Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Darwin T. Turner Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1946-1991
Creator: Turner, Darwin T. (1931-1991)
Extent: 42.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0340
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor of African American Studies at the University of Iowa, 1971-1991. Authority on African American literature. Correspondence, manuscripts, committee work.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 9, 17, 27

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to Special Collections by David and Marian Coleman in October 2014.

Preferred Citation: Darwin T. Turner Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Darwin T. Turner was an authority on African American literature and was a leader in gathering African American writings and bibliographies, while shining a spotlight on African American culture.

According to a Des Moines Register announcemnt of Turner's death on Februay 11, 1991, he grew up in a family that stressed the importance of education. His mother, Laura (Knight) Turner, was a fiction writer and sixth grade school teacer who held two bachelor's and two master's degrees; his father, Darwin Romanes Turner, was a pharmacist; Turner's maternal grandmother, Laura Troy Knight, was a school principal; his grandfather, Charles Henry Turner, a distinguished biologist, was the first African American to earn a Ph.D. from the University of Cincinnati; and his great-great grandfather, Owen Nichols, was one of the first African American instructors in Cincinnati, Ohio, as well as the first African American to establish a successful private school for Black students in Cincinnati.

Darwin Theodore Troy Turner was born on May 7, 1931, in Cincinnati, Ohio. From childhood, he enjoyed reading science fiction, mystery and comic books, and was an avid sports fan. He was enrolled at the University of Cincinnati at age 13 and earned his bachelor's degree in three years (1947). He was admitted to the Phi Beta Kappa honor society at the age of 15, as reported in The Key Reporter (Winter 1985-1986). In 1949 he took his master's degree in English, also at the University of Cincinnati. He received his doctorate in English Dramatic Literature from the University of Chicago in 1956.

At the young age of 18, Turner began his teaching career at Clark College in Atlanta, Georgia. Turner's faculty vertical file notes other teaching positions he held at Morgan State College (1952-1957) and Florida A & M University as head of the English department (1957-1959). Turner served as head of the English department and dean of the Graduate School at North Carolina Agricultural and Technical (A & T) State University (1959-1970). Turner was a prolific writer. He was author and editor of over 20 books, and published numerous scholarly articles and books of poetry. The bulk of his manuscripts housed in this collection are from his time at North Carolina.

At the University of Iowa, Turner was a visiting professor in the English department in 1971. One year later, he was on faculty. The Afro-American Studies program at Iowa was developed by Robert A. Corrigan, under the presidency of Willard Boyd. Corrigan, secretary of the UI Committee on Afro-American Affairs in 1968, developed the program. It was a task presented to him by the University Faculty Senate in June of that year (see correspondence from Philip G. Hubbard in the Robert A. Corrigan faculty vertical file).

Charles Twitchell Davis was the first head of the Afro-American Studies Department. Davis left the UI program in 1971 for a similar program at Yale University. In 1974, Turner was named the second head of the department, while serving concurrently as professor of English. The program was renamed African-American World Studies in 1986. Courses he developed at Iowa include Afro-American poetry, fiction, drama, and bibliography, as well as the curriculum for the master's degree in Afro-American Studies (established in fall 1978) and some Ph.D. courses in American Studies.

Turner presented annual institutes at Iowa to offer further training for college instructors of Afro-American history and culture. Similar institutes were funded nationwide through grants from the National Endowment for the Humanitites (NEH). The impetus for this surge in interest in Afro-American history and culture -- according to Robert A. Corrigan -- was a result of the civil rights struggles during the 1960s.

With his interest in theatre, Turner promoted Black Action Theatre, which was established at Iowa in 1968 for the production of plays having cultural significance to African Americans. Today, this unit of the University of Iowa Theatre Arts is named the Darwin Turner Action Theatre.

In 1984 Turner was named Distinguished Professor of English by the University of Iowa Foundation.

Turner served as editor for numerous authors. Of his many writing projects, it was reported that he was last working on a collection of his own writings, Black Drama in America, which was published in 1994.

Turner was married to Edna Bonner from June 1949 to August 1961. Turner married Maggie Jean Lewis on February 29, 1968. His family included three children, Pamela, Darwin Keith, and Rachon.

These papers describe the work of Dr. Darwin T. Turner, including the national organizations he served with, his presentations, and his collections of writings by African American authors. These papers document his development of the Africn American World Studies Program, wthin the English Department at the University of Iowa. From 2000 to 2004, African American Studies held the status of department. In 2005, the number of faculty dipped below five, which resulted in program status within the Department of English, with the degrees offered unchanged. Today, the program is taught by faculty from a number of departments for broad understanding, as explained in the 2014-2015 general catalog.

Turner directed summer institutes at Research Triangle Park, North Carolina, and at Cazenovia College in New York. At the University of Iowa, Turner directed institutes from 1973 to 1978, succeeding those directed by Charles T. Davis in 1971 and 1972. At the University of Iowa, the institutes were first proposed by Robert A. Corrigan, assistant professor in American Civilization, who directed the first two institutes in 1969 and 1970. These were held for the benefit of scholarly research projects and additional training for college instructors of Afro-American history and culture. The institutes were funded through NEH grants. The presentations were filmed, and transcriptions are preserved in this collection. Selected presentations from the 1973 and 1978 institutes were published in The Black Scholar, Volume 18: No. 1 (January/February 1987).

The Turner papers are organized into ten series, each in alphabetical or chronological order. Materials pertaining to Turner's education make up Series I. His administrative work at North Carolina A & T and at the Universiy of Iowa may be found in Series II. The history of the UI program, as well as the courses, instructors and related campus events are also found in Series II. Documentation about the Afro-American Studies Institutes comprises Series III. Turner's writings make up Series IV and include his manuscripts, introductions, course lectures and speeches. Correspondence may be found in Series V. Turner referred to his many projects as commitments, and correspondence about these are found in Series VI. Series VII is an A-Z arrangement created by Dr. Turner. A subset of folders in this series are devoted to his work on the Board of Editors at American Literature, a publication of the Modern Language Association, from November 1975 through May 1979. Series VIII documents the many organizations Turner was involved with. These include the National Council of Teachers of English, College Language Association, Conference on College Composition and Communication, College English Association, Graduate Record Examination Board, National Humanities Center, and the Association for the Study of Afro-American Life and History. His extensive work in the humanities is documented in Seies IX. The writings of other authors, as well as clippings and notes, make up Series X, resources for research.
Records of the African American Studies Department (RG06.04)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: EDUCATION
Series 2: DEPARTMENTAL ADMINISTRATION AND IOWA CITY CAMPUS
Series 3: INSTITUTES
Series 4: TURNER'S WRITINGS
Series 5: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 6: COMMITMENTS
Series 7: A-Z
Series 8: ORGANIZATIONS
Series 9: HUMANITIES
Series 10: RESOURCES

  • Series 1: EDUCATION
  • Box 1:
  • Course exam in English, August - 1946
  • Course paper at the University of Cincinnati, December - 1946
  • English course paper, November - 1946
  • English term paper, July - 1949
  • Paper for course in literary criticism, January - 1949
  • Exam questions, University of Chicago, August - 1952
  • Ph.D. exams and scholarship application, University of Chicago - 1951-1953
  • Dissertation, August - 1956
    2 folders
  • Scholarship application - 1965
  • Turner's biographical notes, vita
    3 folders
  • Correspondence from Turner about Mensa, and Keith (his son) - 1980
  • Series 2: DEPARTMENTAL ADMINISTRATION AND IOWA CITY CAMPUS
  • Sub-Series: Turner's work at North Carolina A & T
  • Box 2:
  • Report, North Carolina-Virginia College English Association, November - 1961
  • Newsletter by Turner, 1963 sit-in, Greensboro, North Carolina - 1963
  • Turner's proposal for a major at North Carolina A & T - 1968
  • North Carolina A & T curriculum - 1970
  • Paper, "Forward to the Student," by Turner as head of English Department, North Carolina A & T, undated
  • Sub-Series: University of Iowa program and related campus events
  • Box 2:
  • Behavioral Science Pamphlet Series, Pamphlet No. 2: Slavery, October - 1965
    By David Palmer, UI Department of History
  • History of the establishment of Afro-American Studies Program at UI - 1967-1969
    Includes letter to the editor by R. A. Corrigan, October 14, 1968
  • Clinton Oliver, visiting professor in American Civilization, reading Black poetry, June - 1968
  • Martin Luther King Scholarship Fund, July - 1968
    Established via President Bowen's call for affirmative action
  • Upward Bound proposal - 1968
    Training disadvantaged high school youth at UI
  • Clipping: comments on UI Afro-Americans history on radio, August - 1969
  • Campus performances by African Americans - 1969, 1983
  • Announcement of UI address by Dr. Franklin Parker, "Human Rights and Educational Development in Africa," April - 1969
  • Progress since Faculty Senate voted to establish the Black Studies program, March - 1969
  • Government publications list compiled by Robert A. Corrigan, October - 1969
  • Presentation by Robert A. Corrigan, Association for the Study of Negro Life and History, October - 1969
  • Bibliography of resources on minority groups - 1969
    Sent to Robert A. Corrigan
  • Iowa City newsletter, The Black on White, November-April - 1969-1970
  • Black Action Theatre programs - 1970-1988
    Incomplete
  • Emile Snyder, UI campus speaker on African literature, March - 1970
  • Afro-American Fiction: A Checklist, 1853-1970, by Robert A. Corrigan - 1970
  • Seminar pamphlet includes Turner's courses - 1973-1974
    Includes correspondence with publisher
  • Correspondence with potential lecturers for the Black Kaleidoscope III Culture Series - 1973-1974
    Dance, drama
  • Departure of Robert A. Corrigan led to new staff, June-July - 1974
  • Flier advertising KRNA radio (93 FM), October - 1974
  • Work of Peter Nazareth; visiting scholar; clippings - 1974
  • Turner on Evaluation Committee of the English Program, New York University - 1974-1975
  • Jewish Theological Seminary requested Turner's advice - 1975
  • Paper by Turner included in American Theatre Association report, October - 1975
  • Afro-American Studies Program funding - 1975-1976
  • Speeches by Peter Nazareth - 1975-1977
  • Box 3:
  • Library book orders - 1975-1980
  • Conference, sharing of Afro-American Studies resources - 1975
    Iowa Black Studies Consortium
  • Iowa Black Studies Consortium draft proposal for a Black Culture videotape series - 1976
    Includes Turner's NEH grant proposal
  • Correspondence - 1976
  • Policy on financial aid - 1978
  • English department faculty reviews - 1979
  • Faculty Activity Survey, UI Department of Statistics - 1979-1980
  • University Lecture Committee invitation to Shana Alexander - 1979-1981
  • Minority student organizations in the Iowa City area - 1980
  • Dissertation review, McGill University - 1981
  • Humanities Symposium Steering Committee - 1981-1982
  • UI Humanities Task Force - 1981-1985
    2 folders
  • Turner's service on Hoard of Editorial Advisors, Black Periodical Fiction Project - 1981-1989
  • Post-audit review of academic programs, autumn - 1982
  • Recent UI Library acquisitions - 1982-1984
    Includes IMU bookstore holdings
  • The Challenger campus newsletter and correspondence about brochure, "People of Color at the University of Iowa: - 1983
  • Affirmative Action forms - 1983
  • Administrative Assistant in Afro-American Studies - 1975, 1981-1983
    2 folders
  • Hiring procedures for Administrative Assistant - 1983
  • Administrative Assistant applicants - 1983
  • University of Iowa Playwright's Festival announcement, April - 1983
  • Afro-American Studies newsletter. March, October, December - 1983-1984
    Includes correspondence
  • College of Liberal Arts Long Range Planning Report for 1984-1989 - 1984
  • Publication announcement of Peter Nazareth, July - 1984
    For use in the annual report.
  • Box 4:
  • UI Cooperative Education Faculty Council - 1984
  • President James O. Freedman speech to the faculty, "Speaking the Language of Intellectual Ambition" - 1984
  • Program Steering Committee minutes - 1985
  • UI Department of English committees - 1985
    List of chairs
  • Announcement of a seminar by writer Ralph Berry - 1985
  • Turner invited to apply for Howard University position, October - 1985
  • Booklet, "University of Iowa Faculty Serving as Advisers to Federal, State and Private Agencies," October - 1985
  • Turner's report, "Trends and Issues in English Instruction" - 1986
  • Turner notified of upcoming review, April - 1986
  • James O. Freedman speech to the faculty, "Beyond the Pillars of Hercules...," September 18 - 1986
  • Offer for Turner to serve on Board of Advisors, Banneker Honors College, June - 1986
  • African-American World Studies Program faculty, May - 1986
  • Request for English faculty biographical form, January - 1987
  • Faculty meeting minutes - 1988, 1990
  • Ramifications of energy policy for minorities, by Jim Throgmorton of UI Urban and Regional Planning - 1988
  • UI Faculty Senate Task Force on Affirmative Action, January - 1989
  • UI correspondence - 1989-1990
    Library, Alumni Association
  • Correspondence from the assistant to President Bush in reply to Turner's offer to serve in the administration - 1990
  • African-American World Studies oral history collaboration with the University of Iowa Libraries - 1990
  • African-American Council minutes, September - 1990
    Discussion of Afro House and faculty retention
  • Correspondence of UI History position applicant, December - 1990
  • Time report by Turner's Research Assistant, undated
    Originally located with Sterling Brown photocopies
  • Paper by D. C. Spriestersbach, "Servant or Master," undated
  • High school instruction in Afro-American literature, UI Curriculum Lab - 1972
  • Article, interview of Charles T. Davis, undated
    Photocopy
  • Turner's UI benefits - 1991
  • Course proposed by Turner, "English 480," undated
  • Sub-Series: UI Courses
  • Box 4:
  • Course papers by UI professor G. P. - 1969
  • UI course 45:156 (8:156), "Significant Books in American Civilization," Spring - 1969
  • UI courses, "Readings in Afro-American History to 1860," and "Racial Attitudes in Textbooks," October - 1969
  • Paper submitted for course by Robert A. Corrigan and professor Kern, June - 1969
  • UI award of Dr. Martin Luther King Fellowship to James H. Rogers - 1969
    Includes course work
  • Reprints used by R. A. Corrigan in course, "The Culture of Black America," October - 1969
    2 folders
  • UI course 45:210, "The Culture of Black America," October - 1969
    Resources used
  • UI course 45:210, "The Culture of Black America," by R. A. Corrigan, fall - 1969
    2 folders
  • UI course 45:210, "The Culture of Black America," October - 1969
    Reprint of Ernest Kaiser bibliography
  • Box 5:
  • UI course 45:210, "The Culture of Black America," October, Spring - 1969-1970
  • UI course 8:115, "Afro-American Literature," taught by Harry Oster - 1979
  • UI course 45:115 (8:115), "Afro-American Literature," by R. A. Corrigan, Spring - 1970
  • Paper by student in UI course, "Afro-American Literature," Spring - 1970
  • UI Ph.D. seminar 19:300, "Black Press 1971," and Institute for Communication Study, fall - 1970
  • UI graduate seminar 19:232, paper by Henry G. La Brie III, November - 1970
  • Student paper edited by Turner, "Selecting and Teaching Black Literature at the Secondary Levels," undated
    Written in 1971 or later
  • Paper edited by Turner, possibly for a student, undated
    No title included
  • Afro-American Studies spring courses - 1983
  • First M.A. students in Afro-American Studies enrolled fall 1978 - 1979-1986
  • Afro-American Studies Symposium on the Current State of Black Literature, April - 1983
  • UI course 47:110 "African News Colloquium," fall - 1983
  • African-American World Studies and American Studies in General Catalog - 1986-1990
  • Course exam for "Literature of the Theater" [8G:8] - 1988
  • Box 6:
  • UI curriculum, Human Rights Seminar - 1968-1970
  • Human Rights Committee, Recreational facilities for women - 1972
  • HRC meetings on personnel, recreation, minority, and fraternity/sorority issues - 1973
  • HRC meetings includes chart revealing the numbers of UI minority employees - 1974
  • HRC meetings includes proposals for minority training - 1975
  • HRC meetings includes questionnaire, "White Colleges and Universities Response to the Entry of Black Students" - 1975
  • HRC minutes, communication from Colleen Jones - 1978
  • Series 3: INSTITUTES
  • Box 7:
  • "Principles of Reading Poetry," presented by Turner at a summer institute - 1966
    Location of institute not provided
  • Grant application - 1969
  • "Black Excellence in American Literature," Cazenovia College, New York - 1969
  • Sources for materials on the Negro, compiled by Dorothy B. Porter, July - 1969
    Includes the Negro Collection at Fisk University
  • Reading list on African nations, professor Alvin H. Scaff, July - 1969
  • Arna Bontemps bibliography, compiled by Robert A. Corrigan, September - 1969
  • "Africans in the New World," professor Vera Green, R. A. Corrigan, Wood, July - 1969
    2 folders
  • Robert Chrisman presentation, tape #22 - 1970
  • Grant application - 1970
  • Iowa Award for Short Fiction to Cyrus Colter - 1970
  • National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) report for second institute on the Harlem Renaissance - 1970
  • Notes on institutes - 1970-1972
  • Schedule - 1971
  • Budget - 1971-1973
  • Grants, National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities - 1972
  • NEH grant reports - 1972-1974
  • Preliminary schedule - 1972
  • Taping order forms - 1972-1974
  • Participant correspondence; planning for Corrigan's departure - 1973
  • Mimeo forms - 1973
  • Information - 1973
  • Proposal - 1973
  • Fifth institute on the Black Woman in America - 1973
  • Planning - 1973
  • Box 8:
  • Forms - 1973
    2 folders
  • Correspondence, forms - 1973
  • Budget - 1973
  • Presentation tapes - 1973
  • Presentations - 1973
  • NEH grants - 1974
  • NEH forms - 1974
  • NEH report - 1974
  • Ideas for presentations - 1973-1974
  • Turner's correspondence with Ms. Paule Marshall in efforts to schedule her as a lecturer for the 1974 Institute - 1973-1974
  • Introduction to Imamu Amiri Baraks's speech - 1974
  • Schedule - 1974
  • Correspondence, requests for information - 1974
  • Correspondence, A-M - 1974
  • Correspondence, N-Z - 1974
  • Participants, lectures - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Participants
  • Box 9:
  • Acrea, Kenneth - 1974
  • Allen, LeRoy B. - 1974
  • Blair, Robert - 1974
  • Clark, Sarah - 1974
  • Falk, Armand E. - 1974
  • Fosher, Frederick John - 1974
  • Foster, Frances S. - 1974
  • Gilbert, Deborah - 1974
  • Gilkesson, Florence Lynn - 1974
  • Gill, Glenda - 1974
  • Gray, Yohma - 1974
  • Hampton, Vivian - 1974
    Includes photographs
  • Henderson, Maurice Melvin - 1974
  • Jamison, Angelene Johnson - 1974
  • Jones, Elnora Smith - 1974
  • Lakin, Mattie - 1974
  • McKeever, Benjamin F. - 1974
  • Miller, Randall Martin - 1974
  • Nedd, Anne Gaskins
  • Parker, Elizabeth Letitia - 1974
  • Perry, Patsy Brewington - 1974
  • Sanders, Arthrell Dupree - 1974
  • Smith, Eleanor - 1974
  • Spillers, Hortense Jeanette - 1974
  • Thomas, Marilyn - 1974
  • Thompson, Mary Elizabeth - 1974
  • Box 9:
  • General information - 1974
  • Group A - 1974
  • Group B - 1974
  • Summaries, groups A and B - 1974
  • Participant reports - 1974
  • Participant letters of appreciation for 1974 institute
  • Rejected offers - 1974
  • Box 10:
  • NEH grant, narrative report - 1974
  • NEH grant - 1974
  • NEH grant correspondence - 1974
  • Budget - 1974
  • Clippings - 1974
  • Book publisher exhibits - 1974
  • List of Black films - 1974
  • Correspondence from Nan Graf, Nebraska Wesleyan University - 1974
  • Schedules - 1974
  • Correspondence, inquiry - 1974
  • Forms - 1974
    3 folders, including Ditto masters
  • Reading list - 1974
  • Tapes of presentations, cost to order - 1974
  • Correspondence, release for tapes to radio station - 1974
  • Schedule, budget - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Lecturers - 1974
  • Box 10:
  • Bell, Bernard - 1974
  • Blassingame, John W. - 1974
  • Brewer, J. Mason - 1974
  • Burger, Mary Williams - 1974
  • Clarke, John Henrik - 1974
  • Dance, Daryl C. - 1974
  • Davis, Charles Twitchell - 1974
  • Farrison, W. Edward - 1974
  • Hayden, Robert - 1974
  • Jackson, Margaret Y. - 1974
  • Jeremiah, Milford Astor - 1974
  • Lester, Julius - 1974
  • Miller, Randall M. - 1974
  • Osofsky, Gilbert - 1974
  • Patton, Gerald W. - 1974
  • Rawick, George H. - 1974
  • Walker, Margaret - 1974
    Includes photograph
  • Woodward, C. Vann - 1974
  • Yetman, Norman R. - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Participants - 1975
  • Box 11:
  • Belcher, Eloise Usher - 1975
  • Bracey-Helms, Phyllis - 1975
  • Coleman, McGregor Lindsey - 1975
  • Geuder, Patricia A. - 1975
  • Gray, Brenda Lyle - 1975
  • Hellwig, David J. - 1975
  • Hill, A. Gwendoline Brown - 1975
  • Jacobs, Briant S. - 1975
  • King, Eric Stephen - 1975
  • Lafky, James L. - 1975
  • Leonard, Marilyn - 1975
  • Lyons, Shedrick - 1975
  • McKenna, Jeanne - 1975
  • Mootry, Maria Katella - 1975
  • Murray, Percy Edward - 1975
  • Pereira, Frank - 1975
  • Randall, James H. - 1975
  • Reddick, Alzo J. - 1975
  • Riley, Ella Jean - 1975
  • Stubbs, Mary Frances - 1975
  • Worley, David H. - 1975
  • Wright, Lucille Lee - 1975
  • Yancy, Preston M. - 1975
  • Youman, Mary Mabel - 1975
  • Box 11:
  • Seminar Group A - 1975
  • Seminar Group B - 1975
  • Mailing list - 1975
  • Questionnaires - 1975
  • Initial inquiries - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Lecturers - 1975
  • Box 12:
  • Bardolph, Richard - 1975
  • Bracey, John - 1975
  • Butcher, Philip - 1975
  • Chase, Hal S. - 1975
  • Dance, Daryl C. - 1975
  • Duster, Alfreda M. - 1975
  • Edmonds, Helen G. - 1975
  • Fisher, Walter - 1975
  • Franklin, John Hope - 1975
  • McDaniel, William Theodore - 1975
  • Meier, August - 1975
  • Moses, Wilson J. - 1975
  • Perry, Regina Alfreda - 1975
  • Redding, Saunders - 1975
  • Render, Sylvia Lyons - 1975
  • Robinson, William H., Jr. - 1975
  • Rudwick, Elliott - 1975
  • Thomas, Bettye - 1975
  • Box 12:
  • Inquiries - 1975
  • Vitas - 1975
  • Introductions - 1975
  • Possible speakers - 1975
  • Permission forms for tapes - 1975
  • Box 13:
  • NEH grant materials - 1975
    2 folders
  • Institute charges reduced, due to NEH grant - 1975
  • Institute format, description - 1975
  • Application form, process - 1975
  • Forms - 1975
  • Form letter to participants, including book list - 1975
  • Form letter for replying to applicants - 1975
  • Form letter to indicate application and payment received - 1975
  • Forms for housing contracts - 1975
  • Form letter regarding housing - 1975
  • Forms to collect faculty preferences - 1975
  • Forms to collect staff background - 1975
  • Form to provide taping permission - 1975
  • Evening lecture schedules and transcripts of speeches - 1975
  • Evening lectures open to the public; forms - 1975
  • Payroll - 1975
  • Books - 1975
  • Travel - 1975
  • Schedule - 1975
  • Budget - 1975
  • Correspondence - 1975
  • Recommendation and request from David Britt - 1975
  • Seminar notes - 1975
    Ditto masters
  • Box 14:
  • Correspondence with NEH - 1975-1976
  • Narrative report for NEH regarding the eighth annual institute - 1976
  • Expenses, receipts - 1976
  • Lectures, publications - 1976
  • Handouts - 1976
  • Forms - 1976
  • Correspondence with institute presenter, Carlton Moss, regarding screening of "The Negro Soldier," May - 1976
  • Correspondence, May-June - 1976
  • Requests for information - 1976
  • Inquiries - 1976
  • Correspondence with NEH, clippings, June - 1976
  • Correspondence with NEH, October - 1976
  • Correspondence with NEH, narrative report, November - 1976
  • NEH report summary - 1976
    2 folders hold 2 copies
  • Box 15:
  • Lecture schedule - 1976
  • Books - 1976
  • Seminar Group A - 1976
  • Seminar Group B - 1976
  • Rejected offers - 1976
  • Completed questionnaires from participants - 1976
  • List of Institute tapes (reel and cassette) and correspondence - 1976
    For 1972 to 1975 institutes
  • Prices for ordering institute taped presentations, July - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Participants - 1976
  • Box 15:
  • Bailey, Lillie - 1976
  • Brown, Martha Hursey - 1976
  • Ealey, Mark E. - 1976
  • Fleming, H. Harleston - 1976
  • George, James M., Jr. - 1976
  • Gross, Cecelia - 1976
  • Houston, Helen Ruth - 1976
  • Johnson, Roberta Harrison - 1976
  • Leonard, Marilyn - 1976
  • Marshall, Paule (Ms.) - 1976
  • McFadden, James Lucius - 1976
  • McPherson, Dolly A. - 1976
  • Nave, Betty Ginocchio - 1976
  • Pettis, Joyce - 1976
  • Pinson, Ernest C. E. - 1976
  • Rogers, James Harrison - 1976
  • Ross, Melvin Lee - 1976
  • Rouse, Ghussan - 1976
  • Waldron, Diana - 1976
  • Yancy, Preston Martin - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Lecturers - 1976
  • Box 15:
  • Aptheker, Herbert - 1976
  • Bracey, John - 1976
  • Cripps, Thomas R. - 1976
  • Drake, St. Clair - 1976
  • Farrison, W. Edward - 1976
  • Gardner, Betty - 1976
  • Hamilton, Charles V. - 1976
  • Kaplan, Sidney - 1976
  • Kent, George - 1976
  • Lewis, David - 1976
  • Lincoln, C. Eric - 1976
  • Litwack, Leon F. - 1976
  • Mitchell, Henry H. - 1976
  • Moses, Wilson J. - 1976
  • Porter, Dorothy - 1976
  • Reddick, Lawrence - 1976
  • Stuckey, Sterling - 1976
  • Turner, Darwin T. - 1976
  • Thomas, Bettye - 1976
  • Box 16:
  • Announcement for 1977 Institute and history - 1977
  • Ninth Institute, "Blacks in the Depression Years," June 5-17 - 1977
  • Forms, schedule - 1977
  • Joint seminar, "Methodology" and "Blacks and the New Deal," June - 1977
  • Proposed budget - 1977
  • Proposals - 1977
  • Inquiries - 1976-1977
  • Correspondence - 1976-1977
  • Participants research interests - 1977
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: Participants
  • Box 17:
  • Belles, A. Gilbert - 1977
  • Boothe-Pharr, Randolph - 1977
  • Braden, Wilbur S. - 1977
  • Bratton, Mary J. - 1977
  • Bright, Jean - 1977
  • Brown, Martha Hursey - 1977
  • Dandridge, Rita Bernice - 1977
  • Faucette, Lois J. - 1977
  • Costanzo, Angelo V. - 1977
  • Dickinson, Gloria H. - 1977
  • Foster, Frances S. - 1977
  • Gaboury, William - 1977
  • Greene, Larry A. - 1977
  • Houston, Helen Ruth - 1977
  • Huntley, Horace - 1977
  • Kemp, Jenine - 1977
  • Lee, Sandra M. - 1977
  • Linnemann, Russell J. - 1977
  • Lucas, Emma T. - 1977
  • Maduka, Chukwudi T. - 1977
  • McPherson, Dolly A. - 1977
  • Porter, Alberta L. - 1977
  • Pratt, Louis H. - 1977
  • Reyes, Angelita - 1977
  • Spurlock, Karla J. - 1977
  • Thornton, Jerome E. - 1977
  • Waldron, Diana - 1977
  • White, W. D. - 1977
  • Yancy, Preston M. - 1977
  • Youman, Mary Mabel - 1977
  • Box 17:
  • Schedule, list of participants - 1977
  • Completed participant questionnaires - 1977
  • List of taped presentations - 1977
    Includes photographs of Sterling Stuckey and Dorothy Height
  • Photographs of lecturers, some not identified - 1977
    George Kent; St. Clair Drake; Farrison; C. E. Lincoln; John Bracy; Dorothy Porter; Bettye Lordner; Hamilton; Lawrence Reddick; Cripps; D. L. Lewis
  • Seminar report, Group A - 1977
  • Sub-Series: Lecturers
  • Box 17:
  • Bell, Bernard - 1977
  • Carter, Dan T. - 1977
  • Clarke, John Henrik - 1977
  • Cruse, Harold - 1977
  • Ford, Nick - 1977
  • Gooding, Virgil - 1977
  • Haley, Charles T. - 1977
  • Harris, William H. - 1977
  • Height, Dorothy - 1977
  • Hunter, Gary J. - 1977
  • Johnson, Helen Armstead - 1977
  • Lewis, Samella S. - 1977
  • Long, Richard A. - 1977
  • McDaniel, Theodore - 1977
  • Reddick, Lawrence - 1977
  • Stuckey, Sterling - 1977
  • Thomas, Bettye (seminar leader) - 1977
  • Ward, Theodore - 1977
  • Weaver, Robert C. - 1977
  • Wolters, Raymond - 1977
  • Box 18:
  • Applications, participants - 1977
  • Applicant resumes - 1977
  • Rejected applications - 1977
  • Books from publishing companies - 1977
  • Reports to NEH - 1974-1977
  • Narrative report for NEH regarding the ninth annual institute, September - 1977
  • Completed questionnaires from participants - 1977
  • Annual report - 1977
  • Expenses, December - 1977
  • Box 19:
  • NEH fellowship grant for editing and publishing institute lectures of 1973 through 1977
  • Correspondence with NEH - 1977-1978
  • Proposed budget - 1978
  • Budget, correspondence - 1978
  • Forms - 1978
  • NEH report, "Black Culture in the Second Renaissance: A Study of Afro-American Thought and Experience, 1954-1970" - 1978
    2 folders
  • Schedule - 1978
  • Presentation by Turner on the Harlem Renaissance - 1978
  • Great Plains Black Museum correspondence about a participant - 1978
    Calloway
  • Supplementary material - 1979
  • Box 20:
  • Summer Institutes bibliographies compiled by R. A. Corrigan, D. B. Porter, Alvin Scaff and C. F. Oliver - 1969
    Includes U.S. Census statistics of free Negroes and slaves, 1820-1860
  • Summer Institutes readings, bibliographies - 1969
  • Lecturers - 1973-1978
  • Presentations - 1973-1978
  • Transcription of presentation by Randolph Edmonds, "The Educational Theatre in Black Colleges" - 1973
  • Transcription of presentation by Thomas Cripps, "David and Goliath: Decline in Race Movies" - 1973
  • Transcription of presentation by Carlton Molette II, "Ritual Drama in the Contemporary Black Theater" - 1973
  • Transcription of presentation by Sister Francesca Thompson, "The Lafayette Players" - 1973
  • Transcription of presentation by Thomas Pawley, "Blacks in American Drama and Theatre, 1767-1917" - 1973
    Tape #73
  • Transcription of presentation by John Bracey, Jr., "The Social Bases of Afro-American Culture, 1880-1920" - 1975
  • Transcription of presentation by Sylvia Lyons Render, "Charles W. Chesnutt: The Dissenter" - 1975
    Tape #43
  • Transcription of presentation by Darly C. Dance, "Humor in Black American Literature at the Turn of the Century" - 1975
    Tape #45
  • Transcription of presentation by Saunders Redding, "Afro-American Culture: Declaration of a Redefinition" - 1975
    Tape #82
  • Institute presentations - 1976
  • Correspondence from Turner to Hylan Lewis - 1977
  • Transcription of presentation by Robert C. Weaver, "The Impact of the New Deal Upon Blacks and Their Participation in World War II Production" - 1977
  • Transcription of presentation by Gloster B. Current, "Significance of the NAACP and its Impact in the '60s" - 1978
  • Presentations from 1973 and 1978 institutes published in The Black Scholar - 1985-1988
    Includes correspondence, 3 copies of the issue, and Turner's introduction.
  • Series 4: TURNER'S WRITINGS
  • Sub-Series: Papers
  • Box 21:
  • "King Lear Re-examined" - 1957
    Published in CLA Journal
  • "The Negro Dramatist's Image of the Universe, 1920-1960" - 1961
    Published in CLA Journal
  • Reprints of publications - 1961-1969
  • "A View of Melville's 'Piazza'" - 1963
    Includes reprint, CLA Journal
  • Katharsis - 1964
    Reprint
  • "A Primer for Critics," March - 1965
    Published in CLA Journal, Vol. 8: No. 3
  • "Smoke from Melville's Chimney," undated
    Written at North Carolina A & T College, 1959-1970. Published in CLA Journal
  • "The Changing Images of Blacks in American Drama," undated
    Written at North Carolina A & T College, 1959-1970
  • "Standards for Freshman Composition," undated
    Written at North Carolina A & T College, 1959-1970
  • "Betrayal as Motif in Shakespeare's Tragedies," undated
    Written at North Carolina A & T College, 1959-1970
  • "The Negro in American Drama," undated
    Written at North Carolina A & T College, 1959-1970
  • "The Status of Humanists and the Humanities," undated
    Written at North Carolina A & T College, 1959-1970
  • "Ambivalent Values in Recent Best-Sellers," undated
    Draft. Written at North Carolina A & T College, 1959-1970
  • "A Primer for Critics," undated
    Written at North Carolina A & T College, 1959-1970
  • "Negro Playwrights and the Urban Negro," undated
    Written at North Carolina A & T College, 1959-1970
  • "America and Race Relations," undated
    Written at North Carolina A & T College, 1959-1970
  • Abstract of bibliography of Richard Wright, undated
    Written at North Carolina A & T College, 1959-1970
  • Paper on Richard Wright, undated
    Written at North Carolina A & T College, 1959-1970
  • "The Teachings of Afro-American Literature," undated
    Biographies. Written at North Carolina A & T College, 1959-1970
  • "The Negro in American Drama," undated
    Written at North Carolina A & T College, 1959-1970
  • Biographical sketch of Zora Neale Hurston for contribution to A Biographical Guide to Southern Literature - 1967, 1976
    Includes correspondence with Joseph M. Flora
  • Book by Turner, Black American Literature: Poetry - 1969
  • "Is College English Relevant?" September - 1969
  • Box 22:
  • "Mark Twain's 'The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn'," and cover letter - 1969
  • "A Black Teacher's Thoughts About Black Studies," January - 1970
    Published in A & T State University Alumni Bulletin. Includes photograph of Turner
  • Review of book by Turner, Theory and Practice in the Teaching of Literature by Afro-Americans, September - 1972
  • "The Poetry of Langston Hughes" - 1972
    Includes draft
  • Paper, Unite V and VI, undated
    Written after 1972
  • "The Harlem Renaissance: One Facet of an Untwisted Kaleidoscope" - 1970-1979
    2 copies
  • Paper about James Baldwin - 1972
  • "Paul Laurence Dunbar: The Poet and the Myths," December - 1974
    Published in CLA Journal, Vol. 18: No. 2
  • "Teaching Contemporary Literature in the High Schools During the 1970s," undated
    Written 1974 or later
  • Teaching Contemporary Literature in the High Schools During the 1970s, undated
    Draft
  • "Black Experience, Black Literature, Black Students, and the English Classroom" - 1974
    Published in NEATEs The Leaflet
  • "Paul Laurence Dunbar: The Poet and the Myths - 1974-1975
    For CLA Journal. Includes correspondence
  • Essay by Turner, "Sterling Brown: A Remembrance" - 1975
  • Box 23:
  • "J. Mason Brewer: Vignettes" - 1975
    Published in CLA Journal
  • In Memoriam, J. Mason Brewer: Vignettes, June - 1975
    Published in CLA Journal
  • "The Negro in American Drama," undated
    2 folders; written 1975 or later
  • Conclusion, undated
    Written in 1976 or later
  • "Images of Blacks in Visual-Auditory Media" - 1976
  • Paper, "Black Students, Language and Classroom Teachers" - 1976
    Published in Iowa English Bulletin Newsletter
  • Essay by Turner, "Black Fiction: History and Myth" - 1977
    Includes contract with publisher
  • "Images of Blacks in Visual-Auditory Media," Summer - 1978
    Published in Umoja
  • "Introduction to the Sixties," undated
    Possibly written in the late 1970s
  • "Why I Have Liked to Read Poetry -- Despite Some English Teachers I Have Known" - 1979
    Published in ADE Bulletin
  • "Teaching Contemporary Literature in the High Schools During the 1970s" - 1979
    Published in English Journal
  • Papers research on Bontemps, Chesnutt and Toomer - 1979-1982
  • "A Meditation About the Past" - 1983
    Includes a letter from Greenwood Press
  • "The Role of Humanities" - 1981-1985
    Includes draft and clipping
  • "The Role of Humanities," undated
  • Box 24:
  • "The Judas Kiss in Shakespeare's Tragedies," undated
    2 folders
  • "Sex, Snobbery and Security in Recent Best Sellers," undated
  • "Literary Criticism: The Teacher As Servant to the Student," undated
  • "Reflections of Life in Fiction," undated
  • "Dreams and Hallucinations in the Twenties," undated
    Published in CLA Journal
  • "Jazz-Vaudeville Drama in the Twenties," undated
  • "Introduction to the Twenties," undated
  • Introduction to Section III by Turner, undated
    Introduction to the Twenties?
  • "Visions of Love and Manliness in a Blackening World: Drama of Black Life Since 1953," undated
    2 folders
  • "W.E.B. Du Bois and the Theory of a Black Aesthetic," undated
  • "Paul Laurence Dunbar: The Poet and the Myths," undated
  • "Zora Neale Hurston: The Wandering Minstrel," undated
  • "Black Critics: An Introduction," undated
  • "Afro-American Literary Critics: An Introduction," undated
  • "Notes in Chaos: Issues and Problems in Interpreting and Evaluating Literature by Afro-Americans," undated
    Draft
  • "Daddy Joel and His Old-Time Negroes"
    About Joel Chandler Harris
  • "The Black University," undated
  • "Introduction: Continuation of 'The Afro-American in the Professional Theatre'," undated
  • "Literature and Society's Values," undated
    Draft
  • "Melville As a Novelist," undated
  • Incomplete paper, undated
  • "Tradition in Black Literature: The 'American Dream,'" undated
  • Box 25:
  • Paper by Turner and grant application to the American Council of Learned Societies, undated
  • Paper on Herman Melville, undated
    Draft
  • "The Life of Mark Twain," undated
    Written 1962 or later
  • "The Scarlet Letter," undated
    Written 1962 or later
  • "Images of Blacks in Visual-Auditory Media," undated
    3 folders
  • "The Rocky Steele Novels of John B. West," undated
  • "A Black Teacher's Thoughts About Black Studies," undated
  • "Uses of the Antebellum Slave Narratives in Collegiate Courses in Literature," undated
    Includes 2 drafts and final paper with cover letter announcing its inclusion in the ERIC database, 1975
  • Biographical sketches on Jean Toomer, Charles W. Chesnutt and Arna Bontemps, undated
  • "Why I Have Liked to Read Poetry -- Despite Some English Teachers I Have Known," undated
  • "Black Arts," undated
    Includes poem by Margaret Walker
  • "Teaching Literature in High Schools in the 1970s," undated
    Draft
  • "Revolt and Tradition in Literature by Afro-Americans in the USA, 1960-1973," undated
  • "Teaching Contemporary Literature in the High Schools During the 1970s," undated
  • "The Humanities in America Today," undated
  • "Introduction to the Twenties," and "Introduction to the Sixties," undated
  • Paper on Frank Yerby, undated
    Draft
  • "The Poetry of Langston Hughes," undated
  • "Robert Hayden: Remembered," undated
    Written 1984 or later
  • "Humanities Today," undated
  • Biographical note on novelist James Baldwin, undated
    Includes draft
  • Box 26:
  • "Causes of Genius," undated
  • "The Negro Novel in America: In Rebuttal," undated
    Written at North Carolina A & T College, between 1959 and 1970
  • "The Negro Novelist and the South," undated
    Written at North Carolina A & T College, between 1959 and 1970
  • "The Right to Be, undated
    First corrected carbon on Frank Yerby, pages 269-363
  • Paper on Ronald Milner, undated
    Written 1971 or later
  • Paper on Adrienne Kennedy, undated
    Written 1971 or later
  • Paper on Loften Mitchell, undated
    Written 1971 or later
  • Paper, "The Black Playwright in the Professional Theatre of the United States of America, 1858-1959," undated
  • Paper research on Charles W. Chesnutt
    Photocopy
  • Paper, "Elder, Lonne III," undated
    Playwright. Written 1972 or later
  • Reprint, "Paul Laurence Dunbar: The Rejected Symbol," January - 1967
    Reprint form The Journal of Negro History
  • Paper, "Looking Back to Preludes to Change: Afro-Americans from 1845-1860 and 1945-1960"
    Draft. Written 1972 or later
  • Paper, "Black Slaves in the Pens of Afro-American Writers," undated
  • Paper by Turner on Faulkner and slaves, undated
    Incomplete draft
  • Paper by Turner, "A Blackamerican Literary Tradition," undated
    Written in 1972 or later
  • Sub-Series: Articles and reviews
  • Box 26:
  • Column by Turner, "Past and Present," in Peacemaker, June 15 - 1967
  • Article, "The Status of Humanists and the Humanities," September - 1964
    Reprint from CLA Journal
  • Article, "The Afro-American College in American Higher Education" - 1969
  • Article, " The Armchair Detective," published in Dimensions in Detective Fiction - 1972-1975
    Includes correspondence
  • Article, "W.E.B. Du Bois and the Theory of a Black Aesthetic," undated
    Includes correspondence 1972-1974
  • "Introductory Remarks About the Black Literary Tradition in the United States of America," December - 1978
    Published in Black American Literature Forum
  • Article, "Retrospective of a Renaissance," January/February - 1987
    Published in The Black Scholar
  • Biography on Countee Cullen, undated
    Written at North Carolina A & T College, between 1959 and 1970
  • Biography on Countee Porter Cullen, November - 1973
    Published in Dictionary of American Biography
  • Compiled by Turner, "Dramas by Afro-Americans," - 1970-1975
  • Turner's list of African American authors, undated
  • Research for Black Drama Anthology, undated
  • Box 27:
  • Review by Turner of The Confessions of Nat Turner, published in Journal of Negro History
  • Reviews by Turner - 1957-1968
    5 typed reviews
  • Review by Turner, undated
    Handwritten draft
  • Review of "The Outsider," undated
    2 copies
  • Review, "Revision of an Idea," undated
    Photocopy
  • Review, "The Negro Novelist and the South," undated
    Abstract and 2 typed copies
  • Review of Folksingers and Folksongs in America - 1965
  • Book reviews by Turner - 1965
  • Review of Louis Peterson's Take a Giant Step - 1967
    "Negro Playwrights and the Urban Negro"
  • Review of The confessions of Nat Turner - 1967
  • Review of An Anthology of Verse by American Negroes - 1968
  • Review of Native Son, October - 1968
  • Reviews of Dark Symphony and The White Conscience - 1968
  • Review of Five Black Authors - 1971
  • Review of an essay, "The Amen Corner," written by James Baldwin, undated
    Written after 1971
  • Review of Searching for America - 1972
  • Book review of Down Home written by Robert Bone - 1976
    Published in American Literature
  • Book review of The Negro Novel in America written by Robert Bone
    Undated typed review
  • Review, "A Spectrum of Blackness," on Alice Walker and Ishmael Reed, undated
    Draft
  • Review, "A Spectrum of Blackness," on Alice Walker and Ishmael Reed, undated
    Photocopy of article
  • Review, "A Spectrum of Blackness," on Alice Walker and Ishmael Reed, undated - 1969-1976
    Draft. Includes correspondence from Ishmael Reed
  • Review of Arna Bontemps-Langston Hughes Letters, 1925-1967 - 1983
    Includes photograph
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with publishers and editors
  • Box 27:
  • Correspondence, speech of Napier Wilt, Turner's advisor at the University of Chicago, undated
  • Correspondence from Turner, serving as a review of "Othello," undated
  • Correspondence from Turner to unknown writer of "American Manifesto," undated
  • Permission to reprint William Braithwaite poems in Black Literature: Poetry, March - 1969
  • Proposal of an anthology of works by Paul Laurence Dunbar - 1966-1967
  • Responding: Five - 1974-1978
  • Howard University Press about Turner's paper, December - 1974
  • Hampton University Journal of Ethnic Studies - 1985
  • Correspondence with graduate students - 1986
  • Correspondence with publishers - 1986
  • Duke University Press - 1989
  • Box 28:
  • Everett/Edwards, Inc. offer to tape lectures - 1972-1973
  • St. James Press for Contemporary Dramatists - 1972-1986
  • CLA Journal regarding essay on novelist James Baldwin - 1973
  • Encyclopedia Britannica regarding scripts of films - 1974
  • Cane - 1974-1989
  • Bibliography on Samuel Delany, published in Afro-American Writers - 1973-1977
  • World Book for Dictionary of American Biography - 1973-1977
  • Collins World Dictionary - 1974-1975
  • Howard University Press - 1976-1977, 1989
  • Committee on Comparative Literature - 1977
  • First World journal regarding advertising - 1977
  • Howard University Press - 1977
  • "The Harlem Renaissance: One Facet of an Untwisted Kaleidoscope" - 1977-1978, 1989
  • Howard University Press classics - 1978-1982
  • Oxford University Press about Companion to African-American Literature - 1990
  • Drama in America: An Anthology - 1990-1991
  • Sub-Series: Introductions
  • Box 29:
  • Introduction for book, Soul Clap Hands and Sing, by Paule Marshall - 1961
    Draft, resources
  • Introduction for book, undated
    Written between 1959 and 1970
  • Introduction for The Harlem Renaissance - 1968
    Includes correspondence regarding publisher
  • Introduction for unidentified book, undated
    Written between 1959 and 1970
  • Correspondence and introduction sent to publisher - 1969
    Regarding Charles Chesnutt
  • Prospectus and table of contents for an anthology - 1970
  • Introduction draft regarding roles of African Americans in television, film and theatre, undated
    Written 1970 or later
  • Introduction for student Core Book 11, November - 1970
  • Introduction for One Way to Heaven by Countee Porter Cullen, July - 1972
    Photocopy
  • Introduction, January - 1973
    Typed
  • Introduction for book on Nathan Eugene (Jean) Toomer, January - 1974
  • Introduction for book by Jean Toomer, Cane - 1975
    Includes publisher correspondence
  • Turner served as editor for three papers - 1973-1975
  • Box 30:
  • Introduction by Turner for "A Study of Melvin B. Tolson's Harlem Gallery" - 1979
  • Introduction by Turner on Paule Marshall's presentation at the 1976 Institute, undated
    Draft
  • Forward to an anthology of essays about Gwendolyn Brooks - 1982
  • Introduction for book, God Bless the Child by Kristin Hunter, July - 1986
  • Introduction for book, Soul Clap Hands and Sing by Paule Marshall - 1988
  • Research for Turner's introduction to Soul Clap Hands and Sing - 1961
    Photocopy
  • Introduction to annotated list of dramas by Afro-Americans, undated
    Photocopy
  • Introduction by Turner, "Introduction to Black Literature," undated
  • Introduction by Turner on Negro Literature, undated
    2 folders
  • Introduction by Turner, "Harlem Renaissance," undated
  • Introduction by Turner for unidentified book, undated
  • Sub-Series: Manuscript
  • Box 31:
  • In a Minor Chord: Three Afro-American Writers and Their Search for Identity draft, undated
    2 folders; written about Jean Toomer, Countee Cullen and Zora Neale Hurston
  • Research and drafts - 1970
  • Minor Chord draft
  • Chapter on Paul Laurence Dunbar and research for Minor Chord, undated
  • Box 32:
  • Minor Chord drafts, undated
  • Minor Chord . Manuscript, notes, permissions, undated
  • Minor Chord, Jean Toomer chapter, undated
    3 folders
  • Minor Chord introduction
    2 folders
  • Minor Chord draft - 1969
  • Minor Chord notes, bibliography, biographical material, undated
  • Minor Chord reviewed for the Martin Luther King, Jr., Library-Documentation Project - 1971
  • Sub-Series: Speeches
  • Box 33:
  • "The Relevance of Educational Programs of Colleges of Arts & Sciences," undated
    Written between 1959 and 1970
  • Address to panel, North Carolina Association of Registrars, undated
    Written between 1959 and 1970
  • "The Meaning of an Education," undated
    Written between 1959 and 1970
  • Delivered at Indiana University, July 5 - 1965
  • Presentation. Turner served as literature consultant, Language Arts Conference, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, November 4 - 1967
  • Address, "The Humanities Today," June 17 - 1968
  • "The Place of Humanities in a Two-Year College," July - 1968
    Also delivered at Mount Olive College, April 15, 1968
  • Clipping about Turner's speech at the Conference on Paul Laurence Dunbar, University of California, November - 1972
  • "Faulkner and Slavery," presented at the annual Faulkner and Yoknapatawpha Conference - 1973
    Includes draft
  • New England Association of Teachers of English (NEATE) - 1973
  • "A Meditation About the Past," July 28 - 1976
    Presented at African Regional American Studies Conference
  • Turner delivered paper at American Fiction Bicentennial Symposium, October - 1976
    Program
  • Speech by Turner at a conference - 1979
  • Human Relations speech - 1980
  • "Blacks and the American Dream" - 1981
    Presented at Fisk University Learning Library Program
  • "Symposium on the Current Status of Black Literature, April 30 - 1983
  • Correspondence regarding speaking engagements - 1985-1986
  • "Sterling Brown: White Playwrights and 'The Negro on the Stage'" - 1989
    Turner read his paper at NCTE in November 1989.
  • "Robert Hayden: Remembered," February - 1990
    Presented at a conference
  • "Everybody Can't Teach English"
    Handwritten draft
  • "America Race Relations and the Negro," undated
    Presented on Men's Day, perhaps at a Black church
  • Five speeches by Turner, undated
  • "A Primer for Critics," undated
    Draft
  • Speech by Turner on Negro writers in America, undated
    Partial draft
  • "My Brother's Keeper," undated
  • The Negro Leader," undated
  • "The Negro in American Drama," undated
    Includes draft
  • "Humanism and Scholarship in the Present Age," undated
    Includes draft
  • "The Role of Humanities in a Liberal Arts College," undated
    Housatonic speech
  • Speech note cards, "Ceremonies in Dark Old Men," undated
  • "Towards the New Negro," undated
  • "Challenge to the Centrality of Literature," undated
    Draft
  • Sub-Series: Course lectures
  • Box 34:
  • Course by Turner on Invisible Man, by Ralph Ellison, undated
    Written between 1959 and 1970
  • Lectures, undated
    Written between 1959 and 1970
  • Course, "Notes on Chaos: Issues in Interpreting and Evaluating Literature by Afro-Americans" - 1975
  • Draft for "Study of Black Literature" - 1977
  • "The Harlem Renaissance," undated
  • Guest lecturer Nick Aaron Ford, "The Legacy of Waters Turpin, 1910-1968," undated
  • "Early Afro-American Literature," for English 475, undated
  • Fiction course on The Triumphs of Ephraim, by James Ephraim McGirt, undated
  • Lecture notes, "Afro-American Literature," undated
  • Course description, "Ethics and Black Literature," UI instructor Robert Baker, undated
  • Research for a course, undated
  • "Dramas by Afro-Americans," undated
  • American Studies course presentation, undated
  • Lecture by Turner to a class regarding Invisible Man, by Ralph Waldo Ellison, undated
  • Series 5: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 35:
  • Correspondence from and to Turner - 1973-1980
    4 folders
  • Box 36:
  • Correspondence from and to Turner - 1979-1987
    7 folders
  • Box 37:
  • Correspondence from and to Turner - 1988-1991
    4 folders
  • Series 6: COMMITMENTS
  • Box 38:
  • Correspondence - 1971-1991
    15 folders
  • Series 7: A-Z
  • Box 39:
  • African Diaspora Studies Institute Conference, Washington, D. C. - 1978-1979
  • Afro-American Novel Project, University of Mississippi. Abstract, proposal - 1980
  • American Association for the Advancement of the Humanities - 1981-1982
    2 folders
  • American Association of University Professors (AAUP) correspondence - 1971-1977
  • AAUP policy and reports - 1977
  • AAUP correspondence, clippings - 1978
  • AAUP work of Committee A, March - 1979
  • Box 40:
  • AAUP agenda items - 1979
  • AAUP Legislative Guide - 1979-1980
  • AAUP correspondence - 1979-1982
  • AAUP correspondence, reports, February-June - 1980
  • AAUP work of Committee A, June - 1980
  • AAUP correspondence - 1982-1989
  • American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) study fellowship - 1978-1981
  • American Literature. Correspondence, Board of Editors, November-May - 1975-1979
  • American Literature. Review totals - 1976-1979
  • Box 41:
  • American Literature reader of manuscripts - 1979
    For the editor
  • American Quarterly correspondence - 1977
  • American Studies Association convention program, annual report - 1977-1978
  • American Theater Association conferences - 1974-1976
  • Association for the Study of Afro-American Life and History (ASALH) miscellaneous documents - 1966-1990
  • ASALH convention program - 1970
  • ASALH convention program - 1972
  • ASALH convention materials - 1973, 1976
  • ASALH convention - 1976
    Includes Black Newspaper Cartoonists: 19th and Early 20th Centuries
  • ASALH convention - 1976
    Includes souvenir journal
  • ASALH convention materials - 1977
  • Association for the Study of Negro Life and History (ASNLH) correspondence - 1972
  • Box 42:
  • BC Research, Division of Bruccoli Clark Publishing - 1979-1980
  • Benjamin Banneker Honors College newsletter, catalog - 1985-1987
  • Benjamin Banneker Honors College newsletter, catalog, Board meeting - 1987-1989
  • Benjamin Banneker Honors College correspondence - 1987-1990
  • Black Abolitionists Project, University of Wisconsin correspondence - 1974-1979
  • Black Abolitionists Project, University of Wisconsin NEH grant applications - 1976-1981
  • Black Abolitionists Project, University of Wisconsin. Status - 1977-, 1979
  • Box 43:
  • Black American Critics Project - 1984
  • Black Arts Festival - 1971-1975
  • Black Books Bulletin - 1990
  • Black Council - 1975
  • Black Research Organizations Network Project (BRON) questionnaire, undated
  • Black Theatre Program contacts, January - 1980
    American Theatre Association
  • Black Women's National Club Movement - 1978
  • Books for inter-racial work, undated
    Possibly 1977
  • Center for African and African-American Studies, Atlanta, undated
  • Chicago, University of. Alumni Association - 1977-1980
  • Chicano Conference Planning Committee - 1975
  • College English Association (CEA) - 1971-1979
    5 folders
  • CEA Forum - 1974-1975
    Vol. 4: No. 3 (February 1974); Vol. 4: No. 4 (April 1974); Vol. 6: No. 1 (October 1975)
  • Box 44:
  • CIC conference, annual report - 1977
    Association for Human Resources
  • CIC Minorities Fellowship Programs. Establishment of and statistics - 1978-1979
    Includes Turner's nomination to serve
  • CIC Minorities Fellowship Programs - 1979-1980
  • CIC Minorities Fellowship Programs correspondence - 1981-1983
  • CIC Minorities Fellowship Programs recipients of awards - 1983-1984
  • CIC Minorities Fellowship Programs forms and instructions - 1984-1985
  • College Language Association (CLA) reports by Turner - 1965
  • CLA convention - 1971-1987
  • Committee D on Research Involving the Use of Human Participants - 1974-1976
  • Conference on College Composition and Communication (CCCC) - 1974-1977
  • Contemporary Dramatists, advisory board - 1982
  • Box 45:
  • National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) - 1971-1977
    Correspondence regarding bibliography
  • NCTE correspondence about Turner's contribution to Guide to Play Selection - 1974-1975
  • NCTE Committee on Racist Abuse - 1977
  • National Committee for a New Black World Magazine, May - 1976
  • National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) grant application to establish a conference on Southern Literary Study - 1972
  • NEH Humanities Institutes Program - 1978-1979
  • NEH grant applications - 1981-1985
  • Correspondence from Chair of NEH to Clarence Thomas, Chair of EEOC, January - 1984
  • NEH. Turner named Trustee Emeritus, National Humanities Center - 1987-1990
  • Rockefeller Foundation grant for Jean Toomer Omnibus - 1970-1973
  • Commission on the Humanities, chapters 1-4 - 1979
    Rockefeller Foundation
  • Rockefeller Foundation Research Fellowship Program for Minority Group Scholars - 1980-1985
  • South Atlantic Modern Language Association (SAMLA) correspondence - 1977
  • Rockefeller Foundation Residency Program in Humanities, panel - 1985-1986
  • Spelman Institute curriculum development in southern studies - 1979
  • University of Cincinnati Black Alumni Association - 1983
  • Series 8: ORGANIZATIONS
  • Box 46:
  • Commission on the Humanities, Stanford University, December - 1979
  • Federation of State Humanities Councils - 1990
    2 folders
  • International Association of University Professors of English, minutes - 1972-1986
  • International Association of University Professors of English, member information, November - 1989
  • John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, Fellow Award - 1982
  • Judicial Commission - 1973-1975
  • Mid-America Association of Educational Opportunity Program Personnel (MAEOPP) - 1976-1977
    Includes correspondence from Colleen Jones, UI Special Support Services
  • Middle Atlantic Writers Association (MAWA) - 1989
  • Midwest Universities Consortium for International Activities (MUCIA) - 1979
  • Modern Language Association of America (MLA) correspondence - 1972-1990
  • MLA bulletins, correspondence - 1970-1977
  • MLA Langston Hughes Symposium - 1977
  • Box 47:
  • MLA newsletter, directory of women - 1977
  • MLA Committee on Teaching - 1978
  • MLA convention workshop in Hispanic Studies - 1978
    Includes contacts
  • MLA Afro-American Discussion Groups - 1978-1983
  • MLA Committee on Teaching - 1979
  • MLA Committee on Teaching - 1981
  • MLA Division on Black American Culture and Literature, March - 1983, 1985, 1987
    2 folders
  • MLA Southern Literature Discussion Group - 1983-1985
  • MLA program proposals - 1986
  • Box 48:
  • National Association of Black Professors - 1975-1976
  • National Association of Interdisciplinary Ethic Studies (NAIES) - 1977, 1984
    Turner joined the General Editorial Board of a journal
  • National Black Bibliographic and Research Center - 1977
    Turner served on Board of Directors
  • National Council for Black Studies, conference, "Voices in Black Studies" newsletter - 1976-1981
  • National Council for Black Studies, schedule for 14th annual conference - 1990
  • National Council of Negro Women - 1979
    Correspondence from Bettye Thomas
  • National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE), "The Negro in American Drama" - 1970
    Includes a bibliography
  • NCTE Research Foundation grant applications - 1972-1974
  • NCTE annual reports, minutes, convention materials - 1972-1976
  • NCTE Minority Affairs Committee correspondence, March - 1976
  • NCTE annual reports, minutes - 1977-1979
  • Box 49:
  • NCTE Ad Hoc Committee on Racism and Sexism in NCTE Programs, March - 1976
  • Convention discussion about bibliography - 1976-1977
  • NCTE College Section minutes - 1978, 1979
  • NCTE Study Group to establish guidelines for human rights in the college English arena - 1978-1985
  • NCTE annual reports - 1982-1986
  • NCTE Committee on Excellence in English - 1984
  • NCTE Committee on Publishers and English Teachers - 1984-1985
  • NCTE newsletter, Council-Grams, January - 1985
  • NCTE correspondence - 1985
  • NCTE second annual African-American Read-In Chain, an activity of Black History Month - 1990
  • NCTE Asian American curriculum, undated
  • Sub-Series: NCTE Commission on Literature
  • Box 49:
  • Evaluation of English doctoral program - 1974-1985
  • Directory, minutes, vita - 1982-1984
  • Calendar, trends, vita - 1982-1985
  • Planning, annual report - 1983
  • Correspondence, post-convention report - 1983
  • Box 50:
  • Reports, correspondence - 1984-1985
  • Committee chairs - 1984-1985
  • Requests for books - 1984-1985
  • Annual report - 1984-1985
  • Reports - 1984-1985
  • Membership, minutes - 1984-1985
  • Meetings - 1984-1985
  • Duplicates - 1984-1985
  • Budget - 1972, 1984
  • Turner's speech notes - 1984
  • Convention - 1985
  • Publications - 1985
  • Correspondence - 1985-1986
  • Member biographical information - 1986
  • Manuscript - 1984
  • Manuscript - 1985
  • Manuscript, undated
  • Box 52:
  • Lectureship - 1976-1982
  • Senate - 1985-1986
    2 folders
  • Executive Committee minutes - 1986-1987
    2 folders
  • Policy Committee, November-December - 1987
  • Executive Committee minutes, correspondence - 1988
  • Executive Committee agenda and report, council meeting delegates manual, October - 1988
  • Executive Committee minutes, December - 1988
  • Balance sheet, January-July - 1989
  • Annual meeting, August-December - 1989
  • Financial statements, February-August - 1990
  • Executive Committee minutes, June-July - 1990
  • Balance sheet, October - 1990
  • Foundation and Executive Committee minutes - 1990
  • Box 50:
  • NCTE Commission on the Humanities - 1978-1988
    Includes 1985 NCTE Directory
  • Sub-Series: NCTE Commission on History
  • Box 51:
  • Recollections by members of NCTE achievements - 1974, 1977
  • Progress in writing the history - 1977-1978
  • Draft of chapters 1-2, undated
  • Draft of chapters 6-7, by Nick Hook - 1978
  • Correspondence - 1978-1981
  • Box 51:
  • National Endowment for the Humanities, final narrative report, "A Proposal for Strengthening and Developing an Afro-American Studies Program at the University of Iowa." - 1980
  • National Faculty, undated
    Turner joined, after 1983?
  • National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities, Turner served as consultant - 1978
  • National Humanities Alliance membership list, undated
  • New English Studies, University of Nebraska, undated
    Turner's service on the editorial board
  • Robert R. Moton Memorial Institute, fellowship applications - 1975-1978
  • Rockefeller Foundation working papers, "New Religious Movements in America," September - 1979
  • Society for the Study of Multi-Ethnic Literature of the United States (MELUS) - 1977-1980
    Correspondence
  • Series 9: HUMANITIES
  • Sub-Series: Federation of State Humanities Councils
  • Box 53:
  • Correspondence, Federation Review journal - 1985-1990
  • Testimony to House of Representatives, Board of Directors meeting - 1988-1989
  • Minutes, correspondence - 1988-1989
  • Reports, magazine, statements to the House Subcommittee on Postsecondary Education - 1989-1990
  • Annual business meeting - 1990
  • Turner to review proposals from state humanities councils - 1982
  • Iowa Conference: Rethinking the Humanities - 1984
    Held in Des Moines
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Humanities Board
    A state program of the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH)
  • Box 53:
  • Guidelines - 1979
  • State Program review process, Fall Board Meeting, Program Committee - 1982-1983
  • Reviews - 1982-1983
  • Grant awards, reports - 1982-1988
  • Box 54:
  • Agenda, correspondence - 1983-1985
  • Evaluation, minutes - 1983-1985
    Includes photograph. Includes The Thresher's Review, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa.
  • Minutes, correspondence - 1984
  • Inauguration of the exhibit, "100 Years of Life in a Changing Society: Plum Grove Farm, 1844-1943," May - 1984
  • Grant application, final project report - 1984-1985
  • Proposal - 1984-1986
  • Annual report, minutes - 1984-1987
  • Evaluation - 1985
  • Program Committee meeting reports, June-November - 1985
  • Report, evaluation, clippings - 1985
  • Program and Executive Committee meeting Minutes, June-January - 1985-1986
  • Box 55:
  • Committee minutes, correspondence - 1985-1986
  • Booklet, "Introduction to State Programs," history of humanities programs in Iowa, 1971-1980, grant application instructions - 1985-1987
  • Muses newsletter - 1985-1989
  • Development Committee meeting, September - 1986
  • Executive director's evaluation survey, correspondence - 1986-1987
  • Correspondence - 1987
  • Annual report, work of the Membership Committee, correspondence - 1988, 1990
  • Correspondence - 1989-1990
    2 folders
  • Correspondence with Don Singer and attorney Bill Meardon, February - 1990
  • Sub-Series: National Humanities Center
  • Box 56:
  • National Humanities Faculty (NHF) annual report - 1973-1974
  • NHF policies - 1975
  • NHF "Report on Visit to University City High School," Missouri - 1975-1976, 1979
  • National Humanities Center fellow John Sekora. Vita, correspondence, book reviews - 1977-1982
    Includes his paper, "William Wells Brown and the Afro-American Practice of Narrative Plan of Research"
  • NHC Newsletter Vol. 1: No.1, 2; Institute (1979); 1979-80 fellowship applicants - 1977-1981
  • Board of Trustees minutes; establishment of TIAA fund; 1978-79 fellowship applicants - 1978
  • NHC working paper #3, "Feminist Literary Criticism" - 1980-1981
    Published August 1981
  • Box 57:
  • NHC Directory; Fellows Handbook - 1981-1982
  • Meeting minutes - 1982
  • Schedule for "Soundings" radio program; 1981-82 fellows; NHC Library report of activities - 1982
    "Soundings" weekly program aired 1980-April 1982
  • Transcript of historian John Hope Franklin's presentation, "Stalking George Washington Williams," aired on "Soundings" radio program, April 11 - 1982
  • NHC Newsletter Vol. 4: No. 1; working paper #4, :The Humanities and the Profession of Medicine" - 1982
  • Search Committee, Spring - 1982
  • Correspondence, February - 1982
  • Search Committee, Fall - 1982
  • "The Fellows' Shelf," a bibliography of writing of fellows 1978-1983; reports; minutes - 1983
  • Minutes, correspondence - 1983-1984
  • Box 58:
  • Financial statements; conferences; minutes - 1985
  • Minuets; 1986 summer institute - 1986
  • Newsletter Vol. 8: No. 3; 1984-1986 NHC Report - 1985-1987
  • Committee reports - 1986
  • Minutes, By-Laws - 1987
  • Newsletter Vol. 9: No. 2; fellowships; reports - 1987-1988
  • Minutes - 1988
  • Endowment report, auditor's report - 1988
  • NHC 5th summer institute for high school teachers - 1988
    Held at Research Triangle Park, North Carolina
  • Box 59:
  • News (August/September), correspondence - 1990
  • Correspondence - 1989-1990
  • Fellowship program - 1990
  • Committee reports - 1990
  • Minutes, director's report - 1990
  • Reports, 1990-91 fellows - 1990
  • Presentation by Kesho Scott, "The Habit of Surviving: Politics of Liberation Not Pain," January 16 - 1991
    From her 1988 thesis. Sponsored by NHC and Women's Studies Program
  • Box 60:
  • Fellowship program expanded - 1989
  • Conference planning; 1988-89 NHC Report; Fellows 1978-1989; Newsletter Vol. 10: No. 3-4 - 1989
  • Director installation; reports - 1989
  • Reports, conferences and institutes - 1989
  • Board of Trustees minutes - 1989
  • Committee on Scholarly Programs, February 11 - 1991
  • Series 10: RESOURCES
  • Sub-Series: Study guides
  • Box 61:
  • Nigeria (undated); Americans from America: A History - 1968
  • Liberia, Ghana, Tunisia - 1967-1968
  • Tanzania, Zambia, Tunisia, Kenya, Mozambique, Botswana, Congo, Nigeria - 1968-1969
  • Sub-Series: Occasional papers, Center for African and African-American Studies, Atlanta University
  • Box 61:
  • No. 1-3, 3 (1975), 4, three #5 by different authors, 6, 7, 12
  • No. 8-11, 16, 18, 19, 21. Includes "Black Theater and Rituals," by Carlton Molette
  • Box 62:
  • No. 1, by Richard A. Long
  • No. 2, by Deborah Smith Fouch
  • No. 4, by Richard N. Wright
  • No. 6, by Eugenia Collier
  • No. 9, by David Dorsey
  • No. 12, by Richard A. Long
  • No. 13, by Robert A. Holmes
  • No. 14, by John Henrik Clarke
  • No. 15, by John Henrik Clarke, April - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Conference papers, Africa Regional American Studies Conference, Ivory Coast, July 25-28
  • Box 62:
  • John Blassingame - 1976
  • O. Nnoli - 1976
  • Alfred E. Opubor - 1976
  • Michael Sefali - 1976
  • Emilie Sukho - 1976
  • Tekena N. Tamuno - 1976
  • A. J. Temu - 1976
  • Babatunde A. Williams - 1976
  • Ngugi Wa Thiong'o - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Theses and dissertations
  • Box 63:
  • "Federal judges and political change in Louisiana, 1954-1965," by Elsie L. Scott, May - 1970
    UI MA thesis
  • "The Act of Rebellious Creation: A Critical Study of Richard Wright's Heroes," by Claudia Celestine Tate, May - 1977
    Harvard dissertation
  • "Off Campus," by Benjamin Lester Bates, December - 1979
    UI MFA thesis
  • "The six children's novels of Andrew Salkey: a critical analysis," by Patricia E. Blissett, Spring - 1980
    (UI?) graduate special project
  • "Oyotunji village: Africa recreated," by Sheryl L. Westmoreland, May - 1980
    UI MA thesis
  • "Rooted in Realism and Southern Soil: The Poetry of Sterling Brown," by Tony Bolden, undated
    For class # 45:530; written in 1982 or later
  • "In the Turkish Grain: Revisioning a Self to Revise a Voice," by E. Lale Demirturk, March - 1985
    UI PhD position paper
  • "Out of chaos: the autobiographical works of Maya Angelou," by Dolly Aimee McPherson, May - 1986
    UI PhD dissertation, supervised by Turner
  • "Communication and the evolution of socio-political conflicts," by Ahaziah J. Umanah, undated
    UI PhD dissertation proposal, supervised by Turner
  • Box 64:
  • "The Mulatto woman as major female character in novels by Black women, 1892-1937," by Vashti Crutcher Lewis, December - 1981
    UI PhD dissertation, supervised by Turner
  • "Yoruba drama in English: clarifications for production," by Johnny Baxter Alston, December - 1985
    UI PhD Theatre Arts dissertation abstract, 3 folders
  • African drama paper, "The necessity for demystification," by unidentified author, undated
  • Box 65:
  • Published works of Dorothy Brewster, Alain Locke, Harold R. Isaacs, Richard Wright, and other Black authors - 1942
    4 folders of photocopies, Negro Quarterly, Phylon, American Quarterly
  • Sub-Series: Black Drama
  • Box 66:
  • Publications - 1980, 1983
    Including Sagala, a publication of the Institute for the Arts and the Humanities of Howard University
  • Publications - 1980, 1984, 1990
  • Journals - 1981, 1986, 1989
  • Folk musical by Ms. J. e Franklin, "The Prodigal Sister" - 1974
  • Play by Ms. J. e Franklin, New York, "Where Dewdrops of Mercy Shine Bright: A Drama in Two Acts" - 1989
  • Play by Ms. J. e Franklin, New York, "Christchild: A Drama in Eight Rituals" - 1989
  • Play by Ms. J. e Franklin, UI Department of Theatre Arts, "Gray Panthers" - 1990
  • Play by Ms. J. e Franklin, New York, "Under Heaven's Eye...'Til Cockcrow," undated
  • Play, "Part Two: Prince," undated
    Photocopy, author not identified
  • Clippings and other resources on African American dramatists
  • Box 67:
  • Plays of the Hedgerow Repertory Theatre - 1922, 1977
  • Play by Arna Bontemps, "A Summer Tragedy" - 1933
  • A List of Negro Plays, March - 1938
    Federal Theatre Project, Works Progress Administration
  • Play by H. L. Fishel, "Jericho," undated
    Federal Theatre Project, 1935-1939
  • Study of the Negro's role in the Federal Theatre Project of the New Deal period, undated
    University of Southern California
  • Paper by William S. Braithwaite on Alain Locke, for Phylon 18, pages 166-173 - 1957
    Handwritten manuscript
  • Play by William Branch, "A Wreath for Udomo" - 1962
  • Nigerian drama, "Childe Internationale," from Before the Blackout - 1965
  • Play by Carlton and Barbara Molotto, "Rosalee Pritchett" - 1970
  • Play by S. Randolph Edmonds, "Earth and Stars" - 1970
  • Play by George Houston Bass, Brown University, "Black Masque: The Passion of Darkie's Bones" - 1971, 1981
    Original and revised
  • Play by Carlton and Barbara Molotto, "Booji" - 1972
  • Paper by Winona L. Fletcher, Indiana University, "A Directory of Blacks with Earned Doctorates in Theatre and Drama," undated
    Possibly written in 1973
  • "George Mason University Federal Theatre Project Play List," from Lorraine A. Brown - 1975-1980
    Includes other materials
  • Plays by Fahamisha Shariat, "Black Ritual Theater," and "A Woman's Voice" - 1975
  • Programs of Black drama in New York - 1975-1977
  • Box 68:
  • Play by William Mayfield, "Catfish Murder" - 1982
  • Plays, "Shango Diaspora," and another about the first African American disc jockey - 1985
  • Play by August Wilson, "Ma Rainey's Black Bottom: A Play in Two Acts" - 1985
  • Plays by Charles Fuller - 1986
  • Schedule for University of Iowa Theatre - 1986-1987
  • Theatre program, Brown University - 1989-1990
    Includes two directed by George Houston Bass
  • Charles Smith's dramatic adaptation of Cane - 1990
    Includes cover letter
  • Play from The Colored Museum, undated
  • Play by Charles Fuller, "Jonquil," undated
  • Biographies
  • Play, "The Mighty Gents," undated
  • Playwrights, play titles
  • Partial paper about Black theater, undated
  • Sub-Series: Papers, articles, clippings
  • Box 69:
  • Bibliography of writings by African Americans - 1844-1972
  • "Sunshine and Shadow of Slave Life: Reminiscences as Told by Isaac D. Williams" - 1855
    Photocopy, includes correspondence
  • Book illustrations, Bandanna Ballads: Including "Shadows on the Wall" - 1899
    Photocopy
  • Table of Contents for The Crisis, published by NAACP - 1910-1920
  • Articles by Sterling Brown and others, some undated - 1929-1935
    Photocopies
  • Articles by various authors on Negroes in Colonial America - 1929-1963
  • Richard Wright poetry - 1934-1970
    Photocopies
  • Book by Zora Neale Hurston, Mules and Men - 1935
    Photocopy, 2 folders
  • Chapter on Native Son, published in The Best Plays of 1940-41 - 1941
    Photocopy
  • Articles, speeches - 1942-1970
  • Published articles by various authors - 1947-1987
    Photocopies
  • Transcript of dialog of Lenny Bruce routine, "How to Relax Your Colored Friends at Parties," undated - 1949-1968
    Late 1950s?
  • Box 70:
  • Festivals, song, maps of the African continent, Africa Report magazine (December 1966) - 1958-1971
  • Bibliography of Afro-American playwrights - 1960-1972
  • Paper by Blaise-Marie Gagliano, "A Bio-Bibliography of Countee Cullen, American Poet, 1903-1946," May - 1963
    University of Wisconsin
  • Chapter from a book, The Black Psyche, by John Oliver Killens - 1965
    Photocopy
  • Paper by Joe Carpenter, "The Negro Leadership," undated
    Possibly written in 1965
  • Bibliography compiled by the Ohio Civil Rights Commission, undated
    Possibly written in 1965
  • "The Negro in America: Bibliographies" - 1966
    Princeton University conference
  • Play by Lola Jones Amis - 1966-1970
    Includes correspondence
  • Published articles by LeRoi Jones, "The Largest Ocean in the World," and "Tales" (Grove Press) - 1967
    Photocopies
  • Publication, American Traveler's Guide to Negro History, third edition - 1967
    Published by American Oil Company
  • Article, "Minority Ethnic Groups," from America in Fiction, by Otis W. Coan - 1967
    Photocopy
  • Course outline for "Social Relations" course at Harvard University - 1967-1968
    Photocopy
  • Bibliographies compiled by William Downing of Iowa City - 1967-1968
    2 folders, photocopies
  • Box 71:
  • Booklets, correspondence between Robert A. Corrigan and Education program of NAACP - 1967-1969
  • Clippings and Ditto reproductions - 1967-1971
  • Articles, book catalogs - 1967-1973
  • Bibliographies of dissertations in Black studies - 1967-1977
  • Princeton University conference, "The Negro in America" - 1968
  • Booklet by Frank Freidel, The Negro and Puerto Rican in American History - 1968
    Robert A. Corrigan's copy
  • American Foundation for Negro Affairs convention, "Health and Welfare Issues in the Life of Black People," September - 1968
  • "Proposed: The Black Curriculum," by Doris A. Meek in Junior College Journal, October - 1968
  • Book list for use in a course on Black culture, by Dorothy Sterling, November - 1968
    List provided at her NCTE presentation
  • Newsletter, Women's Education, Vol. 7: No. 4, December - 1968
    Includes editorial by Olivia Pearl Stokes
  • Articles - 1968-1969
  • Courses, speakers, articles - 1968-1969
  • Articles - 1968-1981
  • Black Studies Institute, San Francisco State College. Progress and reading list - 1968-1969
  • Box 72:
  • Reprints, pamphlets, some undated - 1968-1970
  • "Negroes at the University of Alabama," undated history of admittance
    Written in 1968 or later
  • Council on Education Special Report on Black Studies programs and Civil Rights, April 8 - 1969
  • African American repatriation, July - 1969
  • Sources for books on the Negro, compiled by Dorothy B. Porter, July - 1969
  • Bibliography of minorities in America - 1969
  • City: Bi-Monthly Review of Urban America, editor Donal Canty - 1969
  • Vanderbilt University School of Law publication, Race Relations Law Survey - 1969
  • Paper, "The Black Impulse of Birmingham, Alabama" - 1969
  • Reprint, "The Black Revolutionary Novel: 1899-1969," by Charles D. Peavy - 1969
  • American Book Publishers Council, effort to stimulate reading in poor areas, September - 1969
  • Articles - 1969
  • Convention program, Association for the Study of Negro Life and History - 1969
  • Pamphlet, "The Student as Nigger," by Jerry Farber, anti-war material - 1969
    New England Free Press, 6 pages
  • Ethics Studies Program, University of New Mexico, June - 1969
  • Proposed course syllabus, New York Community College, June - 1969
  • Black Studies Institute, San Francisco. Nathan Hare, September - 1969
  • The Schools and Prejudice: Findings - 1969-1970
  • Articles, Black Studies courses - 1969-1970
    2 folders
  • "The Black Law Student," by James Alan McPherson, April - 1970
  • "Africans in the Colonial Americas: An Exhibition of Books and Prints," May 1 - 1970
    Providence, Rhode Island
  • Ufahamy, Journal of the African Activist Association, UCLA - 1970
  • Article, "Black Studies, White Teachers and Black Colleges," by John U. Monro, April - 1970
  • Roache, Joel - 1970
  • Speech communication - 1970-1972
  • Box 73:
  • Paper by unknown author, no title, undated
