Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the D.C. Spriestersbach Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1952-2000
Creator: Spriestersbach, D.C. (1916-2011)
Extent: 19.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0255
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Faculty, Speech Pathology and Audiology, University of Iowa, 1940. Dean, Graduate College, 1965-1987. Interim University President, 1981-1982. Reports, memoranda, appointment books, scrapbooks, and correspondence, pertaining to a variety of University-related topics, including advancement of research, anti-war protest, and federal funding for public institutions.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 14

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers were donated to the University Archives by Mr. Spriestersbach in three accessions during 2003 Acc. 2003-57, 2003-70, and 2003-82.

Preferred Citation: D. C. Spriestersbach Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Duane Caryl ("Sprie") Spriestersbach was born September 15, 1916, in Pine Island, Minnesota. He graduated cum laude from Winona State Teachers College in Minnesota in 1939 and in 1940 received the M.A. in speech pathology from the State University of Iowa. In 1948 he received the Ph.D., also from SUI, in speech pathology and with a minor in psychology. On August 31, 1946, he married Bette Bartell in Tipton, Iowa, and they had two children.
 
Upon completion of his doctoral degree he was appointed assistant professor and subsequently rose to the rank of professor of speech pathology and audiology in 1958. In 1965 he was named dean of the Graduate College, a position he held for 22 years. In addition to those duties he assumed the title of vice president for research in 1966; his responsibilities and title expanded again in 1970 to include educational development. He served as interim president of the University of Iowa from September 1, 1981, to April 1, 1982, during the period between Willard Boyd's departure and James O. Freedman's arrival.
 
He served as president of the American Speech and Hearing Association, chair of the Board of Trustees of the Easter Seal Research Foundation, president of the Association of Graduate Schools, and chair of the Board of Directors of the Midwest Universities Consortium for International Activities (MUCIA).
D. C. Spriesterbach died April 25, 2011.

The Papers of D.C. Spriestersbach document a period of expansive growth of the University of Iowa as a significant public research institution. They include budget documents spanning over three decades, research project reports, policy and procedure manuals with respect to advanced research initiatives, and such controversial topics as human participants and use of animals in research. Other topics include student unrest, the presence of Iowa Highway Patrol officers on campus, and the distribution of federal funds to institutions of higher learning. Records in box 6 pertaining to the ALG (Administrative Liaison Group), an ad hoc group established by the Office of the President from 1968 to 1973 to respond to student unrest, are of particular interest with respect to the anti-war protest period.
Spriestersbach, D.C. The Way It Was: The University of Iowa, 1964-1989. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1999.

Oral history interview, v. XXXIV, January 13, 1977 (RG01.0006.001)

Folder, "D.C. Spriestersbach," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files (RG01.0015.003)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • State University of Iowa Business Report, Securities Received Gifts and Federal Grants - 1860-1952 June 30
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - Before 1964
  • Budget pages - 1963-1964
  • Pre1964-1964 (June)
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1964-1965
  • 1964/65
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1965-1966
  • 1965/66
    2 folders
  • Budget pages - 1964-1965
  • University of Iowa President's Report - 1965 September 1
    2 copies
  • University of Iowa Medical Center booklet
  • University of Iowa Report of Gifts and Grants Accepted in the Fiscal Year - 1965-1966
  • Budget pages - 1965-1966
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1966-1967
  • 1966/67
    2 folders
  • University of Iowa President's Report - 1966 September 1
  • "A University in the Service of its State and Nation"
  • Budget pages - 1966-1967
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1967-1968
  • 1967/68
    2 folders
  • Budget pages - 1967-1968
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1968-1969
  • 1968/69
    3 folders
  • Budget pages - 1968-1969
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1969-1970
  • 1969/70
    3 folders
  • Budget pages - 1969-1970
  • Box 2:
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1970-1971
  • 1970/71
    3 folders
  • Budget pages - 1970-1971
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1971-1972
  • 1971/72
    3 folders
  • Budget pages - 1971-1972
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1972-1973
    Staff list only
  • 1972/73
    4 folders
  • Budget pages - 1972-1973
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1973-1974
    Staff list only
  • 1973/74
    3 folders
  • State Board of Regents Summary of Budget Requests for Fiscal Years - 1975-1976; 1976-1977
  • Budget pages - 1973-1974
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1974-1975
    Staff list only
  • 1974/75
    2 folders
  • Budget pages - 1974-1975
  • Research and Graduate News - 1975-1976
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1975-1976
    Staff list only
  • 1975/76
    3 folders
  • "The Iowa Graduate Experience"
  • Budget pages - 1975-1976
  • Box 3:
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1976-1977
  • 1976/77
    3 folders
  • Research and Graduate News - 1976-1977
  • Budget pages - 1976-1977
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1977-1978
  • 1977/78
    3 folders
  • Research and Graduate News - 1977-1978
  • Budget pages - 1977-1978
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1978-1979
  • 1978/79
    3 folders
  • Budget pages - 1978-1979
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1979-1980
  • 1979/80
    3 folders
  • Budget pages - 1979-1980
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1980-1981
  • 1980/81
    3 folders
  • Budget pages - 1980-1981
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1981-1982
  • 1981/82
    3 folders
  • Budget pages - 1981-1982
  • Box 4:
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1982-1983
  • 1982/83
    4 folders
  • Budget pages - 1982-1983
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1983-1984
  • 1983/84
    4 folders
  • Budget pages - 1983-1984
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1984-1985
  • 1984/85
    2 folders
  • Budget pages - 1984-1985
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1985-1986
  • 1985/86
    2 folders
  • "Policies and Review Procedures for Studies Involving Human Participants"
  • Central University Research Support Facilities and Specialized Equipment - A Directory - 1985
  • Budget papers - 1985-1986
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1986-1987
  • 1986/87
    2 folders
  • "Contractual Agreements with Iowa Regents Institutions" - 1987
  • Sponsored Projects Administrative Services Manual - 1987
  • Box 5:
  • Research Grants and Fellowships - 1987-1988
    2 volumes
  • Budget papers - 1987-1988
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1988-1989
  • 1988/89
  • Unlabeled folder
  • Budget papers - 1988-1989
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - 1989-1990
  • 1989/90
  • Budget papers - 1989-1990
  • Sponsored Projects Administrative Services Manual - 1990
    3 volumes
  • Research in Progress - 1989
  • Student Profile- first semester - 1995-1996
  • Research in Progress - 1990
  • Outline of On-Hand Materials - After 1990
  • 1990/91
  • Budget papers - 1990-1991
  • 1991 - Later
  • The University of Iowa and Animal Use in Research and Teaching
  • Sponsored Programs Administrative Services Manual
  • Animal Research
  • Audit
    2 folders
  • Center of Excellence
  • Computing
    3 folders
  • Classified/Weapons research
  • Laser
    3 folders
  • Indirect Cost
  • Intellectual Property Transfers
  • Oakdale Seminars
  • Laser File, C. Mason - 1987 January-July
  • Student Unrest - Vietnam War - 1965-1967
  • Student Unrest - Draft - 1967-1968
  • Student Unrest - 1968-1969
  • Student Unrest - ROTC - 1969-1970
  • Box 6:
  • The University and Economic Development
  • Student Unrest - 1970-1971
  • Student Unrest - 1971-1972
  • Student Unrest - After 1972
  • Administrative Liaison Group (ALG) - 1960s-1970
  • ALG - 1971 May
  • ALG - 1971 December
  • ALG - 1972-1973
  • Student Unrest - Phone logs, etc.
    2 envelopes
  • South African Stock
  • Student Unrest- General Effects
  • Interview Excerpts 14-20
  • MUCIA
    3 folders
  • Human subjects
  • State of the University
  • MUSINGS - HHS audit - 1996
  • Disclosures/Patents
  • Enrollments
  • General/memos, etc.
  • Source finders
  • General/undated
  • Gifts, Grants, and Contracts - 1962-1989
  • Research and Graduate News
  • Graduate College Enrollment Analysis
  • Number MA/PhD Degrees Awarded - 1965-1990
  • Policies/interviews
  • Misc. Resources
  • Number of Students by college - 1963-1990
  • Summaries - 1984-1985
  • Interviews (oral history)
    5 folders
  • Box 7:
  • Empty black leather binder embossed: "D.C. and Bette Spriestersbach President and First Lady The University of Iowa" - 1981 September 1-1982 March 31
  • 2 blue binders
  • Administrative Liaison Group (ALG) documents - 1970-1971
  • Administrative Liaison Group (ALG) documents - After 1971
  • "Pennsylvania State University" Binder - Summer Workshop for Graduate Deans
  • Box 8:
  • Scrapbooks - 1956-1961
  • Scrapbooks - 1962-1964
  • Scrapbooks - 1966
  • Scrapbooks - After 1967
  • Scrapbooks - 1969
  • Box 9:
  • Scrapbooks - After 1965
  • Scrapbooks - 1968
  • "Visible Week" Calendars - 1965-1968
  • "Visible Week" Calendars - 1972
  • "Visible Week" Calendars - 1974-1989
  • Box 10:
  • Research Administration in Academic Institutions - D.C. Spriestersbach - 1975
  • Comments, Iowa Congressional Luncheon, Washington D.C. - 1975 February 27
  • The Role of Communication in Higher Education: A Personal View - Austin, Texas - 1975 March 12
  • DEO Meeting - 1975 March 26
  • 13th Annual Medicinal Chemistry Meeting-in-Miniature (MIKI) - Welcome - 1975 March 27
  • University Research and the New Federalism - 1975 Educational Roundtable - 1975 April 21
  • Welcome Remarks - 25th Anniversary, School of Social Work - 1975 May 3
  • Graduate Faculty Meeting - 1975 May 1
  • The Ecology of Research- Engineering Recognition - 1975 May 17
  • Universities and the ROTC- ROTC Commissioning Ceremony - 1975 May 17
  • Robert A. Taft Institute of Government Seminar - Welcome - 1975 June 16
  • Presentations to Governor Ray - 1975 August 14
  • Education Visitation Comm. of the 66th General Assembly - 1975 November 7-8
  • ASHA, Fifty Years of Growth: Problems and Perspectives (Panel on Issues and Trends in Higher Education) - 1975 November 21
  • Graduate Faculty Meeting - 1975 December 17
  • The Whys and Wherewithals of University Research - 1976 March 8
  • Academic Computing at the University of Iowa - University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Nebraska - 1976 March 11
  • Doctoral Programs: Patterns for Change - Chicago Illinois - 1976 March 30
  • The Doctors Frankenstein and Schweitzer: A View of the American Scholar - Austin, Texas - 1976 April 25
  • University of Iowa Foundation Board of Directors - 1976 April 30
  • Graduate Faculty Meeting - 1976 May 5
  • Old Capitol Dedication and Related Activities - Presentation to Iowa City Rotarians - 1976 June 10
  • Every Man an Engineer - Engineering Commencement - 1976 July 23
  • Greetings - Iowa Black Alumni Group - 1976 July 30
  • Presentation to State Legislative Fiscal Committee - Des Moines - 1976 August 3
  • Graduate Education at the University of Iowa - Regents' Seminar, Iowa City, Iowa - 1976 August 27
  • Comments to the Regents' Task Force on Graduate Student Opportunities - 1976 September 16
  • Some Thoughts on Professional Education - 23rd Annual Tax & Accounting Seminar - 1976 September 23
  • 2nd Conference of Polish and American Historians - Welcome Remarks - 1976 September 29
  • Visual Scholars Program - Invitational Conference - 1976 October 1
  • Printing: University Business - 1976 Big 10 Printing Managers and Buyers Conference - 1976 October 7
  • Comments - CONDUIT site visit - 1976 October 27
  • Comments - Iowa Water Resources Research Symposium - 1976 November 11
  • Accountability- NASULGC Annual Meeting Washington, D.C. - 1976 November 19
  • Doctoral Programs: A Time for Change, ASHA Convention - 1976 November 21
  • Some Implications of the New Concept of the Campus - CGS Meeting - 1976 December 8-10
  • The University of Iowa Outreach Program - Joint Committee on University Outreach - 1977 January 30
  • Legislative Education Subcommittee - 1977-78 Oakdale Campus Budget - 1977 February 8
  • Health Systems Agencies Handout Material and Presentation - 1977 March 17
  • MAGS, Off-the-Record - Chicago, Illinois - 1977 March 28
  • Congressional Luncheon - Washington, D.C. - 1977 March 31
  • Army Research Institute - Washington, D.C. - 1977 April 8
  • Mailman Center for Child Development - Miami, Florida - 1977 April 17
  • Welcoming Address for Workshop - Orthodontic Care for Handicapped Persons - 1977 May 9
  • Robert A. Taft Institute of Government Seminar Welcome Address - 1977 June 20
  • Iowa Microbeam Society Welcoming Address - 1977 September 30
  • AGS Workshop - St. Louis, Missouri - 1977 October 3
  • Education Visitation Committee, etc. Oakdale Campus - 1977 October 18
  • EDUCOM Meeting- Distributed Academic Computing: Admin. Issues - 1977 October 27
  • International Festival Opening Remarks - International Center - 1977 November 17
  • The Uses of Graduate Student Support Funds - CGS Annual Conference - New Orleans, Louisiana - 1977 December 1
  • University Management of Grants and Contracts - Iowa City - 1978 January 24, 30
  • Policy Development and Impact in Institutions - NIH (National Institutes of Health), Bethesda, Maryland - 1978 February 8-10
  • Society for International Development - Comments - 1978 February 21
  • Issues Related to Professional Degrees - Faculty, Prev. Med. Env. Hlth. - 1978 February 24
  • Black Alumni Association Presentation and Dedication Ceremony - Hall of Honor - 1978 March 4
  • Research Council - Place of Interdisciplinary Research - 1978 March 10
  • Sigma Xi - St. Louis University - St. Louis, Missouri - 1978 April 19
  • Computer Center Conference Dedication Speech - 1978 May 1
  • CGS Summer Workshop- Ames, Iowa - 1978 July 14
  • Comments - U of I Foundation - 1978 October 6
  • Speech Pathology Conference - Iowa City - 1979 May 4
  • AGS Annual Meeting- Seattle, Washington - Introduction to 1st Plenary Session - 1979 October 7-9
  • Southeast Iowa Writers' Program - Iowa City - 1979 October 26
  • MAGS Annual Meeting - Chicago, Illinois - 1980 April 1
  • Women in Science Career Conference - Iowa Memorial Union - 1980 April 5
  • Sculpture Dedication Ceremony - Iowa Land: A Celebration - Main Lobby, UI Hospitals - 1980 April 13
  • Second Annual Sino-American Symposium on Physical Education and Sports - Welcome - 1980 April 15
  • Society of Experimental Psychologist s- Remarks - 1980 April 18
  • NY State Speech & Hearing Association - Monticello, New York - 1980 April 22
  • Business/Media Reporting Workshop - Welcome - 1980 May 1
  • Vilhjalmur Stefanson Centennial Symposium - 1980 May 3
  • Mount Vernon Community High School Commencement Address - 1980 May 24
  • Psychometric Society Welcome - 1980 May 28
  • Conference on Hazardous Waste Management - 1980 June 27
  • Welcome - Dedication of Lindquist Center - 1980 September 5
  • 32nd AGS Annual Conference - New York City - President's Remarks - 1980 October 7
  • NCURA Workshop - Washington, D.C. - 1980 November 20
  • Iowa International Center Opening Remarks - 1982 April 7
  • Engineering Honors Banquet - Excellence and the Gathering Crisis - 1982 April 8
  • Engineering Open House for Industry - The Research Tradition at Iowa - 1982 April 13
  • Humanities Symposium - Remarks - 1982 April 23
  • Greetings from Alumni - Finkbine Dinner- IMU - 1982 April 27
  • Of Artichokes, Yesteryear, and Days Yet to Come -Alumni Association Class of '32 - 1982 June 4
  • June 10, 1982 - Remarks- Dedication of Van Allen Hall - 1982 June 10
  • Communication in Higher Education: A Personal View - Matthews Distinguished Lecture - Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania - 1982 June 17
  • Welcome Comments - Foreign Student Orientation - Iowa City - 1982 August 19
  • Of Science and Scales - The Iowa Microbeam Society - 1982 September 10
  • Reflections in Scholarship in a Modern World - Regents Honors Conference - 1983 March 5
  • Welcome - Region V FACT Festival and MATC Convention - 1983 March 18
  • Assessing Quality in Doctoral Programs: A Lost Cause? - North Central Association - Chicago, Illinois - 1983 March 23
  • Thirty-Five Years as a Professional: A Personal View - National Council of Graduate Programs in Speech Pathology and Audiology - St. Louis, Missouri - 1983 May 13
  • Reflections: A Glow That Illumines, A Glare that Obscures - Class of 1943 - Alumni Association - 1983 June 3
  • Welcome to Joffrey II Troupe - Not Delivered - 1983 June 6
  • "Information Technology: An Administrator's Perspective" - Snowmass, Colorado - 1983 August 9
  • West Lakes Division of the Association of American Geographers - Welcome - 1983 November 3
  • Scott N. Reger Memorial Conference - The Abbey Inn - 1984 April 12
  • Research: A Modern Day Pandora's Box? - Honors Convocation - 1984 April 14
  • University/Industry Cooperation and the Hoffman Scenario - Open House for Industry - College of Engineering - IMU - 1984 April 17
  • Iowa Academy of Science - 96th Annual Meeting - Iowa City - 1984 April 27
  • Midwest Parasitology Conference - Welcome - 1984 June 8
  • Women in Research Conference - Iowa City - 1984 September 7
  • Sidney G. Winter Lecture Series - Iowa City - 1984 September 19
  • Iowa Sociologists' Fall Conference - IMU - 1984 October 6
  • NSF Outreach Conference- Welcome - Harvard Room, IMU - 1984 October 24
  • Technology Transfer at Iowa - Faculty Senate Governmental Relations Committee - 1985 January 24
  • Iowa Academic-Industrial Technology Conference - Drake University - 1985 February 20
  • Box 11:
  • Seminar - "Problems of Coordinating Cooperative Research" - 1965 April 16
  • Talk - Commencement - 1967 August
  • ASHA Convention - "ASHA & Federal Programs: A Review of Marriage" - 1965 October 30
  • Use of appropriated funds for research and creative work - 1965 November 5
  • Talk - Comments to Engineering Faculty - 1965 November 9
  • Panel - Admission of the foreign graduate student - Council of Graduate Schools - 1965 December 2-4
  • Objectives and changes in the Graduate College - 1965 December 14
  • State of the College Report - Graduate Faculty - 1966 January 27
  • The Changing Times - Iowa Alumni of AASA - 1966 February 13
  • Research at the University of Iowa - Iowa Alumni Groups - 1966 February 15-17
  • Implications from recent research concerning the diagnostic & therapeutic man. of speakers w/ cleft - 1966 February 24
  • Graduate Faculty on Manual Revision - 1966 April 26
  • WSUI - "Why Research?" - 1966 May
  • Talk - Some meanings of 'profession' - 1966 May 28
  • Talk - 1966 May 28
  • Talk - To: Site Visitors - 1966 October 17
  • State of the College - Graduate Faculty - 1967 January 19
  • Talk (cancelled) - Today's Colleges and Graduate Students - ACPRA - 1967 January 26
  • Talk - University Education in the University - Nursing Faculty - 1967 January 30
  • Talk - Current Issues - ROTC - 1967 February 4
  • Talk - The University and Professional Education - Phi Delta Kappa - 1967 February 9
  • Talk - New Procedures in Making Allocations - Dept. Executives - 1967 February 9
  • Talk - Your Profession and You: Some Comments on Current Trends - 1967 May 16
  • Talk - To: Departmental Executives - 1967 May 8
  • Talk - Freshman Orientation - 1967 July 17, 28
  • Graduate Orientation Talk - 1967 September 20
  • Talk - To: Business Administration - 1967 September 26
  • The PhD in Transition - Council of Graduate Schools - 1967 October 30
  • Talk - Mortar Board - 1967 October 17
  • Chairman: Panel - ASHA Convention - 1967 November 2
  • "Distribution of Federal Funds"- Council for Res. Policy and Admin. - 1967 November 13
  • Graduate Seminar - "Some Issues Facing the Profession" - 1967 November 27
  • Talk - Iowa Congressional Delegation - 1967 December 11
  • Talk - Dentistry/Speech Pathology: Mutual Clinical and Res. Interests - 1968 February 16
  • Talk - Graduate Education - Iowa Wesleyan College - 1968 February 8
  • Talk - Recruiting for Research - Wake Forest College - 1968 March 2
  • Talk - Annual Conference on Speech and Hearing Disorders - 1968 March 4
  • Panel - "Speech Pathology and Audiology as a Profession" - 1968 March 26
  • AADS Panel - "Patterns of Participation by Speech Pathologists" - 1968 March 27
  • Talk (WSUI) - Relationship of Graduate Education to the State and Federal Government - 1968 May 3
  • Talk - Medical Convocation, IMU - 1968 June 6
  • Charge to Participants - Speech Pathology and Audiology Conference - 1968 June 11
  • Workshop for Graduate Deans - 1968 August 18
  • Talk - Candidate Contact Program - 1968 October
  • University of Iowa Foundation - Impact of the Federal Dollar on the University - 1968 October 4
  • Status of Graduate Education at State Institutions - 1968 October 17
  • WSUI - "The Modern University: A Study in Relationships" - 1968 October 23
  • Talk – Aims - Graduate Student Council - 1968 November 6
  • Talk - Los Angeles, California (resource) - 1968 November 13
  • Talk - The University of Iowa: What's its Future? S. Cal. UI Alumni - 1968 December 6
  • Talk - The College of Nursing and Research - 1969 February 17
  • Talk - Government-sponsored Research/Federal Cutbacks - 1969 March 13
  • Talk- AADS - Houston, Texas - 1969 March 24
  • Talk - AADS - Sciences Related to Dentistry as Viewed by a Graduate Dean - 1969 March 26
  • Opening & Closing Ceremonies - 1969 International Congress on Cleft Palates - 1969 April 14
  • Talk - Education Seminar - 1969 May 22
  • Talk - Comments on Computers - 1969 June 3
  • Talk - "Research: Blessing or Curse?"- Kiwanis Club - 1969 July 22
  • Talk - College of Dentistry Research Committee - 1969 July 18
  • Talk – WSUI - "Research: Blessing or Curse?" - 1969 September 26
  • Talk - Joint Research and Graduate Council - 1969 September 25
  • Talk - "Opportunities for Support"- Iowa Foundation - 1969 September 26
  • Talk - "Trends in Graduate Education"- O of E Training Directors - 1969 October 14
  • Talk - "Servant of Master"- NASULGC - 1969 November 10
  • ASHA Convention: role of speech science in education, etc. - Chicago, Illinois - 1969 November 12
  • ASHA; International Congress of Cleft Palates - Chicago, Illinois - 1969 November 13
  • NIDR ad hoc: comments on "State of Art"- Bethesda, Maryland - 1969 November 18
  • Talk - Graduate Faculty Meeting - 1970 January 21
  • Mid-continent Reg. Sci. Assoc.: "Welcome to Iowa" - 1970 March 13
  • Talk - "New Approaches to Old Problems"- Michigan Speech and Hearing Association - 1970 March 19
  • GSU Dedication speech: "Service: Hub or Rim?" Tallahassee, Florida - 1970 March 12
  • Talk - "Federal Funding Now and in the Future" IA C.C for P.H.S.E - 1970 May 7
  • Opening Remarks - Conference on Computers in Undergraduate Curricula - 1970 June 16
  • Talk - "Curricular Components in Education for Professional Practice" - 1970 November 2
  • Talk - Graduate Faculty - 1971 January 14
  • Talk - Higher Education: a new inkblot - Unitarian Church - 1971 February 7
  • Remarks - Conference on Oral-Facial Function - Ann Arbor, Michigan - 1971 March 1
  • Talk - Graduate Faculty Meeting - 1971 May 6
  • Talk - "Research & Higher Education in an Age of Discontinuity" - 1971 May 7
  • Talk - "Some Thoughts on Education in 1980 and 2000"- Alumni Association - 1971 June 19
  • Talk - "National Need for Joint Dentistry/Speech Science Efforts" - 1972 May 5
  • Talk - Comments to Nursing Faculty - 1972 October 16
  • Talk - Comments at DEO Meeting - 1972 December 7
  • Talk - Graduate Faculty Meeting - 1972 December 12
  • Paper - At Issue: Higher Education - 1973
  • Talk - Speech Pathologists and Audiologists as Professionals - University of South Dakota - 1973 January 16
  • Talk - RANN and NSF - 1973 February 1
  • Talk - Faculty Senate - impact of proposed cuts, WMT & KCRG - 1973 March 1
  • Talk - Graduate Education at the Regent Universities. Joint Appropriations Education Subcommittee - 1973 March 29
  • Talk - introduction - International Studies Conference - 1973 April 2
  • Talk - Meeting of Departmental Executives and Directors of Graduate Studies - 1973 April 4
  • Talk - Graduate Faculty Meeting - 1973 April 30
  • Talk - Welcome - Basic Science Building Dedication - 1973 April 26
  • Talk - Introductory remarks - state of the art – ACPA - Oklahoma City - 1973 May 11
  • Research: Hub or Rim - 1973 July
  • Talk - Denmark - Some Psychosocial Aspects of the Cleft Palate Problem - 1973 August
  • Talk - ASHA - report on International Congress on Cleft Palates - 1973 October
  • Talk - AGS - Introductory Comments, panel discussion - New Orleans, Louisiana - 1973 October 18
  • Talk - DEPO Meeting - comments on issues in higher education - summary memo - 1973 November 9
  • Talk - Denver, Colorado - Council on Research Policy and Graduate Education - Intro - 1973 November 12
  • Talk - Graduate Faculty Meeting - 1973 December 10
  • Talk - Washington, D.C. - Congressional Luncheon - 1974 March 13
  • Talk - Faculty Club Luncheon Comments - 1974 March 20
  • Opening/Closing Remarks - Short Course - ACPEF: Statler-Hilton, Boston, Massachusetts - 1974 April 17
  • Comments to the Board of Directors - UI Foundation - 1974 April 27
  • Welcome - National Institute on Program Development and Training in Recreation for Deaf-Blind Youth, Children and Adults - 1974 April 29
  • Graduate Faculty Meeting - 1974 May 2
  • Hewlett Packard Luncheon - Comments - 1974 May 8
  • Remarks - Institute on Graduate Education and Research in Parks and Recreation - 1974 September 5
  • Introductory Comments for the Panel on Ordered Change in Graduate Education, Denver, Colorado - 1974 October 14-15
  • Comments - Computer-based education at Iowa - HP (Hewlett-Packard) Users Group - Upper Midwest - 1974 October 19
  • Education Visitation Comm. of the 65th General Assembly - Iowa City, Iowa - 1974 October 8
  • DEO Meeting - 1974 November 12
  • Graduate Faculty Meeting - 1974 December 10
  • Box 12:
  • Greek Week VIP Night - Comments - Triangle Room - 1985 February 26
  • Africa’s Refugees: Durable Solutions? - Conference - Old Capitol - Welcome - 1985 March 6
  • "The River Flows On" - Welcome to Class of 1935 - IMU - 1985 May 31
  • 3rd University Hazardous Waste Conference - Welcome - 1985 July 22
  • Iowa Black Alumni Association - Welcome - 1985 July 26
  • Introduction of Harold Hughes - Annual Summer School of Substance Abuse, IMU - 1985 August 5
  • Economic Development and the University - Johnson County League of Women Voters - Ironmen Inn - 1986 January 23
  • Annual Symposium of Society for Study of Symbolic Interaction - Welcome - Ironmen Inn - 1986 May 1
  • Sigma Xi Banquet - Scientific Inquiry: Who Sets the Agenda? - IMU Ballroom - 1986 May 6
  • Future of America's Military: Alienation or Integration? - ROTC Commissioning - Clapp Auditorium - 1986 May 17
  • 2nd Midwest Conference for the U.S. Institute of Peace - Welcome - IMU - 1986 May 29
  • Class of '36 and Years Prior Dinner - The Past is No Longer What it Used to Be - Highlander Inn - 1986 May 30
  • Women as Leaders Summer Workshop – Welcome - Shambaugh Auditorium - 1986 July 10
  • Iowa Microbeam Society Fall Meeting - Holiday Inn - Welcome - 1986 September 5
  • Holiday Inn - Big Ten Directors of Environmental Health and Safety - Welcome - 1986 September 15
  • CIC Graduate Deans - Recent Trends and Initiatives in Graduate Education & Research: Implications - San Diego, California - 1986 October 9
  • Conference on Future Directions in Child Psychology - Welcome - Holiday Inn - 1986 October 20
  • Pharmacy Advisory Council Meeting - Welcome - Amana, Iowa - 1986 October 24
  • Groundwater Research Symposium - Welcome - Holiday Inn - 1987 January 23
  • Symposium on Learning and Memory: The Biological Substrates - Welcome - Holiday Inn - 1987 April 4
  • Honors Convocation - A Credo for Leaders - Clapp Hall - 1987 April 11
  • Iowa Chapter, National Council Urban Economic Development - Comments - IMU Oriental Room - 1987 April 27
  • Industry/University Research Center Planning Meeting - University/Industry Interface - Holiday Inn - 1987 April 27
  • University Research Administration - China Speech - 1987 June
  • Rotary Luncheon - Comments - 1987 July 8
  • Center for Health Effects of Environmental Contamination Joint Center Consultation - Welcome - Oakdale - 1987 July 29
  • USIA Lecture in Lagos, Nigeria - Trends in Higher Education in the USA - 1987 July 21
  • US/USSR Symposium - Fate of Pesticides & Chemicals in Environment - Closing Remarks - Theatre Room, IMU - 1987 October 16
  • Conference on Multidisciplinary Management of Unilateral Cleft Lip and Palate - Welcome - Holiday Inn - 1987 October 14
  • Study Committee on Research/Research Funding - Research in Higher Education - Hartford, Connecticut - 1987 October 26
  • Women in Research '87 Conference - Welcoming Remarks - Memorial Union - 1987 September 17
  • North Central Branch of American Society for Microbiology - Welcoming Remarks - Athletic Club - 1987 November 7
  • U.S. House of Representatives Subcommittee on Space Science Hearings - Welcoming Remarks - Memorial Union - 1988 February 5
  • American Association of Dental Research - Ways & Means of University Research - Dental Science Building - 1988 March 1
  • Welcome - Software Engineering & Software Engineering Education: A Working Conference - Memorial Union Comments - Board of Regents - 1988 March 31, April 20
  • Welcoming Remarks & Introduction Of Allen Roberts - Art & Initiation in Zaire Borlaug Reception - Des Moines, Iowa - 1988 April 22
  • Governor's Summer Institute for Gifted and Talented - Old Capitol Senate Chamber - 1988 June 13
  • Welcome Remarks - Regional Research Conference on Empirical Processes - 1988 June 20
  • Welcome - Phytochemical Society of North American Plant Nitrogen Metabolism Symposium - 1988 June 30
  • Issues and Trends in Technology Transfer: A Retrospective - Iowa State University - 1988 September 15
  • Des Moines, Iowa - Hotel Savery - Conference on Agricultural, Occupational and Environmental Health (Kelly Donham) - 1988 September 30
  • The University in the 21st Century: Context, Challenge, & Resolution - Public Lecture - 1988 October 9
  • Allin Dakin Tribute - Iowa Memorial Union - 1988 October 18
  • Grand Opening - Center for Electron Microscopy Facility - 1988 October 20
  • Psychology Centennial Celebration - 1988 October 20-22
  • S. J. Fomon Dinner - Iowa Memorial Union - 1988 November 8
  • Laser Center Groundbreaking Lunch - Iowa Memorial Union - 1988 November 9
  • Rotary Speech - 1989 January 24
  • SCOR in Congenital Heart Disease - State Visit - Clasen Board Room - 1989 February 14
  • NIDR Site Visit - Oral Mucosal Diseases and Aging - N304 DSB - 1989 March 2
  • Iowa Legislative Task Force on Higher Education - Des Moines, Iowa - 1989 April 19
  • Learning and Memory Symposium - IMU - Welcome Remarks - 1989 April 28
  • ICAD Annual Meeting - The Economics of University Research and Development - 1989 April 27
  • Introduction - W. Ann Reynolds, Ph.D. - Filer Lecture Series - 1989 April 24
  • Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services and Educational Committee on Appropriations - Washington, D.C. - 1989 May 3
  • Welcome Remarks - First International Symposium - Byproducts from Biotechnology - Cedar Rapids, Iowa - 1989 May 20
  • Dedication of Ralph G. Neppel Clinical Addition - VA Hospital - 1989 June 10
  • AuD Degree: University Perspective - 1990 ASHA Convention - Seattle - 1990 November 19
  • Higher Education Revisited (revision of earlier awards presentation) - 1990 November 20
  • Public Lecture - Your University in the 21st Century: Context, Challenge, Resolution - Comments - Hoppin Retirement - 1991 June 23
  • We Are Part of the Planet, You Know - ASHA - Vol. 33, pp 34-35 - 1991 June-July
  • Midwest Regional Dental Student Research Conference - 1994 April 19
  • Lunch - Senior Center- Iowa City - 1994 March 30
  • Welcome - Research Facility Workshop - College of Medicine - 1994 June 2
  • Vietnam Memories - Global Studies - Public Library - 1994 November 8
  • Rotary - Fresh Beginning - 1995 June 15
  • Triangle Club - Reflections - 1999 November 21
  • POROI - A Voice from the Trenches - 2000 April 1
  • Legacies - Commencement - 2000 May 15
  • Freedman, James O.
  • Boyd, Willard
  • Cooper, Paul
  • Eckstein, John W.
  • Ellis, D.D. Jr.
  • Box 13:
  • Book Manuscript: "Recollections of a Great Lady: The University of Iowa, 1965 to 1989"
  • Box 14:
  • D.C. Spriestersbach curriculum vitae
  • News releases, newspaper clippings, articles
  • Rose Bowl - 1982
  • Photographs: Old Capitol, President's Residence