Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Gustav Bergmann Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1920-1991
Creator: Bergmann, Gustav (1906-1987)
Extent: 29.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0134
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: A University of Iowa professor of philosophy. Class and seminar notes, correspondence, lectures and manuscript drafts. See also ?[url=http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/Bai/heald.htm]From Positivism to Realism: The Philosophy of Gustav Bergmann[/url]? by William Heald in [i]Books at Iowa 56 [/i](April 1987). University Archives.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Boxes 48, 49

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use:

Acquisition: Leola Bergmann donated the papers of Gustav Bergmann to the University of Iowa Archives in 1987.

Preferred Citation: Gustav Bergmann Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Gustav Bergmann, Ph.D., was born on May 4, 1906, in Vienna, Austria, a son of Fritz and Therese Bergmann. He received a doctorate degree in mathematics in 1928 and a law degree in 1935, both from the University of Vienna.

The rise of Nazism in Austria forced Bergmann to emigrate to the United States in 1938, joining the University of Iowa one year later as a guest lecturer in the Department of Psychology. He married Leola Nelson in 1943 in Iowa City. He was named an assistant professor in 1944, and from 1950 until his retirement in 1974 he was a professor of philosophy and psychology. In 1962, he received an honorary doctorate from the University of Gothenberg in Sweden. He was president of the American Philosophical Association in 1967, and in 1972 was appointed a Carver Professor of Philosophy. He died on April 21, 1987, at age 80 following a lengthy illness.

A detailed discussion of Gustav Bergmann's life and his contributions, written by William S. Heald, appears in the journal Books at Iowa 56 (April 1992).

The papers almost entirely chronicle Gustav Bergmann's academic career at the University of Iowa but also encompass his educational and professional career in Austria and Germany prior to his arrival in the United States in 1938. The collection spans 1920 to 1991, the bulk of which is concentrated on the period of 1930 to 1985. Included are lecture notes, chapter drafts and revisions for publications, correspondence, article reprints, photographs, and personal memoirs, notably of the Vienna Circle.
Addis, Laird. "The Philosophy of Gustav Bergmann." Algemeen Nederlands Tijdschrift voor Wijsbegeerte 63 (April 1971): 78-98, notes, bibliog. Main.

Bergmann, Gustav. "Collected Works of Gustav Bergmann." Frankfurt-am-Main : Deutsche Hochschulschriften, 2002-2003. Main.

Ibid. "Filosofia del la ciencia." Madrid: Editorial Tecnos, [1961]. Main.

Ibid. "Logic and Reality." Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1964. Main.

Ibid. "Meaning and Existence." Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1960. Main.

Ibid. "Memories of the Vienna Circle: Letter to Otto Neurath (1938)." Edited and translated by William Heald and Gunter Zoeller. In Scientific Philosophy: Origins and Developments, edited by Friedrich Stadler, pp. 193-208, notes. Vienna Circle Institute Yearbook, 1. Boston: Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1993. Main.

Ibid. "The Metaphysics of Logical Positivism." New York: Longmans, Green, 1954. Main.

Ibid. "The Metaphysics of Logical Positivism (Papers)." Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1967. Main.

Ibid. "New Foundations of Ontology." Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1992. Main.

Ibid. "Oral History Interview." University of Iowa Oral History Project, 4. 21 pp. 1976. University Archives.

Ibid. "Philosophy of Science." Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1957. Main.

Ibid. "Realism; a critique of Brentano and Meinong." Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1967. Main.

Papers of Edward W. Chittenden (RG99.0126)

Farber, I.E. "Bergmann's 'History and Systems of Psychology' with Penultimate Reflections on Behaviorism." In Psychology at Iowa: Centennial Essays, edited by Joan H. Cantor, pp. 19-36, notes. Hillsdale, N.J.: L. Erlbaum, 1991. At Psychology Library; University Archives.

Heald, William. "From Positivism to Realism: The Philosophy of Gustav Bergmann." Books at Iowa 56 (April 1992): 25-46, illus. Main.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: 1960's MATERIAL
Series 2: 1960's MATERIAL: REALISM
Series 3: 1970's MATERIAL
Series 4: 1970's MATERIAL: NEW FOUNDATIONS OF ONTOLOGY
Series 5: 1980's MATERIAL
Series 6: POST-REALISM PUBLISHED PAPERS AND ASSOCIATED NOTES, CORRESPONDENCE, ETC.
Series 7: CLASS AND SEMINAR NOTES, ASSOCIATED MATERIAL
Series 8: PUBLIC LECTURES, DELIVERED PAPERS, PRE-REALISM PUBLISHED PAPERS
Series 9: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 10: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 11: BOOKS, JOURNALS, AND JOURNAL REPRINTS
Series 12: MANUSCRIPT DRAFTS
Series 13: PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION
Series 14: CORRESPONDENCE WITH WILLIAM H. HAY

  • Series 1: 1960's MATERIAL
  • Sub-Series: Notes on Wittgenstein, Mathematics, and Ontology
  • Box 1:
  • Bergmann's N.E.H, Grant proposal; topic: Wittgenstein's Remarks on the Foundations of Mathematics - 1965
  • Handwritten Notes; Ontology, Mathematics - 1966
  • Handwritten Notes; Wittgenstein's Tractatus - 1966
  • Handwritten Notes; Wittgenstein's Notebooks - Undated
  • Handwritten Notes; Wittgenstein's Philosophical Investigations - 1966
  • Handwritten Notes; Wittgenstein's Blue and Brown Books - Undated
  • Handwritten Notes; Wittgenstein's Remarks on the Foundations of Mathematics - 1966
  • Handwritten Notes; Godel - 1966
  • Handwritten Notes; Properties, Classes, "The Nonextensionality of the Trunk" - Undated
  • Handwritten Notes; Wittgenstein's Philosophical Remarks - 1968
  • Handwritten Notes; Wittgenstein's Philosophical Remarks - 1966
  • Handwritten Notes; "Introduction to Part Two", "Homomorphism, Isomorphism, Meaning and Thought" - 1966
  • Handwritten Notes; Classes, Relations, Sameness and Identity, Criticism of Russell - 1966
  • Sub-Series: "Diversity"; "Pre-Sermelo"; "Post-Zermelo"
  • Box 1:
  • Table of Contents, Preface, part of an Introduction to a post-Realism multivolume book on ontology and Wittgenstein's Philosophy of Mathematics - Undated
    Typed
  • Roughly typed notes; the "Old Introduction" to the "Post-Zermelo Manuscript" - Undated
  • Box 2:
  • Typed notes; for chapter one of "Post-Zermelo M.S." - Undated
  • Roughly typed notes; chapters three through ten of "Post-Zermelo M.S." - 1967
  • Handwritten notes; "Post-Zermelo Fragments" - 1967
  • Typed notes; "Post-Zermelo Sketches and Memoranda for Diversity" - 1967
  • Typed notes; "Typed Fragments for Diversity; Pre-Zermelo" - 1967
  • Typed notes; Diversity, Pre-Zermelo - 1967
  • Typed and Handwritten notes; Diversity, Pre-Zermelo - 1967
  • Handwritten notes filed by G.B with Diversity/Pre-Zermelo material; axiomatics and ontology, whether arithmetic is analytic or categorical - 1968
  • Handwritten notes; "Immediately before the Fourth Way, Pre-Zermelo"; collections and complexes - Undated
  • Some typed, mostly handwritten notes; "Assorted Notes from before Lake '67, Pre-Zermelo"; senses of "constituent" - 1967
  • Table of Contents for "Diversity, the Ontology of Arithmetic", and a typed fragment on thought and language - 1967
  • Handwritten notes; "The Fourth Way, July 18, 1967 until April 10, 1967" - 1967 July 18-April 10
  • "Handwritten Notes" - 1968 March 1
  • Typed notes; form, classes; date not clear but filed with '67/'68 material - 1967-1968
  • Handwritten notes "used" - 1966 December 19
  • Sub-Series: Typed and Handwritten Notes 1967-1968
  • Box 2:
  • Handwritten notes; facts, complexes and functions - 1967
  • Handwritten notes; revision of the sameness criterion, internal relations, formal complexes - 1968
  • Handwritten notes; "Well-order and Activity" - Undated
    Topic places this in the 1966-1968 material
  • Typed and Handwritten notes; ties, facts, the uniqueness of forms - 1967
  • Box 3:
  • Typed and Handwritten notes; ontology of mind, ontology of arithmetic; Table of Contents for prospective 3-volume work the first volume of which was to be called "Diversity" - 1967
  • Handwritten notes; order, typed fragment about intuitionism and Wittgenstein - 1968
  • Handwritten and typed notes, "Definitions, Ontological Hypotheses in the case of connections and derived characters, with a digression on circumstances, facts and mixed complexes" - 1968
  • Handwritten and typed notes; categories, internal syntactical properties, derived properties - 1968
  • Handwritten notes; internal relations, inseparability - 1968
  • Typed and Handwritten notes; "1968A", "complex actions, trellises, lattices and ordinals", Russell and Peano axioms - 1968
  • Typed notes; "1968H", "Relations, Pairs and Order" - 1968
  • Typed and Handwritten notes; "Collections and Diversity", "The Ground of Simplicity", Existence, Sameness and Identity" - 1968
  • Typed fragments and some Handwritten notes; "Sketches for Diversity as an Internal Relation" - 1968
  • Typed fragments; collections, existents, simplicity, constituency - 1968
  • Typed fragments; collections and internal relations, the Burali-Forti Paradox, Relations, Pairs, and Order - 1968
  • Handwritten notes; "Last Tries I", "4-valued logic of Modes" - circa 1968
  • Handwritten notes; "Last Tries II" - circa 1968
  • Handwritten notes; "Last Tries III" [much of this document is in German] - circa 1968
  • Handwritten notes; "Last Tries IV", definition of syntactical kinds - circa 1968
  • Typed and Handwritten fragments; "Last Tries V", basic categories, functions, derived entities, sameness and impredicativity - circa 1968
  • Sub-Series: Handwritten and Typed Notes and Fragments 1967-1968
  • Box 3:
  • Handwritten notes; "The Second Try" - 1967
  • Handwritten notes; "The Third Try; the Combined Approach" - 1967
  • Handwritten fragments; "Third Try drafts" - 1967
  • Box 4:
  • Typed and Handwritten fragments; "Compound Actions", classes, selections, infinity, transparency of form - circa 1968
  • Typed fragments; showing, saying and the ideal language - Undated
  • Handwritten fragments; functions, ultimate sorts, things vs. subsistents - circa 1967
  • Handwritten notes; "Three Valued Modes" - Undated
  • Sub-Series: Handwritten and Typed Notes and Fragments 1968 - 1969; notes suspected to be from late 60's or early 70's but not more precisely dateable
  • Box 4:
  • Handwritten notes; things, complexes, logical forms, functions, internal relations - 1968
  • Handwritten notes; ties, M-functions, classes - 1968
  • Handwritten notes; functions - 1968
  • Handwritten notes; formal characters and categories, recursion - 1968
  • Handwritten fragments and notes; "formation rules and functions", "circumstances and ties" - 1968
  • Handwritten and typed fragments; classes, sameness, derived characters, the axiomatic method, "the limits of the thought and the minimal metalanguage" - 1969
  • Handwritten notes; ultimate sorts and modes - 1969
  • Handwritten notes; on the range of the argument of a function, logical form - 1969
  • Handwritten notes; M-functions, simples and complexes - 1969
  • Handwritten fragments and notes; internal properties and relations - 1969
  • Handwritten notes; categories, definition of syntactical kinds - Undated
  • Handwritten notes; classes, sameness, diversity are the apparent topics - Undated
  • Handwritten fragment and a short Typed fragment; the constituency connection - Undated
  • Series 2: 1960's MATERIAL: REALISM
  • Sub-Series: Clean Typed Chapters and Sections; photocopies of Brentano Material used as Research Source for Realism
  • Box 5:
  • Preface, Fontnotes, Bibliography, Chapter One, Chapter Two, Chapter Three
  • Chapters Four, Five and Six
  • Chapters Seven, Eight and Nine
  • Photocopy of Introduction to Brentano's Kategorienlehre
  • Part One of Brentano's Kategorienlehre
  • Part Two of Brentano's Kategorienlehre
  • Part Three of Brentano's Kategorienlehre
  • Footnotes for Brentano's Kategorienlehre
  • Sub-Series: Roughly Typed Early Drafts of Realism
  • Box 5:
  • Chapters One, Two, and Three
  • Chapters Four, Five and Six
  • Chapters Seven, Eight and Nine
  • Box 6:
  • Chapters Ten and Eleven
  • Chapters Twelve, Thirteen and Fourteen
  • Chapters Fifteen, Sixteen and Seventeen
  • Chapters Eighteen and Nineteen
  • Chapters Twenty and Twenty-One
  • Series 3: 1970's MATERIAL
  • Sub-Series: Handwritten and Typed Notes and Fragments - 1970
  • Box 6:
  • Typed fragments; ontology of set theory and related topics - 1970
  • Handwritten fragments; classes, functions, recursion for molecular complexes - 1970 March 8-April 1
  • Handwritten fragment; exemplification and class membership, internal properties and relations - 1970
  • Handwritten fragment; diads, coasses, facts, constituency - 1970
  • Handwritten fragment; "Criticism of Peano" - 1970
  • Annotated folder without contents - 1970
  • Handwritten fragments; defintion of generality, forms, functions, pervaders - 1970
  • Handwritten fragments; diads, quantification, modes - 1970
  • Box 7:
  • Handwritten fragments; forms and modes as pervaders, classes - 1970
  • Handwritten fragments; "Agenda for the Operator Story" - 1970
  • Handwritten notes and a fragment; quantification - 1970
  • Handwritten notes; defining the form: being-a-diad - 1970
  • Handwritten notes and fragments; quantification, syntactic form, classes - 1970
  • Three groups of handwritten notes; properties and classes - 1970
  • Handwritten notes; propositional calculus, quantification [in German and logicese] - 1970
  • Sub-Series: Handwritten and Typed Notes and Fragments 1971-1974
  • Box 7:
  • Handwritten fragments; [in German] - 1971
  • Handwritten fragments; diads, functions - 1971
  • Handwritten fragments; [mostly in German] - 1971
  • Handwritten fragments; diads, formation rules, constituency - 1971
  • Handwritten fragment; analyticity and functions - 1972
  • Handwritten and Typed fragments; classes, analyticity, the difference between determinates and non-determinates - 1972
  • Handwritten fragments; classes - 1972-1974
  • Handwritten fragments; classes, canons, intentionality as an internal relation, stratification of classes - 1972, 1974
  • Handwritten fragments; canons, classes, forms - 1973
  • Handwritten fragments; definition of syntactical forms: the form of being-a-clas, the form of being-a-circumstance - 1973
  • Box 8:
  • Handwritten fragments; syntactical forms quantification - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Handwritten Notes and Fragments 1975-1979
  • Box 8:
  • Handwritten notes and fragments; "The Wound and the Arrow", form, transparency, the thinkability and sayability of logical form - 1975
  • Handwritten fragments; "The Wound and the Arrow, auxiliary", syntactical form and transparency - 1975
  • Handwritten fragments; "The Wound Healed?"; generality, transparency and the axioms for the L.F.C. - 1975
  • Handwritten fragments; "The Summary of State of Affairs, Oct. 29, 1975", sameness, analyticity - 1975 October 29
  • Handwritten fragments; transparency, axioms, analyticity - 1975
  • Handwritten fragments; comments and notes on Chapter VII of New Foundations of Ontology [the book] - 1975
  • Handwritten fragments and notes; analyticity, Godel, Skolem - 1975
  • Handwritten fragment and notes; "The New Sameness, Constituents and Well-formed Parts" - 1975
  • Handwritten fragments and notes [contains journal offprints on set theory] - 1975, 1976
  • Handwritten fragments; definitions of syntactical forms - 1977
  • Handwritten fragments; quantification over complexes - 1978
  • Handwritten notes; thought and language - 1978
  • Handwritten fragments; thought and language - 1979
  • Handwritten fragments - 1979
  • Sub-Series: Undated Notes and Fragments. Suspected to be from Seventies
  • Box 8:
  • Handwritten notes and a short typed fragment containing a statement of G.B. conception of ontology [with some footnotes for this latter fragment] - Early 1970s
  • Handwritten fragments, limits of atomism, accessibility of mode of generalities - Early to mid 1970s
  • Box 9:
  • Handwritten fragments and notes, classes - Early 1970s
  • Handwritten notes and fragments [much in German]; classes - Early 1970s
  • Handwritten fragments; quantification, classes - Mid to late 1970s
  • Handwritten fragments; logical form, ultimate sorts, limitation of representing logical form in the ideal language - Mid 1970s
  • Handwritten notes [some in German]; intentional nexus - Early to mid 1970s
  • Handwritten fragments; classes - Mid to late 1970s-early 1980s
  • Handwritten fragments; quantification, order - Early to mid 1970s
  • Handwritten fragments; "Modes, Acts and Conscious States - Preorganized Notes" - Mid to late 1970s
  • Handwritten fragments; constituency - Early 1970s
  • Handwritten fragments; sameness, classes - Early to mid 1970s
  • Handwritten notes and a short typed piece; functions, Meinong, Frege and Wittgenstein on functions - Early to mid 1970s
  • Handwritten notes; topic unclear - Early 1970s
  • Handwritten notes; topic unclear - 1970s
  • Series 4: 1970's MATERIAL: NEW FOUNDATIONS OF ONTOLOGY
  • Sub-Series: Chapter One ["Simples and Canons"] and Chapter Two ["Facts and Modes"]
  • Box 9:
  • Handwritten fragments of, and notes for, Chapter One
  • Typed "First Draft" of Chapter One
    Two versions, with corrections
  • Typed "Second Draft" of Chapter One
  • Typed version of Chapter One
    Different from above versions, at least slightly
  • Final prepublication version of Chapter One
    Edited by Heald and with ed. footnotes by Heald
  • Slips and cut sections of Chapter Two
    Apparently the remains of G.B.'s editing process
  • Typed "First Draft" of Chapter Two
    With marginal corrections, additions and deletions
  • Cleaned up version of First Draft of Chapter Two
  • Initial roughly typed "Second Draft" of Chapter Two
  • Photocopies of Chapter Two
  • Box 10:
  • Photocopies of Chapter Two
    Appears slightly different than version mentioned above
  • Final prepublication version of Chapter Two
    Edited and with ed. footnotes by Heald
  • Sub-Series: Chapter Three ["Diversity and Order"] and Chapter Four ["Functions and Analyticity"]
  • Box 10:
  • Typed First Draft of Chapter Three
    Two versions, only slight differences; also, small sheaf of slips and cut out strips that are the remains of G.B's editing process
  • Roughly Typed "Second Draft" of Chapter Three
  • Photocopy of Chapter Three
    Note title: "Diversity and Functions", which marks it as a somewhat earlier version than the final one
  • Photocopy of Chapter Three
    Title has been changed here to "Diversity and Order", that of the final version
  • Final prepublication version of Chapter Three
    Edited by Heald
  • Photocopy of Bergmann's "final" typed draft of Chapters One, Two and Three - 1975 February 11
  • Short Typed fragment of Chapter Four
    Fragment concern recursion and syntactical form
  • Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Four
  • Handwritten fragments of Chapter Four - 1972
  • Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Four - 1972
  • Sub-Series: Chapter Four ["Functions and Analyticity"]
  • Box 10:
  • Typed and Handwritten draft of Chapter Four - 1974
    "Used for preparing the corrections, additions and deletions for later drafts"
  • Box 11:
  • "Corrections, Additions and Deletions" for Chapter Four; specified by G.B. as his "final copy" - 1974 December 14
  • "Corrections, Additions and Deletions" for Chapter Four; also designated by G.B. as his "final copy" - 1974 December 14
    Note, however, that there are several differences between the material filed here and the similarly designated material in the previous folder
  • Typed draft of Chapter Four; characterized by a "First Draft" by G.B.
  • Typed draft of Chapter Four
  • Last prepublication version of Chapter Four
    Edited by Heald
  • Sub-Series: Chapter Five: "Thought and Language". Chapter Six: "Classes"
  • Box 11:
  • Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Five - 1975
  • Handwritten fragment and notes for Chapter Five
  • "Corrections, Additions and Deletions" for Chapter Five - 1975
  • Box 12:
  • "Final Copy" of "Corrections, Additions and Deletions" for Chapter Five - 1975
  • "First Draft" of Chapter Five
  • Photocopy of Chapter Five
  • Last prepublication version of Chapter Five
    Edited by Heald
  • Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Six
  • Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Six
  • Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Six
  • Sub-Series: Chapter Six ["Classes"] and Chapter Seven ["The Linguistic Turn Contained"]
  • Box 12:
  • Early draft of Chapter Six [some Handwritten, mostly Typed]; "started" - 1974
  • "Corrections, Additions and Deletions" for pages 56 to (approx.) 80 of Chapter Six
  • Bergmann's "final copy" of Chapter Six; "completed" - 1975 February 26
  • Box 13:
  • Photocopy of Chapter Six
  • Photocopy of Chapter Six
    There are only very slight differences between this version and that contained in previous folder - see page 80, for example
  • Last prepublication version of Chapter Six
    Edited by Heald; ed. footnotes by Heald
  • Typed fragment of Chapter Seven; some handwritten notes
  • Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Seven; a short typed fragment concerning the "new and expanded" concept of analyticity; this could have been the core of the "missing" subsection four of Chapter Seven
  • Handwritten notes for subsection five of Chapter Seven
  • Sub-Series: Chapter Seven ["The Linguistic Turn Contained"]; other material associated with New Foundations of Ontology
  • Box 13:
  • Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Seven
  • Mostly typed, some handwritten, fragments and notes for Chapter Seven
    Notes on the "missing subsection" of Chapter Seven
  • Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Seven
  • Handwritten sketch of "2nd level hierarchy" for first subsection of Chapter Seven - 1975
  • Photocopy of G.B.'s final version of Chapter Seven; "xerox of first part, subsection I, II, III, finished" - 1975 July 1
  • Last prepublication version of Chapter Seven
    Edited by Heald; ed. footnotes by Heald
  • Handwritten fragments and notes on the missing "Appendices" of N.F.O.; two typed copies of a draft of "First Appendix"
    Versions have different cross-outs, corrections, etc.
  • Handwritten fragments and notes; "Everything for Appendices", "Everything for Preface" - 1975
  • Box 14:
  • Handwritten notes and a short typed piece that appears to be the beginning of the missing subsection four of Chapter Seven [topic: analyticity] - 1973
  • Series 5: 1980's MATERIAL
  • Sub-Series: Handwritten and Typed Notes 1980
  • Box 14:
  • Handwritten notes; "New Material I" - 1979-1980
  • Handwritten notes; "New Material II" - 1980
  • Handwritten notes; "Old Notes or Section III", ultimate sorts, quantification - 1980-1981
  • Handwritten notes and fragments; sameness, classes, quantification - 1980
  • Handwritten notes; quantification - 1980
  • Handwritten notes; foundations of set theory, Peano Axioms, canons - 1980
  • Handwritten draft of an "Introduction" to a longer work, obviously about the ontology of arithmetic - 1980
  • Handwritten fragments and notes; quantification - 1980
  • Handwritten notes; "Improved Sketches, etc, from 6/5/80", quantification - 1980
  • Handwritten fragments; set theory, classes - 1980
  • Handwritten fragments; classes, recursion - 1980
  • Handwritten notes and fragments; classes - 1980
  • Handwritten notes; classes - 1980
  • Handwritten note cards; classes, canons - 1980
  • Handwritten note card; classes canons, items - 1980
    Originally filed with contents of previous folder
  • Sub-Series: Handwritten and Typed Notes and Fragments 1980-1981
  • Box 14:
  • Handwritten notes; recursion, axioms and canons - 1980
  • Handwritten notes "Varia, beginning 12/15/80", materials, constituents, element - 1980
  • Handwritten fragment; extensionality - 1981
  • Box 15:
  • Handwritten fragments; "Selected Pieces Starting 1/1/81", the null set, other issues in set theory - 1981
  • Handwritten notes; quantification - 1981
  • Handwritten fragments; "Sameness axioms for W2" - 1981
  • Handwritten fragment; quantification - 1981
  • Handwritten draft of "Primary and Secondary Ontological Status and also a typed piece on classes - 1981
  • Handwritten notes; "The Phenomenological Predicament, further material, 10/6/81" - 1981
  • Handwritten notes and fragments, a draft of "Introduction to Section Three" (concerning ontology of arithmetic) - 1981
  • Handwritten notes; "Next to last section" - 1981
  • Handwritten notes; "Section Three, Construction of W2" - 1981
  • Handwritten notes; ultimate sorts, syntactical form, classes - 1981
  • Handwritten and typed fragments; "Chapter Five; Set: the Phenomenological Predicament" - 1980-1981, 1982
  • Handwritten fragments; "1st Draft of Section Three: the Phenomenological Predicament" - 1981, 1982
  • Handwritten notes and fragments; sameness, syntactical form - 1981
  • Sub-Series: Handwritten Notes and Fragments 1981-1982
  • Box 15:
  • Handwritten Fragments; notes for "Essay Five" (concerning analyticity) - 1981-1982
  • Handwritten Notes; "Material on Extensionality in W1 Skeleton, mostly for Fifth Essay" - 1981
  • Handwritten notes; sets - 1981
  • Handwritten notes; "Third Version of Section III Material", set theory - 1981
  • Handwritten notes; apparent sketch of a Table of Contents for a work to be called "New Foundations for the Ontology of Sets" - 1982
  • Handwritten fragments; "Notes for Section II, the Phenomenological Predicament" - 1982
  • Handwritten fragments; "Preliminaries to III" - 1982
  • Handwritten fragments;" Skolem-Godel I etc. for Last Essay, 1981", "Notes for Essay V, up to Feb. 82" - 1981, 1982
  • Box 16:
  • Handwritten notes; set theory, classes - 1982
  • Handwritten notes; "Section Three Notes: the Construction of W2" - 1982
  • Handwritten notes; "Section IV, Final Material" - 1982
  • Handwritten notes; quantification - 1982
  • Handwritten notes "Chapter Three: the Construction of W2" - 1982
  • Handwritten notes; "New Notes for Section III, started 9/3/82", set theory, classes - 1982
  • Handwritten fragments; "The L-schema and 6.12, final draft"; - 1982
  • Notes
  • Handwritten notes; "Urgent Material for Section 3, Introduction and Part I, II", sets and classes - 1982
  • Handwritten notes; "Still to be Sorted, 9/7/82" - 1982
  • Sub-Series: Handwritten and Typed Notes and Fragments 1983-1984
  • Box 16:
  • Handwritten fragment; "Notes on Last Essay", analyticity - 1983
  • Handwritten notes; "The New Connection between W1 and W2 with classes not graspable" - 1983
  • Handwritten notes; "Sameness and Order for Chapter III", order [included in the folder is a reprint of G.B.'s "Notes on Ontology" article responding to Hochberg's criticisms] - 1983
  • Handwritten fragments on a variety of topics; "The Last Hurrah!" - 1981-1983
    One fragment on the "circular" I.L. is from 1981, the rest are from 1983
  • Handwritten notes; classes, quantification - 1983
  • Handwritten notes and typed fragment; "Material for Chapter Six", classes the null set, the ontology of the Zermelo system - 1983
  • Collection of loose Handwritten notes; "To be checked before discarding" - Before 1984
  • Collection of loose Handwritten notes - 1978, 1983
  • Handwritten fragments; modifications of set theory required by ontology - 1983, 1984
  • Handwritten notes; quantification - 1983
  • Handwritten notes; quantification - 1983
  • Handwritten fragments; "L-hierarchy and axiom of modification", class axioms, the axiom of choice - 1983
  • Handwritten fragments and notes; "Notes for Section Three" - 1983, 1984
  • Box 17:
  • Handwritten fragments; "The L-schema", basic axioms for the L-schema - 1983
  • Handwritten notes and a fragment; "lambda transformation" - 1983
  • Handwritten fragments; zero, the null set, quantification - 1983
  • Sub-Series: Handwritten Notes and Fragments 1984-1985
  • Box 17:
  • Handwritten notes; quantification - 1984
  • Handwritten notes; "for Varia, to be taken home for weekends" - 1984
  • Handwritten fragments; "The Yield of the February ('83) Crisis", strict sameness, order, extensionality - 1983-1984
  • Handwritten notes; notes for "Chapter Six" - 1984
  • Handwritten notes; class axioms, quantification - 1984
  • Handwritten fragments; order - 1984
  • Handwritten fragments; "L-hierarchy and analyticity" - 1984
  • Handwritten fragments; "Material for the two Appendices, The Global Hierarchy, Nuclei and related matters" - 1984
  • Short Handwritten fragment; purports to show how all determinates can be produced out of simples in a finite number of canonical steps - Circa 1984
  • Handwritten notes, two typed fragments on modes items, etc. - 1984
  • Handwritten notes; diversity - 1984
  • Handwritten fragment; quantification - 1984
  • Handwritten fragments; quantification, classes - 1984
  • Handwritten draft; "First Draft Sketch of Chapter Seven", sets - 1984
  • Handwritten notes; "Collection for Chapter VII" - 1985
  • Two handwritten one page notes; ideal language notation, classes and descriptions - 1985
  • Handwritten notes; "the logic of grasping" - 1985
  • Handwritten fragments and notes; "The Notion of Shape and Range" - 1985
  • Handwritten notes; "for Chapter Seven" - 1985
  • Several folders containing typed fragments of a longer work on the ontology of sets - Late 1970s-mid 1980s
  • Handwritten notes and fragments; transparency, evidence, Cartesian chains - 1980s
  • Handwritten notes; classes, ultimate sorts - Early 1980s
  • Handwritten notes; sameness and order - Early 1980s
  • Handwritten notes - 1984
  • Series 6: POST-REALISM PUBLISHED PAPERS AND ASSOCIATED NOTES, CORRESPONDENCE, ETC.
  • Sub-Series: 1966 "Diversity" paper through 1978 Valencia Lecture, "Sketch of an Ontological Inventory"
  • Box 17:
  • Two Typed copies of "Diversity", the A.P.A. Presidential Address [some handwritten material included] - 1966
  • Correspondence with John Peterson; includes the "July 1, 1969" note [typed] - 1969-1971
  • Box 18:
  • Original Typed copy of "Part One" of letter to Reinhardt Grossmann; "Section One: pages 1-60", "Section Two: pages 60-97" - 1970
    Two copies of 2nd section, one of them containing corrections, additions and deletions
  • "Second Copy" of the Grossmann letter contained in the previous folder - 1970
    Pages 1-97
  • Typed (partially handwritten) copy of "Part Two" of the Grossmann letter
    Pages 98-?
  • Correspondence concerning submission and eventual withdrawal of the "New Foundations of Ontology" paper written for the Russell Centenary at Indiana University - 1972
  • Typed text of, and "supplement" to, the "New Foundations of Ontology" paper
  • Clean Typed copy of the "New Foundations of Ontology" paper - 1972
  • Two copies of the Valencia (Spain) Lecture: "Sketch of an Ontological Inventory"  - 1978
    One typed, in Italian, the other handwritten, in English; also, correspondence pertaining to the lecture
  • Sub-Series: 1978 paper "Notes on the Ontology of Minds" through 1981 Grossmann letter containing copy of Grossmann's review of G.B.'s 1980 paper "Notes on Ontology"
  • Box 18:
  • Correspondence with University of Minnesota at Morris concerning publication of "Notes on the Ontology of Minds" [N.O.M.] - 1978-1980
  • Handwritten notes for N.O.M.; first typed version of N.O.M.; letter from John Peterson concerning Peterson's review of Hochberg's Thought, Fact and Reference - 1978-1981
  • Second and Third Typed versions of N.O.M. - Undated
  • Roughly typed version [which version is unclear] of sections I, II, IV, and V of N.O.M. - Undated
  • Box 19:
  • Two reprints of N.O.M., with marginal notes and corrections; reprint of "Sketch of an Ontological Inventory" with marginal notes and corrections; reprint of "Notes on Ontology"
    See below
  • Correspondence with Nous about "Notes on Ontology", in which G.B. attempts to respond to criticisms made by Herbert Hochberg in Truth, Fact and Reference - 1978-1980
  • Handwritten notes that appear to be notes for N.O.O. - Undated
  • Handwritten notes for N.O.O. - Undated
  • G.B. letter to Review of Metaphysics concerning N.O.O.; attached abstract of N.O.O. - 1981
  • Two Typed copies of N.O.O. with corrections, additions and deletions - Undated
  • Clean Typed copy of N.O.O.
  • Letter from Grossmann; copy of Grossmann's review of N.O.O. - 1981
  • Series 7: CLASS AND SEMINAR NOTES, ASSOCIATED MATERIAL
  • Sub-Series: 1951-1965
  • Box 19:
  • Math Logic notes - 1951-1952, 1956
    Some "Advanced Logic" question sheets
  • Logic notes - 1953-1954
  • Philosophy of Science notes - 1955-1956
  • Course Reading List, Class Lists, for Philosophy of Social Science - 1958 Summer
  • Math Logic notes and exam questions sheets - 1959 Spring
  • Math Logic notes - 1961 Spring
  • Math Logic notes - 1961 Spring
  • Class notes and Class lists for Seminar on Wittgenstein's Remarks on the Foundations of Mathematics - 1964 Spring
  • Class notes, Exam question sheets - 1962-1964
  • Box 20:
  • Notes for Seminar in Philosophy of Science - 1965 Fall
  • Math Logic notes - 1965 Spring
  • Class notes on "Godel II and Related Matters" - 1957-1965
  • Class notes, Class lists and Reading lists for Philosophical Problems of the Social Sciences - 1961-1965
  • Sub-Series: 1966-1970
  • Box 20:
  • Logic and Metaphysics Seminar - 1966 Spring
  • Class notes and Class lists for Introduction to the Philosophy of Science - 1966 Spring-1967 Spring
  • Class Lists, Exam Question sheets and some Class notes for History and Systems of Psychology - 1961-1967
  • Class lists, Reading lists; Exam Question sheets and some Class notes for Seminar in Philosophy of Science ("Space, Time and Relativity") - 1967 Fall-1968 Fall
  • Math Logic notes - 1968 Fall-1969 Fall
  • Box 21:
  • Class notes for History and Systems of Psychology - 1968 Spring-1969 Spring
  • Class lists, Reading lists and Exam Question sheets for History and Systems of Psychology - 1969 Spring-1970 Spring
  • Notes for Seminar on C.D. Broad's Mind and Its Place in Nature - 1969 Spring-1970 Spring
  • Sub-Series: 1966-1971
  • Box 21:
  • Notes and Class lists for Seminar on G.E. Moore - 1966 Fall-1967 Fall
  • Notes and Class lists for Seminar on G.E. Moore - 1966 Spring-1967 Spring
  • Math Logic notes - 1967 Spring-1968 Spring
  • Class lists, Reading list and Exam Question sheet for History and Systems of Psychology - 1968 Fall-1969 Fall
  • Box 22:
  • Notes for Seminar on C.D. Broad's Mind and Its Place in Nature - 1967 Spring-1968 Spring
  • Notes for Philosophy of Science [both undergraduate and graduate] - 1967-1970
  • Math Logic notes - 1970 Spring-1971 Spring
  • Sub-Series: 1971-1974
  • Box 22:
  • Class notes and Class lists for Seminar on Moore's Some Main Problems of Philosophy - 1971 Fall
  • Class notes for Seminar on Moore's Some Main Problems of Philosophy - 1971 Spring
  • Class notes and Exam Question sheets for Introduction to Philosophy of Science - 1971-1972
  • Math Logic notes - 1970 Fall-1971 Fall
  • Box 23:
  • Math Logic notes and Class lists - 1972 fall-1973 Fall
  • Math Logic notes - 1972 Spring-1973 Spring
  • Notes, Class lists, Exam Question sheets for Seminar on Broad's Mind and its Place in Nature - 1973-1974
  • Notes for Introduction to Philosophy of Science - 1971-1974
  • Series 8: PUBLIC LECTURES, DELIVERED PAPERS, PRE-REALISM PUBLISHED PAPERS
  • Sub-Series: 1950-1962
  • Box 23:
  • Bergmann's comments on Virgil Hinshaw's paper, "Levels of Analysis". Midwest A.P.A. Meetings, Minneapolis - 1950 May
    Copy of Hinshaw's paper included
  • Correspondence concerning lecture of logical positivism delivered at the University of Omaha (Town and Gown Club) - 1951 October 18
    Handwritten copy of speech included
  • Handwritten notes for lecture on "The Nature of Logic" delivered to the Drake Philosophical Club - 1952 April 4
  • Handwritten notes for seminars at the University of Toronto on "The Nature and Problems of Theory in Psychology" and "Psychology and the Behavior Sciences" - 1953 November
  • Handwritten notes for lecture on the "The Logic of Psychology"
  • Delivered at Psychology Colloquium, University of Michigan - 1953 August 15
  • Delivered at University of Toronto - 1953 November 19
  • Typed copy of lecture on "Reduction", delivered at University of Pittsburgh - 1954 March 12
  • Notes for, and correspondence concerning, seminar at Dartmouth on Public Opinion, Research, Process Analysis, etc. - 1954 July
  • Handwritten notes for lecture on "The Place of Psychology Among the Sciences", delivered at Vassar College - 1954 November 11
  • Handwritten notes for, correspondence concerning, lecture on "The Origins of Modern Empiricism", University of Pennsylvania - 1954 March 24
  • Handwritten notes for Philosophy of Science lecture at a Pharmacology Seminar - 1955 November 7
  • Handwritten notes for a lecture on Psychology and the Social Sciences - 1956 January 10
  • Machette Lectures (typed): I. Measurement, II. The Notion of Process, III. Stimulus and Response - 1957 April 8-10
  • Typed lecture notes on "Stimulus and Response", delivered at the University of Missouri - 1957 November 18
  • Original typed copy of "Physics and Ontology", lecture delivered at Stanford Congress for Logic, Methodology and the Philosophy of Science - 1960 August
  • Handwritten notes for lectures on Kant, Moore and Truth, "Phenomenalism Revisited" - 1961
    Probably delivered at Lund, Sweden
  • Box 24:
  • Handwritten notes for lectures on Philosophy of Science and the Analysis of Mind; Goteborg, Sweden - 1961
  • Variety of notes and papers for Stockholm lecture on the Philosophy of Mind; Handwritten notes for Uppsala seminar on G.E. Moore - 1961
  • Two typed papers, "Meaning" and "Inclusion, Exemplification and Inherence in G.E. Moore" - 1961 November
    First paper originally delivered at University of Oslo, November 1961; the second originally delivered at Lund, 1961
  • Typed copy of "Stenius on the Tractatus"; handwritten notes on Stenius, both for paper and lecture at Uppsala - 1961
  • Handwritten notes on Edmund Husserl; two typed copies of G.B.'s paper, "The Ontology of Edmund Husserl" - 1961
  • Typed copy [in Italian] of "The Glory and Misery of Ludwig Wittgenstein" - 1961
  • Handwritten notes for lecture on "Human Freedom and the Science of Man", delivered at Wake Forest College - 1962 December
  • Sub-Series: 1961-1977
  • Box 24:
  • Handwritten notes for the Lund Lectures - 1961
  • Typed notes on the Emotive Theory of Ethics [probably for Lund Lectures] - 1961
  • Notebook of handwritten notes - the "Sweden Book" - for lectures in Sweden - 1961
  • Three Typed copies of "Diversity", G.B.'s presidential address to the A.P.A. - 1966
  • Typed notes for lecture at the University of Texas - 1977
  • Handwritten notes for lectures at the University of Texas - 1977
    Included is a copy of paper by Ed Allaire, "Relations: Recreation and Remarks"
  • Series 9: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Sub-Series: 1931-1950
  • Box 25:
  • Correspondence - 1931-1944
    Including correspondence with Carl Hempel, Clark Hull, Ernest Nagel, Felix Kaufmann, Rudolf Carnap, Walter Mayer
  • Max Black, Marvin Farber, Herbert Feigl, Brand Blanshard, Rudolf Carnap, C.J. Ducasse - 1945-1946
  • Early Forties, but not more precisely dateable - 1940-1945
    Felix Kaufmann, Walter Mayer, May Brodbeck
  • Helene Reshovsky, Max Black, Herbert Feigl, Wilfrid Sellars, Tom Storer, Virgil Hancher, John Von Neumann, Gilbert Ryle - 1947-1948
  • May Brodbeck, Rudolf Carnap, Wilfrid Sellars, Alonzo Church, James Conant - 1949
  • Howard Bowen, Rudolf Carnap, May Brodbeck, Everett Hall, Max Black - 1950
  • Late Forties,but not more precisely dateable - 1946-1950
    Phillipp Frank, May Brodbeck
  • Forties,but not more precisely dateable - 1940-1950
    Julius Weinberg, Herbert Feigl
  • Late Forties correspondence concerning philosophy of science - 1947-1950
    Phillipp Frank, W.H. Werkmeister, Wilfrid Sellars, West Churchman
  • Sub-Series: 1951-1955
  • Box 26:
  • Phillipp Frank, Wilfrid Sellars, W.H. Werkmeister, Victor Kraft, Henry Margenau, Paul Weiss - 1951 January 1-August 15
  • Herbert Feigl, Bill Hay, W.H. Werkmeister, Adolf Grunbaum - 1951 August 15-December 31
  • Undated - Early 1950s
    Herbert Feigl, Bill Hay
  • Bill Hay, Eliseo Vivas, Victor Kraft, Gilbert Ryle, Alan Gewirth, Marshall Claggett, Fred Will - 1952
  • Edwin Boring, Bill Hay, F. Rossi-Landi, William Frankena, Edward Madden - 1953
  • Correspondence concerning, and copies of, two G.B. mathematics papers
  • "Two Theorems of Lattices" - 1952
  • "Multiplicative Closures" - 1953
  • Mrs. Richard von Mises, Rudolf Carnap, J.O. Wisdom, Roderick Chisholm - 1954
  • Correspondence concerning the publication of "The Russell Paradox in the Calculus of Individuals" (G.B., Journal of Symbolic Logic) - 1954
    Copies of paper included
  • Early Fifties, but not more precisely dateable - 1950-1955
    F. Rossi-Landi, Bill Hay, Max Black
  • Sub-Series: 1955-1960
  • Box 26:
  • Norman Malcolm, Irving Copi, Marvin Farber, Eurico Castelli, Reinhardt Grossmann, W.V. Quine - 1955
  • Box 27:
  • Business correspondence concerning The Metaphysics of Logical Postivism - 1953-1955
  • Henry Mehlberg, W.H. Werkmeister, Eurico Castelli, Tom Storer, Manley Thomson, Paul Weiss, W.V. Quine - 1956
  • Herbert Hochberg - 1954-1956
    Not more precisely dateable
  • Paul Henle, Max Fisch, Alberto Giaquinto, Manley Thomson, Philip Rieff - 1957
  • Herbert Hochberg, Alan Pasch - 1953-1957
    Not more precisely dateable
  • John Rawls, Robert Sternfeld, Richard Solomon, Everett Nelson, Max Black, Eliseo Vivas - 1958-1959
  • Correspondence concerning papers published through 1958 - 1950-1958
    Phillipp Frank, T.M. Knox, Gilbert Ryle, S.C. Kleene, Paul Weiss
  • Reprint requests for Meaning and Existence - 1959
  • Correspondence concerning Italy and Italian philosophers - 1958-1959
    Eurico Castelli, John Marshall
  • Correspondence concerning (and copies of) "The Philosophical Significance of Modal Logic" (by G.B.) - 1957-1960
    Gilbert Ryle
  • Sub-Series: 1960-1968
  • Box 27:
  • Stuart Brown, Howard Zieqler, Richard Millard, Chadbourne Gilpatrick, Adolf Grunbaum - 1960
  • Edwin Boring, Max Black - 1958-1960
    Not more precisely dateable
  • Correspondence with University of Wisconsin Press concerning Meaning and Existence; Italian correspondence concerning same - 1958-1960
  • Box 28:
  • Nicola Abbagnano, Eurico Castelli, Manfred Moritz, Fabio Metelli, Reinhardt Grossmann - 1961
  • Reinhardt Grossmann, Torben Agersnap, Eivind Storheim, G.H. von Wright, Torsten Dahlberg - 1962
  • Ho Tso-jen, Eivind Storheim, Paul Edwards, Reinhardt Grossmann, Jaako Hintikka, Rosaria Egidi-Bianco, Richard Rorty - 1963
  • W.U. Quine, Edwin Lewis, Hans Weisz, Ernst Topitsch, Keith Donnellan, Adolf Grunbaum - 1964-1965
  • Early Sixties, but not more precisely dateable - 1960-1965
    Milton Hobbes, Torsten Dahlberg
  • Max Fisch, Roderick Chisholm, Gerald Kreyche, A.L. Hunsicker, F. Cioffi, Herbert Fiegl, E.D. Klemke - 1966-1967
  • Correspondence concerning the business and proceedings of the A.P.A. - 1966-1967
    The year of Bergmann's presidency of A.P.A.
  • Moltke Gram, Robert Beard, Everett Nelson, Howard Brown, Guido Kung - 1968
  • Sub-Series: 1966-1991
  • Box 28:
  • Correspondence with University of Wisconsin Press concerning 2nd printing of Meaning and Existence - 1966-1968
  • Maurice Kaufmann, Armand Maurer, E.F. Kaelin, May Brodbeck, Leola Bergmann - 1969
  • Box 29:
  • Leola Bergmann, G.A. Brutian, Howard Hines, E.D. Klemke, Rosaria Egidi-Bianco, Michael Loux, Sidney Hook, Manfred Moritz - 1970-1971
  • Bertil Belfrage, May Brodbeck, Moltke Gram, Rosaria Egidi-Bianco, H.N. Castaneda - 1972-1973
  • Lewis Lipsitt, Howard R. Bowen, Fred Wilson, John J. Sullivan, May Brodbeck, Nathan Oaklander - 1974-1979
  • Paul Lutzeler, Reinhardt Grossmann, David Leary, Laurence Smith, Jay Rosenberg - 1980-1981
  • Paul Lutzeler, Erwin Tegtmeier, Reinhard Schuh - 1982-1986
  • Virgil Hinshaw, Robert Turnbull, Kurt Baier, Bill Hay, Reinhardt Grossmann - 1987-1991
  • Box 30:
  • Correspondence concerning Symposium in Vienna, "Vertriebene Vernunft" - 1987 October
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence Filed by Correspondent
  • Box 30:
  • Ed Allaire #1 - 1960-1985
    Bulk of which is 1977-1985
  • Ed Allaire #2, correspondence to Sweden - 1961-1962
  • Hermann Broch; copies of correspondence with G.B. (Original letters at Deutches Literaturarkiv, Marbach am Neckar, Germany) - 1940, 1945
  • May Brodbeck #1 - 1962-1964
  • May Brodbeck #2 - Circa 1962-1964
    These letters are not dated by year and so are not arrangeable chronologically; nevertheless, they were filed by G.B. together with the letters in Brodbeck #1
  • Rosaria Egidi-Bianco - 1969-1990
    Bulk of which is 1973-1986
  • Reinhardt Grossmann - 1971-1986
  • Alan Hausman - 1976-1990
  • Herbert Hochberg - Undated
  • Thomas Storer #1 - 1948-1952
  • Outline of psychoanalysis by Storer, apparently as part of a class syllabus
  • "Science, Its Concepts and Laws," a paper by Storer
  • "Subjectivity and Objectivity in Science," a paper by Storer
  • Photograph of Storer
  • Thomas Storer #2 - 1949-1952
    Not more precisely dateable
  • Marguerite Young - 1957-1987
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence Including Articles, Reprints, Reviews, etc.
  • Box 31:
  • Postcards from Kedrov, reprints of articles by Kedrov - 1960
  • Cocchiarella letter and article by same on "The Theory of Homogeneous Simple Types as a Second Order Logic" - 1979
  • Letter from Oaklander and a copy of a paper by same on "Russell, Negative Facts, and Ontology" - 1979
  • Letters concerning appointment of Dennis Bradford at Geneseo; copy of paper by Bradford on "Hume on Existence" - 1982, 1983
  • Letter from Armstrong; also enclosed are Armstrong's Review of Grossmann's Categorial Structure of the World, and Armstrong's "Intellectual Biography" - 1984
  • Letter from C. Spiker; copy of Spiker's paper on "Principles in the Philosophy of Science: Applications to Psychology" - 1984
  • Letter from Frank Lucash; Lucash's sabbatical leave application; reprints of Lucash papers: "On Recognizing Universals" and "The Mind's Body: The Body's Self-Awareness" - 1985
  • Grossmann paper on "Reid, Meinong and the Argument from Physics"; also, the Table of Contents from (apparently) a prospective book called Perception, Introspection and Mathematical Knowledge - 1985
  • Letter from Grossmann; copy of Grossmann's Review of Hochberg's Logic, Ontology and Language: Essays on Truth and Reality - 1985
  • Letters and article reprints from D. Flage; reprinted Flage articles are: "Hume on the Cartesian Theory of Substance", "Descartes' Cogito", Hume on Memory and Causation", Hume's Ethics", "Perchance to Dream; A Reply to Trager" - 1985-1986
  • Letter from Oaklander; copy of Oaklander's Review of Grossmann's Phenomenology and Existentialism: an Introduction; some handwritten notes by G.B. - 1985
  • Letter to Christian Thiel - Late 1970s-early 1980s
    Undated, but reference to G.B. discovery of Godel's death while at Valencia puts it in late seventies or early eighties; reprint (in German) of Thiel article (again, no date on article)
  • Letter from Bill Hay to Leola Bergman; including photocopy of Manly Thompson piece on G.B. - 1991
  • Series 10: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Sub-Series: Biographically Significant Documents [1-29], Photographs, Postcards and Greeting Cards, etc.
  • Box 31:
  • Chart of G.B.'s family tree
  • G.B.'s birth certificate
  • Reprint of article in mathematics journal that contains the first reference to G.B. in print (footnote reference)
  • G.B.'s high school diploma
  • G.B.'s Ph.D. (Mathematics) diploma from University of Vienna - 1928
  • Marriage certificate and documents pertaining to G.B.'s marriage to Anna Golwig - 1927
  • Academic transcripts - 1920, 1930
  • Letters regarding appointment/stipend for period G.B. was in Berlin with Walter Mayer and Albert Einstein - 1931
  • College teaching certificate - 1934
  • G.B.'s Law degree diploma from University of Vienna - 1935
  • Certificate of acceptance to Vienna Attorney's Association - 1935
  • Exam and teaching certificates - 1929-1935
  • Recommendations, permission certificates, etc. pertaining to G.B.'s career as an attorney - 1935
  • G.B.'s Austrian identity card, Austrian passport - 1935, 1938
  • Affidavits and certificates from Emil Winter (partner in law firm for which G.B. worked for three years) testifying about G.B.'s association with the firm; letter from an Austrian ministry concerning these documents - 1938
  • Certification that affidavits for G.B. and family have been taken care of by A. Kheel of  the American Embassy - 1938
  • German military certificate testifying that G.B. is "pure Jewish" - 1938
  • Walter Mayer's affidavit in support of G.B. immigration visa application - 1938
  • Austrian Finance Dept. and Austrian Tax Administration certificates testifying that G.B. owes no taxes in Austria - 1938
  • Letter of recommendation from actual firm that employed G.B. when he first arrived in U.S. - 1938, 1939
  • Correspondence with University of the State of New York concerning G.B.'s academic qualification to be an accountant - 1938-1939
  • Assorted documents for Immigration and Selective Service - 1938-1944
  • Certificate of Naturalization for G.B.'s American Citizenship - 1944
  • Certificate of G.B.'s election to Sigma Chi - 1944
  • Confirmation of G.B.'s appointment as instructor for Army Specialized Training Program (A.S.T.P.); notice of appointment as U.I. assistant professor; notice of promotion to associate professor with tenure at U.I.; notice of promotion to full professor - 1944, 1949, 1950
  • Honorary Degree diploma (original and duplicate) from University of Goteborg (Sweden) - 1962
  • Application concerning Austrian employee pension - 1968
  • Letter of appointment to Carver Professorship (from Willard Boyd); letters of congratulation of same from various colleagues - 1972
  • Box 32:
  • Assorted material relevant to Faculty Recognition Dinner - 1974
  • Postcards from May Brodbeck
  • Assorted postcards, greeting cards, invitations, thank you notes, etc.
  • Letters and telegrams of congratulations on G.B.'s 60th birthday - 1966
  • Assortment of documents filed together by G.B. (for what appears to be entirely sentimental reasons of his own)
  • "Report" to Otto Neurath on G.B.'s memories of the Vienna Circle [two copies] - 1939
  • Symposium paper on the "Advantages of the Scientific Theoretical Approach for the Development of the Behavior Sciences" [this was G.B.'s first public lecture or speech in the U.S.] - 1939
  • Kulturbund lecture on the world-view of Einsteinian relativity, delivered by Walter Mayer - 1970 November 18
  • Press clippings (most concerning G.B.'s appointment as Carver Professor)
  • Announcement of listing of G.B. in Who's Who in the World
  • Report to the Departmental Review Committee (Philosophy Department) - 1985 March
  • U. of I. Graduate College Brochure
  • Table of Contents of proposed May Brodbeck anthology of G.B. articles on philosophy of science
  • Correspondence concerning donation of papers and books to library; G.B.'s literary estate papers; tax information on donation of papers; & etc.
  • Sub-Series: Assorted [1-11]; Colloquium Papers, Reprinted Journal Articles, Grant Proposal, etc., by persons other than Bergmann
  • Box 32:
  • G.B.'s Handwritten record of references to and discussions of his work by others (original)
  • Photocopy of record contained in previous folder
  • Walter Mayer Obituary (N.Y. Times) - 1948
  • G.B.'s book review of Leopold Goetz' Die Enstehung den Ordnung (in Philos. and Phenom. Research) - 1954
  • Vienna Newspaper article by G.B. that resulted in some sort of change in Austria's financial regulations
  • Times Literary Supplement Review of G.B.'s Metaphysics of Logical Positivism - 1955 March 11
  • Photocopy of Letter from G.B.'s mother, Therese - 1924 July 28
  • Handwritten list of G.B. reprints
    Probably incomplete; date of compilation is not specified
  • Reviews of G. B.'s Philosophy of Science and Meaning and Existence; photocopies of two philosophical notes on "Gestalt" by Grelling and Oppenheim
  • Two notebooks kept by G.B. while studying for his Bar Exam in Vienna - Circa 1935
  • Assorted conference and book notices
  • Table of Contents for an unspecified book [which would appear to be by R. Grossmann]
  • Colloquium paper by P. Butchvarov, "Realism in Ethics"
  • Box 33:
  • Colloquium paper by Hector-Neri Castaneda, "Identity and Sameness"
  • Colloquium paper by Laird Addis, "Mind, Structure and Time"
  • Colloquium paper by Richard Fumerton, "Nozick's Epistemology"
  • Paper by Fred Wilson, "Effability, Ontology and Method"
  • Reprint of article by Reinhardt Grossmann, "Nonexistent Objects Versus Definite Descriptions," from the Australasian Journal of Philosophy, Vo1. 62, No. 4 - 1984 December
  • Reprint of article by W.V.O. Quine, "Variables Explained Away," from Proceedings of the American Philosophical Society, Vol. 104, No.3 - 1960 June
  • Photocopy of article by M. Schoenfinkel, "Uber die Bausteine der Mathematische Logik" - Circa 1927
    Source journal is unspecified
  • Photocopy of article by Leon Henkin, "Completeness in the Theory of Types" from The Journal of Symbolic Logic, Vol. 15, No. 2 - 1950 June
  • Photocopies of two-part article by Paul Bernays: "The System of Axiomatic Set Theory" Part I from the Journal of Symbolic Logic, Vol. 2, No. 2; Part II from The Journal of Symbolic Logic, Vol. 6, No. 1 - 1937 June; 1941
  • Photocopy of article by K.J. Hintikka; "Identity, Variables and Impredicative Definitions" from The Journal of Symbolic Logic, Vol. 21, No. 3 - 1956 September
  • National Science Foundation Grant Proposal by Rudolph W. Schultz (Assistant Professor of Psychology, University of Iowa); Topic: "Mediation in Verbal Processes - 1964 April
  • Sub-Series: Press Clippings, Obituaries, Postcards, Memorabilia, Posthumous letters from G.B.
  • Box 33:
  • Sketches of G.B. and Leola B. in a restaurant in Milan, Italy
  • Herbert Feigl Obituary
  • A.J. Ayer Obituary
  • Posthumous letters from G.B. to Leola B., Reinhardt Grossmann and Panayot Butchvarov
  • Extracts from, and abstracts of, letters from Leola B. to Arla Savage concerning G.B. (compiled by Leola B.)
  • Newspaper article in praise of Wilfrid Sellars
  • Press Clippings on Marguerite Young
  • Thank You note from Harry Truman
  • Thank You notes from Lady Bird Johnson
  • Press Clippings from G.B.'s year in Sweden - 1961-1962
  • Memorabilia from wedding of G.B. and Leola B.
  • Passports, Passport Photos and Immunization Certificates for G.B. and L.B.
  • Memorabilia from G.B.'s year in Sweden - 1961-1962
  • G.B.'s Name Tag Medallion and program card for his reading of "The Glory and Misery of Ludwig Wittgenstein" at International Philosophy Congress in Venice
  • Booklet containing remembrances of Phillipp Frank, read at memorial service for Frank - 1966 October 25
  • Box 34:
  • Postcards from May Brodbeck to the Savage Family (L.B.'s sister Arla and niece Anna); written during M.B.'s Fullbright year in Italy
  • Postcards from Ed Allaire
  • Postcards from L.B. to her family during her year with G.B. in Sweden - 1961-1962
  • Postcards from G.B. and L.B.'s year in Sweden (also from trip to Italy during same period) - 1961-1962
  • Postcards from Erwin Tegtmeier
  • Postcards from Marguerite Young
  • Drawings of Marguerite Young (artist unknown)
  • Interviews, articles in praise of, etc., Marguerite Young
  • Article about, article by, and excerpt from a book by, Marguerite Young; all from Mademoiselle - 1965 September
  • Series 11: BOOKS, JOURNALS, AND JOURNAL REPRINTS
  • Sub-Series: Bound Journals
  • Box 35:
  • American Journal of Psychology, Vol. 21 - 1910
  • Psychological Review, Vol. 43 - 1936
  • Psychological Review, Vol. 44 - 1937
  • Psychological Review, Vol. 45 - 1938
  • Psychological Review, Vol. 48 - 1941
  • Sub-Series: Periodicals and Journals
  • Box 36:
  • Actes du Congres international de Philosophie Scientifique - 1936
  • Acta Philosophica Fennica, fasc. 10 - 1956
  • Archivo di Filosofia; No. 1 - 1966
  • Proceedings and Addresses of the American Philosophical Association - 1967-1968
  • American Psychological Association Convention Program - 1976
  • Erkenntnis, Band 9, Heft #1 - 1929
  • Horizon, Vol. 19, No. 109 - 1949
  • Philosophy and Phenomenological Research, Vol. 25, No. 2 - 1964
  • Psychological Review, Vol. 52, No. 5 - 1945
  • Revue International de Philosophie, Vol. 4, No. 11 - 1950
  • Science, Vol. 98, No. 2542 - 1943
  • Science, Vol. 98, No. 2543 - 1943
  • Sub-Series: Article Reprints
  • Box 37:
  • Bergmann, Gustav. "The Logic of Quanta." American Journal of Physics, Vol. 15, No. 5 - 1947
  • Benjamin, A.C. "Some Realistic Implications of Operationalism." Journal of Unified Science (Erkenntnis), Vol. 9 - 1939
  • Carnap, Rudolf. "Die alte und die neue Logik." Erkenntnis, Band 1, Heft 1 - 1930
  • Carnap, Rudolf. "Die logizistische Grundlegung der Mathematik," Band 2, Heft 2 - 1931
  • Carnap Rudolf. "Die Antinomien and die Unvollstandigkeit der Mathematik." Monatsheften fur Mathematik und Physik, Band 41, Heft 2 - 1934
  • Carnap, Rudolf. "Ein Gultigkeitskriterium fur die Satze der klassischen Mathematik." Monatsheften fur Mathematik und Physik, Band 42, Heft 1 - 1935
  • Copeland, Arthur. "The Role of Observations in a Formal Theory of Probability." Journal of Unified Science (Erkenntnis), Vol. 9 - 1939
  • Curry, H.B. "Remarks on the Definition and Nature of Mathematics." Journal of Unified Science (Erkenntnis), Vol. 9 - 1931
  • Egidi, Rosaria. "Mathematica, logica e filosofia nell'opera di Gottlob Frege." Physis, Vol. 4, fasc. 1 - 1962
  • Feigl, Herbert. "Logical Empiricism." Twentieth Century Philosophy, edited by Dagobert D. Runes, New York - 1943
  • Godel, Kurt. "Uber formal unentscheidbare Satze der Principia Mathematica und verwandter Systeme I." Monatsheften fur Mathematik und Physik, Band 38, Heft 1 - 1931
  • Godel, Kurt. "Die Vollstandigkeit der Axiome des Logischen Funktionenkalkuls." Monatsheften und Physik, Band 37, Heft 2 - 1930
  • Margenau, Henry. "Probability and Physics." Journal of Unified Science (Erkenntnis), Vol. 9 - 1939
  • Menger, Karl. "The New Logic." Philosophy of Science, Vol. 4, No. 3 - 1937
  • Mises, Ludwig. "Soziologie and Geschichte." Archiv fur Sozialwissenschaft und Sozialpolitik, Band 61, Heft 3 - 1929
  • Neurath, Otto. "Pseudorationalismus der Falsifikation." Erkenntnis, Band 5, Heft 5 - 1935
  • Quine, W.V. "A Logistical Approach to the Ontological Problem." Journal of Unified Science (Erkenntnis), Vol. 9 - 1939
  • Rosser, Barkley. "An Informal Exposition of Godel's Theorems and Church's Theorem." The Journal of Symbolic Logic, Vol. 4, No. 2 - 1939
  • Stevens, S.S. "Psychology and the Science of Science." Psychological Bulletin, Vol. 36, No. 4 - 1939
  • Waismann, Friedrich, "Uber den Begriff der Identitat." Erkenntnis, Band 6, Heft 1 - 1936
  • Sub-Series: Viennese Legal Monographs, 1929-1932
  • Box 38:
  • Deutsches Recht, Band 1, Rechtsgeschichte, Hept 2, Vienna - 1929
  • Deutsches Recht, Band 2, Privatrecht, Hept 1, Vienna - 1929
  • Deutsches Recht, Band 2, Privatrecht, Hept 2, Vienna - 1929
  • Deutsches Recht, Band 3, Straf- und Prozessrecht, Vienna - 1929
  • Kanonisches Recht, Vienna - 1930
  • Kanonisches Recht, Vienna - 1930
  • Romisches Recht, Hept 1, Vienna - 1931
  • Romisches Recht, Hept 2, Vienna - 1931
  • Deutsches Recht, Band 1, Rechtsgeschichte, Hept 1, Vienna - 1932
  • Sub-Series: Books: Addis-Carr
  • Box 39:
  • Addis, L. and Lewis, D.; Moore and Ryle: Two Ontologists - 1965
  • Ayer, A.J.; Language, Truth and Logic - 1946
  • Ayer, A.J.; Philosophical Essays - 1954
  • Ayer, A.J.; Philosophical Essays - 1963
  • Ayer, A.J.; The Problem of Knowledge - 1956
  • Ayer, A.J., et.al.; The Revolution in Philosophy - 1956
  • Ayer, A.J.; Russell and Moore: The Analytical Heritage - 1971
  • Ayer, A.J.; Thinking and Meaning - 1947
  • Benacerraf, P., et.al.; Philosophy of Mathematics - 1964
  • Bergmann, G.; Logic and Reality - 1964
  • Bergmann, G.; Meaning and Existence - 1959
  • Bergmann, G.; The Metaphysics of Logical Positivism - 1954
  • Bergmann, G.; Philosophy of Science - 1957
  • Bergmann, G.; Realism - 1967
  • Blaha, O.; Logische Wirklichkeitsstruktur - 1955
  • Born, M.; Natural Philosophy of Cause and Chance - 1948
  • Brentano, F.; Frundlegung and Aufbau der Ethik - 1952
  • Broad, C.D.; The Mind and Its Place in Nature - 1951
  • Broad, C.D.; The Mind and Its Place in Nature - 1963
  • Broch, Hermann; Philosophische Schriften 1: Kritik - 1977
  • Broch, Hermann; Philosophische Schriften 1: Theorie - 1977
  • Broch, Hermann. Der Tod des Vergil - 1976
  • Broch, Hermann. Der Tod des Vergill - 1945
  • Brunswik, E.; The Conceptual Framework of Psychology - 1952
  • Carnap, R.; Philosophical Foundations of Physics - 1966
  • Carnap, R.; Testability and Meaning - 1937
  • Carnap, R.; Testability and Meaning - 1950
  • Carnap, R.; Scheinprobleme in Der Philosophie - 1928
  • Carnap, R.; Der Raum - 1922
  • Carr, H.; Psychology - 1926
  • Sub-Series: Books: Ceccato-Hempel
  • Box 40:
  • Ceccato, S.; Il Linguaggio La Tabell di Ceccatief - 1951
  • Cooley, J.; A Primer of Formal Logic - 1942
  • Copi, I. and Gould, J. (ed.); Contemporary Reading in Logical Theory - 1967
  • Dewey, J.; Logic - 1938
  • Ebenstein, W.; The Pure Theory of Law - 1945
  • Egidi, R.; Studi di Logica e Filosofia Della Scienza - 1971
  • Farber, M.; The Foundations of Phenomenology - 1943
  • Feigl, H. and Sellars, W.; Readings in Philosophical Analysis - 1949
  • Fleming, D. and Bailyn, B. (ed.); Perspectives in American History - 1968
  • Flew, A. (ed.); Essays on Logic and Language - 1951
  • Fraenkel, A. and Bar-Hillell, Y.; Foundations of Set Theory - 1958
  • Fraenkel-Brunswick, E.; Psycholanalysis and The Unity of Science - 1954
  • Frege, G.; Philosophical Writings of Gottlob Frege - 1952
  • French, P., et.al., (ed.); Midwest Studies in Philosophy - 1981
  • Godel, K.; On Formally Undecidable Propositions - 1962
  • Godel, K.; The Consistency of the Continuum Hypothesis - 1940
  • Goodman, N.; The Structure of Appearance - 1951
  • Grossmann, Reinhardt; Phenomenology and Existentialism - 1984
  • Hausman, A. and Wilson, F.; Carnap and Goodman: Two Formalists - 1967
  • Hempel, C.; Fundamentals of Concept Formation in Empirical Science - 1952
  • Sub-Series: Books: van Heijenoort to Moore
  • Box 41:
  • van Heijenoort, J.; From Frege to Goedel - 1967
  • Hilbert, D. and Ackermann, W.; Principle of Mathematical Logic
  • Huntington, E.; Postulates for Assertion, Conjunction and Equality - 1937
  • Kelsen, H.; General Theory of Law and the State - 1945
  • Klaua, D.; Allgemeine Mengenlehre - 1968
  • Kleene, S.; Introduction to Metamathematics - 1957
  • Korner, S. (ed.); Observation and Interpretation - 1957
  • Kraft, V.; Der Wiener Kreis - 1950
  • Kraft, V.; Die Grundlagen einer wissenschaftlichen Wertlehre - 1951
  • Lasswell, H. and Kaplan, A.; Power and Society - 1950
  • Lemmon, E.J.; Introduction to Axiomatic Set Theory - 1968
  • Lenzen, V.; Causality in Natural Science - 1954
  • Lenzen, V.; Procedures of Empirical Science - 1938
  • Lewin, K.; The Conceptual Representation and Measurement of Psychological Forces - 1938
  • Lewis, H.D. (ed.); Contemporary British Philosophy - 1956
  • Lewis, C.I.; Mind and the World Order - 1929
  • Locke, J.; An Essay Concerning Human Understanding - 1959
  • Lutzeler, Paul Michael. Hermann Broch: Eine Biographie - 1985
  • Mehlberg, H.; The Reach of Science - 1958
  • Mendelson, E.; Introduction to Mathematical Logic - 1964
  • Messer, A.; Geschichte der Philosophie - 1923
  • Michalor, A.; Philosophical Problems of Science and Technology - 1974
  • Moore, G.E.; Philosophical Papers - 1959
  • Sub-Series: Books: Moore-Quine
  • Box 42:
  • Moore, G.E.; Philosophical Studies - 1951
  • Moore, G.E.; Some Main Problems of Philosophy - 1953
  • Moore, G.E.; Some Main Problems of Philosophy - 1966
  • Moore, G.E.; Some Main Problems of Philosophy - 1966
  • Nagel, E.; Sovereign Reason - 1954
  • Oaklander, N.; Temporal Relations and Temporal Becoming - 1984
  • Pap, A.; Semantics and Necessary Truth - 1958
  • Ramsay, F.; The Foundations of Mathematics - 1931
  • Ramsperger, A.; Philosophies of Science - 1942
  • Russell, B.; Human Knowledge: Its Scope and Limits - 1956
  • Russell, B.; An Inquiry Into Meaning and Truth - 1940
  • Russell, B.; Introduction to Mathematical Philosophy - 1930
  • Russell, B.; Einfuhrung in die Mathematische Philosophie - 1923
  • Russell, B. and Whitehead, A.; Principia Mathematica - 1964
  • Russell, B.; The Principles of Mathematics - 1964
  • Ryle, G.; The Concept of Mind - 1949
  • Quine, W.V.O.; From a Logical Point of View - 1953
  • Quine, W.V.O.; Methods of Logic - 1950
  • Sub-Series: Books: Quine-Wittgenstein
  • Box 43:
  • Quine, W.V.O.; Ontological Relativity - 1969
  • Quine, W.V.O.; Set Theory and Its Logic - 1963
  • Quine, W.V.O.; Word and Object - 1960
  • Reichenbach, H.; Elements of Symbolic Logic - 1947
  • Schlick, M.; Problems of Ethics - 1939
  • Seashore, C.; Elementary Experiments in Psychology - 1908
  • Stegmuller, W.; Metaphysik Wissenschaft Skepsis - 1954
  • Stenius, E.; Wittgenstein's Tractatus - 1960
  • Strawson, P.F.; Individuals - 1959
  • Suppes, P.; Axiomatic Set Theory - 1967
  • Tegtmeier, Von Erwin; Komparative Begriffe - 1981
  • Troland, L.; The Principles of Psychophysiology - 1929
  • Urmson, K.O.; Philosophical Analysis - 1956
  • Wisdom, J.; Other Minds - 1952
  • Wittgenstein, L.; The Blue and Brown Books - 1965
  • Wittgenstein, L.; Notebooks, 1914-1916 - 1961
  • Wittgenstein, L.; Philosophische Bemerkungen - 1964
  • Wittgenstein, L.; Philosophical Investigations - 1953
  • Wittgenstein, L.; Remarks on the Foundations of Mathematics - 1956
  • Wittgenstein, L.; Tractatus Logico Philosophicus - 1947
  • Series 12: MANUSCRIPT DRAFTS
  • Sub-Series: Typed Drafts New Foundations of Ontology in the original Manuscript boxes
  • Box 44:
  • I.  "Simples and Canons"/ II.  "Facts and Modes"
  • III.  "Diversity and Order"
  • IV.  "Functions and Analyticity"
  • V.  "Thought and Language"
  • II.  "Facts and Modes", III.  "Diversity and Order", V.  "Thought and Language" (Two Drafts), IV.   "Functions and Analyticity"
  • VI.  "Classes"
  • VII.  "The Linguistic Turn Contained" (Two Drafts)
  • VI.  "Classes"
  • VII.  "The Linguistic Turn Contained"
  • Box 45:
  • "Classes"/Footnotes
  • The Trunk Revisited, "Exemplification and Forms"/Footnotes
  • Sameness and Order, Section I, Section II
  • "Sets:  Introduction" - 1983 May 21
  • "The Phenomenological Predicament"/Footnotes - 1983 September
  • "Two Problems and a Restatement" - 1985 March 3
  • New Foundations of Ontology, Preface and Appendices
  • "The Scope of the Reconstruction"
  • Logical Quantification, Notes, Sketches, Outlines - 1978 Summer
  • Notes and Reminders - 1978 April
  • Sketches, Outlines - 1978 April
  • "Transparency vs. Analyticity", Sketches - 1977 October-November
  • "Sameness and Quantification", "The Fiction", "Alternates", Miscellaneous - 1976 January
  • "The Linguistic Turn Contained", Notes
  • "New Foundations of Ontology" - 1972
  • Box 46:
  • "Simples and Canons"
  • "Facts and Modes"
  • "Diversity and Order"
  • "Functions and Analyticity"
  • "Thought and Language"
  • "Classes"
  • "The Linguistic Turn Contained"
  • Sub-Series: History/Biographical Material
  • Box 47:
  • "Memories of the Vienna Circle"/Letter to Otto Neurath
  • "Memories of the Vienna Circle"/Letter to Otto Neurath, Notes, Correspondence
  • "Memories of the Vienna Circle", Final Version - 1993 January
  • "Memories of the Vienna Circle", Final Version - 1993 January 15
  • Historical and Biographical Sketches of Gustav Bergmann and the Vienna Circle
  • Gustav Bergmann/Otto Neurath Correspondence - 1938-1943
  • Miscellaneous/Stray Notes
  • Series 13: PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION
  • Sub-Series: Photographs in Chronological Order
  • Box 48:
  • Early Photographs of Gustav Bergmann - 1916-early 1930s
  • Gustav Bergmann - Late 1930s
  • Mayer, Walter; Gustav Bergmann's professor at University of Vienna - 1930s
  • Bone Lake, Wisconsin - 1960s
  • Lund, Sweden - 1961 September-October
  • Goteborg, Sweden - 1961 November-December
  • Italy - 1961 December-1962 January
  • Stockholm, Sweden - 1962 February-March
  • Uppsala, Sweden - 1962 March-May
  • Oslo, Norway - 1962 April
  • Party at the Bergmann's - Mid to early 1960s
  • Bergmann's home - 1970
  • Felix Kraus - 1977 December
  • Party at Butch Varov's (?) Residence - 1980 October 28
  • Election Night at the Hochberg Residence - 1980 November 4
  • Marguerite Young - 1983, 1989
  • Friends/Miscellaneous
  • Sub-Series: Memory Test Photographs (Used by doctor to determine extent of Bergmann's Alzheimer's Disease)
  • Box 49:
  • Photographs - 1930s
  • Photographs - 1940s
  • Photographs - 1950s
  • Photographs - 1960s
  • Photographs - 1970s
  • Photographs - 1980s
  • Sub-Series: Safety Negatives
  • Box 49:
  • Mainly from Goteborg, Sweden and Born Lake, Wisconsin
  • Sub-Series: Large Format Photographs
  • Box 49:
  • Photographs of young Gustav Bergmann
  • Gustav Bergmann and his Daughter
  • Pamphlet, Second Annual College Union Symposium
  • Gustav Bergmann with A.S.T.P. Instructors
  • Gustav Bergmann in Seminar with Students
  • History of Science Institute
  • Gustav Bergmann in Seminar with Students
  • Leola Bergmann
  • Photograph of Gustav Bergmann Portrait by James Lechay
  • Press Clippings of Lechay Portrait
  • Photocopy of Press Clippings of Lechay Portrait
  • Series 14: CORRESPONDENCE WITH WILLIAM H. HAY
  • Box 50:
  • Correspondence with William H. Hay - 1947-1949
  • Correspondence with William H. Hay - 1950-1959
  • Correspondence with William H. Hay - 1960-1969
  • Correspondence with William H. Hay - 1970-1979
  • Correspondence with William H. Hay - 1980-1987
  • This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


    Personal Names:
    Bergmann, Gustav, 1906-
    Brentano, Franz Clemens, 1838-1917
    Brentano, Gödel, Kurt
    Wittgenstein, Ludwig, 1889-1951

    Corporate Names:
    Vienna Circle
    University of Iowa Dept. of Philosopy

    Topics:
    Mathematics
    Ontology

    Occupations:
    Philosophers

    Genre/Form of Materials:
    Photographs