Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Pauline Cook Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1949-1954
Creator: Cook, Pauline (1913-1965)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0304
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Foreign language and reference librarian at the University of Iowa Libraries, 1937-1952. Unpublished manuscripts.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970.

Preferred Citation: Pauline Cook Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Pauline Cook was born in 1913. She received her B.A. in 1934 and her B.S. in 1935 from the University of Minnesota. Ms. Cook worked in the University of Iowa Libraries for 15 years. She was hired as an assistant in the Reference Department in 1937 and was promoted to librarian of the Foreign Language Library in 1940, the same year she received her master's degree in English. Pauline Cook married during the 1940s and thereafter wrote under the name Pauline Cook Hall. She received her Ph.D. in linguistics in June 1949. She was promoted in 1951 to head of the Reference Department. Pauline Cook Hall left Iowa City for Philadelphia in 1952 and died November 22, 1965, in Philadelphia. She was buried in Albia, Iowa.

The Pauline Cook Papers include her Ph.D. dissertation and unpublished manuscripts. Her dissertation, A Bibliography of Spanish Linguistics: Articles in Serial Publications, was published by the Linguistic Society of America in 1957.
Folder, "Cook, Pauline," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Records of the University Libraries(RG21.0001.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Teaching certificate for Denver, Colorado, September - 1903
  • Letter of appointment to Springfield, Massachusetts, public schools, September - 1909
  • Correspondence from H. C. Sherman of Columbia University Chemistry Department - 1940
  • Borden Award photographs - 1937, 1938
  • Photographs - 1938, 1959

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers