Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Wilber J. Teeters Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1941-1946
Creator: Teeters, Wilber J. (1866-1959)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0293
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor and dean of pharmacy. Iowa state toxicologist. Correspondence regarding Mr. Teeters' eightieth birthday.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970. Finding aid created December 2007.

Preferred Citation: Wilber J. Teeters Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Wilber John Teeters was born October 10, 1866, in Alliance, Ohio. He earned his B.S. at Mount Union College, Alliance, in 1893 and his M.A. there in 1897. He took his Ph.G. (Pharmacy Graduate) degree from the University of Michigan in 1895.

Dr. Teeters began his 64-year career at the State University of Iowa in September 1895 as a demonstrator of chemistry in the Department of Medicine. In 1901 he was promoted to associate professor of pharmacy and was made full professor in 1903. He served as the first head of the Chemistry Department and the second dean of the College of Pharmacy, the latter from 1904 until 1937. In 1937 he resigned as dean and continued to teach part time for the next 22 years. Teeters was a founding member of the faculty organization, the Triangle Club.

During his career in pharmacy, Dr. Teeters served as the Iowa state toxicologist for decades. He served as a member on the Board in Control of Athletics from 1905 to 1913. Teeters also served as a member of the Iowa City City Council, 1941-1943 and 1947-1949. He was mayor of Iowa City 1943-1947. He had two sons, Otis and Wilber. Mrs. Teeters died in 1903. Wilber J. Teeters died December 14, 1959.

The Wilber J. Teeters papers include one bound collection of correspondence titled Birthday Letters and Letters of Appreciation. Eightieth Birthday of Dean Wilber J. Teeters.
Folder, "Teeters, Wilber J.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Folder, "Andrews, Launcelot W." Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Folder, "Rockwood, Elbert," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Papers of Edward Bartow (RG99.0038)

Records of the Chemistry Dept. (RG06.0009.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Birthday Letters and Letters of Appreciation. Eightieth Birthday of Dean Wilber J. Teeters.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Teeters, Wilber J. (Wilber John), 1866-1959

Corporate Names:
State University of Iowa. College of Medicine

Occupations:
Toxicologists

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Correspondence

Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers