Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Shambaugh Family Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1880-1953
Creator: Shambaugh Family
Extent: 27.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0152
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Benjamin Shambaugh (1871-1940) was a University of Iowa professor of political science and, for many years, superintendent of the State Historical Society of Iowa. He and his wife, Bertha (1870-1953), hosted many scholars' visits to the University.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Series IV

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries upon the death of Mrs. Shambaugh. Guide posted to Internet: May 1998; revised 2006 and 2008.

Preferred Citation: Shambaugh Family Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Benjamin Franklin Shambaugh was born January 29, 1871, in Elvira, Iowa. He graduated from the Iowa City Academy June 13, 1888. At the State University of Iowa he earned his B.Ph. June 16, 1892, and his M.A. June 15 the following year. He took his Ph.D. in June 1895 at the University of Pennsylvania. He was educated in Germany 1895-1896, and was an instructor and professor at S.U.I. from 1896 to 1940. It was here in Iowa City that he met and married Bertha Maude Horak in 1897. From 1900 until 1940 Benjamin Shambaugh was professor and head of the Political Science Department at S.U.I. He was superintendent and editor at the State Historical Society of Iowa, Iowa City, from 1907 to 1940. He served as president of the Mississippi Valley Historical Association in 1910, and president of American Political Science Association in 1930. Benjamin Shambaugh died in Iowa City on April 7, 1940.

Bertha Maude Horack Shambaugh was born in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, in 1871. She graduated from Iowa City High School in 1889, and attended the State University of Iowa 1889-1896. Bertha taught natural science at Iowa City High School from 1892 to 1897, until her marriage to Benjamin Shambaugh. Bertha authored Amana: The Colony of True Inspiration, and Amana That Was and Amana That is, in 1908 and 1933 respectively. Bertha Shambaugh died in Iowa City, Iowa, in 1953.

Benjamin and Bertha had no children. The Shambaugh Family Papers contain a good deal of information on the Horak-Horack and Shambaugh families. While we have done no extended genealogical work, the following paragraphs may prove useful.

Bertha's father, Frank, came to the United States in 1854 with his parents and seven siblings. The family name was spelled "Horak"and Frank J. Horak used this spelling throughout his life. His family appears to have used "Horack" for the most part, and Mrs. Shambaugh's full name appears in both forms. Since the Library of Congress Authority Record uses "Horack", that form is used in this finding aid.

Bertha's father was a lawyer. Her mother's name was Katharine Mosnat Horak. Katharine's father was J.J. Mosnat. Bertha had two brothers, Frank E. Horack (a professor of Political Science at the University of Iowa) and H. Claude Horack (a professor of law). Frank married Elizabeth Collins and seems to have had one son, Frank E., Jr. H[ugo] Claude had two sons, Harold Maclachlan Horack and Benjamin Shambaugh Horack, whom the Shambaughs referred to as "Son". He also had a daughter, Katharine Horack Dixon (Mrs. Jack), who in turn bore daughters Eleanor and Anne.

Benjamin Franklin Shambaugh had a brother, George E. Shambaugh, a doctor in Chicago, and a sister, Mrs. Roger Mahon.

The papers of Benjamin Franklin Shambaugh and Bertha Maude Horack Shambaugh are divided into five series: I. Benjamin Franklin Shambaugh, II. Bertha Maude Horack Shambaugh, III. Subject Files, IV. Photographs, V. Realia and oversized. Diplomas and certificates are filed with similar Archives materials in a map case drawer.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BENJAMIN SHAMBAUGH
Series 2: BERTHA SHAMBAUGH
Series 3: SUBJECT FILES
Series 4: FAMILY PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 5: OVERSIZED AND REALIA

  • Series 1: BENJAMIN SHAMBAUGH
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 16:
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Correspondence - 1886-1927
    14 folders
  • Box 17:
  • Correspondence - 1928-1940
    12 folders
  • Box 18:
  • Telegrams, March 31-April 11 - 1940
  • Correspondence - 1941-1953
    12 folders
  • Sub-Series: Index to important correspondents, with box and folder numbers
  • Box 18:
  • Adamic, Louis 17:11
  • Adams, James Truslow 17:7
  • Akins, Zoe 16:13
  • Bay, J. Christian 18:2
  • Beard, Charles A. 17:7
  • Beebe, William 24:3 page 5171
  • Bollinger, James W. 18:4; 33:3
  • Bowman, John G. 16:8-9; 17:8-9; 18:22
  • Boyd, Julian P. 18:5
  • Boyd, W.R. 17:11; 18:3-4, 7
  • Branch, E. Douglas 17:6
  • Brewer, Luther A. 21:1 page 2028; 40:1
  • Brigham, Johnson 16:2, 8; 23:1 page 3457; 34:6
  • Brown, John Mason 15:29; 18:2, 8; 24:2 page 4449; 24:3 page 5239
  • Brown, S. Joe 17:10; 18:2
  • Dawson, A.F. 16:4
  • Deemer, Horace E. 16:5
  • Dolliver, J. P. 15:29
  • Drewelowe, Eve (Van Ek) 16:14; 17:2; 18:2, 5
  • Drinkwater, John 22:4 page 3317, 3371
  • Durant, Will 15:29; 17:5, 7, 9, 12; 18:5; 22:3 page 3044; 24:3 page 5189; 25:2 page 5826; 32:2
  • Durant, Mrs. Will 23:5 page 4097
  • Dykstra, Clarence 25:1 page 5491
  • Ely, Richard T. 16:2
  • Flexner, Abraham, 17:5, 7
  • Frederick, John T. 21:5 page 2704
  • French, Alice 16:5
  • Gallup, George 25:1 page 5670
  • Garland, Hamlin 17:4 (Christmas Card); 17:8; 21:4 page 2435; 23:2 page 3582; 25:1 page 5511; Hamlin Garland’s daughter on her father’s death, 17:10
  • Guedalla, Philip 23:1 page 3383
  • Hall, W. Earl 17:8; 18:2
  • Hammil, John 40:5
  • Hancher, Virgil M. 17:12; 32:5; 33:2
  • Hart, Albert Bushell 16:7
  • Hebard, Grace Raymond 17:6
  • Hoover, Herbert 21:5 page 2578
  • Houghton, Dorothy D. 16:1, 11; 17:8-11; 18:2, 7; 24:1 page 4483; 39:9
  • Ingham, Harvey 15:29; 18:2
  • Irish, C. W. 16:2
  • Irish, John P. 16:9, 11
  • Jessup, Walter A. 18:5; 22:1 page 2802; 23:4 page 3923; 24:3 page 5159, page 5174
  • Jones, Laurence C. 17:8-9, 11-12; 18:2, 5, 7-8; 21:3 page 2354; 21:5 page 2705; 24:3 page 5158
  • Krensensky, Raymond 17:12; 24:4 page 5324
  • Laski, Harold J. 17:7
  • Le Compte, K. M. 18:1
  • Lippman, Walter 17:7
  • Lowden, Frank O. 15:29
  • Macbride, Thomas H. 16:1, 13, 15; 17:2-3, 5-6; 20:3 page 1433; 21:2 page 2167
  • MacLean, George E. 16:7; 17:2
  • Macy, Jesse 16:5
  • Martin, Thomas E. 17:11
  • Mawson, Sir Douglas 20:5 page 1669; 21:3 page 2242
  • Miller, Merle 17:11-12
  • Misak, Edward F. 17:11; 18:9
  • Patrick, G.T.W. 17:7, 11; 18:2-4, 6-7; 31:4
  • Pelzer, Louis 16:6-7
  • Peterson, William J. 24:4 page 5355; 34:6
  • Pickard, Josiah L. 16:3-5
  • Pownall, Dorothy Ashby 17:11
  • Powys, John Cooper, 17:7; 23:3 page 3773
  • Quick, Herbert 16:9, 11; 21:1 page 2029
  • Reynolds, Conger 17:10
  • Rutledge, Wiley 17:9, 12
  • Sabatini, Rafael 22:2 page 3027; 22:3 page 3042
  • Seagrove, Sadie 17:11
  • Shimek, Bohumil 22:3 page 3196
  • Speidel, Merritt C. 18: 9
  • Springer, John 16:10-13; 17:5
  • Stefansson, Vilhjalmur 21:2 page 2148; 23:3 page 3807; 23:5 page 4206
  • Taft, Lorado 16:15
  • Towner, H.M. 16:4
  • Turner, Frederick Jackson 16:5; 35:18 (two business cards)
  • Van Doren, Carl 26:1 page 6241
  • Van Ek, Eve. See Drewelowe, Eve (Van Ek)
  • Waymack, W. W. 15:29; 17:11-12; 18:2-5, 7-8, 12; 24:2 page 5079
  • Wilcox, Francis O. 17:8; 18:11
  • Wilder, Thornton 21:3 page 2295-96; 24:3 page 5199
  • Wilson, George A. 17:10-11
  • Sub-Series: Manuscripts
  • Box 1:
  • "Anarchism"
  • Printed in October No. of Current Encyclopedia
  • Applied History - 1912
    2 copies
  • Citizenship and Citizen Training
  • "Commission Government in Iowa: the Des Moines Plan." Publication no. 650 American Academy of Political and Social Science. Reprinted from The Annals, November - 1911
  • "Constitutional Disfranchisement of the Negro." Printed in Current Encyclopedia, November - 1901
    Ooriginal
  • "Constitutional Law." Published in Process, V:11
    Original
  • The Constitutions of Iowa: an Historical Essay - 1901
  • Material for use in writing Cyclopedia of American Government
  • Title page and preface to Debates of Iowa Constitutional Conventions, 1844-1846 1900 Original
  • "Des Moines Plan of City Government," paper on. Published in the Proceedings of the Political Science Association
    Original
  • Horace Emerson Deemer
  • Documentary Material Relating to the History of Iowa - 1895
    Copy of cover page
  • The Case of Scott vs. Sandford
    The Dred Scott Case
  • "The Founding of Iowa City," The Palimpsest, XX:5, May - 1939
  • Historical Introduction [to the constitution of Iowa], pocket edition
    Original
  • "History of Iowa City." Original notes and manuscript, written as Master’s Thesis, University of Iowa - 1893
    3 folders
  • Box 2:
  • The History of the Constitutions of Iowa.
  • The History of the Constitutions of Iowa. Chapter XIV
    Original
  • The Influence of Climate on Civilization. Prepared for Dr. Patten’s Seminary, University of Pennsylvania, January - 1894
  • "An Introduction to the Study of Government on Iowa." Original manuscript Doctor’s Thesis
    2 folders
  • "Iowa’s Century of History." Published in The Iowa Clubwoman, XiV:4, page 2, March-April - 1932
  • "The Living Philosophy of Benjamin Franklin." Published in The Executive’s Club News, 16:16, January 26 - 1940
  • Messages and Proclamations of the Governors of Iowa
    Fragment from printers copy
  • "The New Constitution of Alabama." Printed in Current Encyclopedia, December - 1901
    2 copies
  • "Old Capitol in Iowa City," notes regarding the construction of it. From the personal recollections of George H. Yewell, December 26 - 1922
  • Data to use in The Old Stone Capitol Remembers
    2 copies
  • The Old Stone Capitol Remembers, dedicated to Bertha M.H. Shambaugh
  • The Old Stone Capitol Remembers, chapter 1
  • Original government and charter outlines, compiled by Benjamin F. Shambaugh
  • Political Geography
    2 copies
  • Box 3:
  • "A Preliminary Report on the Public Archives of Iowa." Published in Reports of the American Historical Association, November - 1900
    Original
  • A Report on the Public Archives. Printed by the Historical Department, September - 1906
    Original
  • Some memoranda in the university lecturers and introducing speakers including a list of speakers
  • Some unpublished books
  • "State and local historical societies west of the Mississippi River"
    Copy of a report
  • The Teaching of Civics in the Secondary Schools
    2 copies
  • Training for Public Service
  • Trends in American Civilization: a Civic Interpretation
  • Sub-Series: Class Notes
  • Box 3:
  • Attitude of the courts toward squatters, claims, associations, quick claim deeds, contracts
  • The attitude of the government toward the settlers or “squatters”
  • Bibliographical references
  • Character of early settlers
  • Constitutions and resolutions of claim associations: Madison Co.; Dubuque Co; Lee Co.; Keokuk Co.; Mahaska Co.; Benton Co.; Polk Co.; Clinton Co.; Winneshiek Co.; Minnesota-St. Paul
  • Extra-constitutional government or squatter sovereignty
  • Box 4:
  • The great war
  • Historical - 1803-1836
  • Indian cessions to Iowa lands
  • Land offices and land districts in early Iowa
  • Local government in Iowa County (from Territorial Stat.)
  • Local government in Iowa: Iowa administration, from various sources
  • Local government in Iowa: road district from, Territorial Stat.
  • Local government in Iowa: school district, from Territorial Stat.
  • Local government in Iowa: township, from Territorial Stat.
  • Louisiana
  • Master’s thesis - 1893
    2 folders; early Iowa City
  • Michigan and Wisconsin: acts, history
  • Miscellaneous
  • Box 5:
  • The public surveys in Iowa
  • The sale of public lands in Iowa
  • The settlement of Iowa
  • Early settlers and claims
  • Territorial government in Iowa: executive, from Territorial Stat.
  • Territorial government in Iowa: judicial, from Territorial Stat.
  • Territorial government in Iowa: suffrage, elections, revenue, territorial treasury, from Territorial Stat.
  • Notebooks from Iowa City Academy, State University of Iowa, University of Pennsylvania
  • Iowa City Academy
  • Receipts for tuition, Iowa City Academy - 1886-1887
  • McBride's plant record, Iowa City Academy - 1887
  • Bibliography
  • Oliver Cromwell oration, Iowa City Academy
  • Notes from the seminary: a paper read and discussed October 11 - 1890
    English history term essay
  • The grandeur of self-sacrifice, Iowa City Academy
  • Gladstone wishes to change the policy of England
  • Growth of independence in New York, Seminary of American History
  • The missions around the Great Lakes; Seminary Paper, November 9 - 1889
  • Poverty of language. Essay for fall term - 1889
  • Republicanism in France
  • Richard Savage
  • The story of the early Greeks. Freshman, November 19 - 1888
  • What I am reading. Freshman English, fall - 1889
  • Witchcraft, a bibliography, Historical Seminary, December 7 - 1889
  • Miscellaneous items relating to the State University of Iowa - 1890
  • Receipts for tuition, State University of Iowa - 1888-1892
  • Schedule cards, State University of Iowa - 1891-1892
  • American History. Vol I-II - 1889
    S.U.I. Notes on lectures delivered by W. R. Perkins
  • Box 6:
  • American History. Vol. III -IV - 1890
    S.U.I. Notes on lectures delivered by W. R. Perkins
  • American History. Vol. V - 1890
    S.U.I. Notes on lectures delivered by W. R. Perkins
  • Biological laboratory. SUI notes on observations and experiments - 1890
  • Botany. Notes on lectures - 1889
  • English History. SUI notes on lectures delivered by Professor W.R. Perkins - 1890
  • English Prose. Notes on lectures by Professor Anderson - 1890
  • Geology. Notes on lectures delivered by Instructor Calvin
  • Box 7:
  • Grecian History. SUI notes on lectures delivered by Professor W.R. Perkins - 1888
  • Historical Politics. Notes on lessons
  • Index of materials
  • Military Science. Notes of lectures by Lieut. G. W. Gead - 1892
  • Municipal government under Professor Loos - 1892
  • Philosophy - 1891
  • Political Development history
  • Political Science. A study of the principles of government in the United States of America
  • Rome! Rome! Notes on lectures delivered by Professor W. R. Perkins - 1889
  • Western Philosophy history
  • Box 8:
  • French History. Notes on lectures delivered by Professor Robinson
  • SUI class schedules for junior and senior years
  • Economics and politics. Lecture notes by J. W. Jenks. Philadelphia meeting, July - 1894
  • Environment and the Race Relations. Lecture notes by R. Mayo-Smith. Philadelphia meetings, July - 1894
  • Miscellaneous notes found with notes from Philadelphia meeting, July - 1894
  • Political Economy. Lecture notes by John B. Clark. Philadelphia meeting, July - 1894
  • Lecture notes by Frank H. Giddings. Philadelphia meeting, July - 1894
  • Lecture notes by Arthur T. Hadley. Philadelphia meeting, July - 1894
  • Lecture notes by Simon N. Patten. Philadelphia meeting, July - 1894
  • Taxation. Lecture notes by E.R.A. Seligman. Philadelphia meeting, July - 1894
  • History of Economic Theory. Notes on lectures by Professor Patten - 1893
    Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania 2 copies
  • Notebook created while studying in Germany
  • Sub-Series: Speeches
  • Box 8:
  • "Approaches in liberal and cultural education," 19th annual Conference on Administration and Supervision, Iowa City, Iowa, October 6 - 1932
  • "The awakening of the student" - 1912
  • "The direction of political thought," Baconian lecture, December 3 - 1927
  • "The basis of the justification for interference in the war between Spain and Cuba," read at Baconian, April 15 - 1898
  • "The basis of nationalism in education: liberal and cultural education", pages 18-19. "Dangers of nationalism in politics: when the dictator comes," pages 20-21, July 8-19 - 1935
    Given at Conference on Nationalism and Education at the University of Colorado, Boulder, Colorado
  • "Beginnings," read before the Mississippi Valley Historical Association at Lincoln, Nebraska, April 29 - 1932
    2 copies
  • "Brain trusts," delivered at Men’s Dinner, Summer Session - 1933
  • Notes for extemporaneous admonition prompted by some campus happening
  • Cedar Rapids (Iowa) High School Commencement, "An address" delivered January 22 - 1904
  • Church service, Unitarian Church: memoranda, February 21 - 1932
  • "Some reflections on citizenship," a paper read at a meeting of the Political Science Club at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Benjamin F. Shambaugh on Monday evening, January 8 - 1923
  • "Mid-year Convocation address," February 3 - 1926
  • "Convocation address," August 21 - 1930
  • Culture of the future, an address delivered to the young people at the Presbyterian Church on the evening of Sunday, June 12 - 1932
  • Des Moines (Iowa) Federation of Women’s Clubs, memoranda of address, fall - 1928
  • "Early Iowa and the pioneers," an address delivered before the Pilgrim Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution, Iowa City, Iowa, at the home of Miss Cora Morrison, November 7 - 1903
  • "Endings," a toast, April 11 - 1927
    3 copies
  • Finkbine Dinner address, May 7 - 1929
  • Founders Day Dinner, University of Iowa
  • "Benjamin Franklin," address delivered at the Union League Club, Chicago, Illinois, January 17 - 1929
  • Box 9:
  • "Benjamin Franklin: the first civilized American," address April - 1935
    Copy
  • "Benjamin Franklin," address delivered at the Executives Club, Chicago, Illinois, January 12 - 1940
    3 copies
  • Good will dinner for women of the University of Iowa - Finkbine Endowment, After dinner address, April 26 - 1932
  • "The handcart expedition camp," an address delivered at the dedication of a roadside marker, December 17 - 1936
  • Historical Congress, notes used in an address before the. Portland, Oregon, August 22 - 1905
  • "The west"
    3 copies
  • "The west and the pioneers"
    2 copies
  • Herbert Hoover birthplace
  • "An address" at Herbert Hoover birthplace, dedication. West Branch, Iowa, August 10 - 1929
  • An institutional proposition on interpretation
  • Introductions to University lecturers: Louis Adamic, J.E. Williamson
    2 folders
  • "Some of our political problems," memoranda for speech to Iowa City Woman’s Club, November 19 - 1926
  • "Iowa’s early political history," or early Iowa and the pioneers
  • Jefferson Hotel, after dinner speech at the unveiling of the mural in the, Iowa City, Iowa, September 15 - 1934
  • League of Women Voters, memoranda about address at meeting of this group. Des Moines, Iowa, April 13 - 1925
  • "Liberal and cultural education," Iowa City Federation of Teachers, April 30 - 1934
  • "The basis of nationalism in education: Liberal and cultural education." Boulder, Colorado, July 15 - 1935
  • "The philosopher of Democracy"
    Address about Abraham Lincoln
  • "Which Abraham Lincoln”
    First draft
  • First draft carbon corrected and revised
  • Abbreviated copy
    2 copies
  • Abraham Lincoln: which Abraham Lincoln: the statesman of Democracy, cut-down copy
    2 copies
  • Abraham Lincoln
    Pre-final carbon
  • Manuscript for final copy
  • Men’s Dinner address, Summer Session Dinner, July 6 - 1932
  • Mid-year convocation address, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa, February 3 - 1926
    Including program
  • Minnesota Historical Society Building, remarks at the dedication of the building
  • "The meeting of the Mississippi Valley Historical Association in Oklahoma"
  • "The more than," several revisions of the address in preparation for the Cleveland (Ohio) meeting of the American Political Science Association, December 30 - 1930
    3 copies
  • Box 10:
  • "The more than," December - 1930
    Carbon copy of Cleveland (Ohio) address
  • "The more than in university education"
  • "The more than in education," delivered at commencement Amana High School, May 26 - 1936
    2 copies
  • "A new approach in education - for all," June 10 - 1932
    Address delivered at the commencement exercise of the Davenport (Iowa) High School
  • The Old Stone Capitol remembers, University anniversary address, Memorial Union, Iowa City, Iowa, February 24 - 1937
    Includes 4 drafts
  • Our constitution, notes prepared for Ottumwa address, September - 1923
    Not delivered
  • Philanthropic and Educational Organization for women (PEO) - 1903
    Address delivered at the home of Mrs. A. E. Swisher in Iowa City
  • The papers of Governor John Chambers, read before the Political Science Club (Iowa City, Iowa), January 13 - 1908
  • "The pioneer settlers of Iowa," a paper or lecture given before the Johnson County Normal Institute - 1899
  • "The pioneers," address delivered on Old Settlers’ Day, Johnson County, Iowa, August 17 - 1899
  • "Political science and practical politics"
    Fragment of a paper
  • "Political science in the service of the state," December - 1933
    Remarks in a discussion at the Philadelphia meeting of the American Political Science Association
  • Delivered at School of Citizenship, Des Moines, Iowa, October 19 - 1934
  • "Politics and philosophy," August 30 - 1899
    Read before the Political Science Club, Iowa City, Iowa
  • Pre-conference report
  • Press releases in re addresses at meeting of State Historical Society of Minnesota, January - 1930
  • "The farm," March 14 - 1933
    National radio address broadcast from Chicago, Illinois
  • "The constitutions of Iowa," radio broadcast April 17 - 1934
    For Iowa History Week
  • Inauguration radio broadcast, October 2 - 1934
    Interview by Mr. Eric C. Wilson
  • "Modern trends in education," radio broadcast July 3 - 1934
    Shambaugh and Dr. Allen at Memorial Union Studio
  • Radio broadcasts, WSUI, June - 1925
  • Radio remarks about the Campus course, Shambaugh and McCloy, January 25 - 1934
  • Radio talk, "The commonwealth conferences," WSUI, May 31 - 1926
  • Radio talk of 20 minutes, November 26 - 1929
    Memoranda on the Department of Political Science and the State Historical Society of Iowa
  • Radio talks broadcast from WHAA and WSUI, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa, June, May-June - 1924, 1925
  • "Religion as a basis of social ideals," October - 1901
    notes prepared for Unitarian Conference held in Davenport, Iowa
  • "The Relation of religion to politics" - 1897
    Delivered at Unitarian Church, Iowa City, Iowa
  • "Socialism: a theory of social life," December 11 - 1898
    Delivered at the Unitarian Church, Iowa City, Iowa
  • "Some important facts and dates in the history of Iowa"
    Made out for the Secretary of the Iowa Commission on the St. Louis Exposition
  • "Some of the psychological and ethical aspects of political science," December - 1897
    Read before the Political Science Club (Iowa City, Iowa)
  • "Some reflections on the present status of political science," November 29 - 1897
    Read before the Political Science Club (Iowa City, Iowa)
  • "Herbert Spencer" - 1894
    Read in Dr. James’ seminary at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • "The spirit and method of research in Iowa history"
    University address
  • "The spirit of discussion," April 22 - 1932
    Introducing the program of the Iowa Political Science Association, Des Moines, Iowa
  • "The spirit of research"
    2 copies
  • "Statute law-making in Iowa," December 18 - 1916
    Read before the Political Science Club (Iowa City, Iowa)
  • "The story of the Lucas papers," May - 1906
    Read before the Political Science Club (Iowa City, Iowa)
  • "A summary of the conclusions and recommendations: report of the Commission on the Social Studies," July 15 - 1935
    Conference on Nationalism and Education, Boulder, Colorado
  • Summer session after-dinner speech
    Rough draft
  • Box 11:
  • "Synthesis: 1912-1934," Summer Session - 1934
    2 copies; Speech delivered at the Men’s Dinner
  • Theology in its relation to law and government
  • "The new theology," Universalist Church, address delivered at, Cedar Rapids, Iowa - 1906
  • "The Universe and the Old Stone Capitol," September - 1939
    Given to the freshman
  • "Mr. A.L. Weatherly," February 22 - 1929
    Remarks on the occasion of his leaving Iowa City, Iowa
  • "The west," Illinois College, June 5 - 1912
  • "The west and the pioneers"
    2 copies
  • Address delivered at Coe College on Founders Day, December 5 - 1928
    2 copies
  • "The west and the spirit of research," Iowa State College, June 3 - 1912
  • West Branch (Iowa) High School Commencement Address - 1897
  • "When the dictator comes"
  • Baconian lecture. Iowa City, Iowa, December 15 - 1933
  • Campus Course Class, Iowa City, Iowa, March 2 - 1934
    2 copies
  • Delivered at the Union League Club, Chicago, Illinois, December 12 - 1935
    4 copies
  • "The dangers of nationalism: when the dictator comes," Summer - 1936
    Delivered at the University of Colorado, Boulder
  • "When the dictator comes: implications of the totalitarian state," March 27 - 1937
    Delivered at the Prairie Club, Des Moines, Iowa. Includes a press release.
  • "The work of the State Historical Society of Iowa," October - 1903
    Address delivered at Marshalltown, Iowa, meeting of Iowa Library Association
  • Sub-Series: Benjamin Shambaugh as Teacher
  • Box 11:
  • Campus Course
  • Comprehensive test A2
  • Contemporary Legislation
  • Freshmen lecture notes - 1924-1926
  • Freshmen, address to group of - 1926
  • The Government of the British Empire
  • An Introduction to Political Science, lectures in historical and descriptive politics
  • Box 12:
  • Introductory remarks, first lecture at the University of Iowa, January - 1896
  • Modern Government Class, notes for talk to, in substitution for final examination, May - 1924
  • The more than in university education
  • "The Old Stone Capitol Remembers" September 19 - 1939
    Address delivered to the Freshmen during Freshmen week
  • On the method of political science, second class lecture - 1896
  • Political Institutions and Methods, with special reference to America
  • Political Parties in the United States
  • Political Science and Law, August 13 - 1930
    2 copies. Notes on a lecture to Professor Updegraff’s class in law.
  • Political Science lecture on Elements of Jurisprudence
  • Social Hygiene
  • Sub-Series: Hovey Biography
  • Box 15:
  • Contents, notes, and correspondence, design, typed tributes, Benjamin’s signature, first draft
  • Foreword
  • Iowa influences
  • Pioneering
  • Early education
  • Undergraduate days
  • Graduate study
  • Forty-four years of University service, part two
  • Forty-four years of University service
  • Early years of teaching, chapter 6
  • As the University grows, chapter 11
  • Historical interests, part three
  • Historical Department and Archives
  • State Historical Society, a lengthening shadow
  • In the interest of culture, part four
  • Commonwealth Conference
  • An adventure in thinking: the Campus Course, several copies
  • The art of public speaking
  • University lectures
  • Home and recreation, part five
  • Books, chapter 17
    2 copies
  • Vacations, chapter 18
  • Personalities and portraits, part six
  • The house books speak, chapter 20
  • Facing east and facing west
  • Notes and references
  • Letters and Cards for signatures for use in book
  • Notes made when re-reading the first draft of the manuscript
  • Box 31:
  • Biography preparation notes, Ringfold 1A
  • Biography preparation notes, Ringfold 1B
  • Biography preparation notes, Ringfold 3A
  • Biography preparation notes, Ringfold 3B
  • Biography preparation notes 4A
  • Biography preparation notes 4B
  • Box 32:
  • Biography preparation notes, 6A, includes rough index to Ringfold
  • Biography preparation notes, 6B
  • Biography preparation notes, 62
  • Biography preparation notes, 63A
  • Biography preparation notes, 63B
  • Biography preparation notes, 64 Biography experimental chapters
  • Biography preparation notes, 7A
  • Box 33:
  • Biography preparation notes, 7B
  • Biography preparation notes, Notes for Miss Hovey I from Ringfold
  • Biography preparation notes, Notes for Miss Hovey II from Ringfold
  • Box 44:
  • Housebook notes An Adventure in Thinking
  • Housebook notes The Campus Course
    4 drafts
  • Housebook notes Chapters I-IV, Tentative Beginning
    2 drafts, pages 1-25
  • Housebook notes The Children, notes
  • Housebook notes Hospitality
    4 drafts
  • Housebook notes The House
  • Housebook notes Iowa Alumnus,  Vol 4: No 2, November 15 - 1906
  • Housebook notes The Iowa City Centennial
    4 drafts
  • Housebook notes An Iowa Institution
    Multiple drafts and notes assembled for Mrs. Houghton and shared with Miss Hovey
  • Housebook notes Iowa’s Benjamin F. Shambaugh - 1871-1940
  • Housebook notes Lecture Chairman
    2 drafts
  • Housebook notes The Little Garden
    2 drafts
  • Housebook notes Miscellaneous notes
    2 folders
  • Box 45:
  • Housebook notes Miscellaneous notes
    3 folders
  • Housebook notes Notes taken for Mrs. Aurer and Miss Hovey, from House Books
  • Housebook notes Notes, Mrs. Shambaugh
    2 folders
  • Housebook notes The Old Stone Capitol Remembers
    4 drafts
  • Housebook notes Political Science I-IV
    2 drafts
  • Box 46:
  • Housebook notes A Prince and a Perfect Host
  • Housebook notes Ringfold, Miss Hovey’s Index
  • Housebook notes Ringfold 2A
  • Housebook notes 2B
    2 folders
  • Housebook notes 4, Index
  • Housebook notes The State Historical Society
    2 drafts
  • Housebook notes Undergraduate Days
  • Housebook notes Vacations
    2 drafts
  • Housebook notes Various Chapter drafts and notes
  • Series 2: BERTHA SHAMBAUGH
  • Sub-Series: House Books
  • Box 19:
  • Pages 1-190 - 1902-1909
  • Pages 191-311 - 1911-1913
  • Pages 312-507, September-November - 1913-1918
  • Pages 508-669, January-August - 1919-1920
  • Pages 670-791, September-May - 1920-1922
  • Pages 792-912, June-December - 1922
  • Pages 913-1040, December-June - 1922-1923
  • Box 20:
  • Pages 1041-1174, June-September - 1923-1924
  • Pages 1175-1303, September-April - 1924-1925
  • Pages 1304-1434, April-January - 1925-1926
  • Pages 1435-1574, January-January - 1926-1927
  • Pages 1575-1742, January-June - 1927
  • Pages 1743-1882, June-December - 1927
  • Box 21:
  • Pages 1883-2036, December-June - 1927-1928
  • Pages 2037-2189, July-December - 1928
  • Pages 2190-2358, January-July - 1929
  • Pages 2359-2534, August-March - 1929-1930
  • Pages 2535-2705, April-December - 1930
  • Box 22:
  • Pages 2706-2884, December-June - 1930-1931
  • Pages 2885-3034, June-December - 1931
  • Pages 3035-3202, December-July - 1931-1932
  • Pages 3203-3373 , July-March - 1932-1933
  • Box 23:
  • Pages 3374-3530, March-August - 1933
  • Pages 3531-3696, August-January - 1933-1934
  • Pages 3697-3868, February-July - 1934
  • Pages 3869-4040, July-December - 1934
  • Pages 4041-4206, December-July - 1934-1935
  • Box 24:
  • Pages 4207-4393, July-January - 1935-1936
  • Pages 4394-5090, January-August - 1936
  • Pages 5091-5264, August-March - 1936-1937
  • Pages 5265-5471, March-August - 1937
  • Box 25:
  • Pages 5472-5687, August-March - 1937-1938
  • Pages 5688-5895, March-September - 1938
  • Pages 5896-6162, September-June - 1938-1939
  • Box 26:
  • Pages 6163-6400, June-February - 1939-1940
  • Pages 6401-6491, February - 1940-1941
  • House Book Guest Register - 1911-1915
  • Index Volume 1 - 1902-1909
    2 copies
  • Index Volume 2 - 1911-1913
    2 copies
  • Index Volume 3, September 17-November 10 - 1913-1918
    2 copies
  • Index Volume 10 - 1925-1926
    2 copies
  • Index Volume 25 - 1934
    2 copies
  • Index Volume 30, August 1-March 3 - 1936-1937
    2 copies
  • Summaries Volumes 33, 35, 36
  • Sub-Series: Supplement to House Books, Volume I, page/subject
    This inventory was compiled by Mary Bennett in 1980 as part of her inventory of the larger collection of Bertha M. H. Shambaugh photographs in the collections of the State Historical Society of Iowa. The two volumes labeled "Photographic Record" are, however, held by the University of Iowa Libraries. BFS = Benjamin Franklin Shambaugh. BMHS = Bertha Maude Horack Shambaugh. "Son" = Benjamin Shambaugh Horack, BMHS's brother's son and BFS's namesake .
  • Box 27:
  • 2-3 copies of Christmas cards (printed)
  • 4-11 copies of Christmas cards (photos)
  • 4 Santa and sleigh, 43.9 - 1924
  • 6 King Corn - 1928
  • 8 BFS on sofa, 52.37 - 1930
  • 11-16 printed cards See dates listed on SHSI inventory of plates
  • 17-24 Corn folk dolls 41.1-41.28
  • 25 Political Science Club arrangement 44.1
  • 26 Sara Cox's Horoscope Birthday arrangement 39.11
  • 26 Wimpus luncheon arrangement
  • 27 Political Science Club arrangement Different view than page 25
  • 28 Mother's picture with pansies, 43.17-43.19, June 25 - 1929
  • 28 Benjamin Shambaugh Horack's 12th birthday, 39.8, October 3 - 1929
  • 29 Political Science Club's 30th Anniversary, 44.2, January 10 - 1927
  • 30 Benjamin Shambaugh Horack's cake stand, 39.10 - 1917-1927
    No print
  • 30-31 Benjamin Shambaugh Horack's birthday cookies, 43.1, October 3 - 1917-1927
    No print
  • 32 More cookies in animal shapes
  • 33 Wimpus creatures
  • 34-35 Pine cone figures 42.1-42.2
  • 38 Bertha in travel outfit, wearing hat of BFS, "somewhere in Yellowstone" July - 1928
  • 40 Reunion of PhD's, on porch of Shambaugh house - 1930
  • 40 Seventh Commonwealth Conference, night shot at Old Capitol, Bruce Bliven speaking
  • 42 Christmas, Shambaugh house interior; tree with elephant-shaped cookie 6.11
  • 43 Christmas, Shambaugh house interior; evergreens and pinecones over doorways, 6.3-6.9
    7 photographs
  • 46 BFS, 1924 52.32; BMHS, wearing hat, 1924 49.23
    Same as joint portrait 51.4
  • 47 Interior of old Unitarian Church, Iowa City 10.3
  • 48 Mother's picture with pine cones and evergreens, Christmas - 1930
  • 48 Christmas tree 43.21
    No print
  • 49 Corn folk dolls and printed information
  • 50-51 Indian trail map
  • 52-72 Travel52 BMHS at Marble Rock Canyon with horse, wearing riding pants
  • 53 BFS at Canadian Rockies in British Columbia, bridge behind
  • 54 Long's Peak, scenery only, September - 1929
  • 57 New Mexico, Bishop's Lodge, BMHS and BFS, March - 1928
  • 58 Yosemite, no year given
  • 60 BFS at Canadian Rockies in British Columbia
  • 61 Bertha with horse, "Peanuts," at Longs Peak, Colorado; Bertha with horse at Canadian Rockies in British Columbia 38.6 62 Longs Peak, Colorado, September - 1929
  • 63 BFS at Glacier Park and at New Mexico
  • 64 Glacier Park; New Mexico, BFS and BMHS
  • 67 Colorado
  • 68-69 Longs Peak, Colorado
  • 70-72 British Columbia 73 Dickinson oil portrait of BFS in Iowa Memorial Union
  • 74-75 Commencement, June 6 - 1932
    Potted palm
  • 76 Old Capitol, spiral staircase
  • 77 Shambaugh house, summer seat and bittersweet (in back yard), "From a snapshot with the old Kodak" (taken from yard) 3.18 or 3.19 - 1925
  • 78-79 Shambaugh house, pergola (in back yard), 3.20 or 3.21, March - 1932
    Shoveled sidewalk
  • 80 Shambaugh house exterior in wintertime (etched effect), 3.13 - 1925
    Photograph by Frederick W. Kent
  • 80 Shambaugh house, front porch steps with peonies. "Sent to me in Europe" - 1910
  • 80 Shambaugh house exterior in the wintertime. "Snapshot made with old Kodak" - 1925
  • 82-83 Travel: Black Hills, Latch String Inn, 38.12-38.14 - 1932
  • 84-85 Eleanor Dixon's birthday celebration, 39.12-39.23, February - 1933
    No prints
  • 86 Table decoration, butterflies with one tall candle on cake 39.62
    No print
  • 87 BFS and grandneice, Eleanor Dixon 39.12-39.61
    No print
  • 88-89 BFS and namesake nephew, Benjamin Shambaugh Horack, 56.6 - 1924
  • 88 BFS and baby, February 10 - 1918
  • 89 BFS and Benjamin S. Horack dressed in a boy scout uniform 56.9-10
  • 90 BMHS wearing a white lace dress and garnet necklace, 40.22 - 1907-1908
  • 91 BMHS and "Son", Bertha is wearing a dark dress with lace at collar and upper sleeve - 1920-1929
  • 92 BMHS with Katharine (neice), taken as leaving for Europe - 1910
  • 92-93 BMHS with her nephew "Son"
  • 93 BMHS in Amana costume (Townsend). Slightly different view, front - 1908
  • 93 BMHS's profile 40.21
  • 95 BMHA and BFS with young nephew and neices
  • 96 Benjamin F., age five, 52.1
  • 96 Benjamin in hunting outfit and other photos of BFS
  • 96 BFS and BMHS, 52.9 and 49.14 - 1898
  • 97 Bertha with Katharine and"Son"
  • 99-105 Amana photos
  • 106-107 Travel: BFS with Maria Chiwiwi, 38.20-38.21, June - 1933
    2 photos
  • 108-110 BFS and BMHS in Taos Indian Village
  • 111 Harold Turpin and "The last Dandelion" student working in the yard
  • 112 Old Mechanics Academy 18.8
  • 113 Old Capitol
  • 114-115 Zetagathian and Irving Halls 21.2-21.3
  • 116 "Son"
  • 116 Eleanor
  • 117-121 Travel: Trip to Yellowstone
  • 121 Logan Pass, Glacier Park scenery
  • 122-123 Eleanor Dixon, 39.24-39.61 - 1934
    No prints
  • 123-124 Mr. and Mrs. Dixon and Eleanor
  • 125-133 Travel: At Puye 38.27-38.28
  • 126 Bertha on vacation
  • 128 Hopi-land
  • 129 Second Mesa
  • 130 BFS in Indian headdress, 52.48, May - 1937
  • 130 At San Ildefonza Pueblo 131 Julian Martinez, San Ildefonza Pueblo, near Santa Fe 131 Joe Esquibel, jeweler at La Fonda, Santa Fe 132 Joe Esquibel and BFS discussing silver
  • 133 BFS dressed as Indian chief by Julian Martinez
  • 134 Commencement
  • 135 Men and women reading in southwest corner of library lecture room, long view 53.13
  • 135 BFS at bookcase on west wall of library lecture room
  • 136 New room with atmosphere, BFS at desk
  • 136 Man and woman reading, close-up 53.15
  • 137 BFS at desk in new library lecture room 53.9
  • 137 Chair, lamp and table in Campus Course library lecture room 138-143 Travel138 Latch String Inn, Black Hills, September 1 - 1934
  • 139 BFS in tree trunk, Long's Peak Inn, September - 1934
  • 140 BFS
  • 141 Vincent Lalla
  • 142-144 Black Hills142 Panning for gold
  • 143 BMHS
  • 143 BFS "sunning" 144 BFS and BMHS chopping wood with axe 144 BMHS contemplating aspen trees 145 BFS and Dr. Chong in graduation robes - 1934
  • 145 Student working in yard, house in background
  • 146-147 Inauguration Day - 1934
  • 148 BFS seated in mother's rocking chair in library, reading, January 29 - 1935
  • 149 BFS in entryway with hat, canes, overcoat, January 29 - 1935
  • 149 BFS and BMHS reading in library, January 29 - 1935
  • 150-152 Eleanor Dixon in five photos: with table decoration, father, BFS, roses and butterflies February 25 - 1935
  • 153-159 Travel: Oak Creek Canyon, Arizona, BMHS leaning on rock window. 38.29-31155 Desert Inn, Palm Springs, Cilifornia, BFS under old peppertree, 38.33, May - 1935
  • 157-159 Mojave Desert, Capistrano, BFS and the doves 38.34 160 Commencement
  • 161 BFS at the Old Farm House, September 6 - 1935
  • 162-165 Travel: Arkansas travel shots, several photos, Ozarks, September - 1935
  • Box 28:
  • Supplement to House Books, Volume II, page/subject - This inventory was compiled by Mary Bennett in 1980. BFS = Benjamin Franklin Shambaugh. BMHS = Bertha Maude Horack Shambaugh. "Son" = Benjamin Shambaugh Horack, BMHS's brother's son and BFS's namesake .
  • 1 Coover house interiors (loose) 4.1 - 4.5
  • 1 BMHS's graduation gifts, 66.1-66.3, June 7 - 1889
  • 2-4 Horack house interiors 2.1-2.14
  • 5 Snowball bush in mothers garden, (Horack) 67.3
  • 5 The lady slipper bed, north side of Horack house 67.1-67.2
  • 6-8 BFS in campus course room, 53.1-53.10 3 photographs
  • 9-13 Travel: Ozarks, April - 1936
  • 10 San Antonio, Texas, May - 1936
  • 10 BFS and BMHS seated on wooden bench (yucca plants behind) on patio of the old Spanish Governor's Palace 38.39
  • 13 BFS and BMHS standing rock bridge, Brackenridge Park, Japanese garden
  • 14-15 Commencement - 1936
  • 16 Jack Horner pie, daisies, PhD Luncheon, 39.65, June 24 - 1936
  • 16 Political Science Wimpus luncheon
  • 17 Carl Smith wedding, 43.10-43.11 - 1936
  • 18 Commencement at night, August - 1936
  • 19 Dickinson painting of BFS in Union
  • 20-22 Travel: Estes Park, Long's Peak. Scenery and BMHS and BFS
  • 23 Wimpus cake decoration 23 Dinner for Bud and Elizabeth, 40.22-40.23, September 24 - 1936
  • 24 House interiors: sofa with "October in Iowa" painting and bust sculpture of BFS 5.7
  • 25 BFS reading, (Huxley) 52.46 - 1936
  • 26 Mormon trek plaque
  • 27-31 Travel, Bryce Canyon
  • 29 BFS with hat, May - 1937
  • 32 Elsbeth in wedding dress - 1936
  • 33-34 Commencement - 1937
  • 35 The Brain Derby - 1937
  • 36-37 BFS in the garden, September - 1937
    Several photographs
  • 38 BMHS at Spillville
  • 38 BMHS at Katharine's house
  • 39-40 BFS in the garden 52.51
  • 41 Table decoration, 40.15, October 14 - 1937
    No print
  • 41 Table decoration, guest of honor, Ethan Allen's daughter (used in This Old House) 39.63-39.64
  • 43 Doll and cradle 65.1.
    No print
  • 44 Wimpus, Halloween, luncheon for graduate students 40.19-40.21
  • 46 House exterior
  • 48-59 Travel
  • 49 The Pan American Highway, Mexico
  • 50 BFS at the Pyramids
  • 53-59 Taxco
    Several photos
  • 60 BFS at Piney Woods School with Laurence Jones
    Four photographs
  • 61 Old Capitol
  • 62-63 Commencement - 1938
  • 64 BFS on campus
  • 65 BMHS in the garden
  • 66-7?. Travel
  • 66-68 Black Hills, Needles Highway
  • 69-71 Yellowstone
  • 72 BFS (IRA photo) same as with Ethyl Martin
  • 72 New Diggens, Wisconsin church
  • 74 House exterior, clematis
  • 76 House exterior with snow
    Negatives at UI
  • 77 Father's father (Horack)? Log cabin
  • 77 Coover house interiors 4.1-4.2
  • 79-100 Christmas cards from friends
  • 101 BMHS seated indoors with small pine trees, Christmas - 1938
    Photo by Frederick W. Kent
  • 101 Pine trees and the library, 6.15-6.21, Christmas - 1938
    Photo by Frederick W. Kent
  • 103 BMHS with her Amana pillow, February 12 - 1939
  • 105 Birthday flowers, 43.22, February 12 - 1939
    No prints
  • 105 Campus course painting over the fireplace, 43.23, February - 1939
    No print
  • 106 Birthday cards
  • 107 BMHS standing near split-rail fence 49.6
  • 107 Old Capitol
  • 108 Thomas Cox
  • 108 1939 map of Iowa City
  • 109 Henningsen, Eastern Star Group
    No BMHS or BFS
  • 110-117 Travel: Floating gardens in Mexico Taxco
    Several photographs
  • 118-120 Commencement June 5 - 1939
    James O. Howard
  • 124 "Old Stone Capitol Remembers," 52.52
    Framed sign by BFS
  • 124 BFS and T.V. Smith (half-tone) 56.15
    No print
  • 127-128 Chauncey and Dolly Swan, January 12 - 1940
    Original daguerreotypes at SHSI129 BFS on cover of The Executives' Club News for Benjamin Franklin Day
  • 130 Erika Mann
  • 131 Benjamin Franklins 56.16
  • 132 Wimpus
  • 132-140 Greeting cards
  • 134 Christmas card, photo of Nile Kinnick holding baby Sandy Hook
    Iowa 1960 on baby's shirt
  • Box 29:
  • Pre-house book records - 1895-1910
  • House Book notes. Volumes 1-6, pages 1-106 - 1902-1922
    Includes rough index
  • House Book notes. Volumes 7-13, pages 107-405 - 1922-1927
  • Volumes 14-15, pages 406-549 - 1927-1928
  • Volumes 16-17, pages 550-721 - 1929-1930
  • Volume 18, pages 722-820 - 1930
  • Volume 19, pages 821-938 - 1930-1931
  • Volumes 20-21, pages 939-1077 - 1931-1932
  • Box 30:
  • Volumes 22-24, pages 1078-1238 - 1932-1934
  • Volumes 25-26, pages 1239, 1362 - 1934
  • Volumes 27-28, pages 1363-1513 - 1934-1936
  • Volumes 29-30, pages 1514-1698 - 1936-1937
  • Volumes 31-32, pages 1699-1888 - 1937-1938
  • Volume 33, pages 1889-2003 - 1938
  • Volume 34, pages 2004-2155 - 1938-1939
  • Box 31:
  • Volume 35, pages 2155a-2221 - 1939-1940
  • Volume 36, pages 2222-2273 - 1940
  • Sub-Series: Bertha’s Manuscripts
  • Box 13:
  • "The acorns’ jubilee," in the Illustrated Youth and Age, Vol X: No. 8, page 6, October 2 - 1899
    Published
  • James J. Aldous, florist, for Iowa City paper
  • Almost a ghost story
  • "Amana Colony: a glimpse of the community of True Inspiration" Original. Appeared in Midland - 1896
  • "The Amana Community," for the Dictionary of American History
  • The Amana Society
  • "Amana Society," proof for Encyclopedia of Religion, Scotland
  • "The Amana Society," in The World To-Day,  Vol III: No 4, pages 1899-1907, October - 1902
  • "An aquarium," in The Churchman, Vol. LXXX: No 4, pages 125-126, July 29 - 1899
    Published
  • A birthday centerpiece
  • "Bumblebees and red clover," in The Illustrated Youth and Age, vol X: no 5, page 9, August 15 - 1899
    Published
  • Cock-a-low-dum, includes illustrations - 1901
  • "A cubic foot of earth," in The Midland Monthly, Vol 8: No 1, pages 36-39, July - 1897
    Published
  • The evolution of birds, paper with drawings, February 27 - 1888
  • "Fondly on the past I dwell," in Red and White, vol III: no 1 (Thanksgiving Number), pages 28-30
    Published
  • "The glory of Amana has not departed," reply to article in Des Moines Register
  • The Iowa crossroad, verses
  • An Iowa Lemon tree
  • Iowa Territorial Centennial Memorial Stamp
  • "Edith Ball Macbride," for the Arrow, official organ of Pi Beta Phi Sorority
  • Mazzuchelli notes
  • "Christian Metz," for the Dictionary of American History
  • The midnight ride of Philip Clark
  • Natural Science in the high school, Pedagogical Seminary, State University of Iowa - 1896
  • "Ned, a volunteer’s dog," in The Interior, Vol XXIX: No 1487, page 1450, November 24 - 1898
    Published
  • "Old Tom: a turtle story," in Our Animal Friends, Vol  XXV: No 7, pages 152-155, March - 1898
    Published
  • "On nature books," in the Iowa Library Quarterly, Vol 5: No 16, pages 241-244, October-December - 1908
    2 published copies
  • "One of the mothers of Iowa," Lydia Bristol Kimball for an Iowa City paper
  • "Organized speaking in Iowa during the war," in Iowa and War,  no. 17, November - 1918
    Published
  • "Mabel M. Foster Peet," for the Arrow, official organ of Pi Beta Phi Sorority
  • Herbert Quick, reviews and article
  • "Julia Ellen Rogers," for the Arrow, official organ Pi Beta Phi Sorority
  • "Some of the economic and industrial phases of the Amana Society or the Community of True Inspiration," pages 498-512
  • Tale of the bumblebees
  • "Three Hickory nuts," in The Illustrated Youth and Age, vol X: no 4, page 9, August 1 - 1899
    Published
  • "Two cottonwood buds," in The Illustrated Youth and Age, page 7, April 15 - 1899
    Published
  • Ulmuss Americana: (s) American or White elm, April 15 - 1890
    Includes illustrations
  • "A vegetable tramp: the story of the milkweed," in The World To-day, Vol V: No 1, pages 912-916, July - 1903
  • "A western cross-road," in The Illustrated Youth and Age, vol X: no 4, pages 1-2, August 1 - 1899
  • Sub-Series: Bertha’s Speeches
  • Box 13:
  • The Amana Community, given at the Unitarian Sunday School
  • Amana, notes for story of, told with pictures
  • The anatomy of an insect, Agassiz Association paper with illustrations, September 19 - 1887
  • The animal kingdom as related to geology, Agassiz Association paper with illustrations (apparently not complete) January 10 - 1887
  • Episodes in the early history of Iowa City
  • History of the Erodelphian Society, several revisions given at different times
  • The founding of Iowa City
  • Box 14:
  • The great change at Amana
  • The great change at Amana, author’s reading to University Club, November 12 - 1933
    Responding to first pressure after appearance of the second Amana book
  • Iowa City and legend on map - 1854
  • Katydids and crickets, Agassiz Association paper with illustrations, November 21 - 1887
  • Lepidoptera, read before the Iowa State Assembly of the Agassiz Association with illustrations, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, August 21-23 - 1888
    Including copy of The Swiss Cross, IV:5 (November 1888) which mentions this paper
  • The origin and spirit of Christmas
  • Radio talks, several, all on subject of Amana
  • The railroad reaches Iowa City
  • Slides
  • The Spiritual Amen
  • Staff dinner talk, January 29 - 1928
  • Trifles, Iowa City High School graduation “Oration” and Valedictory, June 7 - 1889
    Including copy of The Commentator IV:10/11 (June 14, 1889), pages 2-3
  • At the grave of Juan Valdez - 1922
  • Welcoming Mrs. Jessup as honorary member of the University Club
  • When Iowa City was young
  • After dinner talk All University Women’s Dinner, June 27 [?]
  • Whitby Society, several items presented
  • Series 3: SUBJECT FILES
  • Box 34:
  • Addams, Jane
  • Agassiz Association
  • Amana
  • Articles of incorporation and by-laws
  • Grace E. Chaffee, correspondence and articles - 1920-1930
  • Clippings re books and Torch Press Catalog
  • Correspondence - 1900-1950
    Includes Johnson Brigham T.L.S. and William J. Petersen T.L.S.
  • (ADD) correspondence - 1901-1908
  • Creed of the Community of True Inspiration
  • Economic and some of the industrial phases of Amana Society or Community of True Inspiration - 1901
    Includes correspondence
  • Christian Metz testimonies about the Civil War
  • Minutes of the Reorganization Committee - 1931
  • Miscellaneous
  • Palimpsest, July, May, June - 1921, 1936, 1950
    Includes letter from Dr. Henry G. Moershel
  • Photographs, 42 black and white and 1 negative
    2 folders
  • Publications of the Society - 1930-1952
  • Reviews, second book - 1933
  • Box 35:
  • Amana, creed of the Community of True Inspiration, cont.
  • Millard Milburn Rice. “Eighty-nine years of collective living,” Harper’s Magazine, pages 523-527, October - 1938
  • Mr. Roberts (Confidential), names of people and questions
  • School program with letter from teacher and school rhymes in German
  • Iola Thomas. “A Utopia that Prospered.” Travel, Vol 72: No 3, pages 19-21, January - 1939
  • The World War
  • Bibliography of Benjamin F. Shambaugh, compiled May - 1913
  • Bertha Shambaugh 1927, revised - 1933
  • Biographical sketches of Benjamin F. Shambaugh
  • Bertha M.H. Shambaugh
  • Biography of Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Centennial Memoirs by Nellie Slayton Aurner - 1947
  • Published in Iowa Alumnus, by John Springer, Vol  IV: No 2, pages 33-39, November - 1906
  • Published in the Iowa Journal of History and Politics, by Dr. Ruth A. Gallaher, Vol XXXVIII: No 3, pages 227-233, July - 1940
  • Notes for Gallaher article, including some duplicates
    2 folders
  • Biography of Bertha M. H. Shambaugh, in The Arrow of Pi Beta Phi, Vol  50: No 2, pages 188-190, November - 1933
  • Dr. Sudhindra Bose: Pioneer Indian Educator in America, by Frank R. Miller
  • Bronze bust of Benjamin F. Shambaugh, draft of legend
  • Business cards, invitations, notes
    2 folders: 1st folder includes 2 from Frederick Jackson Turner
  • Box 36:
  • Business cards, invitations notes
  • Campus Course and library including comments concerning
  • Catalogs
  • Class song
  • The Commentator, January-June - 1886-1889
  • Commonwealth Conference, June 29 - 1930
  • Correspondence mainly between Benjamin and George Shambaugh - 1912-1935
  • Cousins, Dr. James H.
  • Death and Funeral Arrangements for Bertha M.H. Shambaugh
  • Early Iowa City
  • European Trip, Bertha M.H. Shambaugh's diary - 1910
  • Miscellaneous items
  • The Passion Play at Oberammergau
  • Photographs, 56 items
  • Box 37:
  • Photographs, European Trip, 46 items
  • Postcards, some written and some not written
  • Faculty Protests
  • Four-Minute Men Committee on Public Information during World War I - 1917-1918
  • Benjamin Franklin Society
  • Freshman Banquet of SUI Class - 1893
  • Hamlin Garland Literary Society - 1925-1929
  • Greeting booklets - 1880-1889
    2 folders
  • Greeting cards - 1880-1889
  • Greeting cards (primarily Christmas), some from dignitaries, mostly undated, A-G
  • Box 38:
  • Greeting cards (primarily Christmas), some from dignitaries, mostly undated, H-W
  • Greeting cards sent by the Shambaughs
  • High school graduation of Bertha M. Horak, June 7 - 1889
  • The House
  • Illustrations and one loose page manuscript, Bertha M. H. Shambaugh
    Includes wildflowers
  • Iowa Federation of Women’s Clubs - 1915, 1935-1940
  • Iowa Statehood Centennial Commemorative Stamp Souvenir Program and First Day Cover, August 3 - 1946
  • Journal of Benjamin F. Shambaugh, February 23-February 24 - 1905-1906
  • King Corn in color from Richman’s Ioway to Iowa
    2 copies, autographed
  • League of American Pen Women - 1918-1919
    Including Ruth Hoxie A.L.S.
  • Memorial for Benjamin F. Shambaugh
  • Service and memorial
  • Tributes - 1940
    Including memorial service and correspondence, some duplicates
  • Memorial volume
  • Box 39:
  • First notes collected for the memorial
  • Mailing list, April 17 - 1941
  • Miscellaneous
  • Miscellaneous, Benjamin F. Shambaugh
  • Benjamin and Bertha Shambaugh
  • Bertha M. H. Shambaugh
  • Mississippi Valley Historical Association
  • New York’s World Fair advertising - 1939
  • Correspondence - 1938-1940
    Including 2 Dorothy Houghton postcards
  • Information bulletins, postmarked August 12 - 1938
  • Printed items
  • “Teaching the New York World’s Fair,” No. 1-4
  • Newspaper clippings of Benjamin F. ShambaughBertha M. H. Shambaugh's notes about Benjamin F. Shambaugh
  • Made at hospital during Benjamin F. Shambaugh’s final illness - 1940
  • About the collection
  • Old Capitol, by Fred Pownall, with notes by Bertha M. H. Shambaugh
    2 copies
  • Photograph place cards, some autographed and dated
  • Postcards, miscellaneous
  • Purchases in Mexico
  • Receipts - 1896-1898, 1903
  • The Old Stone Capitol
  • Richman, Irving manuscript, Ioway to Iowa, notes by Bertha M. H. Shambaugh
  • Box 40:
  • S.U.I. Class - 1892
  • S.U.I. Quill, Vol 1: No 1, cover with photographs of Benjamin F. Shambaugh, September 19 - 1891
  • Salary of Benjamin F. Shambaugh - 1909-1910
    Including correspondence, Luther A. Brewer T.L.S.
  • Sanxay, Theodore, correspondence concerning Iowa State University, Ames - 1914-1917
    Including George E. MacLean A.L.S. and John P. Irish T.L.S.
  • Scrapbook of Bertha M. Horak - 1880-1885
    Including Valentines
  • Scrapbook - 1885
  • Sesquicentennial, Philadelphia, Iowa Corn Folk - 1926, 1927
    Primarily correspondence, including 3 letters from Governor John Hammill
  • Iowa Corn Folk, 29 black and white photographs
  • Pamphlets and brochures concerning
  • Shambaugh Family History
  • Shambaugh reunion and picnic invitations - 1924-1930
  • St. Louis World’s Fair, Louisiana Purchase Exposition - 1904
  • State Historical Society of Iowa
  • Swan, Chauncey, including some on Father Mazzuchelli
  • Teacher’s Certificates of Bertha M. Horak - 1892-1896
  • Territorial seal, used by Historical Society and the University of Iowa
  • Box 41:
  • Tributes to Benjamin F. Shambaugh, collected after printing of memorial volume
  • Tributes for memorial volume
    2 folders
  • Unitarian and Universalist church
  • University of Iowa Library - 1948
  • WSUI Music Selection for opening of Campus Course Hour, February 13 - 1935
  • Ward, Duren J.H. The Far-Reaching Foundation toward Safer Civilization, correspondence - 1934-1940
  • Programs, mausoleum information and more - 1929-1938
  • Whitby Literary Society - 1918-1923
  • World War I
  • Zetagathian Society, Benjamin F. Shambaugh - 1890
  • Series 4: FAMILY PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 42:
  • Benjamin F. Shambaugh, 18 photographs
  • University Battalion, 6 photographs
  • Bertha M.H. Shambaugh, 4 photographs
  • Creations, e.g., Corn Folk, 5 photographs
  • SUI Class, 3 photographs and blueprints - 1892
  • Friends, 8 photographs - 1890-1899
  • Groups including Benjamin and/or Bertha Shambaugh, 11 photographs
  • The House, 2 photographs
  • House Guests, 7 photographs
  • Iowa City and Johnson County, 7 photographs and 1 negative
    Includes photograph of African American couple standing in front of their home (Iowa Avenue), taken by Katharine Horack, Bertha's mother.
  • Miscellaneous, 13 photographs
  • Old Capitol, 15 photographs and 1 negative
  • People, University related, 3 photographs
  • Josiah L. Pickard and the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, 5 photographs
  • Shambaugh family relatives, 3 photographs
  • University of Iowa, 8 photographs
  • Vacations, 3 photographs and 1 negative
  • Box 47:
  • Benjamin F. Shambaugh
  • Photographs and Negatives
  • Photograph Negatives
  • Benjamin and Bertha Shambaugh
  • Photographs and negatives
  • Photographs and negatives
  • Benjamin F. Shambaugh and Others
  • Bertha Shambaugh
  • Photographs and Negatives
  • Negatives
  • Bertha Shambaugh and Others
  • Miscellaneous and Unidentified Photograph Negatives
  • Box 48:
  • Miscellaneous and Unidentified Photograph Negatives 2 folders
  • Series 5: OVERSIZED AND REALIA
  • Sub-Series: Oversized Materials
    Note: A selection of materials on the illness and death of Dr. Shambaugh, plus memorial items are not included in this list.  There are also items listed which are not in Box 43.
  • Box 43:
  • Deemer, Judge Horace E. “Iowa History and Historians: An appreciation of the work of the Honorable Charles Aldrich and Dr. Benjamin F. Shambaugh” in The Mail and Times, LVI:16, pages 9-10, August 9 - 1907
    2 copies
  • "Father Marquette’s Journal” in The Mail and Times, Vol LI: No 5, page 10, November 19 - 1904
  • “Some Historical Discoveries. Valuable Material for Unpublished Books” in The Mail and Times  Vol LIV: No. 20, page 8, November 17 - 1906
    3 copies
  • "What It Means to Go Far Away,” in The Mail and Times, page 6, August 12 - 1905
  • Press Proofs, Old Stone Capitol, Athens Press
    10 copies
  • Pencil Sketches
  • Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Iowa’s Dreamer of Dreams and Builder of Traditions
  • Father of Iowa History
  • Intensely American, Thoroughly Iowa – the Complete Cosmopolitan
  • Director Iowa Commonwealth Conference
  • Master of Ceremonies
  • In his Mother’s Lincoln Rocker
  • In the campus Course Library
  • In his October Garden Pen and Ink Drawings
  • Under the Reading Lamp of Katherine Horack (Bookplate)
  • Where Memory brings the light of other Days to Greet You (Greeting Card) BFS and BMHS
  • From the Home of Benjamin F. and Bertha M.H. Shambaugh (Bookplate)
  • From the Home of Benjamin F. and Bertha M.H. Shambaugh (Bookplate)
  • Here old affections linger to greet you with the legends of the past (Greeting Card) BFS and BMHS
  • Speakin’ of Iowa After Corn-huskin’ – it’s Christmas-Time Greetings (Greeting Card) BFS and BMHS
  • When Winter Came, by E.D. Van Ek - 1892
  • Where Evening Lamp and Rocking chair Invite the Companionship of Book (Bookplate)
  • Where Welcome Greets You at the Door and Memory Lingers in the Hall (Greeting Card) BFS and BMHS
  • Where Memory Holds a Seat and Welcome Smiles to You (Greeting Card) BFS and BMHS
  • See, Winter Come to rule the Varied Year (Greeting Card)A Code of Law and Practice of State and Local Self-Government in Iowa
  • Scrapbook about BFS April 2-8 - 1940
  • Sub-Series: Realia
  • Box 43:
  • Lantern Slides, Four-Minute Speaker
    3 items
  • Zinc etchings
  • Benjamin F. Shambaugh signature
    3 items
  • The Old Stone capitol
    1 item
  • The House
    1 item
  • Medals
  • The Wisconsin Perry’s Victory Centennial Medal - 1913
  • United States Centennial, 1776-1876
  • St. Louis Exposition, Gold - 1904
  • St. Louis Exposition, Bronze - 1904
  • Diplomas and Certificates
    These are filed with similar materials in an Archives Map Case.
  • Bertha M. Horak, Iowa City High School, June 7 - 1889
  • Benjamin F. Shambaugh
  • Iowa National Guard, appointment as Captain of Company B University Battalion, May 14 - 1892
  • University of Iowa, Zetagathian Society, June 10 - 1892
  • Bachelor of Philosophy, June 16 - 1892
  • Iowa City Academy, June 13 - 1888
  • Lewis and Clark Centennial Commemorative Diploma
  • Nebraska State Historical Society Corresponding Member, January 29 - 1910
  • Minnesota State Historical Society Corresponding Member, February 12 - 1906
  • Washington Memorial Founder’s Certificate, February 21 - 1914
  • Phi Kappa Phi fraternity diploma, Iowa State College, June 3 - 1912
  • State Historical Society of Iowa Life Membership Certificate, February 7 - 1912
  • Active Membership Certificate, November 12 - 1902
  • Appointment of the Curator of the Historical Department of Iowa, November 27 - 1908
  • Halle, Wittenburg, August 8 - 1895
  • Halae, April 26 - 1895
  • University of Pennsylvania, Doctor of Philosophy, June 3 - 1895
  • State University of Iowa, Master of Arts, June 15 - 1893
  • Material for a Projected Biography from Miss Hovey, Addendum