Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the William M. Furnish Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1938-1970
Creator: Furnish, William M. (1912-2007)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0084
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Geology professor, University of Iowa, 1953-1978. Publications.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives by the Geoscience Department.

Preferred Citation: William M. Furnish Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

William Madison Furnish was born August 17, 1912, in Tipton, Iowa. He received his B.A., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees at the University of Iowa in 1934, 1935, and 1938. As a geologist, he worked for oil companies in Venezuela and Saudi Arabia, as well as in Oklahoma, during the 1940s and early 1950s. Dr. Furnish was a research assistant at the University of Iowa from 1938 to 1940, before again joining the Geology Department staff as associate professor in September 1953.
 
Dr. Furnish's area of research at the UI was paleontology, and he was promoted to full professor in 1956. In 1938 he married Eula Berniece Beck, who was a library assistant at the University of Iowa Geology Library during 1959. The couple had five children. Dr. William Furnish retired from teaching at the University of Iowa in 1978, and died November 9, 2007.

This is a collection of the offprints of William M. Furnish, spanning 1938-1970.
Records of the Dept. of Geoscience (RG06.0015.001)

Folder, "Furnish, William M. ," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Reprints - 1938-1970

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers