Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Pete Knapp Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1938-1996
Creator: Knapp, Pete (1925-)
Extent: 20.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0333
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Director of the UI Institute of Agricultural Medicine, 1971-1988. Joined the Accident Prevention Section as an agricultural engineer in 1959. Knapp investigated farm equipment injuries and presented educational seminars. Includes correspondence, photographs, 16 mm films, presentations at international conferences, grants, and research proposals.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 5, 7, 16, 17, 28, 29

Access: These papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to Special Collections by Pete Knapp in July 2002.

Preferred Citation: Pete Knapp Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Lafayette Whitmore "Pete" Knapp, Jr., was born July 19, 1925, in Erin, New York, and graduated from Dryden High School. He received his B. S. degree (1951) and M. S. degree (1955) at Cornell Universty. Knapp married Jacqueline Frost on July 20, 1946, and the couple had two children, Deborah and Christopher.

Knapp was assistant professor and Extension Agricultural Engineer at the New York State College of Agriculture, Department of Agricultural Engineering at Cornell University from 1951 until February 1, 1959, when he joined the faculty at the State University of Iowa. His focus at Cornell was on farm safety education for adults, including tractor maintenance and proper operation of machinery. He also trained young people in 4-H Club.

At SUI, Knapp was assistant professor and safety engineer in Agricultural Medicine, the Department of Hygiene & Preventive Medicine, within the College of Medicine. He was promoted to associate professor in 1965. In August 1966, he was additionally named director of the new Injury Prevention Laboratory (IPL). He was named full professor in 1972 -- the same year the department was renamed Agricultural Medicine and Safety Engineering. The department name changed again in 1974 to Department of Preventive Medicine and Environmental Health.

In addition to serving as professor in PMEH, Knapp was named director of the UI Institute of Agricultural Medicine following the retirement of Franklin Top, Sr., on July 1, 1971. He served as principal investigator for the environmental health grant in 1962 and project director during years of safety research. Knapp also engineered modifications to tractors and designed safety standards for lawn mowers. The Accident Prevention Section released its first educational film in 1963, "A Mowing Lesson for Charlie," with the assistance of the UI Motion Picture Unit and the Public Health Service. Knapp appeared before the House of Representatives regarding "Accident Prevention Needs," on March 29, 1966. In 1976, Knapp worked with the International Labor Office in Geneva, Switzerland, as they compiled a guide on the safe use of pesticides.

Knapp retired from the University of Iowa in 1988. During his career, he was a member of the American Society of Agricultural Engineers (ASAE), where he served as chair of the Tractor Committee. He was a member of the New York Academy of Science. He served on the board of directors of the National Safety Council. He served as national president of Acacia National Fraternity, and was moderator and deacon at the Congregational Church. He was a member of the Masons and Rotary International, as well as the Boy Scouts Hawkeye Area Council, amoung others.

Historical Note

According to the University of Iowa "Facts at a Glance" webpage, the University of Iowa established the western hemisphere's first institute of agricultural medicine and environmental health in 1955, within the College of Medicine.

Knapp explained in the correspondence of this collection that the Institute was founded at the University of Iowa College of Medicine through a grant from the W. K. Kellogg Foundation of Battle Creek, Michigan, in September 1955, which provided for two years of staff salaries, and was jointly funded during the third year by the W. K. Kellogg Foundation with matching state funds. During planning in 1954, it was decided that a collaboration would be established with the extension office of Iowa State University, located in Ames, Iowa. Knapp further explained that the staff and their activities were housed in various locations, including the Medical Laboratories, the Water Plant, the Engineering Building, and the Medical Research Laboratories. Therefore, plans were made to consolidate.

According to a pamphlet titled Institute of Agricultural Medicine, the W. K, Kellogg Foundation awarded $223,491 in 1965 for construction of a building on the Oakdale Campus for the Accident Prevention Section of the Institute of Agricultural Medicine Research Facility. Other support came from the state of Iowa and grants from the U. S. Public Health Service. The building was opened in October 1968, and included an Injury Prevention Laboratory.

Two years later, a grant of $890,000 from the W. K. Kellogg Foundation allowed for construction of an addition of the original research facility to bring the Institute together under one roof, completed in October 1972. At that time, the Institute was comprised of three units: the Accident Prevention Section (opened in 1959), the Comparative Medicine Section, and the Toxicology Section. Knapp was named director in 1971, when Franklin H. Top, Sr., became director emeritus. Staff at the Institute reported to E. Peter Isacson, head of the Department of Preventive Medicine and Environmental Health, College of Medicine. The Institute received support from John Deere, as well as Outdoor Power Equipment Institute and other agricultural equipment manufacturers.

The Pete Knapp papers include correspondence, meeting minutes, reports, grant contracts, speeches, writings, and photographs, which document the establishment and activities of the Institute of Agricultural Medicine (IAM). Activities include farm product safety testing and farm accident investigations, as well as education.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL AND PERSONAL
Series 2: WORK AT CORNELL UNIVERSITY
Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 4: MEETING MINUTES
Series 5: REPORTS
Series 6: ADVISORY COMMITTEE
Series 7: PROJECTS
Series 8: CONFERENCE MATERIALS
Series 9: SPEECHES AND PRESENTATIONS
Series 10: REPRINTS
Series 11: PUBLICATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT
Series 12: CLIPPINGS
Series 13: SUBJECT FILES
Series 14: OFFICE CALENDARS
Series 15: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 16: FILMS
Series 17: BLUEPRINTS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL AND PERSONAL
  • Box 1:
  • Vita, n.d.; January; April - 1973, 1974
  • Paper reviewed by Knapp for his son, Christopher - 1973
  • Paper edited by Knapp for Susan K. Boyd - 1974
  • Series 2: WORK AT CORNELL UNIVERSITY
  • Box 1:
  • New York hospital safety. Notes and newsletters - 1938-1948
  • Papers written at Cornell University, New York - 1955-1958
  • New York State 4-H Clubs, leaders guides, one n.d. - 1957
  • Knapp’s activities at Cornell University - 1952-1959
    Includes Knapp’s paper, “Analysis of Accidents for Development of Safety Programs,” presented at the North Atlantic Section of ASAE, University of Delaware, August 28, 1957. Includes his two newsletters, Extension News, and Agricultural Engineering: News, Ideas, Information, as well as additional papers he presented and the related correspondence.
  • Paper, “Accident Epidemiology and the Design of the Residential Environment,” by Ross McFarland
  • New York State College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Cornell University Alumni Association on retirement of Stan Warren - 1972
  • Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1961-1966
  • Correspondence, A-F - 1962
  • Correspondence, G-M - 1962
  • Correspondence, N-Z - 1962
  • Correspondence, A-H - 1963-1964
    2 folders
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence, I-K - 1963-1964
  • Correspondence, L-Z - 1963-1964
    2 folders
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence - 1965
    12 folders
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence A-Z - 1969-1986
    25 folders
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence - 1970
    1 binder
  • Correspondence, clippings - 1970-1974
    Includes Knapp to U. S. Secretary of Agriculture, Earl Butz, January 13, 1972
  • Correspondence with Willard L. Boyd regarding search for Pharmacy dean - 1971
  • Correspondence - 1975
  • Correspondence - 1976
  • Correspondence - 1977
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence of William H. McConnell, Jr.
    7 alphabetical folders
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence of William H. McConnell, Jr.
    3 alphabetical folders
  • Dept. History, Agricultural Medicine hourly employees, February - 1966
  • Dept. History, Department visitors - 1967
  • Dept. History, NBC Television tapes, program no. 19, “Rural Safety and You - 1967
  • Dept. History, NBC Television presentation for Farm Safety Week, July 17-18 - 1968
  • Dept. History, Injury Control Section - 1967
  • Dept. History, Contract to build the Accident Prevention Laboratory (photocopy), February 12 - 1971
  • Dept. History, Departmental organization - 1971
  • Dept. History, Departmental responsibilities for Larry R. Piercy - 1973
  • Dept. History, Correspondence regarding Franklin H. Top, Sr. - 1971
  • Dept. History, Correspondence on history of the Institute of Agricultural Medicine - 1970-1974
    1 binder
  • Series 4: MEETING MINUTES
  • Box 9:
  • IAM staff meeting agenda - 1959-1968
  • IAM staff meeting minutes - 1959-1963
  • IAM staff meeting minutes - 1964-1968
  • IAM staff meeting minutes - 1971-1973
  • Department of Preventive Medicine and Environmental Health, staff meeting minutes and committee reports - 1966-1971
  • Department of Preventive Medicine and Environmental Health, staff meeting minutes and committee reports - 1971-1973
  • Preventive Medicine staff meeting minutes - 1974-1979
  • Accident Prevention Laboratory staff meeting minutes - 1974-1975
  • Environmental Health Unit meeting minutes - 1974-1979
  • Series 5: REPORTS
  • Box 10:
  • Expense summaries - 1958-1959
  • Information Dissemination - 1960
  • Activity Report of Safety Section, June 30 - 1960
  • Report of First Year of Operation - 1960
  • Report of Third Year of Operation - 1962
  • Iowa Dept. of Agriculture annual farm census, six-county area - 1963
  • Iowa State Agricultural Extension Service accident statistics - 1955-1965
  • Extension programs report, August - 1966
  • UI President’s Report, September 1 - 1966
  • Final grant report to Deere Foundation - 1966
    1 binder
  • Deere and Company Report, August - 1969
    1 binder
  • National Transportation Safety Board, Railroad accident report - 1969
  • Technical report by Society of Automotive Engineers, December - 1969
  • Fourth Year of Operation, to W. K. Kellogg Foundation, November 13 - 1970
  • Special Report for FDA contract, “Power Operated Overhead Garage Doors,” August 16 - 1971
  • Special Report for FDA contract, “Rake Blade Attachments for Rotary Power Lawn Mowers,” October 15 - 1971
  • Special Report for FDA contract, “Snowmobile Accident Cases in Iowa,” May 15 - 1972
  • Special Report for FDA contract, “Public Playground Equipment,” October 15 - 1973
  • National Transportation Safety Board, Anhydrous ammonia pipeline accident report - 1973
  • Box 11:
  • State-of-the-Art Report on Occupational Safety and Health in Agriculture. National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) - 1974
  • Agricultural Medicine Review Report, May 22 - 1974
  • National Research Council, Washington, D. C., July 30 - 1975
  • National Academy of Sciences, National Research Council. Correspondence - 1975-1976
  • National Academy of Sciences, National Research Council report - 1976-1977
  • National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) report, “Occupational Safety and Health in Agriculture.” Includes a list of toxic substances such as fertilizers, pesticides, and growth hormones and medications for animals. - 1976
    1 binder
  • Department of Transportation, U. S. Coast Guard accident reports - 1977
  • Box 12:
  • IAM monthly reports - 1959-1964
  • IAM monthly reports - 1965-1967
  • IAM monthly reports, January-December - 1968
    March report not included
  • IAM monthly reports - 1970-1973
  • Advisory Committee Reports - 1959-1969
    4 folders
  • Box 13:
  • Report, “A Report of Injury Control Programs in Regard to Farm Tractor Operation, With a Proposal for an Intensive Farm Tractor Injury Control Program in a Specified Area of Iowa,” sent to Knapp from S. A. Boudreaux, Regional Program Director, Injury Control, PHS, Kansas City, Missouri, September 6 - 1968
  • Special Report, contract FDA 71-58, “Power Operated Overhead Garage Doors,” August 16 - 1971
  • Special Report, contract FDA 71-58, “Rake Blade Attachments for Rotary Power Lawn Mowers,” October 15 - 1971
  • Special Report, contract FDA 71-58, “Snowmobile Accident Cases in Iowa,” May 15 - 1972
  • Progress report, FDA 72-58, July - 1972
  • Report, FDA 72-58, October-July - 1971-1972
  • Product Investigation Report, Contract FDA 73-6, “Public Playground Equipment,” October 15 - 1973
  • Paper, “Power Mower Injuries,” by Knapp, McConnell, Top, n.d.
  • Report for 29th Congress on Occupational Health, “Health and Safety Problems of Agricultural Machinery,” September 15-16 - 1969
    2 copies
  • Report, “Amputation Injuries to Rural Residents” - 1968
  • Report, “Corn Picker Accidents,” July 5 - 1960
    Includes photographs
  • Paper, “Looking at Human Behavior Through Time-Lapse Photography for Clues to Agricultural Accidents Associated with the Man-Machine Interface,” September - 1969
    Presented at 4th International Congress of Rural Medicine in Japan
  • Report, Interdisciplinary Investigation of Consumer Product Related Injuries, Contract CPSC-C-74-160, July 18 - 1975
  • Report on Thrown Objects from rotary power lawn mowers, Contract CPSC-C-76-0026, February 27 - 1976
  • Report, “Simplification Potential of Mower Safety Tests and Test Procedures,” Contract CPSC-C-76-0026, April 30 - 1976
  • Series 6: ADVISORY COMMITTEE
  • Box 14:
  • Accident Prevention Advisory Committee meeting No. 13, Arlington, Virginia, July 6-7 - 1966
  • Agenda for Accident Prevention Advisory Committee meeting No. 14, Arlington, Virginia, March 8-9 - 1967
  • Accident Prevention Advisory Committee meeting No. 15, Cincinnati, Ohio, December 4-5 - 1967
  • Public Health Service Advisory Committee meeting No. 16, Cincinnati, Ohio, May 21-22 - 1968
  • External Advisory Committee for Institute of Agricultural Medicine (IAM) - 1970-1971
    2 folders
  • Institute of Agricultural Medicine Advisory Committee - 1972
  • IAM Advisory Committee, October - 1973
    1 binder
  • Series 7: PROJECTS
  • Box 15:
  • Outdoor Power Equipment Institute (OPEI) meeting - 1967
  • OPEI meetings, includes photographs - 1968, 1971
  • OPEI research, includes photographs and papers - 1965-1967
  • OPEI research report, January 3 - 1968
    Includes photographs
  • OPEI research interim report, December 30 - 1968
  • OPEI research report appendices B, C, D, December - 1969
  • OPEI research report, includes photographs, March 1 - 1970
  • OPEI research report, 1970 activities, April 14 - 1971
  • OPEI research report, 1971-1972 activities, April 5 - 1972
  • OPEI correspondence, October-November - 1964
  • OPEI Safety Committee correspondence - 1966-1967
  • OPEI correspondence - 1967-1974
  • OPEI correspondence - 1968-1970
  • OPEI, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, March 17 - 1968
  • OPEI research program, Colorado Springs, June 25-26 - 1968
  • OPEI annual safety seminar, September 16-17 - 1970
  • OPEI Organizational Manual, September - 1974
  • OPEI publications - 1966-1974
  • OPEI “Powerman” comic book, Spring - 1967
  • Box 16:
  • Lightfoot tractor redesign project - 1957-1962
  • U. S. Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare grant request, “Epidemiology of PTO Accidents” - 1961
    3 folders; includes photographs
  • Memo on status of Rural Family Accident Study project, September-January - 1962-1964
  • Future plans for development - 1966
  • Proposal for Injury Control Program testing laboratory, March - 1968
  • Proposal for Injury Control Program (Honer), March-May - 1968
  • Box 17:
  • International Labor Office (ILO) correspondence regarding visit by Knapp, March - 1966
  • W. K. Kellogg Foundation proposal correspondence, September 2 - 1971
  • W. K. Kellogg Foundation received “Proposal for Waste Utilization Section,” October 13 - 1971
  • W. K. Kellogg Foundation received “Rural Health Program,” Teaching/Research proposal, December 1 - 1971
  • National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) proposal, February 17 - 1972
  • Deere Foundation received proposal, March-April? - 1972
  • NIOSH notes, March 21 - 1973
  • NIOSH, agricultural law - 1974
  • Center for World Order Studies, law curriculum development - 1974
  • Kellogg Foundation grant, project costs for addition on Oakdale campus, June 30 - 1973
  • International Labor Office, Geneva, Switzerland, guide to safe use of pesticides reviewed by Knapp - 1976
    6 folders
  • World Health Organization working draft, “Occupational Health in Agriculture,” n.d.
  • Series 8: CONFERENCE MATERIALS
  • Box 18:
  • Conferences - ASAE - 1957
  • Conferences - Women’s Home Safety; Farm Safety Institute; ASAE - 1959
  • Conferences - American Society for Surgery of the Hand; ASAE; U. S. President’s Occupational Safety Conference - 1960
  • Conferences - Farm Safety Institute; ASAE - 1961
  • Conferences - Farm Safety Institute; U. S. President’s Occupational Safety Conference; ASAE; Fifth International Conference on Health Education; County Extension Director’s Conference - 1962
  • Conferences - ASAE; ASEE; Health Education Workshop; Farm Safety Institute; National Rural Safety Conference; Mid-States APHA meeting; Slow Moving Vehicles Seminar - 1963
  • Conferences - Third Annual Architectural Aluminum Manufacturers Association; State Dept. of Health workshop; American Public Health Association; International Congress in Germany on Agricultural Medicine - 1964
  • Seminar - Rotary Mowers Manufacturers, UI Law Commons, November 5 - 1964
  • Conferences - Trauma in Surgery Conference; American Public Health Association annual meeting; Accident Prevention Conference; School Health Education Workshop; Public Health Service regional meeting; ASAE; National Institute for Farm Safety Workshop; Accident Prevention Conference; Postgraduate conference on Trauma of the Head and Neck; National Conference on Rural Health; Farm Accident Prevention Program - 1965
  • Conferences - ASAE; American Public Health Association program on injury prevention; Labor/Welfare Subcommittee of the House Appropriations Committee; Nursing Conference and list of TV taped lectures; Automobile Safety Conference; OPEI meeting, Washington, D. C. - 1966
  • Box 19:
  • Invitational Safety Seminar, “Epidemiological Studies of Farm Tractor-Motor Vehicle Accidents,” by L. W. Knapp, Jr., Agricultural Safety Engineer, Bulletin No. 7, October 17-18 - 1962
  • ASAE Winter Meeting, Chicago, December 7-10 - 1965
  • ASAE 59th annual meeting, Amherst, Massachusetts, June 26-29 - 1966
  • Conferences - 1966
  • Conference on Community Development for Parks and outdoor Recreation, May 12-13 - 1967
  • Conferences - 1967
    3 folders
  • Conference on Community Development for Parks and Outdoor Recreation, May 12-13 - 1967
  • ASAE Committee correspondence on meeting in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada, June 28 - 1967
  • ASAE Safety Workshops, Dubuque, Iowa, September 28 - 1967
  • ASAE Farm Conference, Detroit, October 22-23 - 1967
  • Farm Conference, FIEI, Chicago, November 16-17 - 1967
  • ASAE Winter Meeting, Detroit, Michigan, December 12-15 - 1967
  • National Cattlemen’s Association Convention, Oklahoma City - 1968
  • U. S. Bureau of Labor Standards, Washington, D. C. - 1968
  • Course taught by Knapp, “Principles of Accidental Injury Control,” Cincinnati, Ohio, September 9-13 - 1968
  • Society of Automotive Engineers, Detroit, September 24-25 - 1968
  • ASAE Winter Meeting, St. Joseph, Michigan, December 10-13 - 1968
  • Conferences - 1968
  • Program, American Medical Association’s 29th Congress on Occupational Health, St. Louis, Missouri, September 15-16 - 1969
  • International Association of Agricultural Medicine, Varna, Bulgaria, May 9-15 - 1972
  • Box 20:
  • Conference abstracts - 1972-1974
  • Conference. Proceedings: Second Annual Governor’s Safety Conference, Agricultural Section. November 26 - 1973
  • “Scientific Session of the Iowa Medical Society,” April 18-20 - 1974
  • Conference on Agricultural Health and Safety. Proceedings of Symposium. Iowa City, Iowa. September 4-5 - 1974
  • The Meat Industry Symposium, Iowa City, February 19 - 1975
  • National Conference on Rural Health, Roanoke, Virginia, March 20-21 - 1975
  • Nebraska Feeder Pig Expo, February 11-12 - 1981
  • Rotary Club presentation, March 11 - 1981
  • Grass-fed Animals and Food Protein, March 17 - 1981
  • Lectures to EMT staff at Kirkwood in Mt. Vernon, April 4 - 1981
  • Lower Back Dysfunction, April 24 - 1981
  • “Stress and the Farmer,” Oakdale Hospital, April 28 - 1981
  • International Congress of Rural Medicine, Avignon, France. September 6-19, and International Course on Toxicology of Pesticides, Sofia, Bulgaria, August - 1981
  • Series 9: SPEECHES AND PRESENTATIONS
  • Box 21:
  • Paper presented by Knapp at seminar for Environmental Health and Safety of Tractor Operators, East Lansing, Michigan, July 21 - 1959
  • Congressional Record: Proceedings and Debates of the 89th Congress, First Session, Vol. III: No. 134, July 23 - 1965
    Includes Mr. Magnuson’s three-page presentation on “Power Lawnmower Safety”
  • Knapp’s statement before the House of Representatives regarding “Accident Prevention Needs,” March 29 - 1966
  • Course outline for graduate program, Accident Prevention - 1966
  • Course, Preventive Medicine and Environmental Health graduate students - 1976-1978
  • Water Works Management Short Course, Iowa City, April 18-19 - 1967
  • Address by Willard L. Boyd to Iowa City Joint Service Clubs regarding legislative askings, January 19 - 1971
  • “Safety Seminar, Toro Mfg. Corp.,” September 21 - 1970
  • Speech, “Know the Facts,” to Iowa Farm Bureau Women’s Organization, Des Moines, Iowa, June 14 - 1971
  • Presented, “The Product Safety Engineer,” to American Society of Agricultural Engineers, November 18 - 1971
  • Presented to Luncheon Club on “Consumer Product Safety,” February 9 - 1972
  • Paper delivered at conference in Bulgaria, “Anhydrous Ammonia Injuries in Agricultural Operations in the United States,” May - 1972
  • Presentation to the Congregational Church, United Church of Christ, “Feeding the World,” August 6 - 1972
  • Presentation, “Problems of Health and Safety in a Rural Environment” - 1972
  • Paper delivered at conference in Ft. Collins, Colorado, “Anhydrous Ammonia Accidents” - 1972
  • Speech to Rotary, “Feeding the World,” November 22 - 1972
  • Speech to Sigma Xi, “Health and Safety Problems of Rural America,” February 16 - 1973
  • “Agriculture in the United States – Whom Should We Be Protecting?” - 1973
  • Speech from Iowa Medical Scientific program, April 17 - 1974
  • Presentation on WMT-TV Debate Show, March 10 - 1974
  • ASAE paper, “Designing the Rotary Power Lawn Mower for Safety,” by Knapp, December 7-10 - 1965
  • ASAE paper, “Injury Associated With the Use of Riding Rotary Power Lawn Mowing Equipment,” by McConnell, December 12-15 - 1967
  • ASAE paper, “Looking at Human Behavior for Clues to Man-Made Problems,” December 9-12 - 1969
  • ASAE paper presented by Knapp, “Small Tractor Operator Position and Safety Behavior,” December 9-12 - 1969
  • ASAE paper, “Anhydrous Ammonia Mishaps in Agriculture,” July 7-10 - 1970
  • ASAE paper presented by McConnell, “Analysis of 102 Riding Lawn Mower Injury Cases,” December 8-11 - 1970
  • ASAE paper, “Clothing Burn Injuries of Rural Residents,” by Piercy, December 7-10 - 1971
  • ASAE paper, “Agricultural Engineer’s Role in Health Safety,” October 16 - 1972
  • ASAE paper, “The Relationship of Operator Behavior and Machine Design,” by Knapp, February 23 - 1974
  • ASAE paper, “The Role of a University in Machinery Safety Testing,” by McConnell, September 9-12 - 1974
  • Series 10: REPRINTS
  • Box 22:
  • Publication reprints - 1961-1970
  • Reprints, “Ammonia and Eye Injuries in Agriculture,” and “Ammonia Injuries in Agriculture" - 1971
  • Series 11: PUBLICATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT
  • Box 22:
  • Pamphlet, Institute of Agricultural Medicine, State University of Iowa, College of Medicine, Department of Hygiene and Preventive Medicine - 1959
  • Manual of Procedure of the College of Medicine, January - 1968
  • Accident Prevention Laboratory brochures, October - 1968
  • Newsletter of the Department of Preventive Medicine and Environmental Health, March - 1974
  • Booklet, The University of Iowa Institute of Agricultural Medicine
  • Article, “New Quarters Completed for Agricultural Medicine,” Iowa Alumni Review, October-November - 1972
  • Series 12: CLIPPINGS
  • Box 22:
  • Clippings on anhydrous ammonia accidents - 1969
  • Clippings and news releases - 1971-1974
  • Article, “New Quarters Completed for Agricultural Medicine,” Iowa Alumni Review, pages 6-9, October-November - 1972
  • Clippings on farm noise - 1979, 1981
  • Humorous clippings and cartoons
  • Series 13: SUBJECT FILES
  • Box 23:
  • Papers by other authors on noise and vibration, November - 1968
  • Paper by William J. Fletcher on auger accidents, September - 1969
  • Papers by other authors on anhydrous ammonia - 1974, 1977
  • American Journal of Public Health Vol. 64: No. 1, January - 1974
    Includes article by Jose Angel Fuentes, “The Need for Effective and Comprehensive Planning for Migrant Workers”
  • Article on agriculture in China - 1975
  • Articles and clippings on women in agriculture - 1979
  • Pamphlet from University of Nebraska-Lincoln on noise - 1973
  • Publications on anhydrous ammonia safety standards - 1957-1976
  • Publications on plastics - 1959-1963
  • Sprinkler Irrigation Handbook - 1952
  • Development of the Agricultural Tractor in the United States - 1956
  • Series 14: OFFICE CALENDARS
  • Box 24:
  • Appointment calendars - 1968-1996
    6 folders
  • Box 25:
  • Office diaries - 1959-1969
    8 pieces
  • Box 26:
  • Office diaries - 1970-1978
    7 pieces
  • Box 27:
  • Office diaries - 1974-1979, 1981-1983
    8 pieces, 1976 missing
  • Series 15: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 28:
  • Laboratory research - 1958
  • Description of three hay baler accidents, with photographs - 1967
  • Laboratory research, including bicycle test - 1972-1974
  • Thrown objects test
  • Photographs - 1968
    2 items
  • Fatal tractor accident - 1963
  • Photographs for ASAE paper, “Design RPLM for Safety”
  • RPLM Bull Pictures - 1965
  • Lawn mower and snow mobile accidents - 1970
  • Box 29:
  • New Zealand sheep and cattle farm - 1961
  • Abell Traffic Camera - 1961, 1968
  • Abell Traffic Camera - 1962
    2 folders
  • Abell Traffic Camera; Farm Quarterly article - 1968, 1971
  • Tractor operator machine sequence - 1969
  • Kellogg Foundation proposal photographs - 1969
  • OPEI meeting, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, March 5-8 - 1969
  • Power mower injuries - 1969
  • International Labor Office report photographs - 1969
  • ASAE paper and miscellaneous anhydrous ammonia photographs - 1970
  • Bulletin #11 - 1968
  • Tractor accidents - 1968, 1970
  • OPEI Conference, September - 1968
  • OPEI Conference, Florida, Spring - 1968
  • Dedication ceremony of Accident Prevention Section on Oakdale Campus. October 4 - 1968
  • Accident Prevention Section building and staff - 1968
  • Thrown object incident - 1967
  • Photographs considered for ASAE paper on RiRPLM - 1967
  • ASAE paper - 1967
  • Photographs not used for OPEI report - 1967
  • OPEI Conference - 1967
  • Photographs - 1967-1968
  • Park and Recreation Conference, May - 1967
  • Power Take Off - 1966
  • OPEI meeting - 1966
  • Photographs by Bill Taylor of USPHS, OPEI Conference, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida - 1966
  • Harry Streeter research photographs - 1966
  • RPLM - 1964-1966
  • Photographs for annual report of Dr. Matthew R. Kinde, director Division of Medicine and Public Health, W. K. Kellogg Foundation, including construction photos, August - 1966
  • Photographs, n.d.
  • AMRF building during construction - 1971-1972
  • Dedication of AMRF, October 6 - 1972
  • Series 16: FILMS
  • Box 30:
  • Film canister, “Band Performance at Purdue Game 10-22-60.” Contains 16 mm film, “Public Playground Equipment,” one reel; second reel of negative film
  • Film canister, “Epidemiology of PTO Accidents.” Contains 16 mm film, “Evaluation of Selected Instruments Causing Injuries”; second smaller reel is edited work print
  • Film canister, “Pilot Study of Clothing Ignition, B & W negative original and color original, May 1970.” Contains four reels, including “Snow Blowers, 2-10-69,” and “Pilot Study of Clothing Ignition, Part I”
  • Film canister, “PTO Lab”
  • Series 17: BLUEPRINTS
  • Box 31:
  • Oversize Box
  • Agricultural Medical Research Facilities, August-September - 1970
    2 copies
  • Accident Prevention Lab, November - 1965
    2 rolled copies

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers