Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lou Brown Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1959-1988
Creator: Brown, Lou (1959-1988)
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0218
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Associate professor of Special Education's curriculum development materials.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Lou Brown Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Louis Franklin Brown joined the staff at the University of Iowa in 1959 as assistant educator and psychologist in the Center for the Mentally Retarded. Ten years later, the department was renamed Special Education. Brown was named assistant professor in Education and principal of the Hospital School in 1964. He served as associate professor of Special Education from 1968 until his retirement in 1988.

According to Epsilon Bulletin, Vol. 39, 1965, Brown taught in several Iowa school systems prior to coming to the University of Iowa, and he was assistant professor at Bowling Green State University from 1963 to 1965.

In 1950, Brown received his B. A. degree from Coe College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, and his Ph. D. at the State University of Iowa in 1961. His dissertation was titled "A comparison of educational attainment between mentally retarded children in a school district operating adequate special classes and mentally retarded children in a school district with insufficient special classes."

Louis Brown and his wife, Betty A Brown, lived in Iowa City, Iowa. Louis Brown died January 26, 2002, at age 79.

These papers are primarily curriculum development booklets, bulletins, and reports from the years Louis Brown was on faculty.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Reprints
  • Unpublished article - 1976
  • Paper by Brown, The Special Class: Some Aspects for Special Educators to Ponder, February - 1968
  • Research proposal by Brown - 1968
  • Classroom Management course developed by Brown - 1975
  • Gray Oral Reading Test, n.d.
  • Analyzing Math Worksheets, n.d.
  • Practicum by Kathy Boeke, Spring - 1987
  • Exceptional Children course materials - 1980
  • Workshop, State of Iowa Department of Education - 1981
  • Workshop, State of Iowa Department of Education - 1987
  • Workshop materials, n.d.
  • Functional Basic Reading Series, n.d.
  • Reports - 1963-1977
  • Papers by other authors
  • Resources for families, n.d.
  • Miscellaneous publications - 1960, 1978
  • Box 2:
  • Epsilon Bulletin - 1965
  • Curriculum Development booklets
    4 folders
  • Box 3:
  • Methods and Procedures course instructions - 1976
    5 folders
  • Box 4:
  • Course materials
    4 folders

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers