Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Alphabetical List of All Collections: A
Narrow your results by Repository: Special Collections | University Archives | Iowa Women's Archives | All |
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z  
Search Results - 111 hits

George Abbe Papers
Abbe, George, 1911-1989 , novelist and poet. Mss of Voices in the Square (Coward-McCann, 1938), his first novel.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Abigail Van Allen papers
Iowa City resident who worked to preserve and restore Iowa City landmarks including the Old Capitol building.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lot Abraham Papers
Correspondence, Civil War diaries, military records, business papers, family papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Academic and Administration Minutes Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Academic Board Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Academic Faculty Directory Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Charles Thomas Ackley Civil War Diaries Collection
One hundred and eighteen letters from Charles Thomas Ackley, mostly to his wife in Marble Rock, Iowa. Also included are newspaper clippings, brief biographies of some of the men in the Seventh Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and historical commentary.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Action Studies Program Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Ad Hoc Committee on Retirement Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Philip Adler Papers
Newspaperman, publisher, president of Lee Enterprises, Inc., and philanthropist. Correspondence, speeches, newspaper clippings, and books.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Administrative Council Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Administrative Dean Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Administrative Liaison Group on Student Unrest Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Aerospace Studies Programs Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Henry Africa Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

African American Studies Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Afro-American Cultural Center Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Aging Studies Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Maria Mercedes Aguilera papers
Factory worker who was among the first Latinas to be hired at the International Harvester Company Farmall plant in Rock Island, Illinois.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Aims and Progress of Research Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Eileen Albaugh papers
Junior high school teacher who taught in Tipton and Wellsburg, Iowa, and died of polio.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Albertson Family Papers
Correspondence reflecting pioneer life in Indiana, Illinois, Iowa, and Montana.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Herbert W. Albrecht National Farmers Organization Collection
Farmer and member of the NFO. The collection includes official contracts, annual reports, pamphlets, etc., of the NFO. It also includes some copies of two of their publications, the Newsletter and the News Flash.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nathaniel G. Alcock Papers
Established the Department of Urology in 1923 and served as head until his retirement in 1949. Correspondence, photographs, committee reports.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Ebenezer Alden Papers
Student at Andover Theological Seminary, member of the Iowa band, Congregational minister in Tipton, Cedar County, Iowa, and Marshfield, Massachusetts. Reports, letters, and student papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Bess Aldrich papers
Twentieth-century writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alembic Press Archive Records
A significant archive, entire and extant, from one of the most prolific and independent of British fine presses, these documents are a record of the processes of hand printing, publishing, and typecasting undertaken by Claire and David Bolton.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Archie Alphonse Alexander Papers
Engineer and governor of the Virgin Islands. Subject files, correspondence, speeches, clippings, etc. relating to his career as an engineer, diplomat, and university trustee.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mrs. Dixon Alexander papers
Correspondent for a weekly newspaper, The Fayette Leader.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

George Elmer Allan Magic Lantern Slide Collection
George Allan was a minister in Mississippi who used slides to accompany his sermons. The collection includes 1855 magic lantern slides plus 100 2x2 slides; also projector with attachment for film strip projection and a number of film strips.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Allen Motor Company Records
Records of the oldest auto dealership in Iowa, including financial records, newsletters, and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur Francis Allen Papers
Editor of the Sioux City Journal. Primarily correspondence, with speeches, clippings, and a scrapbook on Abraham Lincoln.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Benita Allen papers
Russian immigrant recalls her childhood in Russia , World War I and the 1917 revolution.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

(Edwin) Lee Allen Card Paintings Collection
Mr. Allen worked with Grant Wood and muralist Diego Rivera. From 1937 to 1976, Allen was a medical illustrator at the University of Iowa Hospitals. This collection consists of the drawings, mostly on 5 x 7 cards, that accompanied his book  'A Hole in My Vision: An Artist's View of His Own Macular Degeneration'.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hilda Ellyson Allen papers
The papers consist largely of correspondence between Hilda and George Allen and their three children and cover a broad range of family, social and political issues.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sewell E. Allen Papers
Attorney and Iowa state legislator. Subject files and correspondence concerning his business, family and political career. The bulk of the papers consists of correspondence dealing with business conditions during the 1920s and WWII, politics, and family life.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William B. Allison Papers
U.S. Senator and Representative from Iowa. Primarily correspondence from his years in the House and Senate. Spanning a half century the topics range from Indian affairs to Oklahoma statehood, banking to the Panama Canal, and Republican Party politics to railroads.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Harrison Allspaugh Diaries Collection
Diaries of the Civil War experiences of a member of the 31st Regiment of Ohio Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Alpha Lambda Delta Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Alumni and Former Students Vertical File Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Amateur Radio Club Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Fred Ambrose Papers
Superintendent of Grounds & Buildings, Business Manager and University Secretary, Chief of Plant Utilization, 1941-1959. Floor plans, campus maps, reports, correspondence and meeting minutes.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

American Antiquarian Society Collection of Amateur Press Materials
Amateur press publications.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

American Association for Clinical Chemistry Midwest Section Records
Documents the organizations's history, goals, and daily workings with correspondence, bylaws, agendas, minutes, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

American Association of University Professors Local Chapter Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

American Broadcasting Company Transcripts Collection
Transcripts of the ABC Evening News 1970-1973 (typewritten).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

American Business Women's Association records
Iowa City chapter.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

American Indian Science and Engineering Society, UI Chapter Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

American Lutheran Church Board of Pensions Papers
Minutes of meetings of the Board of Pensions and Executive Committee, 1938-1969.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

American National Red Cross Johnson County Chapter Records
American National Red Cross, Johnson County Chapter. Records, including Executive Committee minutes, financial papers, and other miscallaneous papers; and records of their interaction with the Community Givers, which later became the United Way.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

American Society for Quality Control Records
Subject files, reports, minutes, newsletters, photographs, scrapbooks.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

American Studies Department Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Americans United for the Separation of Church and State Iowa Federation Records
Founded in 1947, its purpose was to preserve free, religiously neutral, democratically controlled public education, in the U.S. Comprised of correspondence, clippings, sermons, and pamphlets championing its cause.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Amos Currier Scrapbooks Collection
Scrapbooks assembled by Amos Currier regarding student life. Correspondence, programs, clippings, handbooks, syllabi, and campus building floor plans.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Betty Anderson Papers
Young adult fiction writer, journalist. Contains correspondence, manuscript, newspaper clippings, and obituary.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Christine Anderson papers
Appanoose County 4-H leader, farmer, and teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Delvena Anderson papers
Diary of a trip from Iowa City through eastern Canada.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Anderson papers
Subject files, correspondence and clippings relating to women's rights.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Bluford Anderson papers
Professor Emeritus of Social Work at the University of Northern Iowa, author, and Black Hawk County Supervisor.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Hazel Beck Andre papers
Memoir written by Iowa native dying of cancer in 1956.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Osborn Andreas papers
Literary critic, industrial engineer, cost accountant and president of Honeymead Product Co. in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Collection contains two manuscripts and includes the master proof for Joseph Conrad: A Study in Non-conformity.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Clarence Andrews Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Neta Andrews papers

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Anna Marie Mitchell papers
Papers of Iowa missionary serving in Japan from 1950-1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Annual Reports of the University Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Bill Anthony Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Anthropology and Archaeology Department Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Antiwar Petitions Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Apparatus Lists Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Appelstein Fanzine Collection
Zines.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Architectural Selection Committee Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Waldemar Argow
Unitarian minister in Cedar Rapids. Holdings consist of the printer's copy of his What Do Religious Liberals Believe?
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sven Armens Papers
Professor of English and published poet. Manuscripts.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Merle Armitage Papers
Set designer, impresario, co-founder and manager of the Los Angeles Grand Opera Association, president of the American Institute of Graphic Arts, art director of Look and Quick magazines, and book designer. Correspondence, typescripts of Accent on Life and George Gershwin: Man and Legend, and files on other projects.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Robert Plant Armstrong Papers
Personal papers of the well-known scholar of African art and author of The Affecting Presence: An Essay in Humanistic Anthropology.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur Asa Berger Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Artifacts of the Eternal Network Papers
Artworks and other documentation related to a 1997 exhibition at the University of Iowa Museum of Art. Many Fluxus artists were included in this exhibition.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Artists in Action (Muscatine, Iowa) records
Muscatine organization of area artists who opened a shop and organized an annual craft fair, classes, and craft demonstrations.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Artists Television Network Records
Video by and about artists assembled for broadcast on the New York City cable networks between 1976 and 1984. The project was coordinated by Jaime Davidovich and the collection includes the cablecast material, in many cases edited in various ways for any of several anthology shows, as well as paper records. A portion of the collection has been re-recorded and is available in VHS format; a few pieces have been transcribed to DVD; and a growing number have been re-recorded digitally in DVCam and DVD versions.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Artwords and Bookworks Papers
Co-curated by Judith Hoffberg and Joan Hugo, Artwords and Bookworks was one of the largest exhibition of artists' books and ephemera to take place during the 1970s. Comprised of experimental works by approximately six hundred contributors, the exhibition presented a diverse and provocative sampling of this alternative art form.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Asian Manuscripts Collection
Mostly palm leaf manuscripts, but includes other formats.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Asian Studies Department Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Alexander Aspel Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Assembly Programs Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Assistant to the President Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Associated Residence Halls Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Associated Students of Business Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Associated University Women Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Associated Women Students Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Angelica Lynn Rose Atalig oral history
Oral history, 1999. The narrator describes growing up in a bilingual, biracial family in Garner, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

ATCA Artists' Works and Correspondence Files Collection
This ATCA collection brings together mail art, correspondence, photographs, slides, compact discs, show announcements/posters, writings, and other ephemera related to or by various artists.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

ATCA Comics Collection
Artists' and underground comics.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

ATCA Periodicals and Zines Collection
This ATCA collection brings together journals, newspapers, zines, and similar formal and informal periodicals that are art-related or have artistic merit. The range of subjects is broad and include political and cultural issues, gender and sexuality questions, as well as music, film, poetry, and religion.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

ATCA Rubber Stamp Art Collection
Miscellaneous printed materials (primarily catalogs) concerning rubber stamp art. The majority of the materials in this collection were acquired by artist, author, and archivist John Held Jr. (born 1947) from William Picasso Gaglione (born 1943).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Athena Society Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Athenian Society Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Athens History Circle (Iowa City, Iowa) records
Iowa City study club organized in 1897.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Athletics Department Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Athletics Film Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Athletics Guides Programs and Tickets Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Athletics History and Special Events Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Athletics Video Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Edith Reed Atkinson papers
Singer and radio-script editor from Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Atkinson performed in a song-and-dance act with her brothers Wallace and Cecil Reed from 1935 to 1944.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Audiovisual Services Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Audubon Society of Manchester (Iowa) records
Eastern Iowa women's study and social club.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Amy Sophia Auer papers
Photocopied memoir of the Olson and Auer families who emigrated from Norway in the nineteenth century and settled in Northwood, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nellie Aurner papers
Professor, dean, and author. This collection contains Ms. Aurner's unpublished translations of the dedications of Matteo Bandello as well as her research on Bandello.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Autobiographical Sketches of Rural Iowa Women
Reminiscences of Iowa Farm Bureau women donated to the Rural Women's Project.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frank Aydelotte Papers
Educator and member of the Anglo-American Committee of Inquiry concerning the Palestinian question. Correspondence, speeches, memoranda, etc., and a copy of the committee report.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Myrtle Kitchell Aydelotte papers
Professor of nursing,1957-1976, dean of the College of Nursing, 1949-1957, and director of nursing for the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics,1968-1976.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

William O. Aydelotte Papers
University of Iowa professor of history, 1947-1996. One of the first historians elected to the National Academy of Sciences.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives