Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Floyd A. Nagler Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1915-1931
Creator: Nagler, Floyd A. (1892-1933)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0251
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa professor of hydraulic engineering, 1920-1933.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries in August 1973. Processed by Earl M. Rogers in 1997. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008.

Preferred Citation: Floyd A. Nagler Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Floyd August Nagler was born in Howard City, Michigan, January 11, 1892, and died in Iowa City, November 10, 1933. The last name is pronounced "Nogler." His degrees were B.S., Michigan State University, 1914; M.S.E., University of Michigan, 1915; Ph.D., 1917. Nagler was employed by engineering firms, 1914-1920, and taught hydraulic engineering at the University of Iowa from 1920 until his death. He was the first director of the Iowa Institute of Hydraulic Research (appointed 1931), served as a consultant, and earned awards from the American Society of Civil Engineers. Nagler collected turbines and waterwheels for the Institute.

The papers are reports by Nagler and others on proposed water power developments on the Cedar and Iowa rivers and the effect on the Fort Dodge sewage disposal problem of a proposed dam on the Des Moines River, all in Iowa, and Nagler's master's thesis at the University of Michigan.
Mutel, Cornelia F. "Floyd Nagler's Passion for Water Power," Iowa Heritage Illustrated 77 (Winter 1996): 152-156.

Nagler, Floyd. The Passing of the Old Water Mills in Iowa. Iowa City: University of Iowa, Office of the State Archaeologist, 2004.

Folder, "Nagler, Floyd A.," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG01.0015.003)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Reed, John A. [Legal phases of proposed water power development on Cedar and Des Moines rivers] - 1921
  • Fargo Engineering Company, Jackson, Michigan. Report on economics of fall increaser installation at Rochester hydro-electric plant on the Cedar River, Iowa, for Iowa Railway & Light Company - 1922
  • Nagler, Floyd A. Preliminary report on the redevelopment of the water power on the Iowa River at Alden, Iowa - 1927
  • Nagler, Floyd A. Memorandum on the effect of the proposed dam on the Des Moines River on the sewage disposal problem at Fort Dodge - 1928
  • Wardle, J.D. Report on water power of Cedar River at Rochester, Iowa, for the Iowa Railway & Light Corporation - 1931
  • Nagler, Floyd A. Obstruction of bridge piers to the flow of water. [M.S.E. thesis], University of Michigan - 1915