    Possibly written in 1971
  • Paper by Robert A. Corrigan, "Simulations in the Study of the Urban Process," undated
    Possibly written in 1971
  • Paper by Henry G. La Brie III, "James B. Morris, Sr., and the Iowa Bystander: An Eighty-year-old Editor Reflects on His Seventy-six-year-old Newspaper," May - 1971
    Course 45:211
  • "Born to be Unemployed," a critique by University Action Group of an article by Richard Herrnstein, "I.Q."
    Possibly published in late 1971 or early 1972. Includes "University Action Group" newsletter #1. UAG was a group of faculty, staff and graduate students with chapters in Boston and New York who fought racist ideology.
  • Papers by various authors with cover letters to Turner - 1971-1973
  • Bulletins on African American noted individuals - 1971-1974
  • Biography of Ralph Bunche - 1972
  • Announcement of book publication by John D. Weaver, The Brownsville Raid, about Black soldiers wrongly dismissed in 1906 - 1972
    Book published in 1970 and soldiers exonerated in 1972 due to this book
  • Contacts for African American music and songs - 1972-1973
  • Clippings, articles, reviews - 1972-1990
  • Biographical notes about Claude McKay - 1973
  • Biographical sketch of Claude McKay, from Dictionary of American Biography - 1973
  • Vita of Black writers and catalog of Black Studies publications - 1973
  • Newsletter, clipping, sources for Black studies audiotapes - 1973-1978
  • Chicano and Asian-American literature programs at universities in Texas and Arizona - 1974
    Includes bibliography
  • Article on Asian-American writers - 1974
  • Publications of the Modern Language Association (PMLA), Vol. 89: No. 3, "The Conclusion of Richard Wright's Native Son," May - 1974
    Author Paul N. Siegel
  • Article, "Bibliyongraphy, or Six Tabans in Search of an Author," by Peter Nazareth - 1974
  • Article, "Industrial Education from Frederick Douglass to Booker T. Washington: Observations on Bourgeois Liberalism," by Wilson J. Moses - 1974
    Published in The Review of Black Political Economy, Vol. 4: No. 4
  • Doctoral program in English at the University of Rochester - 1974
  • Draft paper, "Freshman English curricula in Black Virginia colleges," by Flossie McIntyre - 1974
    Rutgers University
  • Black poetry - 1975
  • Paper by Lorenzo Thomas on Ishmael Reed's writing - 1975
  • Paper and speech outline by James W. Byrd, "J. Mason Brewer, 1896-1975" - 1975
  • Paper by Charlotte H. Bruner, October - 1975
    Iowa State University
  • Paper by Frances Smith Foster on slave narratives - 1975
  • Institute for Minority Studies announced the NEH grant was awarded for the Black Abolitionist Editorial Project - 1976
    University of Wisconsin
  • Newsletter, Africa Regional American Studies Conference - 1976
  • Papers presented at the Africa Regional American Studies Conference, Ivory Coast - 1976
    Two papers
  • Paper, "The Politics of Intimacy," by Hortense Spillers, May - 1976
  • Pamphlet about Purdue University conference on Paul Robeson - 1976
  • Reprints to Turner from various authors - 1976-1980
  • Box 74:
  • Titles of microfilms in the Schomburg Collection of Negro Literature and History - 1971, 1976, 1989
    Includes correspondence
  • Paper by David Hsin-Fu Wand, Comparative Literature class - 1976
    University of Texas, Dallas
  • Paper commissioned by the Danforth Foundation, "The Community of Scholars and Self-interest Rightly Understood" - 1977
    University of Chicago
  • Supplementary materials - 1977
  • Various papers - 1977
  • Anthologies - 1977
  • Newsletter and holdings, Research Center for the federal Theatre Project - 1977-1982
  • Paper by James T. Turner, Cornell University - 1977, 1985, 1989
    Includes English Journal
  • Bibliographies - 1977-1983
  • Bibliographies - 1978
  • Clipping, address by Edna Griffin (known as the Rosa Parks of Iowa) - 1978
    See also Edna Griffin Papers, IWA0443
  • Bibliography of primary resources on early African-American narrative and autobiography - 1978
  • Article, "James Baldwin's Blues and the Function of Art," by Edward Lobb - 1979
    International Fiction Review, Vol. 6: No. 2
  • "Introduction to the Death of Benito Cereno: A Reading of Herman Melville on Slavery," by Sterling Stuckey, Joshua Leslie - 1979
  • Reprint, "Richard Wright's Dream of Africa," by Jack B. Moore, in Journal of African Studies - 1979
    Reprint and cover letter
  • "Index to periodical Articles By and About Blacks" - 1979
  • Article, "A Long Ways from Home," in Drumvoices, undated
    Possibly published in late 1970s
  • ASCO Newsletter, August - 1979
    News regarding African countries
  • Black Woman's Voice, Vol. 7: No. 1, April - 1980
    Published quarterly by the National Council of Negro Women. Includes article on appointment of Dorothy Height to President Carter's Commission for a National Agenda
  • "Guide to Scholarly Publications in Black Studies" - 1980
    University of Illinois
  • Box 75:
  • NEH grant awarded to Charles T. Davis while at Yale, September - 1980
    "Classic Afro-American Fiction: Texts in Periodicals, 1827-1919"
  • Humanities Commission correspondence between professors Ong and Topf, December - 1980
  • University of Iowa commencement programs - 1980-1981
  • Love Songs and New Spirituals from the Black Poetry Workshop, UI - 1980
    The Metro Chronicle, March 23, 1989
  • Black Theatre Directory, July - 1981
  • Black American Women Novelists - 1981
    Including a bibliography compiled by Dorothy B. Porter
  • "The Wayward and the Seeking: A Collection of Writings by Jean Toomer," by Frederik L. Rusch - 1981
    For publication in MELUS (Multi-Ethnic Literature of the United States)
  • Writings by various authors - 1981-1983
  • Paper and correspondence from George Houston Bass, Brown University - 1982
  • Dissertation bibliographies from African nations - 1982
  • Catalog, Black Cinema, published by the Black Filmmaker Foundation - 1982
  • Program, call for papers, tenth National Conference on the Black Family in America, March - 1983
    University of Louisville
  • Paper by Eugene W. Metcalf, "Black Art, Folk Art and Social Control" - 1983
  • Trudier Harris and Thadious Davis volumes on Afro-American writers - 1983
  • Article, "Langston Hughes," by Ron Baxter Miller, undated
    Published in Dictionary of Literary Biography #48
  • Speech by Richard S. Salant, of CBS News, "Projections and Exit Polls," May - 1984
    Presented at American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR) conference, Delevan, Wisconsin
  • Cassette tape of poetry reading and cover letter from La Verne D. Goins - 1984
    Includes papers and drawings
  • Notes on Black women's issues - 1984-1985
  • Miscellaneous articles, papers - 1984-1985
  • Black Studies Newsletter, Spring - 1985
    Pennsylvania State University
  • Paper, "Transforming African Agriculture," by Carl K. Eicher, January - 1986
    Delivered as part of The Hunger Project Papers, No. 4
  • Correspondence provides publication history of Obsidian II: Black Literature in Review - 1986
    North Carolina State University
  • Box 76:
  • Your World Video, Inc. - 1986
  • Articles and cover letter from Arthur R. Flowers - 1986
  • Course catalog pages from Black colleges - 1986-1989
    2 folders, photocopies
  • Course study guide for the Afro-American Novel Project, University of Mississippi - 1987
    Project goal to create a record of novels published 1853 to 1986
  • Catalogs and journals - 1987-1989
  • The Black Teacher and the Drama: Report on an Institute in Repertory Theatre... - 1988
  • Paper by Estella Alexander, "Jiva Telling Rites: An Initiation," undated
    Possibly written in 1988
  • Announcement of publication of Joseph Seamon Cotter, Jr.: Complete Poems - 1989
    Edited by James Robert Payne
  • National Task Force report, "Making Connections: The Humanities, Culture and Community" - 1989
    Racine, Wisconsin
  • Newsletter of the Black Studies Department, Prism, Ohio State University - 1989
  • Vita of playwright Paul Carter Harrison - 1989
  • Announcement of State University of New York programs; book of poetry - 1989-1990
  • Bibliography of Afro-American publications, 1853-1990 - 1990
    Provided by Maryemma Graham
  • Collection of Afro-American Literature: Annual Acquisitions List, No. 12, April - 1990
    Suffolk University, Boston
  • Correspondence, abolition of Apartheid in South Africa, May - 1990
  • Three Essays: Black Studies in the United States, June - 1990
    Ford Foundation
  • University of Mississippi newsletter and faculty position, October - 1990
  • The BlackScholar, Vol. 21: No. 2, March-April-May - 1990
    Advisory editors include Shirley Chisholm, Michael S. Harper, John Blassingame and others
  • Box 77:
  • Writings by various authors, undated
    2 folders, photocopies
  • Papers by various authors and a compilation of book reviews, undated
  • Paper on the Federal Theatre, chapters 3, 4, undated
  • Papers by Donald A. Petesch, University of Pittsburgh, undated
  • Article on Dr. Martin Luther King, undated
  • Black poetry, undated
  • Book, God Bless the Child, by Kristin Hunter Lattany, undated
    Photocopy
  • Exhibits for Black History Month, undated
  • Papers on Phillis Wheatley (1753-1784), George Moses Horton (1797-1883) and others
    Includes course reading list
  • Paper by Stephen Henderson, "Black Poetry of the 1960s: The Continuing Challenge," undated
  • Samples of poetry and letter of introduction by Ceresta Smith, undated
  • Poetry by Peter Clark
    Photocopies
  • Box 78:
  • List of fellowships, undated
    Possibly from Ebony magazine
  • Outline, "Suggestions for Analysis of Literary Elements of Fiction and Drama," undated
  • Packet of resources on the Negro in America, from Fisk University, undated
  • Articles from American Heritage, undated
    Photocopies
  • Speech by Lawrence Neal, "Black Culture in the Second Renaissance...," undated
  • Paper by Ola Rotimi, "The Search for Historical Truth," chapter 3, undated
  • Bibliography, undated
  • Paper by Randolph Edmonds, "The Educational Theatre in Black Colleges," undated
  • Paper by George Houston Bass, "Tramping, Tramping: Black Theatre as an American Ark-ology in the New World Odyssey of a Re-created Self," undated
  • Paper by Doris E. Abramson, "Who said What: Critical Response to Early Broadway Productions of Plays by Black Playwrights," undated
  • Paper about Frederick Douglass by unidentified author, undated
  • Miscellaneous draft papers
  • Bibliographies of African American resources by four professors, undated
    Edward K. Weaver, Bettye I. Latimer, Roy Arthur Glasgow, Gossie Harold Hudson
  • Readings on Malcolm X, undated
  • Sub-Series: Clippings
  • Box 79:
  • Clippings - 1960-1969
  • Clippings - 1968-1969
  • Articles, clippings - 1968-1969
  • Clippings - 1969
  • Clippings - 1969
  • Clippings - 1969-1971
  • Clippings on Black theatre - 1975-1977
  • Clippings about Thomas Jefferson's children with his slave, Elizabeth Hemings, July - 1979
  • Clippings - 1970-1982
  • Clippings - 1971-1980
  • Clippings on African nations - 1982-1983
  • Clippings - 1983-1984
  • Clippings on American Literature - 1988
  • Clippings - 1989
  • Sub-Series: Oversized box
  • Box 80:
  • Six papers presented at the African Regional American Studies Conference, July - 1976
  • Article by Alice Walker on health, January - 1985
    Ms. magazine
  • Poster, "The Murals of East Los Angeles," La Luz Cinema Video Productions, Los Angeles, undated
  • Clippings - 1985, 1990
  • Page proofs for book of poetry sent by Sterling Stuckey - 1976
  • Literary wall calendar - 1984
  • Wall calendar naming the nation's 249 Black mayors - 1984
  • The Humanist, Vol. 6: No. 2-5, Vol. 7: No. 3 - 1983-1985

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.