Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Alphabetical List of Iowa Women's Archives: B
Narrow your results by Repository: Special Collections | University Archives | Iowa Women's Archives | All |
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z  
Search Results - 73 hits

Lenora Backes diaries
Diaries of an Iowa farm woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Evelyn Crary Bacon papers
Teacher, decorated veteran nurse and pioneer in the field of nursing education, Bacon served as a captain in the U.S. Army Nurse Corps during World War II and participated in the invasion of Normandy.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Bamford papers
Professional photographer from Muscatine.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Barbara Madden-Bittle

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nancy V. "Rusty" Barcelo papers
Activist and administrator at the University of Iowa whose papers provide insight into Latino life and culture in Iowa and across the Midwest.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Wes Bartlett memoir
A Collection of Memories of the Algona Prisoner of War Camp, 1943 - 1946, compiled by Wes Bartlett.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carrie Kelly Beatty papers
Young woman who came to Hancock County, Iowa in 1868; her experiences were recorded in the book, A Prairie Rose, by Bertha E. Bush.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Salzmann Becker papers
Nurse and community activist in Iowa City who, as a young Jewish woman, fled Nazi Germany in 1939 and emigrated to the United States.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Virginia Becker papers
Scrapbooks of Bremer County, Iowa, Farm Bureau woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Eileen Beier papers

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joyce Beisswenger papers
Social worker and civil rights activist from Osage, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mildred Augustine Wirt Benson papers
Journalist for the Toledo Blade and writer of the first Nancy Drew mysteries and other children's series books; collection includes writings, clippings, scrapbooks and a few photographs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Janice A. Beran papers
Professor in the College of Education at Iowa State University until her retirement in 1994. Materials relate to the history of sports and particularly the participation of women and African-Americans in Iowa sports.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Berg papers
Pharmacist and professor at The University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Leola Bergmann papers
Scholar, writer and artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Berry papers
Des Moines-based artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Venise T. Berry papers
Novelist and associate professor of journalism and mass communication at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Vern Berry papers
Newspaper columnist who co-authored a book entitled, ?Roots and Recipes: Six Generations of Heartland Cookery.?
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Best Ever Club (Percival, Iowa) records
A women's study club in Percival, Iowa that was founded in 1922.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Evelyn Birkby Collection of Radio Homemaker Materials
Cookbooks, newsletters, and other publications of the Radio Homemakers who broadcast over KMA and KFNF in southwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nellie Bishop oral history
Buchanan County, Iowa, native who farmed with her husband.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Black Hawk County Democratic Women's Organization (Iowa) records
The group formed in 1956 to help elect Democratic candidates.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Black Hawk County Women's Political Caucus records
Organized in 1973, members supported a number of feminist initiatives including economic equalty and the ERA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Debra Blake papers
Journalist who edited the University of Northern Iowa newspaper the Northern Iowan, and worked for professional radio and television stations.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Germaine Mayer Blake papers
Elementary school teacher who taught for thirty-three years at the Catholic Visitation High School in Stacyville, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marjorie Bertalot Block papers
My Story describes Block's training as a nurse, family life, her employment off and on the farm, and her activities in Benton County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nancy De Vries Blom papers
Dutch immigrant who came to the United States in 1915 as a young child and lived on a farm in northwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sister Joyce Blum papers
The papers consist primarily of her self-published writings, reflections, and poetry about her work at the Arizona State prison and on the Mexican border.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joan Blundall papers
Social worker who developed support services for rural families during the 1980s farm crisis in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lena Belle Bock papers
Member of the Iowa House of Representatives from 1960 to 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Talcott Boedecker papers
Teacher with Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1941-1963; vocational counselor and tourism advocate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Molly Bolin papers
Professional basketball player from Moravia, Iowa who played for Iowa Cornets from 1978 to 1981 and for San Francisco and Columbus Ohio teams until 1984.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Betty Boller oral history
Des Moines wife and mother who worked as a secretary during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Bondurant papers
Waterloo music educator and multicultural programs coordinator.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Bonfiglio papers
Member of the Unitarian Universalist Society of Iowa City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Atherton Bonney papers
Bonney's research files include Iowa suffragist Mary Jane Coggeshall, scientist Mary Louise Putnam, physician Jennie McCowen, and pioneer evangelist and minister, Abner Kneeland
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Book Review Club (Manchester, Iowa) records
The club was a social group gathered in homes to review books.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nellie Booker papers
Newspaper reporter and author of poems and essays. The collection includes scrapbooks and photograph albums.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Boone Township Women's Club (Wright County, Iowa) records
The club was organized in 1911 for the social and intellectual benefit of the ladies of Boone and the surrounding area.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Booster Women's Club (Fort Madison, Iowa) records
Social and philanthropic club organized in 1947 by African American women in Fort Madison, Iowa
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marlene Booth Papers
Jewish independent filmmaker raised in Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lois Boulware papers
Physician in the University of Iowa Student Health Department, who established the Patient Advocacy Program at University Hospitals after marrying and having a child.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bowersox and Osborn Family papers
The Bowersox family settled in Johnson County, Iowa in approximately 1855. The papers include a family account book, school exams and teaching certificates.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

June Lundy Boyd papers
Memoir describes growing up and teaching in southwestern Iowa, Lundy's wartime wedding and subsequent life in Knoxville, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Susan Boyd papers
Journalist and writer who published several articles in Mademoiselle. She also served as University of Iowa First Lady from 1969-1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bernice Larson Boyum papers
Ellsworth, Iowa, woman who served in World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bradley Family papers
Correspondence and other papers of this nineteenth-century family that resided in the Hudson River Valley of New York.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alice Sophia Brant papers
Diaries of this homemaker and mother who helped manage the family's funeral home in Oelwein.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Branyan papers
Letters From Egypt by Helen Baird Branyan consists primarily of Clarice Bloomfield's letters, written between 1920 and 1938. The letters describe the life of an Albia, Iowa, girl who became a missionary in Egypt.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sarah Braunwarth papers
Medical school notebooks and clinical records of a physician who practiced in Muscatine, Iowa, in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosalie Braverman papers
Braverman recalls her childhood in Youthful Journeys in Poland and Germany. An oral history interview, conducted in 1996, concerns student family life, the Jewish community in Iowa City, and anti-Semitism.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jeanne Bridenstine papers
First woman elected chairperson of the Jasper County Democratic Central Committee in 1972.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bridging the Generations: the Lives and Contributions of Rural Iowa Women records
This exhibit was created by the Master Farm Homemakers Guild to publicize their history in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lela Powers Briggs papers
An artist who farmed with her husband near La Porte, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shirley A. Briggs papers
Artist, editor, and naturalist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Brine, Pelton and Thompson V. The University of Iowa records
Materials relate to the suit filed by 3 dental hygiene faculty members charging that the scheduled closing of the University of Iowa Dental Hygiene Program was discriminatory.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ada Mae Brown Brinton memoir
In Sunshine and Rain in Iowa: Reminiscing through 86 Years, Brinton reflects on rural Iowa, hard work, church traditions, and the love of family and community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cheryl Britton papers
Career nurse and avid traveler who grew up in Dedham, Iowa and Des Moines.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Andrews Brown scrapbook
The scrapbook and memory book describe her years as a Latin student at the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa).
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Paula Watts Brown papers
Civic leader in Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Martha Jean Nicholson Browneller papers
Mahaska County, Iowa, farm woman who was active in 4-H and rural organizations. She recorded her daily activities in her diaries between 1935 and 1973.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Browning Literary Club (Atlantic, Iowa) address
Speech delivered at the 9th District Convention of the Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Brubaker papers
Des Moines television reporter and producer. The papers include materials about Brubaker's grandmother who worked for the Des Moines Police Department in the 1920s and 1930s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Irene Coleman Buckley memoir
A Handful of Rain: The Life of Irene Buckley, describes her life as a teacher, wife, mother, librarian, and volunteer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carolyn "Kay" Bucksbaum papers
Civic activist involved in the Jewish community, the Des Moines symphony, the League of Women Voters, and the Proteus Club.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Suzanne Bunkers papers
This English professor's academic publications include work on women's history and diaries, and her own diaries reflect both her professional development and her personal life.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Burchard Family papers
The family lived in New York state until 1910 when they moved to Iowa.  The diaries are from several generations.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Betty M. Burger papers
Congressional caseworker from 1967 until 2007.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Norma Peg Burke papers
Physical education professor at the University of Iowa and past president of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women, 1976-1977.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jane Burleson papers
Teacher's aide, packinghouse worker, and union activist, Burleson was the first woman and first African American elected to the Fort Dodge City Council.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Burlington Clubwomen's Time Capsule records
Time capsule documenting women's community involvement, as captured in 1896 and 1946.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ella Bushnell-Hamlin papers
Early suffragist and owner of Trident Publishing Company in Davenport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosetta M. Byers papers
University of Iowa student from 1914-1918.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives