Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Edward Wilson Chittenden Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1910-1950
Creator: Chittenden, Edward Wilson (1885-1977)
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0126
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor of mathematics, University of Iowa, from 1918 until 1954. Correspondence and lectures.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Department of Mathematics during 1979 and 1992.

Preferred Citation: Edward Wilson Chittenden Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Edward Wilson Chittenden was born August 3, 1885, in Waterville, Minnesota. He received his B.A. and M.A. at the University of Missouri in 1909 and 1910. He took his Ph.D. in mathematics at the University of Chicago in 1912. Dr. Chittenden married Ludie Mae Iman on June 19, 1912, and they had two children. He taught at the University of Illinois for six years, before joining the faculty at the University of Iowa in 1918. Edward Chittenden retired in 1954, and died June 16, 1977.

These papers highlight Professor Chittenden's academic career as professor of mathematics at the University of Iowa, 1918-1954.
Folder, "Chittenden, Edward," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Papers of Gustav Bergmann (RG99.0134)

Powell, Kathryn. "The Growth of the Department of Mathematics of the State University of Iowa." Iowa City, 1946. 50 pp. In "History of the University of Iowa, Miscellaneous Papers," 4. Includes astronomy. Location: Archives LD2568 .H58 1942 v. 3-4.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1912-1950
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence
  • Mathematical papers
  • Master's thesis
  • Box 3:
  • Neumann lectures
  • Chittenden offprints
  • Math formula notes

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Chittenden, Edward Wilson

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa Dept. of Mathematics

Topics:
Mathematics
Topology

Occupations:
Mathematicians

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Theses

Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers