Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Harold J. Krizan World War Two Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1942-1946
Creator: Krizan, Harold J. (1920)
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: msc0988
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Papers, pamphlets, photographs, and realia from World War Two

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1

Access:

Use:

Acquisition: Donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Ken Krizan in 2013.

Preferred Citation: Harold J. Krizan World War Two Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Harold J. Krizan was born in Chicago in 1920, where he graduated from Lane Tech High School. He was a Universitiy of Iowa student. In 1943 he married and he enlisted in the U.S. Navy the same year. After being sent to Virginia to train as a pharmacist's mate he was deployed to the North Pacific Theatre, whe he made landgall at Nagasaki.

He was honorably discharged in January 1946. He got a BS in Physical Education in June 1946 and his MA in August 1949. He made a career in the Cedar Rapids school system.

He currently (Fall 2013) resides at t he Iowa Veterans Home in Marshalltown, Iowa.

Papers, pamphlets, photographs, and realia from World War Two, including a photo of a Zero airplane, some from on board the US President Monroe, and some on the ground in Nagasaki. Also includes Krizan's hat and arm band.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Exhibit. May 1-31 - 2012
    Photocopies and labels from an exhibit at the Coralville Public Library
  • Newspapers
    Honolulu Star Bulletin, December 7, 1941. 1st and 2nd Extra editions; Japanese newspaper dated November 11, 1945. In oversized folder on top of the boxes.
  • Pamphlets
  • Photographs
    Photographs from training, the trip across the north Pacific on the USS President Monroe, and of Nagasaki
  • Realia
    Includes an ashtray, a silk scarf, his hat with his name on it, his insignia, Japanese currency, a nylon scarf, his medic corps armband, and a stone bowl picked up off the street in Nagasaki

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.