Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Raymond F. Sheets Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1961-1968
Creator: Sheets, Raymond F. (1961-1968)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0286
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor in Internal Medicine who specialized in hematology and oncology. Diary.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Raymond F. Sheets in February 1983. A set of records pertaining to College of Medicine committee minutes was moved to RG15.01.

Preferred Citation: Raymond F. Sheets Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Raymond Franklin Sheets was born June 15, 1914, in Bentley, Illinois. He received his B.A. degree from Carthage College in Kenosha, Wisconsin, in 1936. He took his M.S. and M.D. degrees from the University of Illinois at Chicago in 1940 and 1941. He completed his residency at the State University of Iowa and joined the faculty there in 1949. He was made professor of internal medicine in 1959. He specialized in hematology and oncology. He retired in 1984.
 
Dr. Sheets served as a surgeon in the U.S. Navy during World War II. He married Viola Meining in 1946. After Viola's death he married Kristin Sagert in 1980. He had three sons and one daughter.

The Raymond F. Sheets papers include a one-year diary.
Folder, "Sheets, Raymond F.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Records of the College of Medicine (RG15.0001.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Diary, January 12-May 5 - 1961-1962

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Sheets, Raymond F.

Corporate Names:
State University of Iowa. College of Medicine

Genre/Form of Materials:
Diaries

Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers
University of Iowa College of Medicine