Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the George Edgar Folk Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1957-1986
Creator: Folk, George Edgar (1914-)
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: RG99.0275
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor in Department of Physiology and Biophysics, 1953-1985. Records of the faculty Research Club.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Oversize Box 1.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to University Archives from Dr. Folk in September 2000. Finding aid posted to the Internet in May 2011.

Preferred Citation: George Edgar Folk Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

George Edgar Folk, Jr., was born on November 12, 1914, in Natick, Massachusetts. He graduated from Phillips Academy in Andover, Massachusetts, in 1933. He received the B.A. (1937), M.A. (1940), and Ph.D. (1947) degrees in biology from Harvard University. Following graduation, Folk taught courses at Bowdoin College in Brunswick, Maine, for six years.
 
Folk joined the State University of Iowa faculty as associate professor in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics in 1953. He was made full professor in 1965. In 1957, Folk was one of the founders of the International Journal of Bioclimatology and Biometeorology. His research took him to the Arctic each summer from 1970 through 1982, where he and his students studied how mammals functioned in the environment. Folk was the recipient of the University of Iowa Teacher of the Year Award in 1983. He served as a consultant for the United States Army during the late 1940s and early 1950s on the topic of ""Moisture Relations Between the Human Foot and Its Environment."" Folk retired from the University of Iowa in 1985.
 
Folk married Mary Arp in June 1956 and the couple had one son, Christopher, and one daughter, Victoria. Following Mary's death, Folk married Bessie Beresford Kueny.

The George Edgar Folk papers include materials about the Research Club of faculty members. It also includes the manuscript for the first issue of the International Journal of Bioclimatology and Biometeorology, 1957. One oversized item is a photograph of cells made with a Color Phase Interference Microscope. The microscope was donated by Dr. Folk to the Department of Pathology.
Folder, "Folk, George Edgar, Jr.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Folk, G. Edgar, Jr., and others. The Research Club of Faculty Members of the University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa. Iowa City, 1986. 36 pp., lllus. Archives AS36 .I67 A65 1986.

Folk, G. Edgar, Jr., and Mary A. Folk. Vilhjalmur Stefansson and the Development of Arctic Terrestrial Science. Iowa City, Iowa: University of Iowa, 1984.

Folk, G. Edgar, Jr. Textbook of Environmental Physiology. Philadelphia: Lea & Febiger,1974.

Folder, "Research Club," Organizations and Clubs Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.004)

Records of the Department of Dermatology, within the Records of the College of Medicine (RG15.0001.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: RECORDS OF THE FACULTY RESEARCH CLUB
Series 2: GENERAL

  • Series 1: RECORDS OF THE FACULTY RESEARCH CLUB
  • Box 1:
  • By-Laws - 1975-1977
  • Correspondence - 1976-1977
  • History - 1976-1986
  • Members and applicants - 1962-1978
  • Minutes - 1966-1986
  • Programs - 1976-1979
  • Series 2: GENERAL
  • Box 2:
  • Manuscript for first issue of the International Journal of Bioclimatology and Biometerology - 1957
  • OS Box 1:
  • Photograph of cells made with a Color Phase Interference Microscope - Undated

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers