Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Paul C. Packer Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1923-1944
Creator: Packer, Paul C. (1886-1964)
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: RG99.0230
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Dean of University of Iowa College of Education, 1939-1943

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 4.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries from the College of Education. Collection processed by Robert M. Hedges.

Preferred Citation: Paul C. Packer Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Paul C. Packer was born October 13, 1886, in Salem, Iowa. He taught in rural schools in Henry County, Iowa, from 1905 to 1907. He was principal of the grammar schools in Fort Madison, Iowa, 1910 -- 1913, and held the same position in Iowa City, Iowa, 1913 -- 1917. Mr. Packer earned his BA degree from the State University of Iowa in 1918, and later the same year was appointed director of educational research for the Detroit public schools. From 1919 to 1921 he was assistant superintendent of the Detroit public schools.
 
In 1921 he returned to Iowa City as professor of education at the State University of Iowa. He took his MA from the University of Michigan in 1921 and PhD from Columbia University in 1923. He served as Dean of the College of Education at the State University of Iowa from 1923 until 1946, at which time he became Chancellor of the Oregon state system of higher education. Paul Packer died in Iowa City on August 21, 1964, and was buried in Salem, Iowa.

Packer's speeches give an insight into the problems facing an educator of his period. The scrapbooks are personal.
Folder, "Packer, Paul C.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Records of the Office of the Dean, College of Education (RG09.0001.001).

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty and Staff Organizations