Guide to the Gustav Bergmann Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1920-1991
Creator: Bergmann, Gustav (1906-1987)
Extent: 29.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0134
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: A University of Iowa professor of philosophy. Class and seminar notes, correspondence, lectures and manuscript drafts. See also ?[url=http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/Bai/heald.htm]From Positivism to Realism: The Philosophy of Gustav Bergmann[/url]? by William Heald in [i]Books at Iowa 56 [/i](April 1987). University Archives.

Administrative Information

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Boxes 48, 49

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use:

Acquisition: Leola Bergmann donated the papers of Gustav Bergmann to the University of Iowa Archives in 1987.

Preferred Citation: Gustav Bergmann Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Biographical Note

Gustav Bergmann, Ph.D., was born on May 4, 1906, in Vienna, Austria, a son of Fritz and Therese Bergmann. He received a doctorate degree in mathematics in 1928 and a law degree in 1935, both from the University of Vienna.

The rise of Nazism in Austria forced Bergmann to emigrate to the United States in 1938, joining the University of Iowa one year later as a guest lecturer in the Department of Psychology. He married Leola Nelson in 1943 in Iowa City. He was named an assistant professor in 1944, and from 1950 until his retirement in 1974 he was a professor of philosophy and psychology. In 1962, he received an honorary doctorate from the University of Gothenberg in Sweden. He was president of the American Philosophical Association in 1967, and in 1972 was appointed a Carver Professor of Philosophy. He died on April 21, 1987, at age 80 following a lengthy illness.

A detailed discussion of Gustav Bergmann's life and his contributions, written by William S. Heald, appears in the journal Books at Iowa 56 (April 1992).


Content Description

The papers almost entirely chronicle Gustav Bergmann's academic career at the University of Iowa but also encompass his educational and professional career in Austria and Germany prior to his arrival in the United States in 1938. The collection spans 1920 to 1991, the bulk of which is concentrated on the period of 1930 to 1985. Included are lecture notes, chapter drafts and revisions for publications, correspondence, article reprints, photographs, and personal memoirs, notably of the Vienna Circle.

Related Materials

Addis, Laird. "The Philosophy of Gustav Bergmann." Algemeen Nederlands Tijdschrift voor Wijsbegeerte 63 (April 1971): 78-98, notes, bibliog. Main.

Bergmann, Gustav. "Collected Works of Gustav Bergmann." Frankfurt-am-Main : Deutsche Hochschulschriften, 2002-2003. Main.

Ibid. "Filosofia del la ciencia." Madrid: Editorial Tecnos, [1961]. Main.

Ibid. "Logic and Reality." Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1964. Main.

Ibid. "Meaning and Existence." Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1960. Main.

Ibid. "Memories of the Vienna Circle: Letter to Otto Neurath (1938)." Edited and translated by William Heald and Gunter Zoeller. In Scientific Philosophy: Origins and Developments, edited by Friedrich Stadler, pp. 193-208, notes. Vienna Circle Institute Yearbook, 1. Boston: Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1993. Main.

Ibid. "The Metaphysics of Logical Positivism." New York: Longmans, Green, 1954. Main.

Ibid. "The Metaphysics of Logical Positivism (Papers)." Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1967. Main.

Ibid. "New Foundations of Ontology." Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1992. Main.

Ibid. "Oral History Interview." University of Iowa Oral History Project, 4. 21 pp. 1976. University Archives.

Ibid. "Philosophy of Science." Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1957. Main.

Ibid. "Realism; a critique of Brentano and Meinong." Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1967. Main.

Papers of Edward W. Chittenden (RG99.0126)

Farber, I.E. "Bergmann's 'History and Systems of Psychology' with Penultimate Reflections on Behaviorism." In Psychology at Iowa: Centennial Essays, edited by Joan H. Cantor, pp. 19-36, notes. Hillsdale, N.J.: L. Erlbaum, 1991. At Psychology Library; University Archives.

Heald, William. "From Positivism to Realism: The Philosophy of Gustav Bergmann." Books at Iowa 56 (April 1992): 25-46, illus. Main.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:

  • Huntington, E.; Postulates for Assertion, Conjunction and Equality - 1937
  • Kelsen, H.; General Theory of Law and the State - 1945
  • Klaua, D.; Allgemeine Mengenlehre - 1968
  • Kleene, S.; Introduction to Metamathematics - 1957
  • Korner, S. (ed.); Observation and Interpretation - 1957
  • Kraft, V.; Der Wiener Kreis - 1950
  • Kraft, V.; Die Grundlagen einer wissenschaftlichen Wertlehre - 1951
  • Lasswell, H. and Kaplan, A.; Power and Society - 1950
  • Lemmon, E.J.; Introduction to Axiomatic Set Theory - 1968
  • Lenzen, V.; Causality in Natural Science - 1954
  • Lenzen, V.; Procedures of Empirical Science - 1938
  • Lewin, K.; The Conceptual Representation and Measurement of Psychological Forces - 1938
  • Lewis, H.D. (ed.); Contemporary British Philosophy - 1956
  • Lewis, C.I.; Mind and the World Order - 1929
  • Locke, J.; An Essay Concerning Human Understanding - 1959
  • Lutzeler, Paul Michael. Hermann Broch: Eine Biographie - 1985
  • Mehlberg, H.; The Reach of Science - 1958
  • Mendelson, E.; Introduction to Mathematical Logic - 1964
  • Messer, A.; Geschichte der Philosophie - 1923
  • Michalor, A.; Philosophical Problems of Science and Technology - 1974
  • Moore, G.E.; Philosophical Papers - 1959
  • Sub-Series: Books: Moore-Quine
  • Box 42:
  • Moore, G.E.; Philosophical Studies - 1951
  • Moore, G.E.; Some Main Problems of Philosophy - 1953
  • Moore, G.E.; Some Main Problems of Philosophy - 1966
  • Moore, G.E.; Some Main Problems of Philosophy - 1966
  • Nagel, E.; Sovereign Reason - 1954
  • Oaklander, N.; Temporal Relations and Temporal Becoming - 1984
  • Pap, A.; Semantics and Necessary Truth - 1958
  • Ramsay, F.; The Foundations of Mathematics - 1931
  • Ramsperger, A.; Philosophies of Science - 1942
  • Russell, B.; Human Knowledge: Its Scope and Limits - 1956
  • Russell, B.; An Inquiry Into Meaning and Truth - 1940
  • Russell, B.; Introduction to Mathematical Philosophy - 1930
  • Russell, B.; Einfuhrung in die Mathematische Philosophie - 1923
  • Russell, B. and Whitehead, A.; Principia Mathematica - 1964
  • Russell, B.; The Principles of Mathematics - 1964
  • Ryle, G.; The Concept of Mind - 1949
  • Quine, W.V.O.; From a Logical Point of View - 1953
  • Quine, W.V.O.; Methods of Logic - 1950
  • Sub-Series: Books: Quine-Wittgenstein
  • Box 43:
  • Quine, W.V.O.; Ontological Relativity - 1969
  • Quine, W.V.O.; Set Theory and Its Logic - 1963
  • Quine, W.V.O.; Word and Object - 1960
  • Reichenbach, H.; Elements of Symbolic Logic - 1947
  • Schlick, M.; Problems of Ethics - 1939
  • Seashore, C.; Elementary Experiments in Psychology - 1908
  • Stegmuller, W.; Metaphysik Wissenschaft Skepsis - 1954
  • Stenius, E.; Wittgenstein's Tractatus - 1960
  • Strawson, P.F.; Individuals - 1959
  • Suppes, P.; Axiomatic Set Theory - 1967
  • Tegtmeier, Von Erwin; Komparative Begriffe - 1981
  • Troland, L.; The Principles of Psychophysiology - 1929
  • Urmson, K.O.; Philosophical Analysis - 1956
  • Wisdom, J.; Other Minds - 1952
  • Wittgenstein, L.; The Blue and Brown Books - 1965
  • Wittgenstein, L.; Notebooks, 1914-1916 - 1961
  • Wittgenstein, L.; Philosophische Bemerkungen - 1964
  • Wittgenstein, L.; Philosophical Investigations - 1953
  • Wittgenstein, L.; Remarks on the Foundations of Mathematics - 1956
  • Wittgenstein, L.; Tractatus Logico Philosophicus - 1947
  • Series 12: MANUSCRIPT DRAFTS
  • Sub-Series: Typed Drafts New Foundations of Ontology in the original Manuscript boxes
  • Box 44:
  • I.  "Simples and Canons"/ II.  "Facts and Modes"
  • III.  "Diversity and Order"
  • IV.  "Functions and Analyticity"
  • V.  "Thought and Language"
  • II.  "Facts and Modes", III.  "Diversity and Order", V.  "Thought and Language" (Two Drafts), IV.   "Functions and Analyticity"
  • VI.  "Classes"
  • VII.  "The Linguistic Turn Contained" (Two Drafts)
  • VI.  "Classes"
  • VII.  "The Linguistic Turn Contained"
  • Box 45:
  • "Classes"/Footnotes
  • The Trunk Revisited, "Exemplification and Forms"/Footnotes
  • Sameness and Order, Section I, Section II
  • "Sets:  Introduction" - 1983 May 21
  • "The Phenomenological Predicament"/Footnotes - 1983 September
  • "Two Problems and a Restatement" - 1985 March 3
  • New Foundations of Ontology, Preface and Appendices
  • "The Scope of the Reconstruction"
  • Logical Quantification, Notes, Sketches, Outlines - 1978 Summer
  • Notes and Reminders - 1978 April
  • Sketches, Outlines - 1978 April
  • "Transparency vs. Analyticity", Sketches - 1977 October-November
  • "Sameness and Quantification", "The Fiction", "Alternates", Miscellaneous - 1976 January
  • "The Linguistic Turn Contained", Notes
  • "New Foundations of Ontology" - 1972
  • Box 46:
  • "Simples and Canons"
  • "Facts and Modes"
  • "Diversity and Order"
  • "Functions and Analyticity"
  • "Thought and Language"
  • "Classes"
  • "The Linguistic Turn Contained"
  • Sub-Series: History/Biographical Material
  • Box 47:
  • "Memories of the Vienna Circle"/Letter to Otto Neurath
  • "Memories of the Vienna Circle"/Letter to Otto Neurath, Notes, Correspondence
  • "Memories of the Vienna Circle", Final Version - 1993 January
  • "Memories of the Vienna Circle", Final Version - 1993 January 15
  • Historical and Biographical Sketches of Gustav Bergmann and the Vienna Circle
  • Gustav Bergmann/Otto Neurath Correspondence - 1938-1943
  • Miscellaneous/Stray Notes
  • Series 13: PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION
  • Sub-Series: Photographs in Chronological Order
  • Box 48:
  • Early Photographs of Gustav Bergmann - 1916-early 1930s
  • Gustav Bergmann - Late 1930s
  • Mayer, Walter; Gustav Bergmann's professor at University of Vienna - 1930s
  • Bone Lake, Wisconsin - 1960s
  • Lund, Sweden - 1961 September-October
  • Goteborg, Sweden - 1961 November-December
  • Italy - 1961 December-1962 January
  • Stockholm, Sweden - 1962 February-March
  • Uppsala, Sweden - 1962 March-May
  • Oslo, Norway - 1962 April
  • Party at the Bergmann's - Mid to early 1960s
  • Bergmann's home - 1970
  • Felix Kraus - 1977 December
  • Party at Butch Varov's (?) Residence - 1980 October 28
  • Election Night at the Hochberg Residence - 1980 November 4
  • Marguerite Young - 1983, 1989
  • Friends/Miscellaneous
  • Sub-Series: Memory Test Photographs (Used by doctor to determine extent of Bergmann's Alzheimer's Disease)
  • Box 49:
  • Photographs - 1930s
  • Photographs - 1940s
  • Photographs - 1950s
  • Photographs - 1960s
  • Photographs - 1970s
  • Photographs - 1980s
  • Sub-Series: Safety Negatives
  • Box 49:
  • Mainly from Goteborg, Sweden and Born Lake, Wisconsin
  • Sub-Series: Large Format Photographs
  • Box 49:
  • Photographs of young Gustav Bergmann
  • Gustav Bergmann and his Daughter
  • Pamphlet, Second Annual College Union Symposium
  • Gustav Bergmann with A.S.T.P. Instructors
  • Gustav Bergmann in Seminar with Students
  • History of Science Institute
  • Gustav Bergmann in Seminar with Students
  • Leola Bergmann
  • Photograph of Gustav Bergmann Portrait by James Lechay
  • Press Clippings of Lechay Portrait
  • Photocopy of Press Clippings of Lechay Portrait
  • Series 14: CORRESPONDENCE WITH WILLIAM H. HAY
  • Box 50:
  • Correspondence with William H. Hay - 1947-1949
  • Correspondence with William H. Hay - 1950-1959
  • Correspondence with William H. Hay - 1960-1969
  • Correspondence with William H. Hay - 1970-1979
  • Correspondence with William H. Hay - 1980-1987

  • Subjects

    This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


    Personal Names:
    Bergmann, Gustav, 1906-
    Brentano, Franz Clemens, 1838-1917
    Brentano, Gödel, Kurt
    Wittgenstein, Ludwig, 1889-1951

    Corporate Names:
    Vienna Circle
    University of Iowa Department of Philosopy

    Topics:
    Mathematics
    Ontology

    Occupations:
    Philosophers

    Genre/Form of Materials:
    Photographs