Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Charles B. Righter Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1937-1953
Creator: Righter, Charles B. (1937-1953)
Extent: 3.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0132
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa associate professor of music, 1930-1997. Director of University Bands, 1937-1954.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Oversized box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries by Professor Righter's daughter, Mrs. Constance Righter Weil, in March 1997. The scrapbook in Oversize Box 1 was donated to the University Archives by Prof. Righter in 1961.

Preferred Citation: Charles B. Righter Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Charles Boardman Righter was born in Chicago, Illinois, May 23, 1896, and died in Iowa City, January 25, 1997. His degrees were B.Mus., 1917, and B.F.A., 1926, both at the University of Nebraska. Righter's early positions included the Lincoln, Nebraska, schools and the University of Nebraska. After 1930 he taught in the University of Iowa School of Music and was also band director, 1937-1954. He also served as administrative assistant to President Virgil M. Hancher. The marching band performed at football games, at home and on the road.

Folder, "Righter, Charles B.", in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG01.0015.003)

Folder, "Marching Band," in Subject Vertical Files Collection, Music category (RG01.0015.005)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: OVERSIZE

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Marching Band formation charts and instructions - 1937-1953
  • Then and Now, Charles B. Righter autobiography
  • Series 2: OVERSIZE
  • Box 1:
  • Scrapbook
  • Consisting of photographs of band formations, newspaper clippings, concert programs and other materials, presented by Righter to the University Archives in 1961. Programs include personnel listings for Varsity and Concert bands - 1961

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Righter, Charles Boardman

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa School of Music

Topics:
Bands (Music)

Occupations:
Music teachers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers
University of Iowa Administration