Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the John E. McAdam papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1930-1972
Creator: McAdam, John E. (1930-1972)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0228
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University Archives by John E. McAdam in 1984 and by the Psychology Library in April 1988. Processed in December 2007.

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

"John Eldon McAdam was born June 25, 1915 in Clifton Hill, Missouri. He graduated from Prairie Hill High School in Missouri in 1931. He received his B.S. in education at Warrensburg Teachers College (Central Missouri State University) in 1934. He took the A.M. degree in secondary education at the University of Missouri in 1940 and the Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) degree there in 1946. He served as teacher, superintendent, and principal of several Missouri high schools during the 1930s. He was assistant professor of education at the University of Missouri from 1944 to 1946.

Mr. McAdam joined the faculty of the State University of Iowa College of Education in 1946 as assistant professor. He was promoted to associate professor in 1950 and full professor in 1959. He was director of University High School from 1959 to 1966. In 1966 he became chairman, Division of Secondary Education. He was made coordinator of Student Services and Field Experiences in 1980 and retired in 1982.

He married Katherine F. Hampton on December 14, 1935, and had two daughters, Eleanor and Esther, and a son, Loren. John E. McAdam died July 23, 1991.

The John E. McAdam papers include administrative records of University High School. Correspondence, meeting minutes, budget statistics, graduation rates, course offerings, and staff salaries are organized chronologically.
The academic records of individual University High School students are held at the University of Iowa Office of the Registrar.

Folder, "McAdam, John E.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the University Schools (RG 09.07)

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.