Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the James P. Wells Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1949-1963
Creator: Wells, James P. (1913-1982)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0143
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Editorial assistant for the University of Iowa News and Information Service from 1952 until 1958, and administrative assistant in the Department of Physics and Astronomy from 1958 to 1979. Reports, writings, and news releases.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated by James P. Wells in October 1978. Finding aid posted to the Internet in July 2010.

Preferred Citation: James P. Wells Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

James P. Wells was born August 6, 1913, in La Grande, Oregon. He was an editorial assistant for the University of Iowa News and Information Service from 1952 until 1958, when he was named administrative assistant in the Department of Physics and Astronomy. In this capacity he prepared articles and news releases regarding the launching of the first U. S. satellites into Earth's orbit.

Wells retired from the University of Iowa in 1979. He and his wife, Alberta, had a son and a daughter. Wells died in Salt Lake City, Utah, on October 9, 1982.

[D. Anderson; 07/2010].

These papers include reports, writings, and news releases that document faculty research within the Department of Physics and Astronomy during the years James P. Wells served as administrative assistant from 1958 to 1963. Articles collected by Wells that were authored by Gustavus Hinrichs and George W. Stewart were transferred to those respective collections.
Folder, "Wells, James P.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Papers of Gustavus Hinrichs (RG99.0039)

Papers of George W. Stewart (RG99.0141)

Papers of James A. Van Allen (RG99.0142)

Papers of George H. Ludwig (RG99.0004)

Wells, James P. Annals of a University Department: From Natural Philosophy to Physics and Astronomy. Iowa City, Iowa: Dept. of Physics and Astronomy, University of Iowa, 1980.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Writings by SUI physics professors - 1949-1963
  • Article, "Architects of the Space Age," by James Wells, March - 1958
  • Article, "Explorer VII," by James Wells and George Ludwig - 1959
  • Report on cosmic ray instrumentation, by George Ludwig and James Van Allen, April 19 - 1957
  • Report, "Observation of High Intensity Radiation by Satellites 1958 Alpha and Gamma," by Van Allen, Ludwig, Ray, and McIlwain, May 1 - 1958
  • Report to NASA on continuing research with satellites, by Van Allen, November 20 - 1958
  • News releases - 1958
  • Comparisons of various U. S. physical science buildings - 1950-1962
  • Matsushima letter to Van Allen on plans for a new observatory, April 4 - 1962
  • Floor plans for proposed Physics Research Building
  • Colloquium of College Physicists, itinerary for spouses, June - 1956
  • Statistics of enrolled students and hourly employees, June 11 - 1959
  • Bibliography of space science publications - 1951-1963

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers