Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the C.C. Wylie Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1910-1960
Creator: Wylie, C.C. (1886-unknown)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0146
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa professor of astronomy, 1925-1976. Specialized in the study of meteors.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries from the Department of Physics and Astronomy in 1989, with ownership transferred by his family in 1994. Processed by Fran Murphy and Earl M. Roger in October 1997. Guide posted to the Internet in 2000; updated January 2008.

Preferred Citation: C.C. Wylie Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Charles Clayton Wylie was born in Idana, Kansas, June 18, 1886, and died in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, April 5, 1976. His degrees were B.A., Park College, Parkville, Missouri, 1908; M.A., Missouri, 1912; and Ph.D., Illinois, 1922. Wylie was at the U.S. Naval Observatory, 1913 -- 1919, and the University of Illinois, 1922 -- 1925, before teaching astronomy at the University of Iowa from 1925 onward. The astronomy program was then part of the mathematics department. His interest in meteor and meteorite sightings involved extensive public contact. Wylie wrote several books and many articles on astronomy.

The C. C. Wylie Papers consist of two document boxes of astronomical charts.
Folder, "Wylie, Charles Clayton," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG01.0015.003)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Calendar reform
  • Correspondence - 1931-1951
  • Correspondence - 1952 January-July
  • Correspondence - 1952 August-December
  • Correspondence - 1953 January-May
  • Correspondence - 1953 June-September
  • Correspondence - 1953 October-December
  • Correspondence - 1954
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1955-1960
  • Halley's comet - 1910 May
  • Logs of meteor trips and request for travel forms - 1951-1954
  • Notes from the Department of Astronomy - 1953-1954
  • Office of Ordnance research - 1952-1954
  • Research on stone-dropping meteors - 1952-1954
  • Study of stone-dropping meteors and their meteorites - 1951
  • Texas Observers' Bulletin, no. 25-32 - 1933-1934
  • Descriptive Astronomy, C.C. Wylie
    2 copies