Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Melvin R. Novick Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1962-1986
Creator: Novick, Melvin R. (1932-1986)
Extent: 11.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0229
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa professor of education, 1974-1982. Professor of psychology and quantitative foundations/statistics and actuarial science, 1982-86.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries from Mrs. Melvin Novick in 1986 and 1987.

Preferred Citation: Melvin R. Novick Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Melvin Robert Novick was born in Chicago, Illinois, September 21, 1932, and died in Princeton, New Jersey, May 20, 1986. His degrees were B.A., 1957, B.S., 1959, and M.A., 1959, all at Roosevelt University, and Ph.D., University of North Carolina, 1963. Novick's positions included the Educational Testing Service (ETS), 1963-1970, and the University of Iowa from 1970 to his death. From 1970 to 1974 he had a joint appointment with the American College Testing Program (ACT). At Iowa he was professor of education and statistics.

The papers reflect Novick's professional activity, publications, research, teaching, and travel in educational and psychological testing. Specific interests included Bayesian statistical methods, computer-assisted data analysis (CADA), and psychometrics. At Iowa, Novick served on the Hancher Auditorium Review Committee. He was a member, fellow, or officer of the American Educational Research Association, the American Psychological Association, the American Statistical Association, and the Psychometric Society. Novick's research included contacts with U.S. Department of Defense agencies. Correspondents in Great Britain, Japan, the Netherlands, and the United States include Allan Birnbaum, Hans F. Cronbach, Morris H. DeGroot, Stephen E. Fienberg, W.J. Hall, Ronald K. Hambleton, Edwin P. Hollander, P.H. Jackson, D.V. Lindley, H.G. Macintosh, Irv Molenaar, Kazno Shigemasu, Robert L. Thorndike, and Hiroshi Watanabe.

The Novick Papers are largely correspondence arranged in chronological order, with some miscellaneous folders and folders on specific professional and other bodies. Beginning with January 1974, each month of correspondence is preceded by a calendar listing sender, recipient, and subject or key word for many letters.
Journal of Educational Statistics. V. 12, n. 1 (Spring 1987), features several articles about Novick's life and career, including Leonard S. Feldt and Robert V. Hogg. "Melvin R. Novick: Recollections of Two Iowa Colleagues."

Folder, "Novick, Melvin," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG01.0015.003)

Records of the College of Education (RG09.0001.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1962 May-December
  • Correspondence - 1963 February-December
  • Correspondence - 1964
  • Correspondence - 1965
  • Lord and Novick, Mental Test Theory - 1965
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1966
  • Correspondence - 1967
  • Correspondence - 1968 January-September
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence - 1968 October-December
  • Correspondence - 1969
  • Correspondence - 1970 January-August
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence - 1970 September-December
  • Correspondence - 1971
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence - 1972 January-November
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence - 1972 December
  • Correspondence - 1973 January-October
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1973 November-December
  • Correspondence - 1974 January-October
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence - 1974 November-December
  • Correspondence - 1975 January-October
  • Box 9:
  • Correspondence - 1975 November-December
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence - 1971-1975
  • Correspondence - 1976 January-May
  • Box 10:
  • Correspondence - 1976 June-December
  • Correspondence - 1977 January
  • Box 11:
  • Correspondence - 1977 February-September
  • Box 12:
  • Correspondence - 1977 October-December
  • Correspondence - 1978 January-March
  • Box 13:
  • Correspondence - 1978 April-November
  • Box 14:
  • Correspondence - 1978 December
  • Correspondence - 1979 January-July
  • Box 15:
  • Correspondence - 1979 August-December
  • Correspondence - 1980 January
  • Box 16:
  • Correspondence - 1980 February-October
  • Box 17:
  • Correspondence - 1980 November-December
  • Correspondence - 1981 January-July
  • Box 18:
  • Correspondence - 1981 August-December
  • Correspondence - 1982 January-April
  • Box 19:
  • Correspondence - 1982 May-December
  • Correspondence - 1983 January-April
  • Box 20:
  • Correspondence - 1983 May-December
  • Correspondence - 1984 January-May
  • Box 21:
  • Correspondence - 1984 July-December
  • Correspondence - 1985 January-June
  • Correspondence, American Psychological Association Division 5 - 1980 September-December
  • Box 22:
  • Correspondence, American Psychological Association Division 5 - 1981 January-August
  • Correspondence, Office of the Secretary of Defense - 1983 June-December
  • Correspondence, Office of the Secretary of Defense - 1984 January-November
  • Correspondence, Office of the Secretary of Defense - 1985 January-September
  • Correspondence and documentation, Marine Corps/Center for Naval Analyses - 1983 June-1984 October
  • Correspondence and documentation, Navy Personnel Research and Development Center - 1983 July-1984 April
  • Correspondence, Army Research Institute for the Behavioral and Social Sciences - 1983 June
  • Correspondence and documentation, Air Force Human Resources Laboratory - 1983 August-1985 May
  • Box 23:
  • Correspondence, Journal of Educational Statistics Management Committee - 1981 April-1984 January
  • Correspondence, Journal of Educational Statistics Management Committee - 1983 September-December
  • Correspondence, Journal of Educational Statistics Management Committee - 1984
  • Correspondence, Journal of Educational Statistics Management Committee - 1985
  • Correspondence, Journal of Educational Statistics Management Committee - 1986 January-May
  • Hancher Auditorium Review Committee - 1983 December
  • Hancher Auditorium Review Committee - 1984 January-May
  • Miscellaneous correspondence and documents - 1977-1986