Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the William R. Savage Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1974-1987
Creator: Savage, William R. (1926-1988)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0145
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor of physics and astronomy. Researched musical acoustics and solid state physics. Offprints and Iowa Acoustics Colloquium conferences.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Helen Savage in March 2000. A set of records pertaining to the Faculty Research Club was moved to collection RG 03.05.

Preferred Citation: William R. Savage Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

William Ralph Savage was born September 12, 1926 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. He served in the U.S. Army during World War II. He received his B.S. degree at Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa, in 1951. He took his Ph.D. there in 1956.
 
He joined the faculty of the State University of Iowa in August 1963 as associate professor of physics and astronomy. He was promoted to full professor in 1978. His research was in solid state physics and musical acoustics, as well as high temperature superconductivity. He was a member of many professional organizations and established the Iowa Acoustics Colloquium.
 
He married Helen L. Hoffman December 23, 1950. He had a son, William D., and a daughter, Barbara E. William Ralph Savage died May 28, 1988.

The William R. Savage papers include offprints and material regarding conferences he was involved with during his professional career.
Folder, "Savage, William R.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Records of the Department of Physics (RG06.0028.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CONFERENCES
Series 2: OFFPRINTS

  • Series 1: CONFERENCES
  • Box 1:
  • Iowa Acoustics Colloquium conferences - 1974; 1976; 1980; 1981; 1983; 1985; 1987
    8 folders
  • Series 2: OFFPRINTS
  • Box 1:
  • Stewart offprints
  • G. W. Stewart and Carl E. Seashore offprints and articles

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Savage, William R., 1926-

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa Dept. of Physics and Astronomy

Topics:
Sound

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Professional papers
Sources
Offprints

Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers