Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Laurence Davis Lafore Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1929-1973
Creator: Lafore, Laurence Davis (1917-1985)
Extent: 39.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0100
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor of history, University of Iowa, from 1969 until 1985. Researched the origins of the two world wars. Correspondence, manuscripts, travel postcards.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographic postcards in Box 60; Travel photographs and book research photographs in Box 65.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives from Mr. Lafore in February 1974 and from the History Department in September 1994. Guide created and posted to the Internet by Denise Anderson, March 2007.

Preferred Citation: Laurence David Lafore Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Laurence Davis Lafore was born September 15, 1917, in Narbeth, Pennsylvania. He earned his B.A. in 1938 at Swarthmore College in Pennsylvania. He took his M.A. (1939) and Ph.D. (1950) from the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy in Massachusetts. Dr. Lafore taught at Swarthmore until 1969, when he joined the History Department faculty at the University of Iowa. Lafore published works about the origins of the two world wars. He retired in May 1985 and died November 24, 1985.

This collection consists of Laurence Lafore's manuscripts, memoir, correspondence, and records of his academic career (including travel). The correspondence series includes both personal and professional contacts. The papers are housed in 66 boxes  boxes 60-66 should be regarded as almost entirely unprocessed.
Folder, "Lafore, Laurence," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003).

Publications by Laurence Lafore include:

Press and diplomacy in liberated France; a study of French attitudes toward international affairs as revealed in Paris newspapers, 1944-1947. [Microform; see also Box 59].

Learner's Permit. Garden City: Doubleday, 1962. 308 pp.

The Devil's Chapel. Garden City: Doubleday, 1964.

Philadelphia; the Unexpected City. Garden City: Doubleday, 1965.

Stephen's Bridge. Garden City: Doubleday, 1968.

Nine Seven Juliet, a Mystery Novel. Garden City: Doubleday, 1969. 300 pp.

"In the Sticks" Harper's Magazine 243, no. 1457 (October 1971): 108-9, 112-15

American Classic. Iowa City: Iowa State Historical Society, 1975. 95 pp., illus. Includes UI buildings. Copies located in Main Library; Art Library; Law Library; x- collection; and Archives books.

Correspondence from Laurence Lafore dated 1982 appears in John Leggett Papers; 1977-1980 in the Minnette Doderer Papers (Iowa Women's Archives); some letters from Edith Page Mather are cataloged to MsL.

Folder, "Lafore, Laurence," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03). Publications by Laurence Lafore include: Press and diplomacy in liberated France; a study of French attitudes toward international affairs as revealed in Paris newspapers, 1944-1947. [Microform; see also Box 59].

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PUBLISHED MANUSCRIPTS
Series 2: UNPUBLISHED MEMOIR
Series 3: UNPUBLISHED MANUSCRIPTS
Series 4: LAFORE’S WRITINGS ON HIS WWII EXPERIENCES
Series 5: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 6: ACADEMIC CAREER
Series 7: GENERAL

  • Series 1: PUBLISHED MANUSCRIPTS
  • Box 1: Modern Europe, a History Since 1500.  With Paul H. Beik. New York: Holt - 1959
    5 folders
  • Box 2: Modern Europe
    3 folders
  • Box 3: The Long Fuse, an Interpretation of the Origins of World War I. Philadelphia: Lippincott - 1965
    8 folders
  • Box 4: The End of Glory, an Interpretation of the Origins of World War II. Philadelphia: Lippincott - 1970
    7 folders
  • Box 5: The End of Glory 6 folders
  • Box 6: Research, Days of Emperor and Clown: the Italo-Ethiopian War, 1935-1936. Garden City: Doubleday - 1973
    10 folders
  • Box 7: 6 folders; includes books and maps
  • Box 8: 20 folders
  • Box 9: 10 folders
  • Box 10: 7 folders
  • Box 11: 6 folders
  • Box 12: 4 folders
  • Box 13: 3 folders
  • Box 14: Learner's Permit. Garden City: Doubleday - 1962
    4 folders
  • Box 15: 5 folders
  • Box 16: 9 folders
  • Box 17: 2 folders
  • Box 18: The Devil's Chapel. Garden City: Doubleday - 1964
    7 folders
  • Box 19: 6 folders
  • Box 20: 8 folders
  • Box 21: 2 folders
  • Box 22: Stephen's Bridge. Garden City: Doubleday - 1968
    6 folders
  • Box 23: 8 folders
  • 23a: 4 folders
  • Box 24: 3 folders
  • 24a: 2 folders
  • Box 25: Nine Seven Juliet. Garden City: Doubleday - 1969
    6 folders
  • Box 26: 7 folders
  • Box 27: 4 folders
  • Box 28: 3 folders
  • Series 2: UNPUBLISHED MEMOIR
  • 28a: The Keys to the House. Narrative from childhood to the death of his father in the 1940s. Complete final photocopy; folder marked "Fifth Copy."
  • Box 29: Penultimate Draft. Typescript
  • Box 30: The Keys to the House
  • Box 31: The Keys to the House, cont.
  • Box 32: The Keys to the House, cont.
  • Series 3: UNPUBLISHED MANUSCRIPTS
  • 32a: Creative Writing: First Novel, 1930-1937. Title was not fixed but Mist in Twilight and The Sharp Tides Shift were considered. Typescript.
  • 32b: First full draft, with title Cousins in Arms
  • 32c: Fourth and other drafts; folder marked "Obsolete"
  • Series 4: LAFORE’S WRITINGS ON HIS WWII EXPERIENCES
  • Box 33: “Objects Dropped from the Air” 52 pages, photocopy typescript
  • 33a: WWII Clips., Notes Autograph notes, short typescripts, some pages from chapters above
  • Series 5: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 34: Aaron-Bourjaily
    27 folders
  • Box 35: Boyd-Bunny
    20 folders
  • Box 36: Carroll-Cuttino
    19 folders
  • Box 37: Dale-Forstall
    19 folders
  • Box 38: Freedgood-Hunt, E.
    28 folders
  • Box 39: Hunt, V.-Kirkland
    22 folders
  • Box 40: Klaus-Lafore
    14 folders
  • Box 41: Laird-Lippincott
    9 folders
  • Box 42: Little-Noyes
    27 folders
  • Box 43: Ogilby-Palmer
    15 folders
  • Box 44: Partymiller-Shaw
    24 folders
  • Box 45: Shearer-Swarthmore
    20 folders
  • Box 46: Taylor-Worth
    14 folders
  • Box 47: Wright-Zerwick
    5 folders
  • Box 48: A-Z
    21 folders
  • Box 49: A-Z
    20 folders
  • Box 50: Telegrams
  • Box 51: Correspondence, professional
    12 folders
  • Box 52: Speaker invitations
  • Box 53: Loose correspondence, some from Benjamin Kirkland
  • Series 6: ACADEMIC CAREER
  • Box 54: Typescript contents of Lafore's Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy - 1939 -1940
    8 springback binders
  • Series 7: GENERAL
  • Box 55: Photographic postcards of Montgomery School - 1929
  • Box 56: Travel brochures and postcards
  • Box 57: Academic correspondence
  • Box 58: Travel material
  • Box 59: LDL book reviews
  • Box 60: Hitler greeting card
  • Box 61: Drafts and correspondence for American Classic with other miscellaneous writing and correspondence

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty and Staff Organizations