Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Teresa E. Christy Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1961-1981
Creator: Christy, Teresa E. (1927-1982)
Extent: 8.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0292
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Nursing historian and educator. Correspondence, articles, speeches.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Theses papers were donated to University Archives by Mary Patricia Donahue in August 1994. Guide posted to the Internet May 2009.

Preferred Citation: Theresa E. Christy Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Teresa Elisabeth Christy was born March 31,1927, in Brooklyn, New York. When she was a child her family moved to Cambria Heights, New York, where she graduated from Andrew Jackson High School. At age 13, Christy received the American Legion medal for accomplishments in history studies. She received her B.S. degree in nursing in 1949 from the Manhattanville College of the Sacred Heart in Purchase, New York. From 1947 to 1950, Christy worked as a staff nurse in an operating room and in a delivery room at two New York hospitals. She was a nursing instructor at St. Joseph School of Nursing in Joliet, Illinois, from 1950 to 1960. She received her M.S. degree in 1957 from DePaul University in Chicago, Illinois.

Dr. Christy returned to New York in 1960 and served as assistant professor in the Department of Nursing at Molloy College. She was named head of that department in 1963. In 1965 she was the recipient of the Clara Hardin Fellowship for doctoral study in nursing, a national competition. In 1966, Christy served as research assistant to Dr. Mildred L. Montag at Columbia University Teachers College, where she compiled reports on the evaluation of the Community College nursing programs that Montag established just eight years earlier. Christy received her Ed. D. degree in 1968 from Columbia University, with her dissertation, "A History of the Division of Nursing Education of Teachers College, Columbia University, 1899-1947," which was published in 1969 as Cornerstone for Nursing Education. She served on the faculty at Columbia College from 1968 to 1970. During that time Christy was under contract with the U.S. Public Health Service (USPHS) to write a history of nursing. This was accomplished through interviews of nursing leaders and through review of Bureau of Health files and other research. The result was her Nursing Leaders series, published in Nursing Outlook.

In 1970, Christy was named associate professor of nursing and director of the graduate program in Medical-Surgical Nursing at Adelphi University in Garden City, New York. In her May 1974 letter of resignation to Adelphi University administrators, she explained that by joining the faculty of the University of Iowa College of Nursing, "I can work solely in my area of major interest -- research, writing and teaching in the History of Nursing." At the University of Iowa, Christy was promoted from associate professor to full professor in 1975.

Christy was chair of the Committee on the Status of Women Faculty at Adelphi University in the early 1970s. During this period she also wrote about the Equal Rights Amendment and presented on the Women's Liberation Movement. At Teachers College, Columbia University, Christy served on a committee to preserve the nursing archives.

Christy was considered an expert on the history of nursing. She was the founder of the International History of Nursing Society, later named the American Association for the History of Nursing. She delivered 139 lectures nationwide and published more than twenty papers in nursing journals. She was a member of Pi Lambda Theta, Kappa Delta Pi, Sigma Theta Tau, the American Public Health Association, American Nurses Association, and National League for Nursing. In 1976 she received the Centennial Scholar Award from Johns Hopkins University. In 1979 she was named a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing.

Teresa E. Christy died April 3, 1982. The American Association for the History of Nursing established an annual fellowship in her honor. The University of Iowa Foundation established the Teresa E. Christy Nursing History Research Fund, used to maintain The History of Nursing Microfiche Edition at Teachers College, Columbia University, and to support doctoral students conducting historical research in nursing.

The Teresa E. Christy papers document her professional career as professor of nursing history. These papers include correspondence, off-prints, book reviews, speeches, and drafts of her papers from college courses as well as for journal publication.
Folder, "Christy, Teresa E.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Records of the College of Nursing (RG16.0001.001)

Nursing resources in A Bibliography of the History of the University of Iowa.

Iowa Women's Archives Collections Related to Nurses and Nursing Education

Papers of Mary Patricia Donahue, Iowa Women's Archives

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: WRITINGS
Series 3: COMMITTEES
Series 4: SPEECHES
Series 5: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 6: EPHEMERA

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Sub-Series: Education and degrees
  • Box 1:
  • Education - 1971-1972
  • Honorary degree from McKendree College, Lebanon, Illinois, May - 1978
  • Professional Seminar: Issues in Nursing University of Iowa seminar, August - 1978
  • Sub-Series: Employment
  • Box 1:
  • Columbia University - 1966-1969
    2 folders; includes progress report for Dr. Montag regarding nursing programs in community colleges
  • Adelphi University - 1974
  • University of Iowa - 1974-1981
  • Seminar for University of Illinois, November - 1976
  • Research conducted for the University of Minnesota - 1977-1978
  • Application for Director of Programs in Nursing History at Boston University School of Nursing, July - 1979
  • Sub-Series: Awards
  • Box 1:
  • American Legion medal for accomplishments in history - 1940
  • Fellowship from American Journal of Nursing Company for Christy's doctoral studies - 1965
  • Nursing Education Alumni Association of Teachers College Distinguished Achievement Award in Nursing Research - 1976
  • Sigma Theta Tau Elizabeth Williams Miller Award for Research - 1977
  • DePaul University Distinguished Alumni Award - 1978
  • Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing  - 1978
    2 folders
  • ANA nomination for Distinguished Contribution to Nursing Science - 1980
  • Teresa E Christy Nursing History Research Fund,  December - 1981
  • Series 2: WRITINGS
  • Sub-Series: Class papers by Christy
  • Box 1:
  • Fundamentals of Nursing lecture notes - 1959
  • Maleness and Femaleness Exemplified in the Division of Labor - 1965
  • A History of Nursing in the United States Public Health Service, 1932-1964
    Written while Christy was director of Adelphi University graduate program, between 1970 and 1974
  • Dissertation, Columbia University - 1966-1968
    5 folders and 2 bound notebooks
  • Sub-Series: Nursing leaders series in Nursing Outlook
  • Box 2:
  • Portrait of a Leader: M Adelaide Nutting, January - 1969
    5 folders
  • Portrait of a Leader: Isabel Hampton Robb, March - 1969
    4 folders
  • Portrait of a Leader: Lavinia Lloyd Dock, June - 1969
    4 folders
  • Portrait of a Leader: Isabel Maitland Stewart, October - 1969
    3 folders
  • Portrait of a Leader: Lillian D Wald, January - 1970
    Draft, 2 folders
  • Portrait of a Leader: Lillian D Wald, March - 1970
  • Portrait of a Leader: Annie Warburton Goodrich, August - 1970
    3 folders
  • Portrait of a Leader: Sophia F Palmer, December - 1975
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: Transcripts of oral history interviews, conducted under contract with US Public Health Service, Division of Nursing
  • Box 2:
  • Isabel M. Steward
  • Pearl McIver  - 1968
    2 folders
  • Lucile Petri Leone  - 1969
  • Margaret Arnstein  - 1969
  • R. Louise Metcalfe McManus - 1967
  • Interviews
  • Christy's contract with US Public Health Service, Division of Nursing  5 folders
  • Sub-Series: Articles
  • Box 2:
  • "Nursing Education and the Johns Hopkins: the Ideas of M. Adelaide Nutting", Johns Hopkins Hospital School of Nursing, Alumnae Association Anniversary, November 4 - 1967
  • "A Process of Instruction", Nursing Forum, December - 1967
  • "Nursing Education and the Johns Hopkins: The Ideas of M Adelaide Nutting", Alumnae Magazine, December - 1967
  • "The Equal Rights Amendment and Nurses: An Historical Review", The American Journal of Nursing, submitted October 27 - 1970
    2 folders
  • "A History of Nursing in the United States Public Health Service, 1932-1964"
    Chapter one, written between 1970 and 1974, while Christy was teaching at Adelphi University
  • "Fifty Years of ANA: an Historical Essay", submitted to American Journal of Nursing, June - 1971
  • "An Appraisal of the Report of the National Commission for the Study of Nursing and Nursing Education", submitted to The American Journal of Nursing, June - 1971
  • Edited copy of article, American Journal of Nursing, August - 1971
  • "A Brief Introduction to the Methodology of Historical Research", submitted to Nursing Research, July - 1974
  • "A Brief Introduction to the Methodology of Historical Research", submitted to Nursing Research, October - 1974
  • "Historical Perspectives on Accountability", Submitted to professor Janet A Williamson, Pennsylvania State University, January - 1975
  • "The Fateful Decade, 1890-1900", submitted to The American Journal of Nursing, April 7 - 1975
  • "The Methodology of Historical Research: A Brief Introduction American Journal of Nursing", May-June - 1975
  • "The Importance of Teaching Nursing History", submitted to The American Nurse, American Nurses Association, June 9 - 1975
  • "Nurses in American History: The Fateful Decade, 1890-1900", American Journal of Nursing 75 (July 1975): 1163-1165 - 1975
  • "To Honor Our Past...to Herald Our Future", Virginia Nurse, November 3 - 1975
  • "Historical Aspects of Concepts of Entry Into Practice: A Recurring Theme", submitted to American Journal of Nursing, July - 1979
  • "The Case for Historical Research in Nursing", editorial in Research in Nursing and Health, January - 1973
  • "Professionalism - So Abstract?" submitted to Nursing Outlook, July - 1979
  • Box 3:
  • "The First 50 Years", a history of American Nurses Association (ANA)
  • "Historical Aspects of Concepts of Entry Into Practice: A Recurring Theme", submitted to American Journal of Nursing, July 31 - 1979
  • "Entry Into Practice: A Recurring Issue in Nursing History", American Journal of Nursing, March - 1980
  • "What Can We Learn From History?", submitted to Current Issues in Nursing, Spring - 1980
    3 folders
  • "The Need for Historical Research", editorial in Research in Nursing and Health, June - 1981
  • "Can We Learn From History?", Current Issues in Nursing - 1981
  • "The First 50 Years", a history of the American Nurses Association, nd
  • Sub-Series: Reprints
  • Box 3:
  • Nursing Outlook - 1969
  • Nursing Outlook - 1970
  • Editorial in Nursing Outlook, January - 1970
  • "An Appraisal of an Abstract for Action", American Journal of Nursing, August - 1971
  • "The First Fifty Years", The American Journal of Nursing, September - 1971
  • "Liberation Movement: Impact on Nursing", AORN Journal, April - 1972
  • "New Privileges, New Challenges, New Responsibilities", Nursing, November - 1973
  • Nursing Research May-June - 1975
  • "The Methodology of Historical Research", Nursing Journal, May-June - 1975
  • "The Methodology of Historical Research", The American Journal of Nursing, May-June - 1975
  • "Entry Into Practice: A Recurring Issue in Nursing History", American Journal of Nursing, March - 1980
  • "Clinical Practice as a Function of Nursing Education: An Historical Analysis", Nursing Outlook, August - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Research Notes
  • Box 3:
  • "Jane Arminda Delano", author Mary E Wright, a student of Christy's, December - 1974
  • Information on PH courses
  • American Society of Superintendents of Training Schools for Nurses, annual reports 
    3 folders
  • Loeb Center established by Lydia Hall
    3 folders
  • School of Nursing, Teachers College
  • Research material
  • Boston University Nursing Archive - 1970
  • Florence Nightingale exhibit Teachers College  - 1962
  • Bill introduced by Representative Cellar in 1944 to draft single, unemployed young women into military service
  • Sub-Series: Bibliographies
  • Box 3:
  • African American nurses
  • Birth control
  • Chapters 1-8
  • Collective Bargaining
  • Sub-Series: Grants
  • Box 3:
  • Public Health Service grants for training projects  Adelphi University - 1970-1972
  • Adelphi University - 1972-1973
    2 folders
  • A Study of Leaders in Nursing Adelphi University - 1973
  • Proposed Nursing Classics  Myrtle K Aydelotte, Executive Director  University of Iowa - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Reviews by Christy
  • Box 3:
  • Memoirs: Half a Century in Nursing, author Stella Goostray - 1970
  • Christy's review of a student paper - 1977
  • Book reviews  - 1969-1979
  • Davis book; Strauss and Glaser articles  n.d.
  • Reference provided by Christy - 1972
  • Award citation for Ada Jacox written by Christy - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Reviews of Christy's writings
  • Box 3:
  • Portrait of a Leader series - 1970-1971
  • Cornerstone of Nursing  - 1970-1971
    2 folders
  • The Case for Historical Research  - 1972
  • Series 3: COMMITTEES
  • Sub-Series: Nursing Education Alumni Association, Teachers College
  • Box 3:
  • Minutes - 1967-1969
  • Correspondence - 1969
  • Project suggestions, October - 1969
  • Sub-Series: Nursing Education Club, Teachers College
  • Box 3:
  • Report on nursing curriculum developments - 1945-1962
  • Sub-Series: American Nurses Association (ANA)
  • Box 3:
  • ANA Committee on Education - 1965
  • Committee on Historical Source Materials - 1968
  • Nursing Research Conference. Christy presented "A Critique of the Study by Dr Dora Mae Blackmon on the Care of the Mentally Ill in America, 1604-1812" - 1968
    2 folders
  • Nursing Research Conference regarding paper "Congress Copes With the Nurse Shortage, 1941-1971"  - 1973
  • Christy's complaint to chairperson of ANA Committee, December - 1974
  • Bicentennial Celebration Committee  - 1976
    2 folders
  • Hall of Fame Committee - 1977-1978
  • ANA nomination for Distinguished Contribution to Nursing Science  - 1980
  • Commission on Nursing Research Christy testimony presented in Chicago - 1981
  • Sub-Series: Various Committees
  • Box 3:
  • Archives Preservation Program, Teachers College  - 1968-1970
    12 folders
  • Faculty Advisory Committee, Teachers College  - 1970
    3 folders
  • Committee on Status of Women Faculty, Adelphi University  - 1971-1972
  • Personnel Committee, Adelphi University  - 1973
  • Undergraduate Council, University of Iowa  - 1974-1975
  • Faculty Welfare Council chair, University of Iowa  - 1981
  • Series 4: SPEECHES
  • Box 4:
  • "Report of an Outstanding Personality: Mildred L Montag, Nursing Educator", November 18 - 1965
  • "Nursing Education and the Johns Hopkins: The Ideas of M Adelaide Nutting", Johns Hopkins Hospital School of Nursing, Alumnae Association Anniversary, November 4 - 1967
  • "A History of the Division of Nursing Education, Teachers College, Columbia University, 1899-1947", presented to Nursing Education Alumni Association at the Annual Isabel Stewart Research Conference, February 2 - 1968
  • "Today's Issues - Are They Really New?" May 22 - 1969
  • No title, presented at Teachers College on occasion of 70th anniversary of Department of Nursing Education, April 15 - 1970
  • "Historical Aspects of Nursing Practice", May 1 - 1970
  • "Historical Aspects of Nursing Practice", Founder's Day Reception, Sigma Theta Tau November 17 - 1970
  • "Historical Aspects of Nursing Practice", Sigma Theta Tau induction ceremony, December 10 - 1970
  • No title, at Summit Park Hospital, March 26 - 1971
  • "Women's Liberation, its Impact on Nursing", February 2 - 1972
  • Emerging Trends in the Practice of Nursing - From the Viewpoint of an Historian, April 15, 1972
  • "The Scope of Nursing Practice", May 2 - 1972
  • "Reflections of the Past: A Mirror to the Future", November 13 - 1972
  • "The Report of the Commission for the Study of Nursing and Nursing Education: Implications for Consumers of Nursing", May - 1973
  • "The Privileges, Challenges and Responsibilities of Nurses in the '70s", June 28 - 1973
  • "Nursing by Choice, not by Default", October 5 - 1973
  • "Professionalism - So Abstract", May 9 - 1975
  • "To Honor Our Past... to Herald Our Future", November 3 - 1975
  • "The Privileges, Challenges and Responsibilities of Nurses in the '70s", November 15 - 1975
  • "Hopkins Pioneers in Nursing: Isabel Hampton Robb and M. Adelaide Nutting", January 15 - 1976
  • "Health Care and You: Past, Present and Future", March 12 - 1976
  • "Historical Research on the Practical Level", April 2 - 1976
  • "Historical Aspects of Honor Societies", April 26 - 1976
  • "Nursing: Historical Perspectives of a Proud Profession, or How We Got Here From There", October 4 - 1976
  • "Expanded Role: The View of an Historian", March 15 - 1977
  • "The Hope of History", March 25 - 1977
  • "Nursing Leaders: Voices of the Past", November 6 - 1978
  • "Nursing Leaders: Voices of the Past", March 3 - 1979
  • "Concepts of Entry Into Practice: A Recurring Theme", May 10 - 1979
  • "Professionalism in Nursing", Chautauqua '79 in Vail, Colorado, August 7 - 1979
  • "Nursing Autonomy: Issues and Strategies", October 11 - 1979
  • "Nursing Autonomy: Issues and Strategies", October 22 - 1979
  • "Nursing Revisited: An Historical Analysis of Clinical Practice as a Function of Nursing Education", December 3 - 1979
    2 folders
  • "Traditions in Nursing - To Keep or Not to Keep - That is the Question", Morningside College capping ceremony, October 12 - 1980
  • "The Role of Early Nurse Leaders as Social Activists", November 10 - 1980
  • "Testimony Presented to the National Commission on Nursing of the American Hospital Association", February 20 - 1981
  • "To Honor Our Past, to Herald Our Future", keynote address, Missouri State Nurses' Association, April 27 - 1981
  • American Nurses Association tribute to ANA retirement of Myrtle Kitchell Aydelotte - 1981
  • "Barriers to Change in Nursing Education", n.d.
  • "Historical Aspects of the Expanded Role of the Nurse", n.d.
  • Series 5: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 5:
  • Various - 1966-1977
    96 folders
  • Box 6:
  • Various - 1978-1982
    38 folders
  • Series 6: EPHEMERA
  • Box 6:
  • Photographs, Florence Nightingale statue
  • Photographs, Teresa Christy
  • Newspaper clippings 
    2 folders
  • Massachusetts Nurses Association calendar with historical nursing photographs - 1977
  • National League for Nursing newsletter, October - 1978

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers