Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Margaret Drabble Research Files

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1990-1995
Creator: Drabble, Margaret (1939-)
Extent: 4.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: msc0199A
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Acclaimed British novelist and scholar. Research files, including administrative material, research materials, and corrected typescripts for her 1995 biography of novelist Sir Angus Wilson.

Access: At this time, access to this collection must be expressly granted by Margaret, Lady Holroyd (Margaret Drabble).

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was acquired from Margaret Drabble following the publication of her book in 1995.

Preferred Citation: Margaret Drabble Research Files, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Margaret Drabble was born in Sheffield, Yorkshire, on June 5, 1939. She read English at Newnham College, Cambridge and, after leaving college, joined the Royal Shakespeare Company in 1960, where she understudied for Vanessa Redgrave. However, she left the RSC after only a few years, to pursue a career as a novelist. Her first novel, A Summer Bird Cage, was published in 1963. Drabble would go on to publish a number of acclaimed novels, including, among others, The Millstone (winner of the John Llewellyn Rhys Memorial Prize, 1965), Jersualem the Golden (winner of the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, 1967), The Needle's Eye (1972), The Realms of Gold (1975), The Middle Ground (1980), The Gates of Ivory (1991), and The Witch of Exmoor (1996).
 
In addition to her works of fiction, Drabble is a notable literary scholar, who has edited several volumes (such as The Oxford Companion to English Literature, 1985 and 2000), produced works on Wordsworth and Hardy, to name a few subjects, and written full-length studies of novelists Angus Wilson and Arnold Bennett. She has also written numerous plays, short stories, and screenplays.
 
Drabble married her second husband, the writer Michael Holdroyd, in 1982. She was made a Commander of the British Empire in 1980, and in 2008 was promoted to Dame Commander of the British Empire, for services to literature.

The materials in this collection consist of the files assembled by Margaret Drabble from 1990-1995 and used in the writing of her monumental 1995 biography of fellow British novelist Sir Angus Wilson. The files have been categorized by UI Special Collections into five sections:
 
Administrative Materials, which contain papers concerning the logistics surrounding the research and writing;
 
Alphabetical Files, which comprises the largest portion of the collection. The files contain correspondence, photocopies of documents (including letters to and from Wilson), and other materials arranged alphabetically by the last name of the person sourced or, in a few cases, the subject term. The files contain letters from famous correspondents including Peter Ackroyd, Martin Amis, Louis Auchincloss, John Bayley, Saul Bellow, Frederick Busch, Hortense Calisher, William Golding, Nadine Gordimer, Ian McKellen, Michael Moorcock, Iris Murdoch, V.S. Naipaul, Michael Ondaatje, V.S. Pritchett, Muriel Spark, Peter Shaffer, Stephen Spender, and Peter Ustinov. These files have been retained in the same order as Drabble originally arranged them. An Index to the Alphabetical Files provides a full list of the subjects here.
 
Angus Wilson: A Biography: The original typescript and revised, complete typescript of Drabble's work, which include corrections, inserts, and notes made or added by Drabble;
 
Research Materials, comprised of raw material (such as subject files, copies of vital documents, etc.) that Drabble used to assemble her biography; and
 
Notebooks, consisting of the numerous notebooks Drabble used in her research.
 
Drabble's research files are a valuable contribution to the study of biography. They provide a accessible window into the methods by which a skilled biographer assembles and manipulates material to create a significant historical and literary monument. In addition, they nicely complement the Papers of Angus Wilson by providing an "outsider's" view of his life and works and presenting much of the raw material that goes into making up a life.
 
Note: In the box list, "AW" refers to Angus Wilson. "MD" refers to Margaret Drabble.
WILSON, ANGUS (FRANK JOHNSTONE), 1913-1991. Papers of Angus Wilson, 1906-1992. 77.5 ft.
 
British author. Heavily revised manuscripts and typescripts of Wilson's short stories, reviews, novels, lectures, articles, and television scripts; notebooks, correspondence, etc. For some additional information about the collection, see Frederick P. W. McDowell, "The Angus Wilson Collection" MsC199. (Finding Aid)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE MATERIALS
Series 2: ALPHABETICAL FILES
Series 3: ANGUS WILSON: A BIOGRAPHY
Series 4: RESEARCH MATERIALS
Series 5: NOTEBOOKS

  • Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE MATERIALS
  • Box 1:
  • Appendices, including edits
  • Chronology of AW's life
  • Correspondence Notes
    Three folders
  • Edits
    Three folders
  • General and Assorted
  • Inserts
    Two folders
  • Interview List
  • MD's Correspondence with Publishers
  • Primary Materials Box Contents List
    Three folders
  • Series 2: ALPHABETICAL FILES
  • Box 1:
  • Alphabetical List of Interviewees
  • Aberystwyth - Anrep
  • Anti-Apartheid - Australia
  • Bacon - Binding
  • Birch - Boyle
  • Bradbury - British Museum
  • Broadbent - Byng
  • Cain - Chopping
  • Christ Scientist - Contracts
  • Box 2:
  • Cook - Crittall
  • Croft - Daymond
  • Deakin - Dyson
  • Eastbourne - Ford
  • Fordham - Furbank
  • GCHQ - Goff
  • Golding - Graham-Young
  • Gray - Hawtrey
  • Healey - Hooper
  • Hornby - Hyatt King
  • Ikeshiro - Johnstone-Wilson
  • Joll - Kocen
  • Kosterlitz - Longberg
  • Larriere - Lyttleton-Hart Davis
  • Macdonald - Matsumara
  • McCallum - Merry
  • Merton College - Montherlong
  • Moorcock - Northampton
  • Observer - Paucker
  • Peace Pledge Union - Prince
  • Box 3:
  • Pritchett - Restuarants
  • Reve - Robinson
  • Roger - Russell
  • Safterstein - Serikawa
  • Seteais - Storr
  • Strachey - Thistlewaite
  • Thompson - Tynan
  • UCLA - Walpole
  • Warburg - Westminister
  • White - Wollheim
  • Wood - Young
  • Series 3: ANGUS WILSON: A BIOGRAPHY
  • Box 3:
  • Original typescript with corrections, inserts and notes
    Five folders
  • Typescript with corrections and inserts, Foreword and Chapters 1 - 5
  • Typescript with corrections and inserts, Foreword and Chapters 6 - 10
  • Typescript with corrections and inserts, Foreword and Chapters 11 - 14
  • Typescript with corrections and inserts, Foreword and Chapters 15 - 17
  • Typescript with corrections and inserts, Foreword and Chapters 18 - 20
  • Box 4:
  • Typescript with corrections and inserts, Foreword and Chapters 21 - 22
  • Typescript with corrections and inserts, Foreword and Chapters 23 - 24
  • Typescript with corrections and inserts, Foreword and Chapters 25 - 26
  • Typescript with corrections and inserts, Foreword and Chapters 27 - 28
  • Typescript with corrections and inserts, Foreword and Chapters 29 - 30
  • Typescript with corrections and inserts, Foreword and Chapters 31 - 32
  • Series 4: RESEARCH MATERIALS
  • Box 4:
  • Autobiography (AW)
  • Bibliographies
  • Bury St. Edmunds Theatre, and TV Reviews by AW - 1962-1963
  • Conradi, Peter
  • Family Information
  • Family Trees
  • Forster, E.M.
  • Halio, Jay/University of Delaware
  • Holdroyd, Michael (Famous Writers School) - 1969-1974
  • Jussawilla, Adil
  • Kissane, Joseph
  • McEwan, Ian
  • McGill University
  • Miscellaneous
  • Mitchel, Stuart
  • Mitchell, Julian
  • Photocopies of AW's Correspondence - Alphabetical
  • Photocopies of AW's Correspondence with Geoffrey Wright
  • Photocopies of AW's Correspondence with Publishers
  • Photocopies of Materials on AW and/or by AW
    Two folders
  • Serikawa, Jazy
  • Ship Passenger Lists
  • Subject Files: Ashampstead School
  • Subject Files: Bletchley Park
  • Subject Files: Bury St. Edmunds
  • Subject Files: Caney Family/South Africa
  • Subject Files: Children's Stories
  • Subject Files: Iowa
  • Subject Files: Kipling
  • Subject Files: Scotland
  • Vital Statistics: Birth Certificates
  • Vital Statistics: Death Certificates
  • Vital Statistics: Marriage Certificates
  • Wills
  • Series 5: NOTEBOOKS
  • Box 5:
  • Box 6:

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers