dunlap, editor, Your Affectionate Husband, J.F. Culver: Letters Written During the Civil War (Friends of the University of Iowa Library, 1978).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cummington Press Papers
Print specimens from the press of Harry Duncan; biographical essays about Duncan.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul Harvey Cunningham Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa . Correspondence, newspaper clippings, speeches, news releases, and other documents relating to his public and political life.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Curtis Companies Inc. Records
Founded in 1866 and dissolved in 1938, the Curtis Companies were a conglomerate of associated sash, door, and millwork companies that eventually consolidated into a single corporation. Includes correspondence, ledgers, journals, cashbooks, stockbooks, and minute books, with correspondence of U.S. Representative George M. Curtis.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections