Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Luella M. Wright Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1933-1951
Creator: Wright, Luella M. (1881-1963)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0078
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor of English from 1920 until 1951. Published on the literature of Quakers.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives through Ms. Wright's estate in October 1963. Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, October 2007.

Preferred Citation: Luella M. Wright Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Luella Margaret Wright was born in Cedar Falls, Iowa, on June 20, 1881. She earned a Ph.B. at the University of Iowa in 1905. She took her M.A. (1919) and Ph.D. (1932) from Columbia University. Dr. Wright taught English at the Iowa State Teachers College in Cedar Falls, and at Coe College in Cedar Rapids, among other institutions. Wright authored books on the subject of the literature of Quakers. She joined the English Department faculty at the University of Iowa in 1920 as an instructor, and retired in 1951 as an associate professor. At Iowa, Dr. Wright taught a course in Shakespeare's early plays. Luella Wright died August 8, 1963.
 
[D. Anderson; 10/2007].

The Luella M. Wright papers include article reprints authored by Ms. Wright.
Folder, "Wright, Luella M.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Papers of Hardin Craig (RG99.0054)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Publications - 1938-1970

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers