Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ernest Horn Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1902-1968
Creator: Horn, Ernest (1882-1967)
Extent: 26.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0223
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa professor of education, 1917-1952. Founder of the University Elementary School.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries by Mr. and Mrs. Horn in 1967 and 1968. Processed by Debra Neal in 1984 and Earl M. Rogers in May 1996. Guide posted to the Internet in 2000; updated January 2008.

Preferred Citation: Ernest Horn Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Ernest Horn was born in Mercer County, Missouri, July 17, 1882, and died in Iowa City, November 9, 1967. His degrees were B.S., University of Missouri, 1907; M.A., 1908; Ph.D., 1914, both Columbia University; and LL.D., University of Northern Colorado, 1940. He was principal of the University Elementary School, University of Missouri, and the Speyer School, Columbia University, and also taught at the University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, and other schools. Horn became Professor of Education at the University of Iowa in 1915, served as the first director of the University Elementary School, and became Professor Emeritus in 1952. While in Colorado he was given the nickname ?Tom,? for the Western outlaw Tom Horn. Elementary schools in Iowa City and Greeley are named for him.

The Ernest Horn Papers reflect his research and publications in geography, history, and other social science education  spelling, and vocabulary. Organizations prominently represented include the American Historical Association Commission on the Social Studies, the Canada - United States Committee on Education, the University of Iowa University Elementary School, and other schools where Horn studied or taught. Correspondents include Charles A. Beard (letters currently cataloged as Special Collections manuscripts), Madeline Darrough Horn, and University of Iowa education deans and presidents.
Stein, Frances Jordan. "Ernest Horn's Ideas on Education within the Context of the Progressive Education Movement in America." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Iowa, 1973. It contains a bibliography of Horn?s publications, compiled by Thelma Peterson and later extended by Lloyd L. Smith.

Folder, "Horn, Ernest," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG01.0015.003)

Kaufmann, S tephen Richard. "Choosing the Middle Way: Ernest Horn's Contribution to the Commission on the Social Studies in the Schools." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Iowa, 1983.

Records of the University Schools (RG09.0007.001)

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.