Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Brinton Entertainment Company Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1865-1940
Creator: Brinton, William Franklin
Extent: 50.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: msc1000
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Films, projectors, glass slides, 78 rpm records, wax cylinders, memorabilia from travels, patent applications with drawings, plans for flying machines, posters, tickets.

Access: This collection is not yet open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: On deposit by Michael Zahs, 2014.

Preferred Citation: Brinton Entertainment Company Papers, The University of Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Brinton was the manager at the Ainsworth opera house, a public speaker, an inventor and overall Renaissance man. He built his house in Washinton Iowa to be heated with solar heat, and he invented and built airships, for which he built a landing strip on the roof of his house. Whether he actually flew the airships, much less landed any on his rooftop landing area, is questionable. He did, however, act as projectionist in an early movie house, and presented travelogues over his many journeys.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.