Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Otis Saeter Music Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1920-1990
Creator: Saeter, Otis (1899-1993)
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: msc0150.23
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Band music of this musician, composer, and teacher.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Gift of Julia (Judi) Klee in 2014. It was given to her by Mr. Saeter.

Preferred Citation: Otis Saeter Music Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa CIty, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Otis Saeter was born June 28, 1899. He graduated from the Stout Institute in Menomonie, Wisconsin in 1929 and in May 1953 was teaching music in Bedford High School in Detroit. Apparently he played with John Phillip Sousa in the early 1900s. He died on January 2, 1993 and is buried at Andersonville National Cemetery.

Includes music scores for bands, a music test, printed portions of Saeter's thesis, and original hymns by Mr. Saeter.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical material
  • Band music with parts for each instrument
    4 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Band music with parts for each instrument
    2 folders
  • Harr, Haskell W. Drum Method
    Inscribed to Saeter
  • 5 1/4 x 7 music books and cards with band music
    Inculdes The Saeter Integrator Band Book for the 1st Cornet (Trumpet) and Soprano Sax
  • School band music
  • Music tests
  • Redpath contract
  • Saeter, Otis. My Thesis: Interpretation
    Two essays submitted to the Graduate Council of Wayne University in Patrial Fulfillment of the Requirements for the Degree Master of Arts (Music Education) in the Department of Music.
  • Saeter, Otis. Original songs of a religious nature.
    Forty pieces of original music and words, in original handwritten notation. Some are photocopies of the original.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.