Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Frank A. Wilder Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1902-1906
Creator: Wilder, Frank A. (1870-1930)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0090
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor of geology and director of the Iowa Geological Survey Bureau. Correspondence, theses drafts, faculty-student information.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Iowa Geological Survey Bureau in February and March 1998. Guide created in November 2007.

Preferred Citation: Frank A. Wilder Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Frank Alonzo Wilder was born in Akron, Ohio, February 2, 1870. He earned his B.A. in 1892 at Oberlin College in Oberlin, Ohio. He taught science at high schools in Ft. Dodge and Des Moines, Iowa, from 1894 to 1900. During 1901 he was assistant state geologist of Iowa. In 1902 he took his Ph.D. in geology at the University of Chicago, then took the position of associate professor of geology for one year at the University of North Dakota.
 
Dr. Wilder joined the faculty at the State University of Iowa in 1903 as professor of geology, and taught courses in Petrology (mineralogy), as well as Economic Geology and Mining. In particular he researched the uses of the mineral gypsum. He first became interested in the uses of gypsum while teaching in Ft. Dodge, a site of substantial mining activity. Wilder succeeded Samuel Calvin as the director of the Iowa Geological Survey Bureau in 1904 and served in that capacity until 1906 when Mr. Calvin again assumed the title. The Iowa Geological Survey Bureau was established in 1855.
 
Dr. Wilder resigned his position at the State University of Iowa in 1906 to become director of the Southern Gypsum Company in North Holston, Virginia. He held this position until 1927. Frank A. Wilder died March 8, 1930.
 
[D. Anderson; 11/2007].

The Frank A. Wilder papers include correspondence dated 1902 to 1906, primarily between Mr. Wilder and Thomas Edmund Savage, assistant state geologist. The collection also includes two draft theses in geology and two folders regarding students.
Records of the Department of Geoscience (RG06.0015.001)

Papers of Samuel Calvin (RG99.0083)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1902-1906
  • Hockett, Waldo. "The Economic Calcination Temperature of Gypsum."
    State University of Iowa, thesis draft.
  • Rohland, Paul. "The Second Anhydride Modification of Calcium-sulphate."
    State University of Iowa, thesis draft.
  • Geoscience faculty-students
  • Geoscience faculty-students - 1905-1906

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty and Staff Organizations