Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Frank A. Stromsten Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1897-1905
Creator: Stromsten, Frank A. (1872-1958)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0196
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor in Biological Sciences. Taught zoology courses 1905-1950. Course notebooks.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970.

Preferred Citation: Frank A. Stromsten Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Frank Albert Stromsten was born April 5, 1872, in Corydon, Iowa. He received his B.S. in June 1900 from the State University of Iowa. He held a fellowship in the Department of Animal Morphology and Physiology under Professor Gilbert L. Houser from 1900 until 1902. He received his M.S. in June 1902 and then served as assistant instructor for one year. From 1903 until 1905 he held a fellowship at Princeton University and took the Sc.D. degree.
 
He returned to the State University of Iowa as instructor of zoology in September 1905. He was promoted to assistant professor in 1910, and associate professor in 1918. He conducted research about turtles at the Iowa Lakeside Laboratory at Lake Okoboji and became acting director of this facility from 1923 through 1926. He reduced his teaching schedule to part time in 1942 and retired in 1950.
 
In 1910 he married Grace Swaney and they had two children. Frank Stromsten died November 26, 1958.

The Frank A. Stromsten papers include course notebooks he wrote while studying at the State University of Iowa and Princeton University, 1897-1905.
Folder, "Stromsten, Frank A.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Folder, "Houser, Gilbert Logan," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Folder, "Solursh, Michael," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Papers of Michael Solursh (RG99.0195)

Stromsten, Frank Albert. "The History of the Department of Zoology of the State University of Iowa." Bios (Mount Vernon, Iowa) 21 (March 1950): 8-30

Papers of Charles C. Nutting (RG99.0194)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • State University of Iowa course notebooks, some undated - 1897
  • Princeton course notebooks - 1903-1905