Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ken Friedman ATCA Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Friedman, Ken
Extent: 300.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: msc0839
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Personal papers, correspondence, publications of this educator and artist.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Anyone requesting permission to copy or use any of Friedman's materials at Iowa should contact Special Collectoins for permission. If permission is granted, two copies of published items must be sent to Special Collections: one for the collection and one for Mr Friedman. The undersigned, being the owner of all copyrights in and to the works of art created by: [b]Ken Friedman (the "Artist") [/b] And desiring to support the cultural, educational, promotional and related objectives of The University of Iowa (the “University”) [this assignment covers any and all divisions or collections of The University of Iowa including the University Library, the Department of Special Collections, Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art, the University of Iowa Museum of Art, and the Digital Fluxus Collection], for good and valuable consideration, receipt of which I hereby acknowledge, authorize the University to undertake the following in connection with work(s) by the Artist which are in the University’s collection, are on loan to the University or which the University wishes to reproduce in connection with its non-profit and educational activities (all such work(s) being individually and collectively referred to as the “Work”: 1.1 to create and reproduce images of the Work (or excerpts from it, if the Work is a video, film or similar medium) in any medium now known or only later invented (the “Images”), and to distribute the Images to the public through any means now known or only later invented, including, for example and without limitation, through print, electronic and digital media (for the avoidance of doubt, this permits use of the Images in publications and educational materials but does not include the right to copy the Work for commercial sale); 1.2 to transmit, broadcast or otherwise communicate a display of the Work to the public by means of any device or process now known or only later invented (examples include, but are not limited to, film and television); 1.3 to place Images on its website; 1.4 to publicly perform the Work (if applicable); 1.5 if the Work is a video, film or similar medium, to make preservation material from the Work by any means and in any media for archival purposes (“Preservation Material”). In addition, in order to facilitate the long-term preservation of the Work, the University may reproduce the Preservation Material to make one or more copies. The University may also from time to time migrate the media elements to new formats for the purposes of preservation and display (if applicable); 1.6 to arrange for the production of exhibition copies of the Work (if applicable) as necessary to enable the University to display or loan the Work (“Exhibition Copies”). To the extent the University determines it necessary, each time the Work is to be exhibited by the University or a borrower of the Work, the University may make an Exhibition Copy for such exhibition. The University shall cause each Exhibition Copy to be clearly labeled as an Exhibition Copy; 1.7 to authorize others to do any of the foregoing in support of the University’s programs. This non-exclusive, royalty-free, world-wide license, which does not transfer ownership of my copyrights in the Work to the University, may not be revoked, shall endure for the life of the copyrights in the Work, and shall survive all assignments of copyrights. Whenever feasible, the University will include (and cause others to include) the following copyright notice, or one similar to it, in connection with the Images. [b]Please check and initial one: [/b] Initial KF Copyright © [year] by Ken Friedman. Courtesy of the Artist. OR A copyright notice with this text PLUS an additional sentence acknowledging the appropriate unit of the University of Iowa. If the University acquires any other work(s) to which I hold the copyright after the date of this non-exclusive license, its terms and conditions shall also extend to and include such work(s). [b]WARRANTIES AND UNDERTAKINGS [/b] The Undersigned warrants and represents to the University as follows: 2.1 that he or she has good and complete right, title and interest in and to the copyright in the Work or is otherwise entitled to license the copyright or holds a copyright license which would allow for grant of a sub-license for the copyright on the terms of this license, (or where the undersigned is acting as agent that he or she is acting on behalf of and with the consent of the legal licensor of such a copyright license); 2.2 that the ownership of this copyright is not subject to any undisclosed liens, charges, licenses or other encumbrances; 2.3 that the Work and/or the granting of this license does not and will not infringe any third party's copyrights or other intellectual property rights. Date: May 18, 2014 Name: Ken Friedman Signed /kf/

Acquisition: Gift of the Friedman family.

Preferred Citation: Ken Friedman ATCA Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Ken Friedman was born on September 19, 1949 in New London, Connecticut. He matriculated at Shimer College in Mount Carroll, Illinois from 1966-1967. He received his Master of Arts in Interdisciplinary Studies at San Francisco State University in 1971. In 1976 he received his doctorate from United States International University.

He has been an important figure in the Fluxus movement, an internanationl laboratory for experimental art, architecture, design, literature, and music. He has been involved in the mail art movement. He has written extensively on these movements.

From 1994-2009 Friedmans served on the faculty at the Norwegian School of Management in Oslo as well as at the Design Research Center at the Danish School of Design in Copenhagen from 2003-2009. In October 2007 he was appointed Dean of the Faculty of Design at Swinburne University of Technology in Melbourne, Australia.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.