Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Louis Paul Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Paul, Louis
Extent: .25 linear foot.
Collection Number: msc0949
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Materials from the The Way Art Happens.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Manuscript purchased from the International Writer's Fund, which received this version from the author in February1967.

Preferred Citation: Louis Paul Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Louis Paul was an American short story writer. His story, "No More Trouble for Jedwick," published in Esquire Magazine, won the 1934 O. Henry Award for that year's best short story. He turned his novel Breakdown (1946) into a play called The Cup of Trembling which premiered in Boston in 1948. He published thirteen books throughout his career.

The Louis Paul collection contains a letter from Paul, a manuscript, and photograph proofs from his book The Way Art Happens, published in 1963.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: MATERIALS HAVING TO DO WITH THE PUBLICATION OF THE WAY ART HAPPENS

  • Series 1: MATERIALS HAVING TO DO WITH THE PUBLICATION OF THE WAY ART HAPPENS
  • Box 1:
  • Letter from the author to the International Writers’ Fund
  • Typewritten manuscript of The Way Art Happens
  • Forty-three photograph proofs (lacking proof twenty-six) from The Way Art Happens

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.