Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Frederick Francis Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1928-1952
Creator: Francis, Frederick (1886-1973)
Extent: .50 linear foot.
Collection Number: RG99.0210
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor and Head of Dental Pathology, Therapeutics, and Periodontia, 1925-1953. Correspondence and administrative memos.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to University Archives from the State Historical Society of Iowa in March 1975. Guide posted to the Internet in May 2010.

Preferred Citation: Frederick Francis Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Frederick David Francis was born July 9, 1886, in Windfall, Indiana. He graduated from Plainfield Academy and Earlham College, where he received a B. S. in 1911 with a major in chemistry. In 1915 he married Laura Belle Wright of Idaville, Indiana. Francis taught in public schools in Indiana and was superintendent of schools at Gilman, Iowa, before he and Laura moved to Iowa City in 1920.
 
Laura taught junior high school while Francis earned a Doctor of Dental Surgery degree from the State University of Iowa, graduating in June 1924. That same year he worked as an assistant demonstrator at SUI and was promoted to instructor (1925), assistant professor (1929), associate professor (1939), and was made full professor in 1943. He was named head of the Dental Pathology, Therapeutics, and Periodontia department in 1944. He received grant money from the National Institutes of Health from 1948-1950 to research oral cancer. Francis retired in 1953 and died November 19, 1973, the same year the College of Dentistry occupied the new Dental Science Building.

The Frederick D. Francis papers contain administrative correspondence and lecture notes relating to his position as professor and head of the Department of Dental Pathology, Therapeutics and Periodontia at the College of Dentistry.
Folder, "Francis, Frederick," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Folder, "Bryan, Alvin W.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Records of the College of Dentistry (RG08.0001.001)

Papers of Ernest Sahs (RG99.0213)

Papers of Earle S. Smith (RG99.0215)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1928-1944
  • College of Dentistry history, salaries, enrollments - 1930-1952
  • Teaching and administration, College of Dentistry - 1927-1951
  • Sub-Series: Professional associations
  • Box 1:
  • American Academy of Applied Nutrition - 1942-1951
  • American Association of Dental Schools - 1935-1951
  • American Dental Association - 1936, 1942

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.