Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Norman C. Meier Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1906-1964
Creator: Meier, Norman C. (1893-1967)
Extent: 12.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0163
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor of psychology, University of Iowa, from 1923 until 1964. Designed tests to measure artistic aptitude, and audience response. Correspondence, photographs, lectures.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 5, 6, 15, 16, 24

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Department of Psychology. Collection processed by Earl M. Rogers. Guide created and posted to the Internet by Denise Anderson, May 2007.

Preferred Citation: Norman C. Meier Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Norman Charles Meier was born February 22, 1893 in Carrollton, Missouri. He graduated from Central High School in Kansas City, Missouri, in 1914. Mr. Meier worked as an apprentice draftsman in Pittsburgh in 1906, advanced to draftsman by 1914, and worked for the U.S. Geological Survey in that capacity in 1917. Mr. Meier served during World War I at American Expeditionary Forces (AEF) headquarters in Chaumont, France. He returned from service to work as a draftsman for a Chicago company, while also attending classes, until 1921.
 
Meier earned his Ph.B. and M.A. at the University of Chicago in 1921 and 1922. He took his Ph.D. at the University of Iowa in 1926. Dr. Meier joined the University of Iowa Department of Psychology in 1922 as an assistant. He was promoted to instructor, then associate, became assistant professor in 1927, then associate professor, and was made full professor in 1954. He retired in 1964.
 
Dr. Meier is well known for the tests he designed for assessing artistic aptitude. These were devised, in part, through his study of 100 artists from eight countries. His areas of research were psychology of art, and social and political behavior. Meier's research in the latter field resulted in methods of measuring audience response to theatre and broadcast programs. He also studied mob behavior and crowd control. Courses he taught included Social Psychology, Psychology of International Relations, Psychology of Social Control, Public Opinion and Propaganda, and Psychology of Propaganda. George Gallup was a student of Dr. Meier, who later developed a successful public polling organization. During the 1950s, Meier lectured in Canada, England, France, and Belgium, as well as many U.S. cities. Under a Fulbright grant, Dr. Meier was a consultant at the University of Paris in 1956 to 1957, during the establishment of the Laboratory of Esthetics at the Sorbonne. His work was widely published.
 
Meier married Clea Mae Grimes, and they had two sons, Mark F. in 1925, and George Edwin in 1930. Norman C. Meier died November 2, 1967.

This collection is comprised of correspondence, publications, lectures, articles about and examples of artist's work, a scrapbook of family related material, hand-drawn diagrams, and visual material in the form of photographs, slides, and fragile glass plate negatives.

Subject files are arranged alphabetically in boxes 1 through 9, and include papers, lectures, clippings, and other materials. These folders are listed as provided by Dr. Meier.

The bulk of this collection relates to the nearly forty-year career of Norman C. Meier with the University of Iowa Department of Psychology, where he developed tests to measure artistic aptitude, and a device to measure audience response.

Meier's University of Iowa Ph.D. dissertation, "The Use of Aesthetic Judgment in the Measurement of Art Talent," was written in 1926, during a time of development of other aptitude testing at the University of Iowa. The Iowa Testing Programs: the first fifty years, by Julia J. Peterson, describes the birth of a testing program within the University of Iowa College of Education in 1928. A related testing program that developed from the Iowa Testing Programs is the widely used American College Testing Program (ACT).

The "Meier Art Tests: I. Art Judgment " (1940) and "Meier Art Tests: II. Aestheitic Perception" (1963) and associated manuals and scoring sheets are located in Box 14a.
Photographs, Norman Meier conducting tests, in oversize drawer B7

Folder, "Meier, Norman C.," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Department of Psychology Records (RG06.0030.001)

Gallup Organization Papers (MsC 0811)

Edward Charles Mabie Papers (RG99.0188)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SUBJECT FILES
Series 2: GENERAL
Series 3: COURSES, LECTURES, SPEECHES
Series 4: RESEARCH
Series 5: ART JUDGMENT TESTS
Series 6: TRADEMARK
Series 7: NEGATIVES, FILMS, SLIDES
Series 8: PERSONAL
Series 9: OVERSIZE BOX

  • Series 1: SUBJECT FILES
  • Box 1:
  • A - 1930-1963
    Correspondence; Report of the Packaging Discussion Group, American Marketing Association
  • AAUP sub-committee, faculty salaries study; University Council Public Relations Committee - 1950-1951
    Research, report, recommendation
  • Acknowledgements for Studies in the Psychology of Art, volume 3 - 1939
  • Aesthetic Perception Test - 1962
    Test results
  • Agriculture, U. S. Department of - 1949
    Job offer
  • American artists - 1955
    Contact information
  • American Institute of Public Opinion - 1935-1951
    Includes correspondence and publications with George Gallup
  • "Accuracy of Modern Polling Techniques in Making Election Forecasts," by George Gallup, director of AIPO
  • The New Science of Public Opinion measurement
    Paper by Norman C. Meier
  • American Philosophical Society - 1955-1956
    Correspondence, including to President Hancher regarding research plans
  • American Psychological Association (APA) - 1936-1948
    Correspondence
  • APA, Penn State - 1950
    Correspondence
  • APA resolution - 1949
    Correspondence
  • APA Chicago meeting - 1951
    Correspondence
  • APA Committee on Questionnaires - 1952
  • American Psychologist letter to the editor, n.d.
  • American Society for Aesthetics - 1948
    Invitation to membership
  • "Applied Psychology" - 1939
    Proposal for new course
  • Art for Every Child
    Includes paper, "The Engineering of Art Appreciation," and Harmony selector color wheel
  • Art Institute of Chicago - 1935-1963
    Correspondence, including a list of contemporary artists
  • Art Judgment Test, new norms for - 1940-1941
    Correspondence
  • Art Judgment tests administered - 1940-1941
    Correspondence with high school and university art instructors across the United States
  • Artists - 1939
    Completed personal data forms, including one from France
  • Audience Research (see also Young & Rubicam, Inc. in folder Y) - 1941-1952
    Correspondence
  • B - 1934-1963
    Correspondence, 2 folders. Folder 2 includes Otis Intelligence Test
  • Baker, J. Ella - 1934-1935
    Principal of Phillips School, Des Moines
  • Bausch & Lomb - 1935-1937
    Correspondence, including slide cooling attachment literature
  • Benton, Thomas Hart - 1962-1963
    Friend of Grant Wood
  • Bowen, Howard R. - 1966
    Letter to President Bowen
  • Berminghaus, Oscar - 1932-1933
    Taos, New Mexico, artist. Correspondence, sketches
  • Best to poorest students - 1930
    Correspondence and list of ranked students
  • Box 2:
  • Bosin, F. Blackbear, of Great Plains Studio - 1956-1967
    Native American Indian artist. Correspondence, clipping, exhibition programs
  • Boyd Printing Co., Albany, New York - 1936-1939
    Correspondence
  • Browne, Schuyler & Beveridge law firm - 1965
    Goodyear legal issue
  • Brighouse, Dr. Gilbert - 1933-1940
    Correspondence
  • Bureau of Audience Research - 1946
    Correspondence
  • C - 1934-1963
    Correspondence
  • Clarification of policy on status of the Bureau of Audience Research - 1938-1948
    Correspondence
  • California, University of - 1940
    Summer session paper delivered, "Public Opinion and the International Situation"
  • Carnegie Corporation - 1935-1939
    Spelman-Carnegie research, correspondence
  • Children's mural - 1965-1967
    Correspondence. Includes one slide of the mural, affixed to the folder
  • Collective Thinking Project - 1943
    Includes correspondence, including from Senator Guy M. Gillette; Meier's biographical information; paper, "A Plan for the Accomplishment of Creative Thinking Oriented Toward Constructive World Policy"; "Outline of a Technique for Effecting Creative Thinking on Matters of State Policy"
  • Conference papers, duplicates - 1949
    Transcript of Meier presentation, "Should Political Forecasts be Made?"; "Applied Research: Journalism," by Ralph O. Nafziger
  • Copyright permissions obtained by Meier for publication of images - 1927-1941
    Correspondence
  • Correspondence to Dr. Meier - 1938-1967
  • Courses taught by Meier, some n.d. - 1930-1939
    Course lists
  • Cowles, Gardner, Jr., of Des Moines Register - 1935-1938
    Correspondence
  • Christensen, Erwin O., American Federation of Arts - 1930-1934
    Correspondence, includes report to the Advisory Committee of the Conference for Research in Art, July 1932
  • "Creative processes in artists" - 1956
    Paper by Norman C. Meier
  • Crossley, Archibald M., - 1949
    Address to Milwaukee Advertising Club; "The Pre-Election Polls of 1948," from Social Science Research Council, Bulletin 60
  • D - 1935-1965
    Correspondence
  • Daniels, Jack - 1958-1963
    "Bee Angell and Associates survey as made for the Jack Daniel Distillery, December 1958 and January 1959"; Meier expenses for his services to this case
  • Davis, Harvey H., executive dean, S.U.I. Division of Research and Teaching - 1949
    Correspondence, research notes
  • Department of Defense - 1951
    Correspondence regarding draft of report
  • "Development of The Artistic Nature of the Child" - 1929
    Presentation made after publication of Meier-Seashore Art Judgment Test
  • Duncan vs. Dell law case - 1962-1964
    Correspondence, research notes
  • Duncan vs. Dell, and Yo-Yo - 1961-1964
    Outline of cross-examination; correspondence from Charles B. Cannon, attorney
  • Box 3:
  • Du Pont advertising department - 1960
    Correspondence
  • Dryce, Tom - 1963
    Correspondence of New Mexico artist
  • E - 1962-1963
    Correspondence
  • Letters from art judges - 1932-1933
    Correspondence
  • Education By Radio - 1934-1937
    2 folders. Monthly bulletin published by the National Committee on Education by Radio
  • Elementary Psychology project method - 1929
    Clapp-Young Test, Frank L. Clapp and Robert V. Young
  • F - 1932-1966
    Correspondence
  • Former students
    Correspondence, including with Ensign Marjorie Hargrove, a WAVE, writing from the U. S. Naval Hospital in Philadelphia, for whom Meier recommends a promotion to officer
  • Walter D. Fuller Company, registry - 1953-1961
    Correspondence
  • Fulbright papers - 1955
    Correspondence
  • G - 1932-1966
    Correspondence
  • Galloway, George B. - 1946
    Library of Congress Legislative Reference Service survey
  • Gallup, George H. - 1945-1958
    Correspondence, front cover of U. S. News & World Report, May 23, 1952
  • Gallup Poll, November - 1940
    Forms, clippings. "A Personal Report," from George Gallup to the executives of the American Institute of Public Opinion, November 9, 1940
  • Gallup Poll
    Including "LBJ Handling of Vietnam"
  • Gallup, congressional investigation - 1945
    Correspondence
  • General Motors vs. Cadillac Marine & Boat Company - 1959-1963
    Correspondence
  • General Psychology - 1923
    Lecture outlines
  • Graduate school, Creative Art Project - 1935
    Proposal
  • Grimes-Meier, Clea - 1959
    Correspondence regarding her mother's property
  • H - 1935-1963
    Correspondence
  • Hallmark Cards, Inc. - 1961-1963
    Correspondence
  • Hancher, Virgil M. - 1949-1961
    Correspondence. President, University of Iowa
  • Hayden, Estelle - 1928-1940
    Director of art, Iowa Board of Education
  • Heredity vs. environment, n.d.
    Meier paper, "A New View of the Heredity-Environment Problem: Interlinkage, Findings of Fifteen Years Study of a Special Ability"
  • "History and Appreciation of the Fine Arts" - 1936
    Courses
  • Henry Holt and Company - 1949-1952
    Correspondence. Publishers
  • Box 4:
  • Howe, Oscar - 1959, 1963
    Correspondence, article. Native American Indian artist. Head of Department of Art, Vermillion, South Dakota
  • I - 1935-1964
    Correspondence; conference program; reprint, "Polls and the 1948 Election -- In Retrospect"
  • Inter-Society Color Council, National Bureau of Standards - 1942-1943
    Correspondence, paper "Emotions Versus Measurement in Teaching Color"
  • Iowa Academy of Science - 1950
    Correspondence
  • Iowa Poll - 1944-1945
    Correspondence
  • Iowa Poll - 1946-1953
    Correspondence
  • Iowa Poll letters - 1944-1945
    Correspondence
  • Iowa Poll advance proofs - 1944-1945
  • Iowa Poll reports - 1945
  • Iowa Poll reports - 1946
  • Iowa Poll letters from Henry J. Kroeger - 1944
    2 folders
  • Box 5:
  • J - 1935-1965
    Correspondence
  • John Herron School of Art - 1963
    Correspondence
  • Jahn & Ollier Engraving Company, Chicago - 1936-1959
    Correspondence. Makers of printing plates
  • Johnson Reprint Corporation, New York - 1965-1967
    Correspondence. Publishers
  • K - 1935-1963
    Correspondence
  • Kellett, Kathryn - 1936-1939
    Correspondence. Minnesota artist
  • Kennedy, Mrs. John F. - 1966
    Correspondence from secretary to Mrs. John F. Kennedy
  • KCRG radio, Cedar Rapids, Iowa - 1948-1949
    Correspondence
  • L - 1932-1966
    Correspondence
  • Lampa, Howard, Chicago - 1960-1969
    Trade mark research
  • Lampa & Christophersen, Chicago - 1940-1959
    Trade mark research
  • Larvie, Calvin - 1962-1963
    Correspondence with South Dakota artist
  • Lectures, correspondence - 1938
  • Lockhart, Loren - 1933-1935
    Correspondence with Missouri child artist. Includes "A Case of Art Ability Following Sight Recovery in Seven-Year-Old Child Blind From Birth." Clipping, photographs.
  • Lowenfield, Viktor - 1950
    Correspondence with professor at Pennsylvania State College
  • Lynde, Stan - 1962-1963
    Correspondence with Montana cartoonist
  • M - 1935-1961
    Correspondence
  • Mc - 1935-1963
    Correspondence
  • McCloy, William - 1937-1964
    Correspondence with professor at Drake University and Connecticut College, including his paper. See also Box 13
  • MacGowan, Clara - 1938-1940
    Correspondence with professor at Northwestern University
  • McGraw-Hill Book Company, Inc., New York - 1947
    Correspondence includes preface, list of illustrations
  • Box 6:
  • Student ratings of Norman Meier, n.d. - 1950-1959
    2 folders
  • Meier's radio presentations, n.d.
  • Meier's speaking engagements - 1938, 1952, 1953
  • Meier's talks and papers, n.d.
    Presidential address, Division on Esthetics [his spelling]; "Pictures on Everyday Living"
  • Meier lectures in Louisville, Lexington, and Illinois, n.d.
  • Manuscript for a book, "For Future Reference"
    Handwritten 1919 letter to ex-girlfriend Margaret Haggott
  • Meier Audio Response equipment - 1949, 1950
    Article, correspondence, photograph
  • Meier Art Judgment Test mailing list - 1940-1942
    Includes photographs
  • Meier newspaper clippings
    2 folders
  • Meier, Norman C., photographs
  • Meier, Norman C. - 1944
    Photographs; Who's Who in America ; correspondence
  • Meier, Norman C., unpublished manuscript, "Panty Raids: Craze or symptom?"
    2 folders
  • Meier correspondence - 1930-1939
  • Readers Digest, reader preference surveys - 1942
    Correspondence
  • U. S. Navy Pre-Flight School - 1942
    Correspondence
  • Chicago Tribune, "Pictorial Materials in Morale Building and Maintenance" - 1943
    Correspondence
  • Meier study on comics - 1943
    Correspondence
  • Headquarters, Army Ground Forces, Washington, D. C. - 1946
    Correspondence
  • Use of Art Judgment Test - 1950
    Correspondence
  • Governor Sherman Adams, assistant to General Eisenhower - 1952
    Correspondence regarding the creation of a position
  • Republican National Committee - 1952
    Correspondence regarding election predictions
  • Meier, Norman C., vita - 1942, 1963
    Biographical
  • Meier, Norman C., appointments, salary - 1948-1955
  • Meier research grants, travel - 1957-1962
  • Meier SUI work - 1945-1948
    Correspondence, including on leave to New York and Princeton to work with George Gallup
  • University Committee on Research Professorships - 1955
    Correspondence, Meier's application rejected
  • Meier publications
    Bibliography
  • Meier job application to University of California, Berkeley - 1941
  • Meier job application to Stanford University - 1949
  • Meier job application draft - 1961
  • Meier-Seashore scoring sheets
  • Meier-Seashore test records
  • Meier-Seashore test revision
  • Meier, Norman C., three papers, n.d.
    "The Measurement of Public Opinion"; "Problems of Aesthetic Evaluation"; no title
  • Box 7:
  • Mauldin, William, editor of Chicago Sun-Times - 1963
    Correspondence
  • Manuscript, "Art and Man"
  • Martin, Henry P., Jr., syndicate manager, The Register and Tribune, Des Moines, Iowa - 1938-1939
    Correspondence
  • Martin, Thomas E., Iowa Congressman - 1942-1954
    Correspondence
  • Meier, Norman - 1962-1967
    Correspondence
  • Memorandum from Meier, n.d.
    Spelman-Carnegie research; "German Expansion and U. S. Policy"
  • Military Psychology. Berkeley lecture "Public Opinion and the International Situation" - 1940-1942
    Correspondence, papers, pamphlets
  • Military Psychology publication documents - 1943
  • Military service research - 1950-1951
    Correspondence, outline to Department of Defense Research and Development Board
  • Minnesota Poll, a weekly survey publication - 1944-1945
  • "The Mob"
    Paper
  • Monograph article, "Reconstructive Imagination"
  • N - 1932-1963
    Correspondence
  • Nashville groups - 1937
    Correspondence
  • National Issues, Inc., director Norman C. Meier - 1938-1940
    2 folders
  • Navy Collective Thinking Project
    Paper, "Evaluation of Ideas as a Basis for Executive Action"
  • News items - 1939
    Paper, "Third Volume of Carnegie Study Appears: Concludes Ten Years of Research"
  • Nixon, Richard M. - 1961, 1964
    Correspondence from Richard M. Nixon, bearing his signature
  • O - 1936-1963
    Correspondence, including the Owatonna Art Education Project, funded by the Carnegie Foundation and conducted by the University of Minnesota
  • Objective study, Military Psychology - 1942
    Correspondence, papers
  • P - 1939-1963
    Correspondence
  • Parking problem, "Evaluation of the Proposal for an East Iowa Avenue Parking Garage" - 1958
    Correspondence, outline, notes
  • Patrick, Dr. Catharine - 1949
    Correspondence
  • Permission to reproduce illustrations - 1938-1940
    Correspondence
  • "Pictorial Materials in Morale Building and Maintenance" - 1942
    Paper
  • Box 8:
  • Political Psychology course - 1944
    Includes "Democratic National Committee"
  • Princeton conference - 1946
    Includes Daily Iowan poll
  • Propaganda - 1944
    Includes Army Talks, Committees of Correspondence, Council for Democracy
  • Propaganda lecture to Iowa City Women's Club - 1933
  • Psychological Corporation - 1933, 1940
    New York marketing company
  • Psychology of Advertising - 1940
    Course syllabus and final exam
  • Psychology of Advertising - 1941
    Course lecture notes
  • Psychology of Art seminar, Summer - 1941
    Psychology of Propaganda
  • Psychology of International Relations, n.d.
    Course final exam
  • Public Opinion and Propaganda lecture notes - 1938-1940
    Includes correspondence
  • "The Measurement of Public Opinion," n.d.
    paper and final exam
  • Public Opinion course on propaganda - 1937-1939
    Includes "Public Opinion and Propaganda," course outline and final exam 1939; "Measurement of Public Opinion" course outline, n.d.; "Public Opinion 1936," an article for the Saturday Evening Post, 1937
  • Public opinion polls in Mexico - 1949, 1950
    Correspondence, reprint
  • Public Opinion Quarterly - 1929-1949
    Princeton publication
  • Public opinion speaking engagements, some n.d. - 1936, 1939
  • Publication announcements, n.d.
  • Publications - 1941
    Paper, "Can Democracy Think?"
  • Q - 1942, 1947-1948, 1966
    Correspondence
  • Questions teachers would like answered through art education research, questionnaire - 1937
    2 folders
  • R - 1932-1963
    Correspondence, report
  • Radio talks - 1937-1940
    Extension Bulletin, schedule, correspondence
  • Reagan, Ronald - 1966
    Correspondence from assistant to Reagan
  • Redmon, Hayes, assistant to U. S. President Lyndon B. Johnson - 1965
    Correspondence
  • "Public Opinion Polls and the 1940 Campaign" - 1940
    Meier report, includes abstract
  • Reprint acknowledgments - 1941
  • Research funds - 1959
    Old Gold Development Fund
  • Reuther, Walter P., president of UAW-CIO - 1955
    Opinion survey
  • Reviews - 1939, 1944
    Includes "A Guide to Public Opinion Polls," by George Gallup
  • Rogers & Woodson Co., Chicago - 1941-1947
    Tooth brush survey; Pepsodent legal matter
  • Rogers and Woodson - 1940, 1946-1950
    Association test
  • S - 1935-1966
    Correspondence
  • Box 9:
  • St. Louis - 1937
    Correspondence
  • Social Psychology - 1940, 1941
    Course
  • St. Louis public schools - 1936
    Correspondence
  • School Arts Magazine - 1935, 1936
    Correspondence
  • Schulz, Charles M. Includes original "Peanuts" cartoon doodles - 1962
    Correspondence, real estate brochure
  • Social Science Research Council, New York - 1950, 1951
    Forecasts of election outcomes
  • Sorbonne - 1955
    Correspondence
  • Sorbonne lectures - 1955-1958
    3 folders
  • Special ability, papers on
  • Students tested - 1962-1964
    Includes clipped cartoons about U. S. President Johnson
  • Studies in the Psychology of Art
    Comments by reviewers
  • Steinhof, Dr. Eugen Gustav, director of National School of Decorative Art of Vienna - 1932
    Lecture, biographical pamphlet
  • Survey Research Center - 1947-1949
    Federal Reserve Bank series on consumer finances
  • T - 1935-1961
    Correspondence
  • Tests for courses - 1934-1938
  • Theatre audience research - 1953
    Papers, research
  • Third International Congress of Eugenics - 1932
    Correspondence; Eugenics Congress Announcement Number 2
  • U - 1932-1963
    Correspondence
  • V - 1940, 1941
    Correspondence; blank stationery
  • Veterans Special Instruction Program - 1945
    Correspondence, paper
  • W - 1931-1965
    Correspondence, including Grant Wood, and Grant Wood's completed "Tests of Mental Ability" July 10, 1935; Correspondence to Andrew Wyeth
  • War psychology - 1941, 1942
  • Washington University, St. Louis - 1963
    Correspondence
  • Washington survey; sample Gallup Poll form - 1950
    Research
  • "What We Now Know About Talent in Children: Results of the Seven-Year Spelman-Carnegie Program"
    Paper
  • Whitford, William G., professor of art education, University of Chicago - 1932-1938
  • World Association for Public Opinion Research - 1948-1952
    Council members, articles of incorporation
  • Y - 1935-1963
    Correspondence
  • "Your Child Can Appreciate Art"
    Paper
  • Z - 1935-1963
    Correspondence
  • Series 2: GENERAL
  • Box 10:
  • Reprints
    3 folders
  • Psychology Laboratory notebook - 1922-1927
  • Box 11:
  • Cuts used in making book illustrations
  • Printed examples of book illustrations includes Ding Darling cartoons
  • Box 12:
  • Manuscripts, some n.d. - 1940
  • Manuscript, "Measurement of Response to Radio Programs: An Appraisal of Methods," Summer - 1945
    By Norman Meier, technical consultant for Iowa Poll
  • Manuscript on interviewer's manual
  • Manuscript for terminal report, Creative Processes of Artists - 1965
  • Paper, "A Plan for the Objective Study of the Functioning of Public Opinion as the Modus Operandi of Democratic Social Organization"
  • Series 3: COURSES, LECTURES, SPEECHES
  • Box 12:
  • Course lectures, presentations
  • Course notes, "Psychology of Art"
  • Course notes, "Psychology of International Relations"
  • Genetic Studies in Artistic Capacity, course
  • Box 13:
  • Lecture, French Crisis - 1958
  • Public lectures
  • SUI lecture, "The Crisis in France," June 24 - 1958
  • Address, "Conditions Inherent in Research in Psychology-and-the-Arts," September 5 - 1967
  • Courses - 1956-1962
    Black binder
  • Box 14:
  • Courses 1949-1953 Includes blank stationery of the Bureau of Audience Research, State University of Iowa, School of Journalism
  • Presentation, National Opinion Research Center, University of Denver, March - 1944
  • Lecture, "Measurement of Public Opinion" - 1936
  • Lectures in Paris
  • Lectures, La Sorbonne, Paris - 1955-1956
  • Lectures - 1962-1965
  • Series 4: RESEARCH
  • Box 14:
  • Research funding - 1934
  • Research, Rust-Oleum and Goodyear
  • Artists exhibitions
  • Artists interviews - 1962
  • Artists, Native American Indians - 1959-1962
  • Research notes and descriptions of slides
    Includes "Snake Ritual of the Hopi"
  • Series 5: ART JUDGMENT TESTS
  • 14a:
  • The Meier-Seashore Art Judgment Test - 1929
    2 copies, one marked as a revision
  • Meier Art Tests I: Art Judgment - 1940
    3 copies, one spiral bound
  • Examiner's Manual (c.1930); (c1942) three copies. Descriptive pamphlet for Meir-Seashore (3 copies); for Meier Art Tests 3 copies - 1930, 1942
  • Answer sheets, scoring keys, and norms
  • Meier Art Tests II: Aesthetic Perception - 1963
    3 copies
  • Meier Art Tests I and II, scoring key - 1940, 1965
  • Answer keys and manuals for Meier Art Tests II - 1963, 1967
  • Meier Art Tests II: Aesthetic Perception - 1965
  • Series 6: TRADEMARK
  • Box 15:
  • Cannon, Charles B., Rust-Oleum vs. Tremco, trademark litigation
    5 folders
  • Goodyear, raincoats
  • Series 7: NEGATIVES, FILMS, SLIDES
  • Box 15:
  • Photographs of art
  • Slides
  • 15a:
  • Glass plate negatives of art
  • Films used in "Creative Image Study," by William A. McCloy - 1936
    See also McCloy folder, Box 5
  • Box 16:
  • Photographs, slides, negatives, glass plate negatives
  • Box 17:
  • Glass plate negatives
  • Box 18:
  • Glass plate negatives
  • Box 19:
  • Glass plate negatives
  • Box 20:
  • Glass plate negatives
  • Box 21:
  • Glass plate negatives
  • Box 22:
  • Glass plate negatives
  • Box 23:
  • Boxes of slides
  • Series 8: PERSONAL
  • Box 24:
  • Envelope of art reproduction from the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D. C.
  • Scrapbook of correspondence and photographs from sons, Mark and George - 1948
  • Family clippings about glaciers, articles
    Mark was a hydrologist with the U. S. Geological Survey
  • Family correspondence, some n.d. - 1954-1963
  • Correspondence - 1955-1965
    Correspondence, tax forms, Veterans Administration, reprints of Mark Meier
  • Subject file on glaciers movements - 1966
  • Cards received during illness - 1964
  • Condolence cards on the death of Norman Meier
    2 folders
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Photographs
    Including Camp Mills military training camp in Long Island, New York, ca. 1917
  • Photographs, Washington state - 1961-1967
  • Central High School, class reunion - 1914
    Including Alpha Delta Sigma fraternity membership; recognition from Governor Norman Erbe
  • Paris - 1956-1957
  • Travel - 1956
    Includes program of the Lido in Paris, cruise line menus
  • Travel postcards
    2 folders
  • Artists, articles about
  • Artists, examples of their work
    Includes Grant Wood greeting card
  • Artists, photographs, slides of their work
  • Photograph, rolled - 1929
    Participants of 9th International Congress of Psychology
  • Series 9: OVERSIZE BOX
  • Box 25:
  • Draftsman diagrams hand-drawn by Meier