Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the George T.W. Patrick Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1900-1947
Creator: Patrick, George T.W. (1857-1949)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0137
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor of Psychology. Established the psychological laboratories at S.U.I. in 1890. Reprints, journal, transcript.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Mr. Patrick in 1947.

Preferred Citation: George T.W. Patrick Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

George Thomas White Patrick was born August 19, 1857, in North Boscawen, New Hampshire. He grew up in Lyons (Clinton), Iowa, where he attended high school. He received his A.B. degree in 1878 from the State University of Iowa. After graduation he served as temporary high school principal in Marengo, Iowa, for three months. Following that position he was asked to teach for six months in Cedar Falls, Iowa, public schools. When that position ended he moved to Leadville and Crested Butte, Colorado, from 1879 until fall 1882.
 
Patrick took his B.D. degree from Yale Divinity School in 1885. While studying at Yale his focus changed to philosophy. He attended Johns Hopkins University and took his Ph.D. in philosophy in 1888. In 1894 he studied at Leipzig University and Berlin University in Germany.
 
Dr. Patrick began his career at the State University of Iowa in September 1887 as head of the Department of Mental and Moral Science, and Didactics. Didactics was later named the Department of Pedagogy, followed by the Department of Education. Although he was in Didactics until 1891, he found the opportunity to teach just one course in the history of education, with the majority of his time devoted to philosophy and psychology.
 
At SUI, Dr. Patrick established one of the first psychological laboratories in 1890, modeled after the Johns Hopkins laboratory established in 1883. J. Allen Gilbert was hired in 1895 to supervise the laboratory. He and Patrick conducted sleep deprivation experiments and published their findings in the Psychological Review and in the University of Iowa Studies in Psychology.
 
Patrick married Maud Lyall November 28, 1889, and had two sons, Walden and David. He retired in 1931 and moved to California. George T.W. Patrick died May 21, 1949.

The George T.W. Patrick papers include reprints, a 1946 journal, and a transcript of George Thomas White Patrick, an autobiography. Teacher and Philosopher, by Herbert Martin.
Folder, "Patrick, George T.W.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Folder, "Gilbert, J. Allen," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Folder, "Seashore, Carl E.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Papers of Carl E. Seashore (RG99.0164)

Patrick, George T.W., "Founding the Psychological Laboratory at the State University of Iowa: an Historical Sketch." Iowa Journal of History and Politics 30 (July 1932): 404-416

Browse by Series:
Series 1: AUTOBIOGRAPHY
Series 2: PUBLICATIONS

  • Series 1: AUTOBIOGRAPHY
  • Box 1:
  • Original typescript with corrections
  • Carbon copy
    2 folders
  • Galley proof
  • Series 2: PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 2:
  • Reprints
  • Journal - 1946

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers