Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Frederick Wezeman Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1947-1973
Creator: Wezeman, Frederick (1915-1981)
Extent: .75 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0123
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Founding director of the University of Iowa School of Library Science (later renamed School of Library and Information Science).

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers of Frederick Wezeman were donated to the University Archives as part of the records of the UI School of Library and Information Science. Guide posted to the Internet November 2007.

Preferred Citation: Frederick Wezeman Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Frederick Wezeman was the founding director of the University of Iowa School of Library Science (later renamed School of Library and Information Science). He was appointed director in 1966, one year before classes began, and served in this capacity until his retirement in 1980.
 
He received a master of education degree from Chicago State Teachers' College in 1940 and a bachelor of library science degree from the University of Chicago in 1946. He was a medical librarian for the Veterans Administration office in Chicago from 1946-1947, was director of the Racine, Wisconsin, public library from 1947-1953, held a similar post at Oak Park, Illinois, from 1953-1955, and was an associate professor at the University of Minnesota from 1955-1966.
 
Frederick Wezeman was born May 1, 1915, in Oak Park, Illinois. He married Marjorie L. Vaughn on August 11, 1960, and they had two children. He died November 2, 1981, at age 67.

The papers of Frederick Wezeman consist of four scrapbooks and one folder which chronicle his professional career and anti-war activism. The scrapbooks include clippings, library brochures, speeches, and reports.
Folder, "Wezeman, Frederick," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Records of the UI School of Library and Information Science (RG06.0020.001)

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.