Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the M. Gladys Scott Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1920-1988
Creator: Scott, M. Gladys (1920-1988)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0140
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor and head of women's physical education. Established women's intercollegiate athletic program at SUI.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by the M. Gladys Scott estate in August 1994.

Preferred Citation: M. Gladys Scott Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Myrtle Gladys Scott was born October 26, 1905 in Buckley, Illinois. Scott received her B.A. degree in romance languages and history from DePauw University in 1927. She took her M.A. and Ph.D., both in physical education, at the State University of Iowa in 1931 and 1937. Dr. Scott was the first woman at SUI to receive a Ph.D. in the field of physical education.
 
Scott served as associate professor of physical education at Northern State Teachers College in Aberdeen, South Dakota, 1928-1933. She was director of physical education for women at State Teachers College in Dickinson, North Dakota, 1933-1934.
 
She joined the faculty of the State University of Iowa in 1934 as instructor of women's physical education. Dr. Scott became assistant professor in 1938 and associate professor in 1941. She was made full professor in 1947 and department head in 1955. Her area of research and publication was biomechanics of human motion. Dr. Scott established the SUI women's intercollegiate athletic program in 1973 and hired Christine Grant as its first athletic director.
 
Scott retired in 1974 and died November 5, 1990. The M. Gladys Scott Scholarship Fund was established to assist graduate students with research in physical education.

The M. Gladys Scott papers include articles and correspondence during her professional career. Several photographs appear to be from her high school years.
Folder, "Scott, Myrtle Gladys," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

The University of Iowa Archives' oral history collection, Vol. XLIV (RG01.0006.001)

Records of the Committee on Student Life (RG05.0003.019)

Records of the Department of Physical Education (RG06.0026.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical
  • Articles - 1960-1981
  • Correspondence - 1964-1988
  • Awards - 1927-1981
  • Newspaper clippings, some n.d. - 1978-1979
  • Oral History transcript form, James Beilman project - 1976
  • Photographs - 1920-1988
  • Photograph album - 1974

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty and Staff Organizations