Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ralph H. Ojemann Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1949-1966
Creator: Ojemann, Ralph H. (1949-1966)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0310
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor in the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station who published on behavior modification in children. Speeches, articles, teaching materials.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives after 1980.

Preferred Citation: Ralph H. Ojemann Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

"Ralph Henry Ojemann was born August 30, 1901, in Peoria, Illinois. He received his B. S. degree in 1923 and M. S. in 1924 at the University of Illinois. He received his Ph.D. at the University of Chicago in 1929.

After earning his Ph.D., he served briefly as assistant professor at the University of Kansas. Ojemann first served at the State University of Iowa as a research associate in the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station in 1929. He was named assistant professor in 1931, associate professor in 1939, and full professor in 1951. His research focused on behavior modification in children. In conducting research at the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station, Ojemann collaborated at times with such colleagues as Bird Baldwin, George Stoddard, and Amy Daniels. Ojemann retired from the University of Iowa in June 1967 and was named director of Experimental Psychology in the Greater Cleveland Educational Research Council.

Ojemann married Freda Elizabeth Metzger in August 1925 and they had three children, Robert, George, and Kathryn. Ralph H. Ojemann died in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1975. The Ralph H. and Freda E. Ojemann Visiting Professorship was established in the University of Iowa College of Medicine in 1988.

[D. Anderson; 06/2010].

The papers of Ralph H. Ojemann include his articles and speeches in adolescent development while teaching at the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station.
Folder, "Ojemann, Ralph H.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Records of the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station (RG23.0003.001)

Papers of Baldwin, Bird T. (RG99.0306)

Papers of Daniels, Amy L. (RG99.0308)

Papers of Stoddard, George (RG99.0337)

Iowa Child Welfare Research Station digital photographs from the Frederick W. Kent collection (RG30.0001.001), located on the Iowa Digital Library.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty and Staff Organizations