Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Harry Grant Plum Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Plum, Harry Grant (1868-1956)
Extent: 1.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0107
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa professor of history, 1902-1949. Research specialty in European studies.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries from the Department of History. Processed by Robert M. Hedges. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008.

Preferred Citation: Harry Grant Plum Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Harry Grant Plum was born in Iowa City, Iowa, November 3, 1868. He earned his PhB in 1894, and MA in 1896, both at the State University of Iowa. He took his Ph.D. from Columbia University in 1906. At the State University of Iowa, he was an instructor in history 1896-1901, an assistant professor 1901-1902, a professor of history 1902-1949, and professor emeritus from 1949 until his death September 29, 1956.

These papers include Dr. Plum's manuscripts, course outlines, and student work.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Manuscripts: "Materialism"
  • Manuscripts: Restoration and Puritanism
  • Manuscripts: "English Democracy in the 18th Century"
  • Other unidentified material
  • Class Notes
  • Nationalism manuscript
  • Copy of agreement between Plum and University of North Carolina Press; copy of the published work
  • Box 2:
  • Manuscripts: "Puritanism in the Revolution of 1688"
  • Manuscripts: "Toleration under William & Mary & Ann"
  • Manuscripts: "Nationalism and Revolution"
  • Manuscripts: "The English Election System"
  • Manuscripts: "Development of the Sale of Office in France"
  • Manuscripts: "An International Experiment"
  • Personal Letters from (among others): Wren, M. C.
  • Personal Letters from (among others): Dorcas, H. C.
  • Personal Letters from (among others): Turner, Ralph
  • Personal Letters from (among others): Monnet, Dean
  • Box 3:
  • Manuscripts: "The Stuart Revolution"
  • Manuscripts: "Leopold von Rauke and His Interpretation of History"
  • Manuscripts: "The Teacher and Americanization"
  • Manuscripts: "Great Britain's Economic Crisis"
  • Manuscripts: "A Historical Background of the War"
  • Sub-Series: Reprints sent to Plum by former students
  • Box 4:
  • Bowman, Francis J.
  • Calsin, Homer L.
  • Cuttins, George P.
  • Ellis, Elmer
  • Giddens, Paul H.
  • Hansen, C. Frederick
  • Hovde, Brynjolf J.
  • Kirby, Chester
  • Lond, Aubrey C.
  • Morgan, William T.
  • Mullin, Frances Anthony
  • Notesteen, Wallace
  • Perkins, Clarence
  • Prange, Gordon W.
  • Russell, Nelson Vance
  • Thurber, John Newton
  • Turner, Ralph E.
  • Westergoard, Waldemat
  • Winter, William L.
  • Wittke, Carl
  • Wren, M. C.
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Box 4:
  • Proceedings to Investigate the University of Pittsburgh - 1935
  • Spiritual Issues of the War (British Information Service)
  • Robinson, James Harvey (History of the Western European Mind)
  • Williams, Hattie Plum
  • Robinson, James Harvey
  • History of the Western European Mind

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers